Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
 
€59,77 €30,34
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
72 32
2 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Yuwei S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2022 11:46:00

I tend to not keeping players in a snowstorm villa or some sort so that they will always have access to normal world or a sanctuary that they can retreat to. This way, it won't be an adventure into a dungeon but be an investigation that can happen on a normal Wednesday daytime and they can head off home when it gets late.

Although this method keeps the investigation feeling flow, it also decrease the tense of horror when it happens because they can just "I'm going home".

Not for this book.

This book is true to the theme of "Horror in the truth" and unlike others, this truth is not bound to space, time or entities. It's not even inescapable because the idea of escape entails before and after the encounter. But there is no such thing here. (Curtain calls) It is and will always be me writing the comments here. Until I write it again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2022 10:57:25

This is a gargantuan beast, a wonder of design and flavor.

A pleasure to read and a pleasure to run.

But this is madness. Not as gritty reality of the rest but in perfect adequation with the King in Yellow.

I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Jose A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2022 13:36:28

Just finished running this with my group and I must say it was AMAZING. Not only is the book crammed full of an amazing campaign that will befuddle and terrify players, but it is also laid out well that running this complex adventure isn't more ardous than any other linear story. Even if you're not sure if you're going to run this, I urge you to get this book, it's an excellent read through and can provide ideas for many other adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2022 07:10:14

Possibly the best CoC/Delta Green campaign ever written. Worth every penny if you're into the Hastur/KiY mythos.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Geoffrey S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2022 16:17:51

This is an incredible campaign! It has all of the things that make Delta Green such an engaging game - investigation, creeping cosmic horror and dread, tense character decisions and dramatic death spirals, but it also moves beyond that into larger exploration of storytelling, reality, and the nature of gaming itself. Besides the thematic elements, Impossible Landscapes is an incredible and intuitive game to run. The digital handouts and detailed descriptions of NPCs and locations give Handlers all the tools they need to bring it to their physical or virtual tabletops. This is a richly designed campaign that will have Agents hooked from the very beginning as they attempt to unravel its secrets and mysteries. I've run it twice and each time was a really fun experience. I can't recommend it enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2022 18:47:37

Fucking amazing. That's all I can say. Rich, deep and satisfying. Transcends the conventions of roleplaying to become a great work of wierd literature.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2022 16:16:07

Impossible Landscapes is beautiful and engrossing. I have no particular interest in the Carcosa/ King in Yellow mythos. I expected to just skim it for ideas. It sucked me in so fast that 19 pages in, I found myself making a red string board of the connections it was hinting at in the images and marginalia.

I can sincerely say this is the most beautiful book I've ever read; and the art doesn't get in the way of function. I've never read an RPG with better layout. It's easy to navigate the main text and sidebars to understand how to run the campaign. It's also easy to see how to weave setpieces or characters from Impossible Landscapes into an existing Delta Green game. And if you want, you can go very deep extracting extra ideas from its marginalia. (Snippets from Project Stargate documents and Wikileaks releases; anagrams like "Hygromanteia = Mahogany Rite"; hints at the Imperial Dynasty of America timeline...)

There are two flaws, both common in horror campaigns:

1) There are setpieces that players will think can be solved by investigation or combat, but actually can only be solved by fleeing. (Don't make your PCs wander around losing sanity while learning nothing until everyone's bored and frustrated; or all get anticlimactically shot dead without knowing why or by who. Drop appropriate hints).

2) The book gives the GM a ton of cool information, much of which the PCs have no way to learn and no reason to investigate. (Come up with ways for your PCs to discover everything in the book that strikes you as particularly interesting, horrifying, etc).

These flaws are less pronounced than in some older Delta Green books. The authors are clearly aware that stubborn players will try to find the end of an endless maze or stand their ground against respawning murderers, and aren't cheering for the GM to trick their players into failure states. There's appropriate advice on how to run a horror game, how to keep players' choices and their characters' defining traits important within an overall mood of doom and danger.

Impossible Landscapes is a joy to read. I'd love to run the campaign. I'd recommend reading it for the story and art to anyone with an interest in horror, alternate history, or investigation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Luke B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2021 14:53:03

Doesn't get better than this. Beautiful book, great writing, very well thought out. I haven't run it yet but I will soon and I cannot wait.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Carl-Niclas O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2021 01:35:44

Impossible Landscapes continues Arc Dream Publishing's tradition of setting the bar higher and higher for each of their new products. This campaign is intricate, thought-provoking and horrifying, while also telling a very compelling story that your players will talk about for years to come. Excellently written, lavishly and equally excellently illustrated and illuminated; this is the epitome of what we ought to expect from published scenarios and campaigns.

Fear is fractal, and your world is a lie.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Steve J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2021 06:14:27

The new Delta Green series from Arc Dream has redefined the production standards for RPGs. Taking what was already a popular and exciting setting and then upping it to the next level in terms of artwork, layout, design . . . all intended to enhance the feel and mood of the game.

Impossible Landscapes takes this to another level still. It was already a complex and advanced way to treat Hastur, Carcosa and the King in Yellow besides being 'just another tentacled beastie' . . . the existing Delta Green take on this part of the mythos was to portray it as a subtle cancer on reality: an example of surreal horror as normality and rationality starts to crumble and give way. The book itself treads a narrow path between a game supplement and evocative manual, the very design of which starts to mirror the breakdown of reality as players progress through the campaign. Hints of madness almost creep off the page with the marginal scribbles and the disturbing artwork from Dennis Detwiller, that can be both photo-realistic and chillingly surreal.

It's a monster of a supplement (figuratively and literally) and you can tell that many, many weeks of effort, sweat and tears have been poured into it to update the ideas and original adventure (Night Floors) into the polished format and integrate with the other material. And in reading through you are drawn into the weird, fictive half-life that the survivors and refugees from Carcosa are drawn into. A bit like Arthur Machen in 'Baghdad', or Samuel Beckett's Malloy and Malone, there's a slight worry that after too much reading you'll start to see these characters pop up in real life, or merge into eachother. If DG were real, this book would be categorised as hazardous and there would be cells chasing down copies for eradication.

The bar got set high by the Agent's Manual, then blown out of the park by the Handler's Guide. This is going to be one of those supplements that people remember as being a milestone for RPGs, let alone the particular system it's written for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2021 14:39:52

I love the mythos around Howard Chamber’s The King in Yellow, and I love Delta Green, so when I found out about this campaign I was pretty damn excited. So does Impossible Landscapes live up to the hype? Is it Delta Green’s version of Masks of Nyarlathotep? The short answer is yes. This book is nothing short of amazing and if you like Delta Green you should buy this book immediately.

I’m the kind of person who reads RPG books for fun, even modules that I have no intention of running. I’ve read quite a few books for many different RPGs, and I feel pretty comfortable saying that Impossible Landscapes is probably my favorite RPG module of all time. It’s sprawling, ambitious, horrifying, and most importantly, creative as hell. It explores and expands upon the Carcosa mythos more deeply than any other piece of media I’ve seen, while at the same time respecting Chamber’s original vision.

Impossible Landscapes is broken into 4 interconnected segments. The introduction, set in 1995, is a reimagining of an older scenario which sees the Agents looking into the disappearance of a young artist in New York City. From there, the action jumps forward to 2015, where the same Agents are once again enlisted by Delta Green, this time to look into some disappearances at a psychiatric facility in Boston. Without going into too much detail, this sets the Agents on a journey of surreal horror and madness as they discover the true nature of reality.

This module asks a lot of both the Agents and the Handler. Agents will have to be clever and inventive to solve many of this campaign’s challenges. There’s actually not a ton of combat in Impossible Landscapes, but due to the sheer amount of horrific circumstances and revelations that are thrown at the Agents, PC death and especially insanity is probably going to be very, very common. But for the Handler, this module is nothing short of intimidating, with tons of NPCs, handouts, plot details, and possible encounters to keep track of. And on top of that, there are many cases where the Handler has to keep track of and remember many, many small details at once as they unfold in real time. This is definitely not a scenario for a newer Delta Green Handler.

This is also not a scenario for the squeamish, as it contains disturbing and unsettling scenes and motifs throughout. It never really goes into anything sexual, but there is lots of violence, body horror, psychological horror, and just plain insanity. Just reading Impossible Landscapes is pretty unsettling, and the authors definitely lean into that in some fun ways. There’s a lot of creepy little details in this book that only the Handler will ever see.

My only real complaint with Impossible Landscapes has to do with NPCs. In my opinion, this book doesn’t do a great job when it comes to introducing NPCs to the Handler. It’ll tell you a lot about what they look like (the NPC portraits in this book are fantastic, by the way) and how they interact with the Agents, but it doesn’t really communicate their overall place in the story. There were a lot of times when an NPC would be introduced, seeming to be one type of character, and then like 100 pages later would be revealed to be something completely different. Or an NPC who seemed initially of little importance would suddenly become vital to the story much later, without any warning. These types of twists are fun for the Agents but there’s no reason to throw them at the Handler. I just wanted a few sentences like: “This is so-and-so, right now the Agents think he is [x] but he is actually [y]” or “This NPC might not seem very useful right now, but make sure that you set him up properly because he’s going to be very important later on.”

This is a relatively small complaint though, and overall I can’t recommend this book enough. If you have a Delta Green group you owe it to them and yourself to run this scenario. Impossible Landscapes is a must-buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2021 23:06:27

Just finished reading the PDF. This book is fantastic and it feels like a thoroughly encompassing way to get your players mired in a frightening mess. The NPC art is superb and frankly even the normal people have an unsettling look about them. It's clear that even with the deadliness of violent situations, most of the threats to sanity will lose only 1 SAN at a time, making the slip into madness feel slow but inexorable. The linking of curiosity to danger has never been more direct in a COC/Delta Green book.

The plot really shines in a section where players think they have escaped the surreal locations for a second time, only to find themselves still hallucinating under the influence of the King - the example hallucinations are just chilling. Also, the way the author has found to deal with the narrative problem of the players being wanted and caught by mundane law enforcement (not exactly supernaturally scary in their own right) is very clever. The callbacks between different times and places, and spaghetti of connections between NPCs, is incredible.

The only thing it could use but doesn't have is a bibliography or list of influences/references, would be nice to see the recommended stories by Chambers, Borges, etc. in addition to the clear recommendation of a classic public domain demonology text.

There is an appendix of side-character NPC encounters that is worth the price of admission and would fit right into any modern horror/magic setting such as Unknown Armies.

(I reviewed this a couple weeks ago but it was turned into a "Discussion" so here is the review again)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Fabio P. d. S. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2021 17:34:17

Amazing campaign, truly horrific and mind-bending, different from anything I have seen in either Call of Cthulhu or Delta Green for that matter. Don't think twice about grabbing a copy of this!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Harold B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 14:26:52

Impossible Landscapes is an excellent addition to the new edition of Delta Green. The book itself is gorgeous, packed with evocative illustrations and creepy annotations that really add to a dense and complex campaign. The campaign is superbly crafted. It builds on a revised version of the scenario Night Floors, that first appeared in 1999 Delta Green: Countdown. The three other parts of the campaign revisit the agents involved in that opera years later, in what becomes an inexorable escalation in surreal horror that eventually brings them to the heart of Carcosa. The four scenarios are quite detailed, and Night Floors has been revised and expanded to fit perfectly with the rest of the campaign. I suspect that this campaign will ask a lot of preparation from the GM, if he really wants to do justice to the tone and atmosphere proposed, and if she wants to tie everything up in a creepily effective way (there are a lot of exquisite occasions to do so, with various call backs to other parts of the campaign). The good news is that the GM will have many tools at his or her disposal, with an excellent index, loads of handouts and Static Protocol, a companion to the campaign that assembles in a single, well-structured document, a lot of the background that the Agents will want to explore in the course of the campaign. By the end of it all, you’ll most certainly see the Yellow Sign (and loose a bit of SAN).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by GREGORY C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2021 11:43:31

I thoroughly enjoyed reading through this campaign. I don't know when I'll ever get to run it, or if my brain/SAN rating could even handle doing so. I'm looking forward to the day when I can try my hand at putting some unsuspecting players through it. Definitely not a "pick up the book and start playing"-type campaign. It is too deep for that. But the work you put into running and playing it will pay off.

And either way, Impossible Landscapes is worth getting just for the joy of reading it. Dennis and Arc Dream have put years of work into this campaign, and it shows. From the artwork to the evocative, reality-bending writing and scenario design. If you and your group are up for it, I'm sure it would be a terrifying ride.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf