Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
 
€23,46
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
67 15
1 2
0 0
0 0
0 0
Cities Without Number
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by J C [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2024 11:59:56

A great addition to the Without Number game line. It is compatible with Worlds without Number and Stars without Number but it is very much it's own game.

The switch from classes to edges is very true to the genre, since cyberpunk criminals have always needed to be poly-skilled for any game to be fun and feel right.

There's flavor / culture bits in here I never expected to love as much as I do. Crawford knows how to dig into a genre to find the mindsets that would actually emerge and be prevalent in such a world. Corporate genders?!? It's amazing.

It's a simple OSR-derived system that almost anybody can pick up. It's also got enough crunch for crunch-lovers to dig deep into for a good while, and it's open and easily moddable such that more crunch can be added as desired.

Currently running a Shadowrun campaign in this. So glad there's a system that I can use for it now, since Shadowrun's own system has always been so unworkable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Samuel [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/29/2024 18:55:30

This only system I'll run Shadowrun in. Simple, flexible, and familiar to my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Neil [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2024 19:46:02

Top-shelf Cyberpunk. To no one's surprise, this book is amazing. Kevin Crawford's games continue to astound. Cities Without Number combines an easy and familiar classless system that offers a ton of character customization with the best GM support and tools available. It's also cross-compatible with other Without Number games. Even if you're running another cyberpunk system like Cyberpunk RED or Cy_Borg (both great) the tools in this will elevate your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Forest [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2024 10:01:22

This is just what I wanted in a cyberpunk game. simple rules with a few bits added. Not a lot of crunch and very playable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Eric [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2023 15:14:43

I absolutely love Kevin Crawford's games [to the point that I am currently running four active campaigns in them]. Cities Without Number is a fantastic next step from SWN, adding just another notch or two of complexity that has given my more strategy oriented players a bit meat to chew without overwhelming my more casual/narrative players. 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Norbert - J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2023 18:26:08

check out my YouTube review. If your a fan of the other games by Kevin C. then your in for a treat! https://youtu.be/lemXiDbpRjk?si=3quMfFJKCmpLS_EU



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Anthony [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2023 17:50:43

I've been a fan of Crawford games for some time. While I love Stars Without Number (a modern classic), its better suited for occassional cyberpunk (perhaps one world) rather than a dedicated cyberpunk campaign. As a fan of the genre, I've eagerly followed CWN's development.

In overview, CWN is a tailored version of SWN that is crunchier than SWN but not as complex as Shadowrun or Cyberpunk: Red. It fills interesting space between approachability and nuance in the cyberpunk RPG world. Based on my readthrough of the book, I think its the right balance for my play group, which is evenly split between more casual players and rules-nerds.

There are few main mechanical differences between SWN and CWN. CWN is classless, features an additional trauma die roll, and has more advanced rules for hacking. Obviously, it has a many more cyberware and drone options (if I remember, drones were useless SWN TL4 and above settings). These rules changes stay within the broad outline of SWN but reinforce the cyberpunk feel (especially trauma die).

Hacking rules are the hardest for cyberpunk rulesets to get right. CWN seems to have a good system, but I'll need to run it first to know for sure. It keeps the hacker in the action (like Cyberpunk:Red) but is just different enough from normal combat to feel special. It also seems like the ruleset for hacking will be mostly intelligible to those at the table who aren't hacking, which is essential to keeping everyone engaged.

I haven't gone through the DM world generation tables yet. The cyberpunk milieu is more constrained and, I suspect many GMs will depend on the tables less than in something as open ended as SWN. I suppose time will tell.

I have only minor complaints. Sometimes I have difficulty imaging what Crawford has in mind regarding equipment. Drones and cyberdecks, for instance, are given in encumbrance numbers rather than size and are given proper names rather than names that are more descriptive. (So one wonders, what really does this fancy-sounding cyberdeck look like--does it fit in a backpack, is it discreet, could it be made more discreet, etc.?) I also found the section on drones was overly restricted to wheeled and flying drones. One thinks of sentry drones, legged drones, etc. Overall, these are minor complaints, easily patched by a GM imagination.

10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by David [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2023 07:46:48

Mr. Crawford had done a good job of making a system run your cyberpunk game with an old school d20 familiarity. The biggest thing about Cities Without Number is it's compatibility with Stars Without Number; this will add a lot of richness to your ongoing SWN game. If you're committed to the level/class style of game play, this is an excellent game to have.

My only critiques are that all of the setting material and tables are trapped in the early 90s and that the class/level based system isn't the best way to do cyberpunk. If you bring your own setting and use the tables to fill things out, they have value but I don't think it's the best way to build a setting from scratch.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jaromir [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2023 16:05:48

I'm a sucker for Kevin Crawford ever since first SWN. Now I never played his games until few weeks back but I always looted them for ideas, atmosphere and world creating tables - and that was all great. Yet I felt OSR isn't really for me. As a GM I went through loads of games but never really found a knack for OSR....

However other thing I also never really found a good (well for me) way to play was Shadowrun and cyberpunk. So... When Cities without Numbers went to Kickstarter I backed it if only for typical looting as usual. But now... Here I'm. Writing my first review here. I decided to go and play the game as written with all the rules and tools.... And here I'm again....

I f** love this game. My players love this game so much. We are excited to play. I'm excited to prepare missions. Everything flows perfectly. Every system is clean, fun and connected to the rest of the game. For me as a GM preparations are finally as much fun as playing. So my place is running short. 11/10.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Kyle [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2023 22:29:08

I have yet to play, but everything I'm reading makes me extremely excited to. The gameplay is simple and straightforward. The hacking mechanics are interesting and unique. The worldbuilding section is INSANELY useful, even if you don't want to run the system.

I wish there were "character sheet" style sheets for vehicles and drones, as they can have a lot of information to include and there isn't as much space for them as I'd like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Nick [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2023 05:35:16

I love this system, including the two older ones. This book is fantastic with a good layout, design, and material. You can check out some of the results from the generative tools in my actual solo play article here: https://penanddie.com/2023/11/02/booting-up-cyberpunk-solo-pt-3/ Please have a look!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by John S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2023 21:01:32

I've been a big fan of the author for serveral of his published games. Most of them being in the XX Without Number series.

This by far is my favorite setting and ruleset. There is enough meat and chrome here to run games for ages, and honestly by changing the window dressing on some of the missions/jobs generated to fit your particular setting you have endless years of grist and side quests for any setting.

10 out of 10.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Brandon G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2023 09:35:34

As of this date I've been running consistent session's in CWN since the first draft of the playtest materials. It's a solid game. If you are familiar with other works by KC then you basically know what you will find. An evolution of stars/worlds system with a new twist designed for cyberpunk and more details fleshed out for this specific genre. The additions of Edges/Soak/Trauma are all great additions to the system.

In a broader review for those unfamiliar with the "Without Number" systems. It is a solid cyberpunk system that has a nice selection of cyberware, fantastic worldbuilding tools, and is flexible enough to be used in your favorite cyberpunk that may already exist (If you've ever said 'I love the setting of Shadowrun but hate the system.' This game may fit the bill for you.) Its Rules light enough to be easy to run, but has enough crunch for players to latch onto and come up with characters that they love.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by James [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2023 11:19:49

In a time where Cyberpunk games for OSR are slim pickings (IMHO we could use more) Cities Without Number is a breath of fresh Air. The PDF is well layed out. The Art us superior and the game system is OSR through and through. Threat yourself to the Hard Cover if ye can.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2023 21:49:09

Im going to start this off by saying that although I've bought the previous Without Numbers books, I've never run / played a game. Instead I've often heavily relied on those books to help with generating ideas for my campaigns, be it people, places, events, or missions. Cities without Numbers is that for cyberpunk setting, but more.

Whether or not you are familiar with the Without Numbers series, trust me when I say that you will be pretty hard pressed to be asking more from this book. It certainly has what you'd expect from a cyberpunk setting: Cyberware, Megacorps, Hackers, Gangs, Guns, and each of them are as moddable as other Without Numbers settings if not more. And when I say "if not more" I mean it, There are city tables, district tables, megacorp tables, gang tables. The amount of mission tables alone could keep my groups engaged even in completley different systems (with some reflavoring of course).

The most significant thing about this book to me however is near the end, where it gives the optional rulesets. These optional rules include things like variant humans, cyber alienation (cyberpsychosis), and an EXTENSIVE way of mixing magic into the system. I was genuinely surprised at the amount of customisability for the optional magic system, given that the book is still cross compatible with the rules of SWN and WWN (Both of which have their own magic system + CotBS).

All in all, if you are someone interested in running a campaign with cyberpunk themes, or even if you are currently/plan on running one in a different ruleset, you will find incredibly useful material in this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf