Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition €28,79
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
377 54
55 2
7 3
1 0
1 2
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2022 13:46:44

UPDATED AND REWRITTEN:

a while back i ran a V20 chronicle so i was able to get actual play time. i will try not to get too detailed as that can be hours, but in summary, this game love is well deserved, it's fun, flexible, and my player had a blast and i am planning a chapter 2 of the chronicle soon that will have the Sabbat.

first, the POD, it is a hefty book, should of realized that when it said 500+ on the side bar, that said, it's serviceable, and my pages haven't fallen off yet. the art is really good albeit cheesy, but i look at it as that early 2000s late 1990s cheese, when everyone was being edgey AF.

next, this is a World of Darkness book, so as such, information is a pain to find, so you will want to get the pdf to save you some time in searching specifics. i do like the LARP rules and safe guards they have at the beginning of the book, this game can get dark so you want to make sure your players are safe and they're protected in that this is a game, and the ST understand Fade to Black tools and such. i appreciate that.

there are many here that say V20 is superior to V5, and here's my 2 cents on that: V20 is revised revised edition akin to 2e of Adnd, with a large metaplot. V5 tries to ground vampires to local conflicts while the metaplot is the background, meaning it focuses more on the personal horrors of being a vampire. you hear there's a war going on, but there are no specifics (or lack of clear direction if you want to get meta). to me, V5 isn't bad as it does update the game mechincally, however, what it lacks is the personality that V20 clearly has, each clan is unique with clear curses, banes, strengths, and how they operate. imo the giovanni are a clear example of how unique they are. another recent example is the Sabbat, in V20 while they're still monsters and antagonists, they have a CLEAR hierarchy and culture that was thought out, you understand the Sabbat better and maybe want to run a Sabbat Chronicle. the Sabbat believe gehenna is where the antidullvans arise and kill all vampires, but the clear difference is they plan to fight back. V5 sabbats to me, seem like vampire terrorists with no clear goal in mind. gehenna is here, so we fight everyone including themselves with no clear direction from the Regent or any other hierarchy. it's like they forgot the Code of Milan.

game play is simple, it's a d10 system, so you roll an attribute plus an ability that best fits the task, and roll. as ST i love that there's a default number for success which is 6, however, i can make it easier or harder depending on what's going on, and set a number of successes needed. it makes it much simpler to call for checks, and when someone is doing something pretty specific i am not tied down to specific checks either, i can call for different attributes and abilities that best fit the task. where it gets tricky is combat, but once you understand the rules of combat, it's VERY deadly and pretty fast paced. i thought Cyberpunk 2020 was deadly, vampires can take damage but it'll catch up to them quickly.

overall, the praise AND criticism of V20 are deserved, and i am of the mindset that there is a game system for everyone. that said, i use V20 rules for the V5 Chicago by Night setting, and it's different enough that it could be (and is) a V20 chronicle, so if you want to run Vampire, with better established lore and be more powerful, this game is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Princess P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2022 16:11:40

Cant get enough if this, the 20th is worth it. love all the updates. I enjoy this much more than v5 but all the vampirw peoducts are great! v20 8 feel is more RP based and v5 is mechanical. just pwrsonal opinion though! happy gaming at all tables! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Brian L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2022 15:54:55

I got my copy as a Black & White Softcover (bring back this option!) and it's held up for many years, despite heavy use and frequent abuse.

I missed out on the Kickstarter, but I grabbed my print-on-demand as soon as I learned of it and I couldn't be happier. The rules have been updated, the setting adjusted to account for geograpical borders shifting, major world events, technology, and minor tweaks have been made to clarify wording that more squeamish and sensitive payers (why are you playing a horror game, btw?) uncomfortable. It's not preachy of full of itself like Fifth Edition, the layout is straight-forward and it provides everything you need to run a game without relying on hard-baked setting and plot like the latest vers- bastardization of the game nearly forces you to do.

Old players and new will see a mixture of artwork that encompasses the whole of the franchise history scattered throughout the pages, providing a sense of nostalgia and inspiring ideas for various characters, story seeds, dramatic elements, and styles of gameplay, all of which are highly encouraged by the book itself. Examples of rules and systems are placed within the proper sections, along with quick-reference "cheat sheets" that are easy to scan and print to avoid excessive page-turning, while the thoroughness and detail ensures that you can (and will) find exactly what you're looking for, as well as an example that will not only say "this is what it does" but "this is how to adust as needed." Guesswork is kept to a minimum and rules that feel unwieldy or convoluted are easily altered or omitted. Unlike Fifth Edition, this is even encouraged in order to make sure the game flows as intended. Where Fith Edition feels like a "rulebook," this feels more like a traveler's guide of suggested sights and activities.

The font size is perfect for extended reading in most situations, though it does make the book a bit large and clunky. However, what they manage to pack into this single tome is more than enough to expand greatly upon the average game. Using the only basic Camarilla Clans and the standard tropes referenced throughout the book, one doesn't even need to worry about playing other Clans or Bloodlines for quite a while, but all of the information for doing so is easily available. There's even information on long-dead groups of vampires that seems to merely bulk the page count until you realize the potential for flashbacks and historical settings that previously required whole other source books. When you take that into consideration, you have to wonder how they managed to get it all in the book without using fine print and magnifying glasses.

There are references to characters and settings from the older books but the lore isn't as firmly-entrenched in the writing as it used to be. There's no sense of "well, the Final Nights are here, so I guess the game's gonna be short." There's no pressure to inclue the likes of Theo Bell, Sascha Vikos, Lucita, or Jan Pieterzoon because they appear in every chapter. In fact, most of the Kindred that older fans know and love is given a loving nod in a love letter to long nights in the past with good friends (and better rivals!) around a table where the sunrise came too soon and the intrigues never ceased. You won't find the encouragement and pressure to use a version of Atlanta that has been ransacked by the Sabbat, or to include a shotgun-toting Brujah Archon in a ball cap for any of your stories... but the writers leave it wholly open to do so.

Where older versions and the abomination of Fifth Edition have plotlines hammered into many facets of the game, "V20" is a set of tools and a traveler's guide that flashes you a fanged smile and bids you to explore the World of Darkness as you choose.

It doesn't ask you to subscribe to it's ways, but merely Embraces you and welcomes you the extended family.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2021 05:16:13

I'm not convinced that this really does capture the feel of the original game as much as allow for a further development of the "Revised" edition that came out in 1998.

It tidies up certain rules whilst curiously keeping some other dysfunctional rules systems in tact eg the clunky combat system, and provides an overview of the complex world envisioned through 10+ years of game development. I personally tire of having to read through 500+ pages of content, however, especially when a whole bulk of it is just a catalogue of vampiric powers.

The artwork is a mixture of old and new, good and bad, black and white and colour. The writing is easy enough to read and the layout extends to 'splatting' out the Sects as well as the Clans, which does make the various political relationships easy to follow. It just doesn't quite have the focus or intensity of the original.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Stuart J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2021 09:38:22

5th Ed totally rewrote the feel and flavor of the original, and this was an amazing collection, of the original.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Marcus L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2021 15:50:07

VTM: 20th Anniversary is a classical game and should be played by everyone at least once. It hits home hard the "A beast I am, lest a beast I become" feel that it wishes to portray. Yes, you are a beast, but what are you willing to do to contain it and keep hold of your humanity? With amazing writing, little tidbits everywhere, amazing art, it's a complete game in itself without the need of sourcebooks, although I would recommend those as well.

A lot of media tries to portray Vampires as best they can but nothing hits home quite like the world of Vampire the Masquerade does. And with the ruleset, there is not a single skillroll you can't make easily, especially when it's simply up to you and the GM to determine together what skills and attributes are needed for the moment. Would spinning your revolver in a flashy way to woo a girl a Dexterity + Firearms test, or a Charisma + Performance? Everything from regular checks to combat feels easy to get into, and most of the rules are clear and concise in this 20th anniversary edition.

I bought the hardcover, and it's certainly a sizeable lad of a book, and the quality of the pages and binding is excellent. It feels wonderful to simply skim the pages and look through the chapters. Easy to find most things with a good index in the back, a sorely lacking feature of many modern games.

As World of Darkness games goes, this is by far my favorite and I'd recommend it to anyone interested in playing something darker.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Haris S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2021 17:10:58

Great product.

I only started imersing myself into VtM in late 2019 but this edition offers great extra resources for running the classic V20 campaigns. I think V5 is more accessible to newe players in terms of game mechanics and is much more coherent. But V5 can't compare to V20 (this edition) in terms of how the book is designed. V5 reads looks like some teen vampire magazine while this one truly is magnificent. It's an ancient lore book full of knowledge about vampires. The illustrations and different sections also make sure it's far superior in style. One should handle this book with care though. The Hardback edition is actually pretty light and I can see it can probably rip easily. I don't have such problems so far and I had this book for about 6 months now. Just handle it nicely and it should be cool!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerry A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2021 14:27:49

This is probably the most beautiful RPG book I've ever purchased. It's probably the thickest too. I bought the premium color book and I have to say I wouldn't want the black and white version. The print quality is amazing, and the images are all rich. I did have a few pages with some sort of glue on them, but with some careful work I removed it without damaging the book.

As for the game itself: it's tremendous! I'm new to Vampire and have never played it before, but it was recommended to my by the Gentleman Gamer. It comes with all the clans, tons of disciplines, bloodlines, backgrounds, and rules you'll need to play VTM. From my understanding, and research, it's the most complete set of rules you can get. It's a shame it costs so much, but it's worth the price if you want a beautiful and complete rule set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Laura W.
Date Added: 11/10/2020 07:56:11

The book contents are exactly how it should be, but I've had it for less than 2 months and the book cover has already torn away from the back, leaving the block of (glued) pages just hanging from the front. Horribly made and in no way worth what I paid for it. Would've been better printing my PDF version and binding my own :/



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Tiago S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2020 20:22:39

Great book, brings back memories from fun times, great people who became best friends. Great finishing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Nicholas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2020 04:42:00

This book is an absolute must buy for any VTM fan if you don't own it already! Everything is here! All 13 clans, all the bloodlines, all the disciplines, as well as anything else you would need (or want!) to start your new Vampire the Masquerade Chronicles in the World of Darkness! It clears up a ton of issues and potential for silliness in previous editions of the game and the experience is a lot better for it! It plays like everything you could possibly want and love from VTM and, in my opinion, is by far the best edition of the game.

Newcomers, if you really dig the lore of the setting and want the maximum amount of options for stories to tell and characters to create, start here! V5 definitely has some fantastic aspects to it in a lot of ways (including a number of new mechanics and changes to gameplay) and from a certain perspective is the better choice for people new to VTM , but it has a huge amount of content still to be released which severely limits my ability to give it my recommendation. Meanwhile, V20 has everything you could want for years-worth of exciting chronicles all wrapped up in a single buy!

Furthermore, this edition has several sourcebooks that further expand upon the already very substantial offering presented in this book! In particular, I recommend V20: Lore of the Clans, V20: Lore of the Bloodlines, and V20: Rites of the Blood as some of the best buys among their number! They give tremendous amounts of additional background information, mechanics, and new powers that, while completely unnecessary to get maximum enjoyment out of this game, definitely make the experience even better!

The PDF is excellent and has a bunch of hyperlinks to quickly find things in the document.

However, I cannot speak for the experiences of others, but my Premium Hardback arrived with significant binding damage. (One of the cover hinges detached from the book and as a result the cover is only held on by the hinge on the front side) This damage isn't un-repairable by any stretch of the imagination, but I was severely dissapointed after paying a premium price that I received a product that was this badly damaged and this, to be honest, discourages me from buying physical books with large page counts like this from DriveThruRPG in the future. However, it must be said that DriveThruRPG has some of the best customer support in the business and, if you experience issues like this, do not hesitate to contact them, they will make it right however they can, generally by sending you a new copy of the book if it proves unusable or giving you store credit equivalent to the price of your order plus shipping!

Ratings:

PDF : 5/5 - I cannot recommend this highly enough!

Premium Hardback : 3/5 - Be wary when you buy this option, I really hope my experience was just a fluke and that this is not the quality we can generally expect from DriveThruRPG! For ~ $86 (PLUS SHIPPING) this level of quality is unacceptable. It bears mentioning that their customer service is excellent and will go to great lengths to help the customer if an issue like this arises!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Scott G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2020 09:50:30

Absolutley loved it! Everything you need in one book to include my beloved Salubri!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Stéphane Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2020 11:59:45

This book is a great synthesis of, well, 20 years of Vampire: the Masquerade. It is clearly aimed at people who already know the game, but is still accessible to regular players. However, it delves almost right in the game: this is not meant to be someone's first roleplaying game book (especially for a DM/ST). That being said, everything that made this game great is present in this book: the personal and existential horror, symbolized by both the slow loss of humanity of the player characters, and the wealth of antagonists, including the Ancient Ones... I mean, the Antediluvians, who lurk in the shadows, or maybe underneath the sea, or a big city or...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by josh g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2020 14:49:28

This game contains everything you need to play Vampire: The Masquerade in a very slightly modified version of Revised edition. A light touch was taken in updating certain rules and disciplines. This is, in my opinion, the definitive way to play VtM. The only reason it's only getting 4 stars and not 5 is that I don't trust the binding to survive the rigors continued opening and closing for an extended period of time. That being said, I haven't had any problems yet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Carl L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2019 13:03:08

By the sweet blood of Caine, Vampire isn't even one of our favorite games but this book is amazing. A love letter to what started it all, and beyond, this book is great for new and old players alike. The mechanics got a good polishing and tune-up, the world gets a solid update given that at the tail end of the Old World of Darkness you were just getting into the bane that is smartphones, not to mention catching the timeline in general up to its release.

It still has Tremere in it, which isn't bad enough to affect my star rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 61 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf