Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
City Supplement 1: Dweredell
Publisher: Dream Machine Productions
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2015 13:49:55

Dweredell is another of this publisher's bare-bones 'city' offerings, however, it's priced fairly at $2.00 for what you are (and are not) getting. On the positive side, you're getting a beautiful map of a city, it's original and interesting in it's layout. Kudos for that. On the negative side, the publisher doesn't even bother to give most of the streets a name, there's only one map and that map has the encounters clearly marked on it, so you can't show it to your players. If you buy this looking for a fantasy city that you can actually use in your game, this is going to disappoint you (as it did me). However, if you get this as a short adventure module to run your players through, expecting to exit and move on after a session, this will do just fine.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City Supplement 1: Dweredell
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

City Supplement 3: Anyoc
Publisher: Dream Machine Productions
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2015 13:42:14

This book is billed as a city, and if you consider a brightly colored map that doesn't even bother to delineate buildings, and leaves 3/4s of the streets unnamed, to be a 'city', then this module is for you! I hate to give anyone a 1-star rating because every product here takes work, but in this module, they did as little work as they could. There are some points of interest that are described, but the great mapping triumph of this product lies in the floorplan of a gatehouse. Had they put that much work into the rest of the city, this would have been a great product. Had it been priced at the $1 point, the value here might have risen to a 4, but at $7.99, it's simply a rip off. There's simply not enough actual material in this product to justify it's cost.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
City Supplement 3: Anyoc
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Adventure Havens: Temples
Publisher: Bards and Sages
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2015 17:52:02

This product details story telling information for a slew of temples, but not a single map/floor plan of a single temple. Normally, that would deserve a rating of 1, however, the beginning of the document goes into some of the things which make clerics and priests unique and colorful, things which are an asset to any GM's campaign if his clerics have become nothing more than the healing adjunct of an adventuring party.

Maps are fundamental to a product which claims to be about locations, as this one does. There are no maps.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Havens:  Temples
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Creator Reply:
I regret that you did not enjoy the product. I would like to point out the the Adventure Havens series has never been about maps, nor has it ever been marketed as such. We have always marketed the series based on the NPCs and story ideas as a way to help GMs flesh out their worlds on the fly. They are GM tools to save work having to flesh out every single NPC and location history in a game for those times when the players go off the main story. That is why we list these products under Supplements>NPCs and not Maps. I regret the confusion. If you came across this product under a search for maps, please let me know so that I can address that with the folks at Drivethru. We never categorized it that way.
Adventure Havens: Lords of the Manor
Publisher: Bards and Sages
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2015 17:45:14

From the document: "Adventure Havens: Lords of the Manor presents twelve fully realized fantasy castles, keeps, and manors for use in 3.5 style games. Each castle listing includes a detailed history of the castle, important NPCs, and story seeds that can provide players with plenty of side quests."

Which part of "fully realized" did the author think doesn't include a map of the castle, keep, or manor? No map. Just storytelling, NPCs, and description. This is, at best, an incomplete product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Havens:  Lords of the Manor
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Creator Reply:
I regret that you did not enjoy the product. I would like to point out the the Adventure Havens series has never been about maps, nor has it ever been marketed as such. We have always marketed the series based on the NPCs and story ideas as a way to help GMs flesh out their worlds on the fly. They are GM tools to save work having to flesh out every single NPC and location history in a game for those times when the players go off the main story. That is why we list these products under Supplements>NPCs and not Maps. I regret the confusion. If you came across this product under a search for maps, please let me know so that I can address that with the folks at Drivethru. We never categorized it that way.
Visira: City of Sorrows
Publisher: Darkfuries Publishing
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2015 17:34:02

I own a number of other products by Darkfuries and I was honestly expecting it to live up to the high standards set by their Masterworks Maps series. In that sense, Visira is a huge disappointment. It's just another typical over-wrought storyline set in a city with far too much detail for the parts of their storyline, and not nearly enough usable information for a GM who simply wants to run city for his players. Yes, there's a slew of detailed establishments, but where are they? Yes, this is yet another 'city product' where the creator mistakenly thought that GMs wished to buy a city that needs to be keyed and populated. Visira doesn't even bother to name streets, just 'districts'. Here's a newsflash; anyone can draw a map and a bunch of rectangles on it to represent buildings, and call it a city, in an afternoon. That's the easy part. Determining what's in each and every building, that takes some time and consideration and planning. You won't find that in this product.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Visira: City of Sorrows
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Castle Builder Volume 1: Strongholds
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 19:17:44

This is probably a seminal RPG work. It's that good. This is not going to give you floorplans, but it's going to teach you all about the basic thought processes and considerations that went into real castle-building. This is a book that should sit next to ICE's 'Castles and Strongholds' as the perfect companion, and by the time you're done, you'll likely know more than you ever wanted to about building a castle. But the pay off begins when you look at your game map and decided where to site that castle, and you'll know why it sits on 'this' hill and not 'that' hill, and you'll understand why a castle has the elements it has and how they're used. It will make a world of difference to the game play.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Builder Volume 1: Strongholds
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Masterwork Maps: Chasbin Keep
Publisher: Darkfuries Publishing
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 19:13:04

Another fine Darkfuries product, this is well drawn, extensive floorplans, good descriptions.

It falls short, however, in not offering full-size maps of the entire structure in both a GM and a Player version. This hurts the product because it's such a large castle. It wouldn't hurt to also include a drawing from the outside, to 'set the mood'. It's annoying to only be able to print out half a map at a time.

Still, as usual, lots of bang-for-buck at $5. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Maps: Chasbin Keep
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Masterwork Maps: Temples and Shrines
Publisher: Darkfuries Publishing
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 19:10:00

Darkfuries hits a huge home-run with this one. Yes, it's $10, but YES, you get your money's worth! Richly drawn maps, 34 of them, from ornate and extensive to simple and clean. With descriptions of each room, and prominent NPCs, as well as the Dieties.

The only downside to this is that I'd really love to have a player's version of each map, a bare-bones map that has no detail, just walls and doors, no secret places shown. That would be nice, that would take a great product and move it to the next level.

But this is a great product. If you want a slew of temples, this will not disappoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Maps: Temples and Shrines
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Map Pack: The RPG Toolbox Vol 1
Publisher: Dimensions Game Software
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 18:50:22

Really? These little scripts are considered a product? If you found these on a website, you probably wouldn't bookmark it.

What you have a grids, with a bunch of connecting rudimentary tiles, some with bends, someone with 'chambers', some with intersections. It can randomly populate the grid with these tiles. The end result is very crude.

But then, it's only .99 cents. Save your buck for something else.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Map Pack: The RPG Toolbox Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Wilderlands: Imperial Town of Tell Qa
Publisher: Judges Guild
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 18:44:57

This is a good product. Since you have to print it yourself, I don't know that it's worth $9, but it's a good product.

First, it's not a town. It's a city. Towns are a certain size, in general, we'll call them smaller than city. This is a city-sized product. A small city, but a city to be sure. It's not just a size issue, it's also a density issue. The buildings in this city are in a town-configuration, apartments and multi-dwelling buildings prevail in regimented streets. This is a city. I'm only hammering on this because I was looking for a town but until I bought it and saw the map, I had no idea it was actually a small city.

On the bad side, this product uses the D&D city organization method in it's descriptions, not the original Judges Guild city organization method. It works, but it's not nearly as easy and intuitive to use as the original Judges Guild city organization worked.

Next, the maps. These are electronic products, they could have included full-sized city maps in both the GM and Player formats. Instead, they offer a city map that's in multiple pieces. If you print it out, you have half a city on one page, half on another. This also works. But it's inconvenient and visually unappealing. And taping pieces of paper together because a single city map can't be printed is just annoying because it wasn't necessary.

On the plus side....

It's a small city! You're getting much more than you thought when you buy the product. It's well thought out, there's lots of excellent descriptions throughout, and the map does show both location name and it's location in the description list (e.g. "Magistrate #59"). That helps a great deal, especially for the GM who can tell the Players what they see on the building signs as they walk past, without having to look up the description in the book by only seeing an uninformative building number. That helps the GM to give a lot more life to an urban environment without sacrificing speed as the Characters move from location A to location B.

Recommended. It could be better, but it's still pretty good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands: Imperial Town of Tell Qa
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Scaldcrow Generic: Town of Hokum
Publisher: Scaldcrow Games
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 18:30:38

Scaldcrow put a LOT of work into this product, the descriptions of the town, NPCs, social and laws, are outstanding. It's reminiscent of the old Judge's Guild work, the sort of loving quality that you just don't see very often any more, especially not in a 'generic system' product.

On the downside, and the reason I took 2 stars from this otherwise really good work, the map of the town is rudimentary at best. It looks like something drawn with a Commodore 64 (yeah, that old), everything is rigidly layed out in obvious grid-limited design and stamped object items repeat all over the place. Really, it's embarrassing.

I'm a map-guy. I want grids, I want scales, I want an intelligent design that shows proper development, and ideally, I want a GM map and a Player map. I love a good map, I demand a good map from a product that's based on the map. Like a town. I bought this, I love the detailed descriptions, but if I decide to use it, I'll re-draw the map myself.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Scaldcrow Generic: Town of Hokum
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Map of Berem Town
Publisher: 1191 AD Publishing
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 18:21:33

This is worth every penny you paid for it. I'm not sure it was worth the bandwidth expended on downloading it, though. It's simply a picture of a town, what you see on the 'cover' is the whole of the 1-page document. There are numbers over various buildings and a little key at the bottom that tells you important info like, 'smithy', 'marketplace', 'town entrance' (because that's hard to see?), etc. It also tells you that there's a sheriff and some militia. I don't know where the other reviewer found a functional scale because there is none on the picture, there's nothing to tell you how far it is from A to B.

Yes, it's free. Save your bandwidth for a real product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Map of Berem Town
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Masterwork Maps: Strongholds & Sanctuaries
Publisher: Darkfuries Publishing
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 18:15:27

There are only 3 map settings in this book, however, the level of quality in the first two is extensive and well thought out, with a lot of detail and plenty of substance for to build a scenario around. That detail and intelligent design merits 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Maps: Strongholds & Sanctuaries
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Mansions and Manors Floorplans
Publisher: Darkfuries Publishing
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 18:05:46

Good quality product, you get a nice selection of floor plans and the layouts suggest that some thought went into the placement of the rooms and the prospect of what's in each one. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mansions and Manors Floorplans
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Castles and Keeps Floorplans
Publisher: Darkfuries Publishing
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2012 18:02:52

Outstanding value for the price. The floor plans are nicely detailed and extensive, this is a product I can recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles and Keeps Floorplans
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf