Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Beecher's Bibles
Publisher: Monkey's Paw Games
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2023 11:58:41

Perhaps the best adaptation of the PANIC engine that I've seen thus far, this book has me absolutely motivated to whip a little something up and have my players put some lead into some Border Ruffians. Gives an unflinching view of what happened in the time period.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beecher's Bibles
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The House Always Wins
Publisher: Tim Obermueller Games
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2023 09:21:30

Absolutely wanted to love this adventure, and there's a lot to like about it (certain NPCs, some of the traps, and the overall theme), but the process of actually playing through it was an intensely grind-y experience that often times gave little for the players to do but say, "I keep running/climbing/trying to get away". My group started the adventure excited, but by the end of it, two of the four players had asked me whether we could just stop running this game and forget about ever finishing it, which is not something they've ever done before. Many of the room scenarios felt very same-y, either through aesthetics (one player noted 'most of the rooms feel like they'd look almost identical to each other') or repetition of threats, making the scenarios that were truly different seem wildly incongruous. There's not much in the way of narrative other than, "You have no choice but to get through this" and a sub-plot my PCs truly did not give a shit about, and that made it even harder to want to keep persisting with the game because the adventure by design is pretty blase about whether or not the players live or die. One of the traps was so frustrating that one of my players said she'd rather go to the gynecologist than play this again. Admittedly, this is just as much Mothership 1E's fault as the module on that; the amount of dice rolling, and resultant Stress tracking, is a gigantic distraction and often times my players just forgot to do it because they were more worried about what they were doing instead of constantly (and it will be constant if you run this) tracking their ever-increasing stress, and a great swath of the equipment, not to mention 90% of the skills from Mothership 1E are as useless as udders on a male bullfrog in this. Not fun, not recommended, and it made me like TTRPGs just a pinch less overall, which is concerning.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The House Always Wins
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
One-Shot RPG System Rules: Modern Horror
Publisher: One Shot RPG
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2023 10:47:57

Absolutely one of the favorite systems my group and I picked up in 2022. It's clean, quick, and doesn't present a lot of edge cases, has a mechanic that allows players to alter their rolls, and a relatively open system. Pay ten bucks for it, 'cause it's worth it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One-Shot RPG System Rules: Modern Horror
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks, John! The review is greatly appreciated. I'm glad you and your players (assuming you are the GM) are enjoying the system. The trick is making it easy for the GM but exciting for the players. I notice this review is for the older version of Modern Horror. I've released a 2nd edition (available here on Drive Thru RPG). The core mechanics are the same, but I've changed a few things, including introducing bonus successes. The goal is to make rolling the dice more exciting. I'd love to hear what you think, so if you check it out, drop me an email at oneshotrpg.gm@gmail.com. All the best and thanks again!
pixel_trans.gif
Massacre at Tortoise Lake: A One-Shot RPG Adventure
Publisher: One Shot RPG
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2023 09:45:05

An absolute romp and one of my gaming group's favorite OSRPG Horror adventures to date! It absolutely requires taking a little extra time to work on relationship-building between the NPCs and PCs if you want the full dramatic effect, but stretching out the beginning and adding a little bit of extra 'social' time is pretty easy. The text could use a once-over pass on editing just to make sure there's no fragments from previous iterations of the storyline and that names are spelt correctly throughout, but that's not a big deal and doesn't detract any from the adventure itself. Like the other OSRPG Horror games, the author does a very, very good job of ensuring that they've got a diverse cast for the NPCs which is always welcome. A treat!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Massacre at Tortoise Lake: A One-Shot RPG Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks, John, for another review. I'm glad you and your group had fun with the adventure. You touch on a great point about extra "social" time with NPCs. As a GM, it's really rewarding when the players become invested in the fate of NPCs. The only way to do that is to invest time in developing those relationships. I find that when I'm running one-shots, I'm often on the clock because it's a convention. It's worth resisting the temptation to rush ahead to ensure players are immersed in the experience. Point taken on the edits - I often push these games out so quickly, and things are missed. Something I'm trying to improve. I'll be updating MaTL for the release of 2nd edition rules, so I'll give it a good edit. Thanks again, John. Truly appreciated. David
pixel_trans.gif
Clowns of Funland: A One-Shot Horror Adventure
Publisher: One Shot RPG
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2023 13:17:16

This adventure has an okay concept (abandoned theme park) but falls apart at virtually every level. Playing it through as laid out by the flow of the adventure events is virtually impossible unless PCs are given little to no agency, almost two pages of the book are taken up with a sidebar for what to do when players try to access an area they shouldn't be in rather than simply moving the means they have to access the area until later in the adventure, and overall, the module asks a lot of both PCs and the GM as far as potentially ignoring incongruities that, when added together, expose a lot of logical and narrative gaps that are hard to address or reconcile. It's not unplayable by any means, but compared to some of the other OSRPG Horror modules, it has to be one of my least favorite, if not the least.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Clowns of Funland: A One-Shot Horror Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, John. I really do appreciate your feedback. I'm actually working on OSRPG Modern Horror 2nd edition (to be released in September) and am in the process of updating all of these old adventures. A lot of the changes I make come from GM and player feedback like yours. As one of my earlier works, Clowns of Funland holds a special place with me so I'd love to give it the tune-up it deserves. I'm sure your feedback will help with that if you are willing to share. Drop me an email at oneshotrpg.gm@gmail.com or reach out to me on Discord (phzoul). I'll also send you an advance copy of the new Modern Horror rules, so you can take a look.
pixel_trans.gif
The Covenant of Dagon: A One-Shot RPG Adventure
Publisher: One Shot RPG
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2023 23:22:12

One of the most solid of the OSRPG horror adventures to date, it has a lot of pros and only a few cons to the adventure as a whole, and my players had a blast playing it. Refraining from having or minimizing the 'set' dialogue from certain NPCs would make interactions feel more organic, one or two NPC adversaries feel like they just disappear from the story without explaination, and a key item serves a very important purpose in aiding an NPC but no prompts are given to help characters identify that in the situation. Still, the character hooks and set-pieces made it a standout amongst some of the other adventure offerings in the OSRPG horror line



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Covenant of Dagon: A One-Shot RPG Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi John. Thanks for the second review. It means a lot to hear back from GMs and players. I'm glad your group had fun playing The Covenant of Dagon. Actually, I give the same advice as you regarding dialogue. GMs should read the dialogue in prep but make in your own in the game. Perhaps I need to include a section up front with this type of advice. I include dialogue because before I wrote RPG stuff, I was trying to write a movie script, and the dialogue thing stuck. While the Covenant of Dagon is more recent than Clowns of Funland, it's still getting a refresh because of the new 2nd edition rules. If you have specific feedback you're willing to share, I'd love to hear it. Drop me an email (oneshotrpg.gm@gmail.com) or reach out to me on Discord. (phzoul). All the best!
pixel_trans.gif
Monsters and Animals™, for Palladium Fantasy RPG® 2nd Edition
Publisher: Palladium Books
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2022 16:32:14

A great resource for a slew of common animals, as well as a host of the iconic creatures from the PFRPG that's easily adapted to any of their Megaversal games. A solid, reliable book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters and Animals™, for Palladium Fantasy RPG® 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Publisher: Modiphius
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2022 15:42:11

Shocked by how easy it was to pick up the 2d20 system (this was my first one in the system) and how plug-and-play creating an adventure was with the wealth of adversary information/stat-blocks in the book itself. It feels like a very, very faithful adaptation of the games to a TTRPG, and I am interested in seeing further supplements or additional products after trying this out. Pretty impressed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
KILL SCREEN
Publisher: Mystery Spice Games
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2022 15:39:59

Found out about this in the Chunky Cheese's Eateria and the Magical Chunky Animal Band tri-fold and had to end up picking up a copy to supplement this madness. Wonderful cassette futurist rendition of something beyond Polybius, great bit of TTRPG fun to add to anything!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
KILL SCREEN
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
A Rocky Road
Publisher: Monkey's Paw Games
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2022 12:52:39

It's always fun to see an adventure or release for The Vanilla Game, and while I wouldn't call this an adventure per se, it's absolutely all the materials that one would need to create one, or five, with the same minimalistic quality that seems to embody TVG's ethos. The hooks are sharp, the potential PC entanglements nice and briar-filled, and the art is really tight and evocative. Best part? It only cost me five bucks, since I paid a little more unlike the people bellyaching that they didn't get a full adventure module who probably only paid $3. I've made tabletop hay with less before and paid more to do so, this'll do the trick a couple times. Keep up the good work, Monkey's Paw.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Rocky Road
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Terror of the Stratosfiend #1 : TROIKA! Edition
Publisher: Orbital Intelligence LLC
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2022 19:16:15

Weird, gross sci-fi bio-horror setting for Troika! Absolutely one of the weirder spheres, and probably not one you'd want to fly your whimsical core book classes through... but then again, maybe you would, I'm not your Dad. Fun and nasty in equal measure without going for overt gross-out humor or juvenile bullshit. Worth picking up, especially at the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terror of the Stratosfiend #1 : TROIKA! Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2022 19:02:16

My copy, which was purchased back when it was Onyx Path Publishing that printed this and not Renegade Game Studios, came with some damage along the spine and rear cover of the book. The adventures inside themselves are pretty interesting and fleshed-out, but it's not my favorite book out of the line. It's also really weird to write a review for a book produced by one company and now distributed by another, but to be fair, this is at least one failure with V5 overall that I can't lay at Renegade's feet.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Beach Blanket Bloodbath and Worse tales
Publisher: Chaosium
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2022 18:56:01

The Beach Blanket Bloodbath adventure alone is worth the price of picking up the PDF, and is absolutely the stand-out of all the included adventures, but each one has its own merits and would be fun to run. An excellent CoC offering, looking forward to more like these from the author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beach Blanket Bloodbath and Worse tales
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Grindhouse: Volume 1
Publisher: Chaosium
by John [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2022 18:45:50

More a fan of Isle of the Damned than I am The Crimson King, but the latter feels like it owes some debts to Hammer Horror and other stuff that was never really my bag.

Update: Had to revise my rating after running through Isle of the Damned; still has a great concept, but suffers from functional issues (speed of scenario events happening vs. offering time for exploration) that make for a less than enjoyable experience. Best advice I can offer someone is allow the scenario time to cook and modify the antagonists' appearance trigger to something more logical, because if you don't and you tell your players the conceit of the adventure post facto once they're done it, they may go through and pick the adventure apart so thoroughly that the logic behind it falls apart in front of your eyes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Grindhouse: Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
you wouldn't last one minute on the creek |PARFAIT EDITION| (TROIKA Compatible)
Publisher: Orbital Intelligence LLC
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2022 18:42:07

This thing absolutely feels like a goddamn fever dream, but it's a really silly and fun fever dream, so there's nothing wrong with that. Who doesn't like to get weird every once in a while?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
you wouldn't last one minute on the creek |PARFAIT EDITION| (TROIKA Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf