Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners €6,52
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
35 14
12 2
4 0
0 0
1 0
Sprawlrunners
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Patrick [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2024 07:44:43

This is an extremely well written set of rules! For any Cyberpunk genre setting for Savage Worlds, this has to be the best bang for the buck! It had almost no setting fluff, so you are free to use whatever you like. This makes playing a davage version of Shadowrun or Cyberpunk 2020/Red/2077, or any home brew.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Tyler C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2023 14:10:21

This fits some many idea, and gives so much more. A great alternative "low power" street level supers system dressed up in Cyberpunk that Old Magic.....



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Niall B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2022 20:55:13

Overall, I think this is a really solid product. Rigger rules are fine. Magic rules are fine. Firearms rules are fine, just the right mix of options + some customization to feel flexible, but not overwhelming. I like the logistics points rules that loses a traditional nuyen counting approach for a more abstract currency progression system (though it takes some getting used to).

There are just a few issues that stop me from the full 5/5 stars.

Example Enemies: I know it's not a lot to write up some quick n dirty stat blocks in Savage Worlds, but I would have really liked to see 4-5 generic enemies using some of the Sprawlrunners gear/edges/abilities for quick reference. Having a baseline to work with is nice.

Hacking Rules: They are almost there. I'd like to have seen in-combat options. I'm coming from a Shadowrun 5e experience, which based on what I've seen in other reviews, this game isn't trying to mirror. Even so, I feel that's a pretty major cyberpunk feeling, and it's a bit lacking here. I also think the rules as is fit slightly oddly into the "standard" shadowrun formula. Generally in my experience the hacking is part of the legwork before the mission (which ideally wouldn't take too long) and then the run execution is more combat-y. These hacking rules seem to expect that the hack is part of or otherwise happening along with the run execution. Maybe that's on me to run the game differently? But I'm not really sure how to do so, since my players gravitate to their current play patterns.

Logistics Points Confusion: I really like the idea in principle, but I'd appreciate a little more guidance about how to handle common player questions/behaviour and how the system intends for them to be handled (looting useful gear from subdued enemies jumps to mind).

Cyberware Costs: There's a little bit of oddity with cyberware costs. The Implant Points system has some oddities with 0 cost implants, and the pool of options being just slightly too small, so once certain big ticket items are purchased, there isn't a fantastic backup selection. It's not broken, but it's jarring.

Altogether I would recommend this product. Together with the base Savage Worlds my group is having a much better time than we were with Shadowrun 5. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Martin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2021 20:51:44

This book provides excellent, near future, cyberpunk rules to augment your Savage Worlds game. Although Sprawlrunners mirrors Shadowrun in a lot of ways, the content of this book is just as flexible as you want it to be. Want Trolls and Elves? Sure. Straight tech no Tolkien? Still works great! Pink mohawks, mirror shades, black coats - whatever your flavor, it works, and it keeps it fast, furious, and fun! The author even put in two ways to run the net - Fast Lane and Slow Burn - to determine how detailed you want hacking to be (see also, how much game time do you really want to devote to the decker).

My favorite part is that the author makes the mind-blowingly bold choice to do away with "money makes you awesome." When I first encountered that in his thoughtful preface, I was like "nope - not going to work." But it does! Almost every cyberpunk/sci-fi game is rooted in "you have to make money to buy equipment/cyberware." That's antithetical to Savage Worlds (accounting is not fast, furious, or fun), and it's actually not in keeping with the themes of cyberpunk fiction - Nuyen/Credits/Eddies - they are straight up mcguffins as far as cyberpunk stories should go - that big score that never quite works out. Instead, he uses a really simple mechanic to handle general gear as well as using a similar mechanic (that relies on edges) to handle cyberware. You get an allotment of "stuff" to gear up as needed, but you don't have to be a CPA to track it. Want chrome? Take edges and get chipped, swapping it out as the job needs it. Just a brilliantly simple mechanic to handle that part of the story! That sort of gear mechanic is not unique to this game, but the author's version is done exceptionally well.

The bang for the buck is fantastic (and there's official VTT options out there). It's not a setting book per se - you won't get 100+ pages of fluff to bloat the size of the book, giving you a pseudo history of the next 60 years and the names of 2-dozen corporations. Instead, you get the framework to tell your stories of the sprawl.

If I have a criticism, it is that I want more! I would love some archetypes, more extras, a plot-point campaign, more gear, more cyber, etc. I would especially like to see more edges for two of the core runner types: hackers and jockeys (think decks and rigs). Reminder - this is a five star review, and I'm not saying the book is incomplete at all. All you need is the SWADE core rule book and this to run the shadows/sprawl. If you are interested in running a cyberpunk game with Savage Worlds, I highly recommend this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Georg H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2021 16:50:00

This is just awesome. If you want to play Shadowrun and don't want to struggle with the rules this is the right toolkit. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Joel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2021 11:20:56

I have been waiting for a Fantasy Punk (SR) ruleset that wasn't actually Shadowrun for a long time. This ruleset which plugs very nicely into SWADE is perfect. There is the right amount of homage to my favorite RPG setting and it manages to be very playable. It doesn't try to shoehorn Shadowrun into SWADE, it uses SWADE rules and character generation with some well done (minor) modifications and additions to make it a fully realized Fantasy Punk (SR) rules addition. This is not a setting book, it allows you to use the RAW to create your own setting and world. I grew up on SR1 back in 1989, this is the first ruleset that made me feel like I can play that universe setting again without the headache of convoluted rules that just get in the way of a fun evening of RPG.

If you love Fantasy Punk (SR) and you like the Savage World rules, I suggest that you purchase this book and give it a go.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Qusai A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2021 10:04:40

I like that it takes on the spirit of Savage Worlds and doesn't add too much complexity. It encourages ready-made Edges from the SWADE core-book as descriptions of Cyberpunk tropes which I think is how SWADE says it should be. It has rules for cyberware and gear not found in Sci Fi handbook that has a Cyberpunk feel, but your game could also supplement Sci-Fi handbook easy. The only difference is that there is no strain with cyberware but there is a backlash, which is more of a setting rule. The lack of Bestiary is disappointing however the things it does adds, like Fast Lane rules for hacking (which are excellent) is worth the buy for its price point. I would give this a 5/5 with a bestiary even if it was tiny, although I hear there are plans to add that supplement later.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Thomas E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2020 12:21:03

What a beauty this one is. I really like the oldschool Shadowrun vibe it has. That's exactly what I was looking for. I'm gonna start me a Savage Shadowrun group based on it. Thanks so much to everyone involved in the making.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2020 12:37:42

I was going to Savage Shadowrun but this thing really saved the the time. I think that's really what it was made for. Essentially it's Shadowrun with the serial numbers filed off and I mean that in the best way possible. The Author really seems to understand the concept behind Savage Worlds and doesn't try to stack a lot of strange mechanics into it just to create the "feeling" of crunch or to fluff out the page count. You get races and magic, and Riggers and the works. Deckers get the option of using two different types of system to handle matrix runs and both can work to taste depending on how much complexity you or the player want to add. That's one of the strengths of this book. It really does let you dial in your game to taste and it's done with intent, not a ham handed attempt to sell you a book. The Author seems to have a firm handle on the deisgn philosophy of Savage Worlds and keeps things Fast Furious and Fun. The only point where I think my opinion diverged was on Cyberware. If you're running Novice Heroes they are going to see a ton less Cyberware than you'd expect in any other system. As a player I'd be stunned. This isn't a dig at the system and if you read the author's description it makes sense to me. They add cyberware via edges but the costs of implants are so great that it really caps the limit on cyberware more than I think some players (myself included would expect). It's not necessarily a bad thing and you can easily change it by lowering the costs of implants or running more experienced characters to start. Personally I'm just going to swap out the Cyberware rules with the ones from the Sci Fi Companion for now along with their accompanying edges. This book also gives you the option to remove magic entirely. It also gives you options on how to incorporate it into your specific game world although in my case I'm just using Shadowrun's history. The production values are way better than most products found in this price range. The art from the cover to interior art is all top notch. To be honest it's better than we had in almost all the gaming books we had in the 80's, 90's. Layout is clean and sensible. It borders on being as good as some of the stuff being kicked out by major publishers. There's really nothing to dislike about this product as the price is right and anything you want to change either has a recommendation or is just so easy to do it's almost inconsequential. I'd wholeheartedly recommend this book over most of the existing Cyberpunk settings currently out for Savage Worlds or use their background and just use this book's ideas instead. Hat's off to incredible value and utiility for the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2020 20:03:41

This product is just pure awesome, complete with art and over 70 pages of material. The author makes good use of space and I never really felt like any of the book was unneccessary. im definitely going to be using some of this for my table particularly the expanded hacking rules and maybe some of the gear.

Up front though both cyberware and equipment function on unique points systems you acquire through edges as opposed to acquiring them with wealth or money. mechanically it seems solid but i think for my table we will be using cyberware amd gear in the more traditional sense rather than being tied to edges. Thats just personal preference.

overall i think this in conjunction with existing books, it is a useful toolkit. So even though im not a big fan of cyberware as edges, the overall product is still worth 5 stars and im glad i picked it up



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by adam b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2020 20:33:44

Sprawlrunners looks like a really nice supplement to help with running cyberpunk games. There are some interesting mechanics in it that are different enough to make it feel unique while not to weird to make it to hard to understand. Aswell if are having issues or just general questioned the Author is very helpful and kind when it comes to helping.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2020 08:18:12

Well, I've read now the book a few times, wanted to post some loose thoughts and first impressions. So far this is based on zero playtime, just reading; but I have played a little Savage Worlds in the past so I'm not coming at it totally cold. None of the following is intended as a criticism; most of it I really like, but even the small amount of stuff I don't like so much is just a matter of taste and not in any way me saying Sprawlrunners (SpR) is bad.

First and foremost: know that SpR is very much a Shadowrun (ShR) second edition era take on things. Wired matrix, no technomancers, no bioware, no nanotech, hard split between hermetic mages and shamans. I don't think any of this stuff would be particularly difficult to add back in, if that bothers you (and if my table adopts SpR I will be taking a pass at some of it.) But you should be aware of what you're getting.

Secondly: SpR bills itself as a framework and that's worth emphasising. One of the joys of Savage Worlds, as it is a generic RPG engine, is that you have a wide range of compatible books to draw on, often crossing genres. For example, the cyberpunk system Interface Zero contains lots of ideas for game mechanics, gear, and chargen options that could be very easily dropped into a SpR game. There's an official Vehicles splatbook, and another for Science Fiction, and one for Horror; all of these contain material that could be leveraged in a SpR game. (Small footnote: updated versions of some of these books are not yet available for the most recent edition of Savage Worlds.) It's admittedly still not as big as SR5e + all its expansions... but it's nowhere near as messy, either. So know that you've got a broad palette to draw upon.

Now, back to the SpR book. It is lean and mean (71 pages), is high quality, has a good standard of editing, clear layout, and decent quality artwork. That page count goes a long way. All the core mechanics come from the Savage Worlds (SW) CRB, and SpR does an excellent job of getting down to the point. It probably covers about the same ground, in terms of character scope, gear, and mechanical systems, as the 2e CRB does. It feels more complete to me than Shadowrun Anarchy does. It also has no meaningful setting information of its own, which isn't likely to trouble any existing Shadowrun players like me.

So, overall, I like it a lot. Out of all the Shadowrun-but-not candidates I've looked at, this one is probably the best fit for my table.

Now for some more detailed comments on specific aspects:

Savage World's magic system is worthy of a comment. At first glance, it looks a bit slim - there's 40 or so "powers" (approximately the same as spells) in the core book, and they're mostly pretty generic. Not much like Shadowrun's grimoires packed with weird-and-wonderful oddities. However, this is a little deceptive. Each power, when learnt by a character, comes with "trappings" that alter how it works; some of these are cosmetic but others have game effects, like elemental damage. And powers also have a variety of modifiers that can be freely applied at time of use, like adding damage over time to an attack spell, avoiding friendly targets with an area-of-effect spell, or using Healing to cure a disease or poison. So each entry in the powers list covers a lot more ground than a single spell does in Shadowrun.

Something about SpR worth calling out is "logistic points" (LP). Characters do not buy gear with nuyen. Rather, they are assumed to constantly change their gear, disposing of hot items after a run, then re-outfitting themselves anew for the next mission, from some combination of borrowed and black-market-purchased gear. They can choose to spend their LPs at any reasonable point during the run, so they might use part of their budget for surveillance gear, complete legwork, decide on an approach, trade that gear away again, and then reuse those LPs on weapons and such they need for the run itself. There's not a lot of book-keeping here, characters start with 10 LPs (it goes up as they advance) and most common items cost 3-5 or so.

Permanent high-value possessions (eg cyberware, foci, signature weapons) are not handled as money or LP but instead via Edges. Edges in SW are somewhat similar to Qualities in ShR, but earned more frequently as characters progress. In SpR, characters can spend those edges on things like implant points (which they can then "spend" on getting more cyberware installed) or other pieces of durable, permanent gear.

Even lifestyle is handled this way, with the "Rich" edge upgrading a character to Medium lifestyle and "Filthy Rich" to High. With all of these changes, there's no need to track nuyen at all. This is perhaps a little jarring at first, but I think it works in the context of Savage World's general Fast-Furious-Fun philosophy. YMMV.

Another area where Savage Worlds and SprawlRunners differ significantly from core Shadowrun is character power level. In SW, by default, characters start weaker and advance faster than in Shadowrun. This is another trade-off decision that might suit you or it might not. It's certainly nice to have meaningful post-chargen advancement options, something that ShR can struggle to offer unless you play in longer term campaigns. If it doesn't suit you, you can always grant the characters some free "advances" (basically, Savage Worlds speak for level-ups) as part of chargen.

One final thing I want to note is around initiative and the role of combat-oriented characters. As written, SW and SpR does not have a mechanic for combat chars to dominate initiative; in fact, the primary method of gaining better initiative is an Edge that is available to anyone. Obviously, this is a significant change from core ShR, and oner that is is a mixed bag, IMO. It opens combat up to everyone in a way that ShR does not, but it risks diluting the combat specialist role. This latter part might be somewhat mitigated by other SW mechanics - eg. it's more expensive to be highly skilled, which I think would continue to distinguish the streetsams from, say, deckers with a big gun. But I need to play a few chargens out to be sure of that.

This would be quite easy to change back if you find it bothersome. Interface Zero (I think that's where I'm getting this from) has mechanics where wired reflexes allow characters to act more than once during the turn, which is a very classic-ShR feel, and would fit perfectly well in SpR.

So to sum up... there's a lot here to like, and what things suit my personal tests less would be quite easy to change. Savage Worlds is a solid system with a slant towards pulpy action, and with middling levels of crunch. Its classless chargen system still offers character-optimiser players a big palette to work with. And SprawlRunners does a great job of giving you a clean, foundational set of rules to play urban-fantasy-cyberpunk with.

So, yeah. I like it! I'm hoping to get some time to explore it with my table tonight, and if we all agree, I'm quite serious about moving my current ShR 5e game over to SprawlRunners.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Bn L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2020 13:05:11

What's to say about this book other than it's great? If you're a fan of cyberpunk, Shadowrun or Savage Worlds this is a worthy investment. It hits all the right notes as a toolkit for your own cyberpunk games with great packets of "plug and play" rules. Need near-future magic with no cyberware? Covered. Want technomagic built and run by corporations? Go for it. Crave a chrome-infused dystopian nightmare with no magic? It has your back. Are you tired of the gear-game too many cyberpunk settings become? This is the place to be. Just get the darn thing already! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Steven L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2020 12:15:27

Sprawlrunners incorporates everything you need for a cyberpunk or Shadowrun game while sticking true to the Fast, Furious, Fun mantra of Savage Worlds. It’s a fine line to walk and it nails it.

If you want more detail into anyone aspect utilize Interface Zero. They are great compliments to one another and in my eyes both are fantastic adaptions of the cyberpunk setting.

Also, the layout in Sprawlrunners is fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Péter A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2020 08:00:51

I love it. It is a well thought-out and well-written book with nice artwork and a nice feel to it. I especially like the Logistics Points approach to gear, and the Edge-based cyberware, though it makes me want to run games for characters that are at least Seasoned rank.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf