Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
 
€16,67
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
85 20
6 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by Giovanny [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2024 15:20:35

One of, if not the most creative and immersive adaptations of JRPG for tabletop! Loved it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by Jack W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2024 07:49:55

Does exactly what it sets out to do mechanically while givin the dm and table myraid tools to world and character built with



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by adyt [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2024 21:09:28

a fantastic JRPG experience. easy to run and teach. so good that my players are all running their own campaign



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by William [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2024 14:47:04

Great game, but reading this core rulebook makes it too painfully obvious that the creators are super excited for this game.

I know that it's an ITA => ENG translation, but it's a really tough read. I would recommend that you just find a "How to Play" on this game and just use the core book to figure out some of the nitty-gritty rules.

5/5 Game, 0/5 Reading Experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by Cameron C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2023 14:37:28

One of my favorite systems of the last ten years. Manages to capture the narrative flow of JRPGs in a way where everyone feels involved, without getting too bogged down in the mechanical complexity of the genre that tends to ruin other attempts to replicate it that I've found over the years.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by William [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2023 23:54:12

The system is interesting (d6-d12) stats with rolls being [Stat + Stat]+modifier vs DL. If you are a fan of anime and jrpgs look no further this game is for you.

The chibi art in the book and the format (like the old video game guides) is wonderful. It has a depth to it that will require I read it more before I go to the Atlas, having said that I am LOVING what I am reading and look forward not only re-reading it in the future but running it as soon as I can to get a feel for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by Joshua [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2023 15:20:40

I picked this up in hardback at my FLGS, and while I have issues with the layout ("Press Start", an otherwise excellent intro to the game, is on page 145, among other issues), the game taken as a whole is a breath of fresh air.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by April B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2023 15:10:29

A really well formated book and a very exciting game. The ties to jrpgs are fantastic if you're into that genre, but even beyond that association I think its just a solid fantasy rpg in general. Im a big fan of the simplicity of older dnd and osr games but often dislike the tone theyh are forced into for a very grim and gritty dungeon crawly experience. This system does a fantastic job of beiing very simple to pick up, without skimping on meaningful choices during character creation and combat but still can be used for more high fantasy vibes where you play as super heroic characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2023 20:10:08

Great game if you want an unique way to create the feeling of a classic JRPG on tabletop. I truly recommend it, since it's a very different product from everything else I've seen on the market. The brighter tone it brings is also very distinguishing from most TTRPGs made in the last two decades at least, which have a focus on horror or mindless combats. The book also has a sandbox component within its thematic that proves itself very useful, as well as very nicely designed. I'm hopeful for more from this IP and its creators.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by Cannibal H. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2023 08:23:28

"In its quest to be the perfect onboarding tabletop RPG for JRPG players, Fabula Ultima wound up being a near-perfect onboarding game for… pretty much anyone." - Seamus Conneely

Read the full CHG review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by Tobias B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2023 04:22:54

I have now ran a couple of One-Shots and i am planning a campaign. I have fallen in love with this system. Here are some short points that i think people should know before buying:

  • This book does not offer a Setting/World to play in. You are supposed to make this world together with your players
  • You HAVE to multiclass in this game, you start with 2-3 classes and you will end up with at least 5 if you play to the max level.
  • the rules are simple, the fun comes with the crazy amount of options, when it comes to character building.
  • Some aspects of the game are very free form. Players can basically "homebrew" Spells (called rituals) and items (called projects). Though the game also has normal pre-written spells and a good amount of Items.
  • Monster stat-blocks are super easy to use and run and the rules for making your own monsters are great!

Overall, you get a full ruleset for your JRPG-flavoures games. The art is great and it's a very easy read! On top of that you get an active Discord and an active author who is currently creating expansions and Playtest Material.

I hope this helps any buyers on the edge. For the price you get great value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by Tidus [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2023 07:49:12

Fabula Ultima is one of those special games which accomplishes something new and unique. Using a simple, new player-friendly system it successfully captures the beauty and grandeur of Japanese RPGs in a way that no game before it ever has.

Game balancing and simple mechanics aside, the art and writing in Fabula Ultima is extremely evocative and well-done, and provides fluid means of capturing an original fantasy world and translating it into something real for your table. It encourages excitement and interest, giving you encouragement to include things in your original world that your players would enjoy to experience.

The game also gives a lot of power to the players by having them be involved in world building, which can give clear and strong indications to the GM about the kind of stories they would like to experience. The variety of classes, and the fact that regular, free DLC is being released, give both players and GM a wealth of options to build upon their ideas.

I've been playing RPGs for 23 years, since my earliest school days, and habitually collect new systems; I can offer no greater commendation to it than to say that Fabula Ultima sits atop my amassed collection as perhaps my favourite RPG to date.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by Beatriz L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2023 13:29:15

Really fun, is easy to do almost any character in mind, and as master i really like the npc creation



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by David V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2023 15:39:13

This book is beautiful and the layout is well-done. The page are not dense, so it's easy to read through it all. The art is inspiring and the style is consistent. If you like old school jrpg video games (think Final Fantasy IV or Tactics), you'll see it's really a good ttrpg system to get the same feeling. I've been GM for 3 game sessions so far. The rules are easy to understand, and the page spreads can make cheat sheets very quickly (for example the page for actions in combat). The skill-less system took a bit of time getting used to, but we're getting the hang of it now. I recommend it. I'll be getting the paper version if it ever becomes available in Canada.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fabula Ultima TTJRPG
Publisher: Need Games
by julien l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2023 06:57:03

I am 35. I play video games since I'm 5 and J-RPGs since I'm 10. I played a crapton of J-RPGs.

If you want to put Final Fantasy, Dragon Quest, Bravely Default, Octopath Traveller or the recent Chained Echoes, this is game is for you.

It's a cheap game (French Physical will come in February under 50€) all in one and gives you all the tools to make you J-(TT)-RPG.

  • World building comes from Apocalypse World and is cooperative
  • Villains have clock, PCs have to move their ass
  • Character creation is great taking both the better of the worlds of 13th Age and FATE
  • Optimisation does exist but isn't busted
  • Art support well the style
  • GM advices are great for beginners
  • Classes are well designed and easy to "reskin"
  • PC evolution is great, both simplier and richer than D&D
  • Magic and summons are easy to use
  • Using only attributes for actions instead of skills gives a lot of freedom
  • There are tools to make you own ennemies and villains
  • Character relations are used like in Cortex Prime
  • Character sheet is greatly made and there are already fillable one

I don't really see any flaw in this game. Even the fact that it's made for at least 2 PCs is said in the beginning. This is a hidden gem which is cheaper than D&D 5 and many people can enjoyed. At least, give it a try with the "press tart" quickstart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf