Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Well of All Fear
Publisher: Chaosium
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2024 14:27:42

I am planning on running a Regency Campaign for Cthulhu and am on the hunt for additonal material to use, the classic time poor GM story. This is an excellent product, its got all you could want and while I don't use Roll20 I am a big user of VTTs and find the online material to be of signficant value. The adventure is actually excellent, there are twists and turns and to be honest a good surprise in the resolution options. Its also got an excellent Cads of Regency vibe which I think is vital to the setting.

My one note of warning is this is probably more of a folk horror as opposed to Cthulhu horror game. The monster as it were is not what it may first seem and the vibe of the setting is specificially aligned to the activities of the humans over the monsters, nor are the monsters necessarily the root of the issue. With that note said I am mightly impressed and look forward to running this as a key adventure in my campaign and would recommend it to anyone with the same intent, it actually provides a bit of a break from unrelenting Cthulhu Horror and the whole setup is a great riff on the 'what ever shall a poor weak woman do in this man's world'



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Well of All Fear
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
ALIEN RPG Chariot of the Gods Scenario
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2023 13:54:10

Love it, tight and smart with a fair amount of homage to the newe material in the canon, bit for all that perfectly captures the intensity of the original movie. The character's conflicts are material and impactful, creating great narrative in game and providing in both cases that I ran perfect endings. Its best played fast, with the characters getting little time to breath once things begin to go awry, and to be honest that pretty much happens immediately. I do have a few monor niggles, and sadly these are maginifed throught the later released materials (which in my honest opinion become more unplayable as they move up the chain). But this is great stuff...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Chariot of the Gods Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
ALIEN RPG Destroyer of Worlds
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2023 13:49:06

Ok I love Free League and I really love Alien the Game. I love the way the mechanic feeds the fundamental narrative and I suspect it'll will always have pride of place on the shelf. But this module is awful, its railroady beyond belief, the characters are given almost no agency, there are troupes that are apparently genius, but are just repeats of the past. Its far too long as a rail road adventure, and could have been perfectly setup as an actual sandbox, but that option was missed in the design. I have played it once and now have it as a copy, I will never run it and as noted I love Alien.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Destroyer of Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Harlem Unbound - Second Edition
Publisher: Chaosium
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2023 13:39:56

I think its simple - this is the most brilliant setting book available in any system I own. I use it to run an infrequent campaign using Vaesen as opposed to CoC rules and its still amazing. A fantastic summary of the history of Harlem, the people who made it great during the renaissance and of course a very considered view of racism and how to handle it in the narrative at the table. How to tackle racism in the real, while you are GMing, a number of great adventures, some of which are poignant, some of which are sad, all of which are genius. If you buy one expansion and no matter what system you use, this is the book for the 1920's for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Harlem Unbound - Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
VaeZine: February 2023
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2023 13:35:57

Ok So I am in this magazine, which fairly might raise a question about the review. Having said that there is a whole piece on constructing new Vaesen, an adventure site and a good and general discussion on all things Vaesen. Its an amazing initiative and I like the ambition that it portends. The idea of a quartery magazine with solid art and articles for a game I am in love with is fantastic and timely. I look forward to reading the next issue and seeing what's going on in this very small, but very cool corner of the hobby!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
VaeZine: February 2023
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2023 15:49:46

This game is actually perfection, an almost magical implementation of intent and rules allowing a player to fully immerse themsleves in the setting. It allows the handwaving of historical detail, while still capturing the nature and experience of the period, the dramatically changing landscape, cultures and customs of the time. Character creation is fast, and when done with life path generator - rich. The monsters and the challenges the characters face are often multidimensional, challenging them to solve the mystery and then shift to dealing with the threat, which is not always a faeire. The art is beautiful and evocative, and captures the sense of the world perfectly. Overall I cannot recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cthulhu Maps - Tatters of the King - Book1 - Pack1
Publisher: Chaosium
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2023 15:42:42

So I was super impressed by the free prelude offfering (check it out if you have any doubts about the quality), and that level of impressed continuos in this product. I love the NPC tokens, the maps (once again I choose WEBP format for speed of load) and the handouts. Added to this are some very nice silhouetes of various horrible monsters. I am thankful I will noy have to do the level level of heavy lifting creating these would have required, and while a little expensive for some people, it saves me hours (probably tens of) in personal time. So it was a no brainer for me.

The package is neatly divded into folders - broken down by category of image and event/location in the module, so its readily navigated. I would just add (sorry) that I would also convert the handouts to Webp format for speed and utility, but it was easily done.

All over great stuff again...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Maps - Tatters of the King - Book1 - Pack1
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Convicts & Cthulhu: The Misery Archive [Bundle]
Publisher: Cthulhu Reborn
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2023 02:48:57

This is excellent work, I'm halfway through the campaign guide and I am in love with detail. This captures the essence of the setting, providing a solid background and options for players and GMs alike. Multiple story seeds, adventures, locations and NPCs are included in the bundle. All of this for the incredibly low price of 6$, how can you say no to that. I'm super impressed by the entire deal and as a fellow Aussie excited to think about how I might use it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convicts & Cthulhu: The Misery Archive [Bundle]
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cthulhu Maps - Tatters of the King - prologue - Free Pack
Publisher: Chaosium
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2023 13:53:50

I love this material, I am planning to run The Tatters of the King on VTT (Foundry) and this makes that come alive, which is awesome. The quality of the Maps and the Handouts is stellar and I love both the NPC and PC tokens. I am a theatre of the mind GM so we won't be using the gridded map, but its agreat to have the option. I love the Webp format material for the maps and will be using that to reduce load on PC machines and improve the immersion. If I had a gripe, I would say it would be great to have the handouts produced in the Webp format as well, I went in and coverted them all myself (reducing the 5.5 M to a 300kb file), but otherwise amazing resource for the Tattered King for VTT.

I weill be buying the complete bundle its so good...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Maps - Tatters of the King - prologue - Free Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Oh thank you so much for this review! That's great of you! Yes if the Handouts are too heavy, I'll think about putting it in Webp. it's a good idea!
pixel_trans.gif
Tatters of the King
Publisher: Chaosium
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2023 16:49:23

I got this on a whim, I was looking for a good Cthulhu Campaign of middling length (so less than a year) to run and having looked at the big campaigns (Masks, Trains, Shadows etc...) I found nothing that appealed to me as a GM or I felt I had the time to run. This campaign feels like Cthulhu done right, a great and deeply disturbing monster / story, with a focus on social roleplay and minimal investment in direct conflict (excpet where it appears for good reason). I really love the story and the conflicts that are going on within the antagonists and how those conflicts expose and provide much of the information the players need to progress. I am super excited to be running this in the near future and my players are as well. Hastur is an interesting monster as a villian, and the way the stars are right is played through the module is cool. In the end of the campaign there are no neat answers, the resolution of the module is deeply challenging for the players and makes roleplaying the focus right up to the end moment of the module.

Its in an older edition of the rules, so it gets marked down for that as it lacks the newer style of clue and lead management you see in books like Harlem Unbound and Regency.

For handouts (noting it comes at some expense) I would strongly suggest you look at the work of Lovemaps - https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/423362 who has done an amazing job of making really good material, if VTT is where you land to run the campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tatters of the King
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The One Ring™ - Ruins of the Lost Realm
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2022 01:05:32

This is a fantastic addition to the ToR canon. I have and love all of the 1st Edition products and if you recognise the quality of those products, you will be very happy to hear I rate this as highly. The art is evocative, the locations are excellent and the overarching mini campaign is quite interesting. Its fair to note the scope of the mini campaign is smaller than many that are explored through the 1st edtion, however no less imapctful for the people of Eriador. I also found with little effort a number of the locations could be re-located to other settings, for instance shifting Fort Arlas to Mirkwood worked a treat and actually created a major goal for the players to complete over a number of years.

Overall awesome



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™ - Ruins of the Lost Realm
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Secrets of Cats: Feline Magic
Publisher: Richard Bellingham
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2022 07:37:51

How can one person describe perfection in simple words. We used this to introduce a number of the kids to TTRPG and it worked a charm. With a clear set of guidance on how to play cats with magic, and evocative setting and all contained within a small package this is value for money. The game is perfect for family gaming, the stakes are just right for the set-up and its a lot of fun to boot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats: Feline Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cults of Cthulhu
Publisher: Chaosium
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2022 20:09:25

So oddly I bought this more for the utliity of thinking about Cults in general and how they are structured, as opposed to CoC and in particular Cthulhu centric cults within that setting. I like the quality of the production and the attention to detail that Chaosium always gives you, the book is well layed out and has three amazing adventures across different times for you to face off against some of the cults defined in the book. It provides some nice structure around the development of a cult and giving them some actual reasons and drivers. The discussion on recognising that most people are still people, even when corrupted by Cthulhu and therefore have very real human motivations is a key point well made. The book also provides details (beyond the adventures) on a number of potential cults for play across different eras (1890's, 1920's and 2020's). I would probabably have appreciated a broader discussion on the cults of the CoC universe (so the other Gods get little consideration), but thats me ignoring the title a bit. There are random tables for generating the broad outline of the Cult Leader and the Cult itself. The book also provides a worksheet for cult creation and solid sheet for identifying and working out the cult leader. Overall I think its excellent if your focus is on Cults of Cthulhu in particular, and very good if its CoC that floats your boat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Dee Sanction: The Harrowing of Harlow Hall
Publisher: Just Crunch Games
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2022 19:50:37

So this short little adventure is perfect for the Dee setting (which to be fair noting the Author, you would expect). I love the low prep approach and the feeling I could just pick it up and go. The monster is very Dee, and the challenge the players face has exactly the right level of you really are the lowest of the low vibe to it. Loved it and its worth the price to boot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dee Sanction: The Harrowing of Harlow Hall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mothership: Dead Planet
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2021 14:48:19

OK so the Art is best described as abstract, however I am with the people who feel clear pictures of unspeakable horrors ruin the mystery of the monster. The derelict ship generator is worth the price of admission, and will serve you well for Alien RPG as mush as for Mothership. I love thr tightness of the module and in particualr the weird heart at the centre of the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Dead Planet
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf