Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: From the Dust
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by 12 [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2023 18:49:12

This scenario kicks so much ass. DON'T SLEEP ON THIS ONE!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: From the Dust
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by 12 [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2023 18:43:08

Since this was one of the original DG scenarios from back when the game used to be a CoC setting, I'm glad this update exists, but the scenario itself isn't great. The way it combines Native American religious iconography and the mythos feels played out at best.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Publisher: Necrotic Gnome
by 12 3. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2023 01:06:27

EDIT 9/8/23: Thanks to Necrotic Gnome for responding to my reveiw! When the updated PDF is released I fully intend to update my reveiw to the five starts this game deserves!

EDIT 10/5/23: To the snowflake below me: great, now copy the rest of that paragraph.

I want to like this book. The rules are fun, it's well organized, etc., but I can't.

The game has an enemy stat block for "Dervish" (if you weren't aware, that is the name for a real-life Muslim religious order). They are described as "Fanatically religious, nomadic people who wander steppes and desert regions, living in tents," "Intolerant of other religious beliefs," and have a trait called "Holy War" that describes them invading, forcibly converting, and enslaving other religious communities. An image of a man in traditional Dervish clothes accompanies this stat block.

At best, this is an extremely loaded and questionable way to depict a minority culture. Maybe this is a holdover from White Box D&D? I'm not sure, but I can't recommend anyone support this game while it contains something this distasteful.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi there, thanks so much for noting this! Looking at this again, we agree that the dervish entry refers to a real world culture in a reductive and inappropriate way. We will revise this in future printings of the game (along with a PDF update). As you mentioned, everything in Old-School Essentials is derived from the 1980s Basic rules. This is the only place in the game where a real world culture is directly referenced, so is out of place in a fantasy game, anyway. Rachel / Customer Support
pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon Starter Set
Publisher: Chaosium
by 12 3. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2023 03:54:31

I struggled to find the fun in this one. Many of the game's procedures take up way too much space for their own good. The mass combat rules in particular have entirely too many steps. Still, with some light tinkering, it was a lot of fun! Ignoring or simplifying the long-winded sections of the rulebook sped things up and led to of some fun moments. My players had a great time! I can easily recommend this to folks who like crunchy combat-heavy games and even to those who prefer dramatist fare with the caveat that you will likely have to do some homebrewing in the latter case.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pendragon Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Black Star
Publisher: LakeSide Games
by 12 3. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2023 03:20:06

If you like Star Wars (or science fantasy writ large) this book is a must buy. It's lightweight and good at prompting cool narrative moments without getting overly perscriptive. Wonerfully "fiction-first."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Star
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Reverberations
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Wy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2023 03:16:07

This scenario is shockingly racist and reads like a white-nationalist conspiracy theory.

This scenario's antagonists are the Tcho-Tchos, an embattled Asian ethnicity who are intrinsically evil from their very birth. So cartoonishly evil, in fact, that the leader of their political advocacy group, the CAAA, is also a member of a flesh-eating cult. No sensitivity readers are credited for this project, and it was written exclusively by white men. The writers of Delta Green seem to be fairly progressive people, and I doubt they intentionally wrote the scenario to be this hateful, nonetheless what they've made isn't "mature cosmic horror". Its the racist anxieties of an author from the 20s reimagined as a police procedural by contemporary game designers.

Some might suggest that you could homebrew the problematic elements out of the scenario, and indeed you might but at the end of the day, I still had to read through this racist drek. If I pay for a prewritten scenario I shouldn't have to "fix" it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Reverberations
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 6 (of 6 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf