Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The ORPHEUS Protocol
Publisher: Vârcolac Press
by Jordan [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2023 18:05:02

I really like the player-facing sections of this book, but I feel that the lack of setting information, even if the writers intended for each group to make their own setting, really drags it down. For example, the format is that the group is meant to work for an organiation called ORPHEUS, but we have barely any information on it beyond what is provided in a single page adn what context clues can be figured out from the rest of the book. It is really quite frustrating. Otherwise is good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The ORPHEUS Protocol
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Kindred of the East: The Relentless Age
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2023 22:05:35

So I paid full price for this, about $27 CAD, and boy was it ever worth it! I have stumbled upon a variety of KotE fan-remakes for the present day and this is by far the best one. So first I will say that the first half, with the character creation and cool powers are all great, but I think that is less of an achievement then the new Dharmas, like the Ram-Hearted, the new take on the Scorpion-Eaters, as well as the much more gamable feeling descriptions on the classic Dharmas, without removing the interesting parts that made them really stand out. Those are all amazing, you have a ton of great tools to make really cool characters from all over the world.

However what really surprised me was the second half, where the book goes over the various regions of Asia in 1998 as well as the Appendices with NPCs and spirit creation rules. Those blew me away because of how well really interesting and gameable plot hooks were integrated into the descriptions of these regions. I think that hsienfan and co. understood that they didn't really need to go over real world explanations of what each region was (we all have the Internet, after all), so they instead focused on the situations that specifically involved the Night Folk (the term used for various supernaturals in the World of Darkness) and the Hungry Dead in particular. From Hiroshima, where Changelings jealously guard their now dominant position, to a certain very humble American-Chinese restaurant that hides a horrific sleeper, to my favourite: The Jinhae Earth Prison in South Korea where something unspeakable waits in the 108th level basement, these places are all given very interesting and fun scenarios that are ready for your players to interact with! The NPCs are just as good, all of them interesting, with ready-made plot hooks ready to insert into anyone's game!

I very highly recommend this, as someone who has followed hsienfan's RPGnet thread for years, this was absolutely was worth the wait!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kindred of the East: The Relentless Age
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you, Jordan-- I couldn't have done it without people's support on the thread, so I owe you twice the thanks for that as well. Happy gaming!
pixel_trans.gif
Ashlands: M.E.R.C.s
Publisher: Wolfhound RPGs
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2023 10:05:47

I really like the early 2000s webcomic aesthetic married with a quite well-thought out and detailed setting and rules. Clearly a lot of thought and heart went into this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ashlands: M.E.R.C.s
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
NewEdo
Publisher: Salty Games
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2022 20:02:41

A very skillfully made combination of Legend of the Five Rings and Shadowrun, but managing to keep a very distinctive style, world, and mood. I can't wait to see what is in store for the future with this very promising property!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NewEdo
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Jordan, thanks very much for supporting NewEdo and going to the trouble to leave a review! I hope you enjoy your adventures in NewEdo, and if you haven't yet, please stop by the Discord to say hi. And don't worry, there's more to come in the NewEdo world!
pixel_trans.gif
Book of the Wyrm Companion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2022 17:26:36

so first things first, this book has a really comedic tone. One that I was ready to roll my eyes at and dismiss. I'm glad I didn't because Boomer somehow walks the very thin line of keeping things funny without it getting obnoxious AND keeping things creepy. Even better, it's actually a really useful and fun guide to generatinf weird fomori monsters and the First Team generator questionnaire is a lot of fun too! Great job!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Wyrm Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Midnight World
Publisher: Gem and Eye RPG Studios
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2022 14:33:50

I spent a few days reading this book and I came away quite impressed by it. Although there are some small imperfections I noticed, most of them I chalk up to personal preference rather then any actual mistake.

Although I expected this to feel like World of Darkness, it actually has more in common with Call of Cthulhu or a more Lovecraftian Unknown Armies. The basic set-up is that you have experienced a traumatic event related to some kind of supernatural horror, and although that event has left you with long-term scars (psychological and possibly physical) that look into the supernatural world has also left you with a connection to the Things Beyond.

The good news is you get cool powers and the ability to detect the influence of the corruption of cosmic beings seeping into the universe The bad news is those cool powers are traumatic to use and you have the ability to detect the influence of cosmic beings seeping into the universe.

While you are more durable then a standard CoC protagonist, this game is clearly not set up for years-long campaigns. The characters burning out is baked into the mechanics through the very intriguing Midnight Clock, which gives you the ability to advance your character, but also counts down the borrowed time you are living on. It is strangely freeing though, knowing your character is going to die, and that time can be held off if you're careful. It's all up to you if you want your character to burn bright and fast or fade away slowly!

The descriptions of the Dread Beings and the Cults are pretty cool, although I do wish we had more examples of monsters to throw at the players. The templates are helpful of course, and written in detail, but I enjoy a good bestiary.

Anyway, I'm really glad I read this book! Heartily recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Midnight World
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review!
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2021 19:43:05

This book was so great to read that even if I were to never run or play in a King in Yellow game, it was worth the cost. Some of the scenes were so atmospheric and creative that I had to show my friends just cause they made me so excited. The art was top notch and really added to the mood as well. BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2020 19:38:06

An excellent book that answered questions I didn't know I needed to ask! The only reason it's not a 5-star rating is that there's always room for improvement, and that some of the sections were unclear about which was the default setting assumption in "canon" Ascension.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Wr20 Book of Oblivion
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2019 22:21:25

The chapter on the Tempest feels like it was written by someone who has never actually read Wraith or understands how things like the seperation between the living and dead work. For example, flooding in the real world shouldn't completely flood the Underworld. It's not literally under the living world.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wr20 Book of Oblivion
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf