Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle €0,00
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
36 6
4 2
3 1
1 0
1 0
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Publisher: Modiphius
by Darya S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2023 10:23:13

This game doesn’t give you something really unique or mind-blowing. It is plus-minus standard dark fantasy with evil cults and the approaching end of the world. But. It is interestingly written and well-illustrated, and gives you a lot of stuff just for free. Waiting for the full version.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Publisher: Modiphius
by Vít S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2023 02:55:05

For a free product, this has good production quality, but I do not see many things that would be original or captivating and neither do I understand why this has its own RPG system different from others (I have not seen anything to warrant this).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Publisher: Modiphius
by Christian [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2023 13:51:23

From reading through the primer content the system appears to be in a good spot - not too crunchy but not too light either, much like World of Darkness, which I guess was an inspiration for this d10 dicepool system.

The primer on the cults is detailed and really well written from a GM standpoint, as the content seems easy to bring into play.

The most disappointing aspect was the lore of the The Ayaari - I'd much prefer evil sorceries over aliens in my sword & sorcery setting any day.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Publisher: Modiphius
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2023 14:21:19

Great game here. It hits my taste at medium crunch, giving intereting options bithbin building your character as well as during the game. Inlove thatbit combines theater of mind with solid tactical choices in combat. While most elements of the game engine have been around for sime time, the way they are stxked together is very neat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Publisher: Modiphius
by Francesco L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2023 12:29:54

I've read through the primer and it looks good to me, some random comments :

  • I had trouble choosing from the list of the weapons, usually a sign of good balance
  • I like that even though we have classes everyone kind of works the same way, both from a level of stats + skills to do actions and with the powers activated by blood points, having the same structure for casters and non-casters helps with keeping their potential close.
  • Even considering the above i mildly dislike that the specializations are so encompassing for the class, for warriors and experts i would like to see some shared traits and powers for when you don't feel like picking something exotic, like for instance the triple shot ability of the viper seems pretty generic, why wouldn't the ninja be able to do that as well ?
  • I like the resource management of wounds and equipment through time coupled with clear ways to handle them
  • You have a skill to research through heap of books ;) it's a thing i tend to do often and our gm is always annoyed when the skill is not included


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Publisher: Modiphius
by Thirza T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2023 15:24:38

A well thought out TTRPG with great potential in this free primer. I cannot wait until the kickstarter to see all the options and meet the rest of the world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Publisher: Modiphius
by Endy I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2023 10:49:37

This looks like a well-thought out game that (being free) already includes more content than many paid games out there. It seems easy enough to get into but actually has a decent amount of crunch as well. The bundle even comes with music included, and a gorgeous map. It runs on a d10 dice pool mechanic, but does a lot of cool things with it (setbacks, weapon attributes, momentum). There's too much to cover here in short but being free it's definitely worth taking a closer look for anyone.

Also, the artwork is all top-notch and has a distinct, paintery style that's both colorful yet feels dreamlike and otherworldly at the same time, giving 'Athyr' a very unique atmosphere. The addition of two books to compliment the rulebook, one offering a wealth of setting information, the other the most expansive lore on cults I have yet seen in a tabletop RPG, makes this something I can recommend to everyone. Can't wait for the Kickstarter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Publisher: Modiphius
by Marco v. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2023 07:30:11

I've played a decent number of TTRPG systems in the past, each which had their upsides and downsides. Blood And Doom for me strikes a great balance between the crunch I appreciate in some systems, whilst still keeping it all very neat and organized. I also greatly enjoy the various tips and tools for GMs, something even after over half a decade of GMing I still find use in.

Still very happily surprised by how expansive yet easy to read all the cults and lore are. Normally I tend to lean towards either my own homebrew setting or the real world depending on what game system I'm using, but with Blood And Doom I'm actually thinking of giving this one a serious shot! As for the cults, I love how much detail is shown about what their goals are and how they seek to reach them. Too often do I find systems where this part is either left behind during writing, or becomes so hard to follow that I only end up using some monsters and writing the cult myself.

All in all, really looking forward to run this system myself and excited to see the full product take form!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Doom Primer Bundle
Publisher: Modiphius
by Dorien L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2023 20:04:31

Excellent game with one of the best settings I've ever seen! I don't usually like Level-based system, but Blood and Doom only uses them for advancement purposes, there are no explosive Hit Points and almost no fixed abilities you get - you can pick yourself what you want to learn or become better at. The game really shines in its setting, though. The regions described in the Doomsayer's Codex are evocative and I absolutely can't stress enough how many adventure ideas, cool locations, NPCs, etc. are in there. But the absolute gem is the Doomsayer's Codex: The Twelve Pillars of Doom. THIS IS WHAT FANTASY CULTS SHOULD BE LIKE in a game that includes horror elements! It's amazingly cool and so many details are included that you can build entire campaigns on just one of these cults.

Some of the texts are written in a style that goes well beyond what we've come to expect from more pedestrian-written TTRPGs. The writing is, often, impressively imaginative. It's as if Jack Vance's and Fritz Leiber's brain child had written some of this. Even if you're not going to use the D10 dicepool system (cool system, by the way), you NEED to get this, honestly. Looking forward to the Kickstarter launch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf