Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules) €0,00
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
79 15
16 1
11 1
3 0
1 0
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Frank C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2022 10:19:42

It's rare to see such well-crafted products born out of a short game jam. This manual (for which the author is preparing a second edition) is easy, short, concise and clear. I admit that I personally like systems that use "concepts" instead of "stats" to define characters (e.g. Neverwhere and Not The End). Freedom Universal builds on it an interesting system with a well-defined and functional structure. Easy to use and, by its nature, very versatile and easily usable in different settings. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Yann k. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2022 10:29:44

Great system, with a very good resolution method. Ideal for quickly building a game or a one-shot session. It's also light and. good to introduce new players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2021 22:30:12

Fu is fast and elegant! Set up requires as little as some paper, pencils and one or more dice, and about five minutes to explain and jot down a character, but it can also expand on up to full page character sheets, worlds, settings, flavor text, minis, maps, and more as taste requires.

Fu is great for light gamers, kids, beginners, and beyond. It adapts to literally any setting from Star Wars to OSR dungeon crawling to any custom world I have thrown at it. It leans into narrative, and by relying on descriptors, it loses nothing in number translation. Actual traits are compared to a situation, which provide subtlety and often MORE accurate flexibility. Fu relies on comparison, so you can ignore all the pages of detail that are always the same and focus on your character's unique skills and flaws. The GM can zoom in and out on events such as battles as player interest or plot demands.

'Cons' and how I handle them These are noted by some as missing or weak: HP - I count major conditions (3 is a good base) before being taken out of the fight. Levels - I use unlockable sub-descriptors(meta-tags) that stack advantages.
Magic - RAW says just charge FU points, but if you want more scale, you can unlock levels of power for these too. The open format allows you to pick a magic system and go with how that works, whether it is spell slots, maintaining 'the balance', or just a common innate skill (edge).

The author's website and updates are filled with great ideas to add more resolution and features as well.

The common sense concepts, simple mechanics, and flexibility of Fu make it a fantastic system for anyone to quickly sit down, share some cool ideas, and get rolling. It is an absolute blast to run and play.

Mini Character sheets:https://docs.google.com/document/d/1JMLFCCdh1Qpt5Hn2n6SK1nK4AVzFrteSA9LX3AJ30cc/edit?usp=sharing

My page on running it:https://docs.google.com/document/d/1mNQTQIx0JGFnKDhhgioVElu-RC_CdVtrM-MlCRdEElc/edit?usp=sharing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - I really appreciate it!
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Craig W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2020 16:57:42

I love FU. It is straightforward, simple, but powerful enough to let you do almost anything you can imagine.

I have been RPing for about 36 years now and while I started with the same game that almost everyone else did (you know, the one that has dungeons, as well as dragons) I find I just can't play it anymore and have turned instead to more narrative games. FU hits all the right buttons for me. Having recently discovered the world of solo RPGs, I also appreciate that FU seems like a perfect fit for solo adventures. It has also been a great system for teaching my kids about RPGs.

I highly recommend this system and look forward to any future iterations or supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this review! I really appreciate it. Keep an eye out for a "revised" version of FU in the near future, which will have a few more useful tools for solo play.
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Valdemar G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2020 04:47:55

I had better luck explaining this game than Risus to non-RPG gamers! The game plays well for modern city exploration and haunted houses horror. These are the settings we used, but of course, it's universal so you can try anything. We created normal playable characters who could exaggerate how they attack and protected each other, giving them Super-Hero-Like Traits. it only uses 1 to 3 6d which everyone in my playing group had at home. It was very versatile and had quick action scenes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Scott J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2020 09:58:02

very good system. allows for plenty of added creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Jarosław D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2019 18:19:01

I play FU since 2017, there are 3 main reasons why I love this game:

1) Very simple rules – they can be explained in a few minutes.

2) It is truly freeform and universal. I participated (as a player and as a GM) in many FU adventures, in settings such as The Witcher world, Fallout, mythic Greece and others. The heroes explored, fought, casted spells, traded, negotiated and even… planned the city’s development (yes, with some creativity FU rules can be used to such things as well!).

3) Despite the simplicity of the rules, the combat is (in at least one aspect) more realistic than in many mainstream RPGs, where each character has a pool of health points and is equally effective while having 100% and 20% of them. In FU, there are no health points – instead, conditions (e.g. bleeding) are imposed on combatants. Each condition significantly hinders the character’s further actions until the condition is removed, and keep in mind that the conditions stack.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2019 05:23:10

This uses the basic (Yes-No + and-neutral-but) system to produce a viable solo oracle with a fairly freeform chargen system added. There are a few setting books for this now.

Better yet you can play this with either regular D6s and a conversion table. Or DIY your own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2018 20:10:13

I wanted a light, story-driven ruleset for a Star Wars oneshot with some friends that had never done tabletop RPGs before. This worked wonderfully! The rules are the good kind of simple: easy to learn and remember, but leave a lot of room for creativity. The free Star Wars addendum worked out well too, and I'd love to try the others (Matrix, pirates, LEGO, etc.).

Pros:

  • Keeps the fun parts of RP'ing and story-telling, without the cumbersome rules, stats, and books.
  • Really easy to explain and play
  • Could easily be adapted to any story-driven genre
  • Great for one-shots and zero-prep stories
  • Easy to GM (no dice rolling or complicated rules), though you need to think on your feet
  • Pay-what-you-want business model

Cons (well, more like intentional limitations):

  • No leveling system for extended campaigns. Characters can gain/lose traits/skills/equipment, which is reasonable for story-telling, but may not be as satisfying as "hitting epic level". Just set expectations for your players.
  • The dice numbering is a little confusing, but you can easily play with "high is good, low is bad". You'll see what I mean.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Michał D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2017 17:28:14

Good and simple game :) I wrote my own game based on these rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by William v. d. K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2016 13:28:01

very good quality PDF, and I love the conciseness of the rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Johann A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2015 13:42:35

This is an amazingly lightweight rpg! Played two adults and a kid and we had a blast. The system has no restrictions on creativity and doesn't brake the narrative flow by heavy rules. Yet it provides solid storytelling guidance implicitly in the dice rolls!

I highly recommend this gem of a rpg to all lovers of light/lite rpgs.

If you're looking for a system with hp tracking, initiative, long critical tables or other linds of heavy rules - this game isn't for you.

If you're into Fudge, Fate, Risus or other lightweight games, this one is right up your alley.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2015 19:17:25

Very good. Very uncomplicated. No character advancement, but real life doesn't give the wild advances most games do. Damage is whatever the GM decides, as there are no points or wound tracking.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2013 10:39:38

-----ursprünglich erschienen auf spacebeyondreality.de------ Heute möchte ich Euch FU vorstellen, ein einfaches Rollenspiel von Nathan Russell. Ich bin ja ein großer Freund von kleinen, feinen Systemen, die sich schnell spielen lassen.

FU beschreibt sich selbst als ein Spiel für Action, Spaß und Abenteuer. Es ist generisch und soll möglichst einfach zu spielen sein. Es ist ein freies System, allerdings liegt das Urheberrecht komplett beim Autor. Hacks und Mods sind jedoch willkommen. Der Autor selbst hat einen Matrix-Hack und einen Star-Wars-Hack bereitgestellt. Das Spiel bietet ehen narrativen Ansatz.

Präsentation Das Buch ist kostenlos als 23-seitiges PDF erhältlich. Das Layout ist ansprechend. Leider ist teilweise die Schrift ein wenig klein, aber dank Zoom sollte dies keine Hürde sein. Der Regelteil passt auf schlanke 14 Seiten. In dem Werk enthalten ist ein Beispielabenteuer mit vorgefertigten Charakteren.

Charaktererschaffung Die Charaktererstellung geht in 6 Schritten vor sich. Zuerst überlegt man sich ein Konzept, z.B. "Paranormaler Detektiv". Archetypen und Clichés sind gute Anhaltspunkte. Danach bekommt jeder Charakter vier Beschreibungen (im Englischen "Descriptors"), unterteilt nach Körper, Geist, Gabe und Makel. Die Beschreibungen sollen kurz und knackig sein, z.B. Körper: stark. Jeder Charakter erhält zudem zwei Teile Ausrüstung, welche Boni beim Würfelwurf geben. Man soll zudem seinen Charakter beschreiben (Aussehen, Hintergrund etc.) und ihm Antrieb ("Drives") und Beziehungen ("Relationships") geben. Diese Art der Charaktererstellung bietet den Vorteil, dass man einen guten Überblick über seinen Charakter hat; Stärken und Schwächen, Hintergrund etc. Gewisse Ähnlichkeiten mit z.B. FATE lassen sich hier erkennen. Russell hat eine optionale Regel zur Verfügung gestellt, bei der die Descriptors wie Fate-Aspekte beschrieben werden, also anstatt Körper: stark dann Körper: der stärkste Mann der Welt.

System Mechanik

Die Mechanik beruht auf einem Würfelpool-System mit sechsseitigen Würfeln und nennt sich "Beat the odds". Man stellt seinen Pool aus einem Standardwürfel und eventuellen Bonus- und Maluswürfeln zusammen und nimmt dann den besten Wurf (bei Bonuswürfeln) oder den schlechtesten Wurf (bei Maluswürfeln). Wenn ein Charakter agiert und das Resultat nicht absolut offensichtlich ist, erfolgt ein Wurf.

Mögliche Ergebnisse:

6 Yes, and... You get what you want, and something else. (Ja, und... du erreichst, was du willst und noch etwas dazu.) 4 Yes... You get what you want. (Ja,... du erreichst, was du willst.) 2 Yes, but... You get what you want, but at a cost. (Ja, aber... du erreichst, was du willst, aber es kostet dich etwas.) 5 No, but... You don’t get what you want, but it’s not a total loss. (Nein, aber... du erreichst nicht was du willst, aber es ist nicht ein totaler Verlust.) 3 No... You don’t get what you were after. (Nein,... du erreichst nicht, was du willst.) 1 No, and... You don’t get what you want, and things get worse. (Nein, und... du erreichst nicht, was du willst und es wird noch schlimmer.)

Wenn ein "... und" oder "... aber"-Ergebnis erfolgt, hat der Spielleiter die Möglichkeit, Details oder Konditionen einzuführen. Konditionen sind körperliche, geistige oder soziale Effekt wie wütend oder bewusstlos. Details sind Teile der Spielumgebung, die sich ändern, z.B. wenn ein Vorhang Feuer fängt.

Modifikationen

Jeder/s Descriptor, Ausrüstungsgegenstand, Detail oder Kondition, der einem Spieler einen Vorteil gewährt, gibt einen Bonuswürfel. Wenn ich versuche, eine Tür aufzustemmen, kann mir mein starker Körper dabei helfen. Ich nehme dann zwei Würfel und darf das beste Ergebnis behalten. Wenn ich aufgrund meiner Descriptors, Ausrüstung, Konditionen oder der Umgebung Maluswürfel erhalte, muss ich das schlechteste Ergebnis behalten.

FU Points

FU Points sind Bonuspunkte, von denen jeder Charakter am Anfang zwei Stück erhält. Diese erlauben es, einen Wurf zu wiederholen oder einen Bonuswürfel zu erhalten. FU Points sind im Prinzip wie Bennies bei Savage Worlds oder Fate Points.

Gutes und Schlechtes Das Rollenspielsystem ist schlicht und einfach zu erlernen. Es erfordert so gut wie keine Buchhaltung, da es keine Lebenspunkte, Wunden etc. gibt. Auf der anderen Seite ist jede (Kampf-)Situation stark vom Fokus abhängig. Es ist legitim, einen Kampf entweder detailliert zu gestalten ("Kann ich Bösewichts Attacke ausweichen? Schaffe ich es, Bösewicht mit meinem Gewehr zu treffen?") oder mit einem Würfelwurf abzuhandeln ("Besiege ich Bösewicht?"). Dies erfordert vom Spielleiter, dass er die Spieler geschickt in das an sich einfache Regelsystem einführt und Spieler, die das System nicht austricksen wollen. Harte Regeln für das Ausscheiden eines Charakters aus dem Kampf fehlen, hier wird an die Spieler und den Spielleiter appelliert. Das kann funktionieren, muss aber nicht. Des Weiteren ist man sehr von der Wahl seiner Descriptors abhängig. Sind diese breit gestreut, sind die Charaktere sehr kompetent und ein Fehlschlag kommt nicht häufig vor. Falls jedoch die Descriptors unglücklich gewählt wurden, kann das Ganze wiederum in eine Abwärtsspirale führen. Kurzum: ein "Sicherheitsnetz" durch eine zusätzliche Spielmechanik wie Fertigkeiten, Stunts o.ä. fehlt hier. Als Spielleiter muss man sich bei FU daran gewöhnen, nicht selbst zu würfeln. Mir kommt das entgegen, da ich mich dann darauf konzentrieren kann, die Szenerie zu gestalten, NPCs zu verkörpern oder mir Gedanken über die nächste Szene zu machen. Ich weiß allerdings, dass dies nicht jedermanns Sache ist.

Fazit FU hält, was es verspricht: Es handelt sich um ein schlankes, einfach zu erlerndes Regelsystem. Es ist ein abstraktes Spiel (keine Lebenspunkte, Rüstungswerte, Initiativereihenfolge etc.), welches kaum Vorbereitung benötigt und für ein "Schnelles-Spiel-für-zwischendurch" gut geeignet ist. Grundsätzlich ist es auch möglich, Kampagnen zu spielen, die meisten Spieler wird jedoch abschrecken, dass die Möglichkeiten zum Stufenaufstieg nicht vorhanden sind. Auf der anderen Seite sind die Charaktere bereits in der Grundausrichtung sehr kompetent, so dass es für mich kein Manko ist, dass ich nicht "aufleveln" kann.

FU erfüllt sicherlich die Nische der einfachen, regelarmen und erzählerischen Rollenspiele. Powergamer und Freunde des Simulationsrollenspiels, die realistische Regeln und ein komplexes Regelwerk mit vielen Talenten, Fertigkeiten etc. erwarten, werden keine Freude an FU finden.

Mir gefällt an dem System, dass die Geschichte immer ein Stück voran kommt, da das Würfelergebnis das Rollenspiel narrativ einfärbt.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2012 04:37:59

FU has a few things working for it. 1) You can't beat free for cost. 2) It's easy to read and understand quickly. 3) You truly can run any universe you like, if your imagination is broad and fluid.

There are a few things FU will need help with, if you play it. 4) It needs a lot of love and attention -- you will need more creativity than math skill, just like any other narrative rpg. 5) The rules need to have a little more "meat" on them, because they don't cover many instances of playing a game and sacrifice detail for efficiency. 6) FU basically has only one roll mechanic, which is only a good thing for experienced role-players who want to have less chance / game mechanics and more narrative / story-telling within their game sessions. 7) The artwork for the book is limited; it needs more "window dressing" - though the layout is functional and simply pleasant. The character sheet is a graphic design disaster; it's like driving an Edsel on the interstate. It needs to be redesigned to reflect the efficiency and simplicity of the game mechanics. (I am a professional graphic designer, so I designed my own sheets for my own game.)

The star rating pertains to providing broad information quickly to the general audience of how this game will appeal or not appeal; it should not only apply to narrative rpg players. It also reflects the cost (which helps immensely in this case). Unless you are entirely convinced that story-telling supersedes all game mechanics in rpgs, you will like this game system initially but later on, you will want the game to do more while remaining simple to play. If you like to "house rule" your games, and you are willing to take the time to do so with FU, then you will like this game for awhile longer.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf