Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English €18,47
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
289 20
29 5
7 3
2 1
5 1
Mörk Borg English
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2023 17:51:20

It the death metal album of roleplaying games. Play it and never go back.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Harper [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2023 10:19:08

At first I thought this would be more RPG-as-art than an actual game. The layouts are... not conventional. Every spread in this book looks like a doom-metal poster. It rocks!

Reading through the book, once I got over how gorgeous the design is, turns out the rules are super coherent, easy to learn, and really drive home the atmosphere the game is trying to evoke.

It takes about 10 minutes to roll up characters and start playing. Prob the fastest getting started in an RPG I've ever seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Josh C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2023 18:34:19

This is a must own for any TTRPG enthusiast. I would own it for artwork alone. Myself and 4 friends (gm inlculded) started playing Shadowrun. We only had 3 session but we were addicted! The GM had to move due to work but we wanted more TTRPG. those 4 sessions were my first and only experiance, so i stumbled upon Mork Borg, decided i would take the GM helm and keep a game going for my friends. This is such a great design as our sessions are narritive driven stories. We decide what our rules are and if we even want them. This book gives us so much freedom to play how we want with a good backbone to create a depressing, agressive, and hilarious game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Brandon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2022 17:06:17

This is the game you have been waiting for, if you have been waiting for a ghastly Swedish doom metal aesthetic sword and socery ttrpg, with delightfully light rules. Who needs some dumb back story? Who needs elves? The Gods are Dead, the World is ending next week and you might like to eat before then. Pick up an axe, try to stop bleeding and go fight those cannibals. This is your 80's Satanic panic that the "hobby" never was. Multi-award winning, Mörk Borg will change your life... so much so, you might buy Cy-Borg and Death In Space too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Andrea C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2022 09:55:49

An interesting game system overshadowed by its near-illegible typography and layout. It reminds me of H.O.L., another game that just went on a shelf to look pretty and never be played.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Donald H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2022 11:12:48

It is impossible to read. At least for me. The multiple fonts, weird colors and illustrations that an editor apparently considered more important than the actual copy itself made it impossible to understand. I seriously begin to get a migraine just trying to slog through their oh so atmospheric tome.

Yes, I get it, it's supposed to be scandinavian doom metal meets role playing. But you shouldn't take inspiration for your layout from black metal album covers that aren't meant to be read anyway. There's a point where your lovely art, weird layout, and bizarre fonts overpowers the text and it becomes its own enemy.

I'm not the only purchaser to notice this and while some rave about the 'Bestest RPG evar', many have asked simply for a simple ruleset without the layout, color, illustration, and odd fonts that make it a chore to read.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Cannibal H. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2022 12:23:25

"Reading Mörk Borg is an essential part of playing the game, and even if you were to hack a rules element from Mörk Borg into another OSR game, it would not land the same unless your players see the manner in which it was originally presented. Mörk Borg is a game for which “style over substance” is not an insult, and it’s my hope that there are lessons to be learned here about where the experience of reading an RPG manual fits in the broader notion of playing a game." - Aaron Marks

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2020/04/15/mork-borg-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by eric b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2022 21:21:56

this is wonderful chaos. if you knew how some none OCD and none gramer structure people take notes thi is it. it appears poorly laid out. but it gets rid of all the structure of writing and just gets to yhe poiny. How many trees were killed in almost every RPG book to explain Role playing. I absolutly love the end of days apocolypse setting.counting down to midnight. The lore is unique and does not fit our standersd religions or mythologies. Wonderful chaos.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2021 11:42:14

This is a game that takes no prisoners, shows absolutely no mercy, and I wouldn't have it any other way. Did Morrow Project feel to nice and coddled for you? Did Warhammer seem to pull punches? Well here's a game that absolutely refuses to back down and will punch your players in the guts until it rips out their spines and waves them around in grizzly triumph. If death metal and OSR games had one wild night together, this game would tear its way out of one or the other a year later (don't ask me why it takes a year to design an RPG, it just definitely takes longer than nine months to craft something so delightfully grim and brutal). This is another game I heard recommended on the Vintage RPG Podcast (I think, anyway), and I'm only annoyed that I waited so long to snap it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Danielle G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2021 16:29:19

An absolute BLAST and I've done this with a beginner group and a veteran group and no one survived but we had a grand old time. The book itself is an absolute work of art and the world is fascinating in it's awfulness in the best kind of way. 100% recommend everyone give this a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Damien L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2021 06:47:48

In summary:

  • Simple rules with loads of random fun stuff that lead to loads of unexpected surprises.

I can't recall why I added this to an order (for other books) that I placed directly with Free League Publishing way back when? but I am so glad I did. Admittedly when it arrived I had a quick flip though and my immediate thoughts were "What the?" and alas it went straight to the RPG "bookshelves of holding" mostly unread.

I did try again but like others have mentioned found some of the text is a tad hard to read and make sense of. To be fair, only the font used on the first paragraph of page 3 and the titles of the powers on page 35 I actually found hard to read. The remaining text (fonts) are easy to read, you just have to get used to colour changes and paragraph placement but all in all it's not that bad. The Index on the inside back cover is a godsend and makes finding world details, creatures, and rules so easy to look up. I also admit I found some of the background campaign information hard to make sense of but I think that's the idea - you and your players make whatever sense of it as best fits your table. My final concern was how will I interpret the Miseries as they are rolled I guess the players can help me? Maybe ask each player, “What does that Psalm mean to you?” and then use the best or combo of the best? So again it went back to the shelves unplayed. Our group also prefers to stick with familiar systems so picking up something new, easy as it may be, was not on the table for us.

But reading praise after praise for the game on the internet led me to pick it up a third time and this time gave it a proper chance. So I read it cover to cover and now my thoughts were “Sounds fun” and told our group I have a one-shot to try next time we’re a player short (normally we would cancel). That chance to play came two nights ago when our DM was away.

Here are the highlights from that first session:

  • Read and understood the rules in maybe 10 minutes.
  • Read the adventure and prepared for it in under 30 minutes.
  • I generated 3 characters from each class using the online scvmbirther as the session would only be 3 hours and I was confident both the Gutworm and Fletcher would end in a TPK.
  • Loved that many parts of the adventure are determined at random.
  • Had the PCs start at the top of the stairs of the Accursed Den, recalling the offer of freedom if they found the kings son with 2 random Scrying(s) to “aid” their cause.
  • PCs summoned a “tired crystal demon” causing the herb-master to loose his use of powers for the day.
  • PCs talking their way past the crooked guards rather than starting a fight. I think their low HP made them think more carefully about their actions.
  • The two random encounters (Mongrels and A terrible silence) and discovering how hard it is to roll a 12 to hit when your stats are 0 or less.
  • How often weapons would break, but were saved by an omen when they really needed that weapon not to break.
  • My surprise that no one tried to prize out the gems in the Gem room.
  • Not my surprise that a PC was thrown into the Rotblack Slugde, but my surprise that they alone (everyone else saved and held onto something – another surprise) would swim over to Fletcher in the Slaughterhouse, got bit by the Gutworm along the way but somehow survived, and then started a conversation with Fletcher.
  • My surprise they decided to take down Lesdy in exchange for the kings son. When the world’s about to end but you’re determined to witness that end first hand I guess you’ll do anything if you think it means you’ll live another day.
  • My surprise that only 2 PCs (of 5) died, one at the hands of the hosts (Lesdy’s fanatics) and the second who died two hours after they rescued the son and were heading back for their reward (from internal bleeding).
  • The whole randomness and overall weirdness made this a memorable adventure that concluded within 3 hours, noting none of us had played before (and only two of us had read the rules).

Everyone had a blast and a lot of the fun moments aren't or can't be conveyed in the text above so thanks to Pelle and Johan!

I am uncertain about using this for a campaign. I would like to, but given the high chance of PC death will it start to get stale once newly generated PCs start being repetitive? That said I was brought up playing AD&D where really only spell casters got new powers so not sure if this will matter long term. I also recently stumbled upon Vast Grimm (same rules but in space) and that one I do want to try for a longer term campaign. I have some crazy notion of using the adventures from the Alien RPG – I dunno but that verse sounds crazy fun. Maybe get PCs to roll 4d6 take lowest for stats and give them max HP at the start? They should find hitting things easier and survive a little longer. Not sure …

I should also mention that there is so much more content in the book that we never touched in our one shot: The world, the miseries, many of the random tables such as treasures and corpse plundering, levelling up (getter better/worse), various creatures. For a small book (less than 100 pages) it sure packs a lot of content. I highly recommend giving this a shot, even if like me it takes a few reads, it’s definitely worth it in my opinion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Federico C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2021 08:21:03

The game has a lot of style and flavour, it's easy to pick-up and great for one-shots and extremely short campaigns. This is also its downside: the game is not geared for character survivability and it's easy to feel overwhelmed by the high stakes of failing rolls that are quite prone to failure due to the flimsiness of the characters themselves. So, if you're in for a quick dip into doom metal gaming where failing a roll could mean bloody death, that's great! If you're looking for more depth and long campaigns with strong character growth I would advise against it: rules are barebone and characters die quite quickly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Robert P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2021 20:05:13

It's a good wee game while containing a lot of great flavour but there's not a lot of substance to get your teeth into.

However, imo, I don't think it's a good as everone has cracked it up to be. YMMV of course!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 19:13:35

This is how to write innovative game with the good ol' school fashion. This is a huge jump forward in philosophy, concept and game design. It's not only about the aesthetics: it's easy, deep, crazy, dark, hackable. Can't wait for more. It's as good as swedish death metal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mörk Borg English
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2021 04:18:30

Let's see what MÖRK BORG is. First of all, let's say a few things about its creators. The author and game designer of the game is Pelle Nilsson, known for his work in the Swedish horror rpg Bark Witch (Barkhäxan), while the illustrator of the game is Johan Nohr, who contributed to the graphic design of the dark fantasy rpg Symbaroum. It is also noteworthy to mention the fact that MÖRK BORG made a successful kickstarter campaign in 2019, where it was funded in less than an hour. The game was released in 2020 through Free League Publishing (Fria Ligan).

MÖRK BORG, which translates as "Dark Castle" from Swedish, is an OSR (Old School Revival) rpg, that is, it tries to capture the feeling of the rpgs of the 70's and 80's, giving more basis to the imagination and atmosphere than to rules. On the contrary, the most popular rpgs, even in their latest versions, have too many rules to watch out for. So, as the people from Free League rightly put it, MÖRK BORG is "light on rules, heavy on everything else". However, where it differs from other OSR rpgs is that with its visual content and without much written information it manages to create the gloomy and dark atmosphere of a dying world. As we mentioned, Mörk Borg is a game with a few rules, which are based on a simple form of the d20 system. When creating the character, the book provides options for character classes, which are optional. The basic abilities are: Agility, Presence, Strength and Toughness. For each ability we roll three six-sided dice (3d6) and depending on the result, the modifier with the lowest -3 and the highest +3 comes out. This applies in case we decide to play one of the optional classes. In case our character does not belong to one of the classes then we roll four six-sided dice (4d6) for each ability and we remove the lowest die on two of the abilities.

Also during the character creation we roll dice for the starting equipment and the silver that our character has in his possession, as there are tables in the book with more information. All tests are done using the equilateral dice (d20), adding (or removing) the ability modifier that corresponds to what you want to do. The tests face the difficulty ratings (DR) for how difficult or easy what the character is trying to do. DRs start at 6 (something very easy) and the higher is 18 (almost impossible). The basic DR is 12, so if a character attempts, for example, to climb a building then the test will be a d20 + agility / strength modifier against the difficulty rating 12/14, ie the roll of the dice should be higher from the DR to succeed.

It is important to note that the game is player facing, ie GMs roll almost no dice during it, all dice are rolled by the players and so there is transparency. It is almost impossible to cheat either in favor of the players or in favor of GM, all the dice are shown.

In general, the characters are very weak compared to what they face but not completely unbalanced and unplayable. But for this reason character creation is easy and fast ... Players will keep dying. You should prepare for this. In this way it shows you what it is like to live in such a dark and impoverished world waiting for death.

It is also important to talk about the magic system, which is of course minimal, and fits perfectly into this ruthless world. All spells (Powers) are cast via scrolls, except for some special abilities that the classes have. Depending on how much presence the character has, the easier it is to gain power or to blow in his face. Whatever one decides to do in the world of Mörk Borg is a double-edged sword and the magic is no different. Mörk Borg is really different from any other role-playing game I have ever encountered. It overflows with style from every page and is a pleasant book to read, as it is also very small (only 96 pages !!!). The creators have done an excellent job in the visual part and in the quality of the book. Also to help you get in the mood, they have prepared a playlist on Spotify.

It has some minor disadvantages as well, such as being a little harder to read due to the awesome layout or that the information it gives you is extremely limited. Definitely not for everyone, you have to have a specific mindset to play it, because it is unforgiving for players and generally not recommended for large campaigns. However it is a must for one-shots and dungeon crawling.

Those of you who think that the book is small and several things are missing, do not worry I have good news for you! You can go to the Mörk Borg website where you will find free content, as well as a character generator and dungeon generator. They also have great community support, providing direct user-generated content.

If these are not enough for you, I am happy to inform you that a supplement has been released, the MÖRK BORG CULT: FERETORY. This volume consists of community-generated material and contains a monster generator, new classes, new monsters, rules for hunting and food search, new adventures, new objects, new spells and much more. As with the main book, everything is delivered in exactly the same way.

Review by Dimitrios Sotiropoulos for Gamesenpai.gr



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf