Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition) €18,68
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
98 10
10 1
6 1
0 0
0 0
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Lucas D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2022 05:36:32

Great lore and flavour, but all of it is laid out incredibly poorly.

As a Storyteller, I need setting supplements to be easy to parse and reference. If I look at a character entry, I should be able to quickly tell the basics - what other Kindred know about them, what is their current position, whether they're a Neonate/Ancilla/Elder or whatever, where they can be found etc.

I don't think you can actually use this book as reference material when running, but rather you need to read through it, and make your own notes. This largely defeats the purpose of buying a premade setting supplement.

Also, it's 2022 - why would you not include an easily downloadble version of the Chicago map included for VTT play?

The actual writing is solid, and the mechanical additions (e.g. the Spirit of the City) are largely very good. Probably still worth buying if you have your heart set on playing in Chicago, or if you just don't want to make your own city from scratch - as I write this review, there aren't really any other V5 alternatives to this book.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Lisa H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2021 14:10:48

This book is a Bible for Chicago. There are so many characters and clans, neighborhoods, lore, suggestions for gameplay and plot twists. My only complaint is that the book lacks a comprehensive index. There is so much informatopn here, and the table of contents is good, but an index would really be a worthy upgrade.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2021 12:55:03

This, is the welcome return to Chicago we've all been waiting for. Onyx Path Publishing does a great way updating the city, and providing the set-up for the Lasombra's defection from the Sabbat.

This is the first foray into what will be V5's city settings. It gives you the breakdown of locations, domains, homestead rules, motivations and the malcontents to murder.

You're shown the various SPCs in all their glory, those who've survived anyway. Still plenty of Elders, but not as it once was. New space and new room made in the vaccum for Neonates and Fledglings such as yourself.

This book contains the hierarchical layout, showing who in Chicago's Government is who they say they are. How they feel toward one-another. Great for new players hoping to get a grasp on how to approach such a thing.

Loresheets aplenty, giving you rich backgrounds to play with in your game.

The introduction of Obtenebration (now part of, and called: Oblivion) and various Chronicle stories to get yourself started filling this World of Darkness with many a-things to do.

Truly, this is a beautiful book and a beautiful beginning. It's quite the love letter to the series and the best starting point for Vampire: The Masquerade V5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2021 06:34:19

Taking time out to give this product credit where it is due. If every roleplaying game supplement was like this, the roleplaying hobby would be in such a better place. I would rate this as one of the top two Vampire: The Masquerade supplements (V5 or any other edition) ever produced. This is a really well thought through, beautifully presented, detailed and super helpful product. There's everything a GM/Storyteller could want - notes and stats on a wealth of interesting NPCs/SPCs, good flavour and notes on key locations, map of the key parts of the city, a ready-to-roll adventure, plus several pages worth of other story ideas that a GM could usefully spin into another 15-20 sessions worth of gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Neill H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2021 02:22:16

A fantastic start to By Night books for V5, and one of my top 3 By Night books of all editions. The art is beautiful, the SPCs and relationship maps clearly laid out and explained in a useful fashion, the Lasombra write-up is a joy to read and play with and the other details are equally thematic and handy. I highly recommend this for V5, even if you don't plan to play in Chicago.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 05:03:08

I've been using Chicago on and off for a setting since the 2nd edition, and have loved it's rich characters and subplots. The 5th edition version continues this and adds some great layers to an already amazing bit of history. The details about the Lasombra defecton are great, as is the pre made story 'The Sacrifice'. The best thing about this book is that it has masses of great content, even if you have no intention of running a chronicle in Chicago. highly, highly recomended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2021 20:58:28

the pdf is what i will be reffering to in this review

this book is how Vampire should feel and look. meaty and introduces a new clan, and shows how Chicago's night life is and it is really a vampire game.

Onyx Path knows more about Vampire than Paradox does, and it shows in the writing. the art is really well done and the windy city is a legendary setting for your chronicle in the ctiy. what the landscape is, how the Camerilla run the city, where are the Anarchs, and how the Lasombra play in their rise in the Camerilla.

this is an excellent place to start for your new STs and the Lasombra are a great clan to play as, although the Oblivion power is something i feel shouldn't have been re-worked but it works.

definitely worth getting this sourcebook



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Phil K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2020 08:05:12

This might be one of the best TTRPG books I've ever read. Attention to detail, theme, character: this is a tremendous labor of love.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2020 08:54:50

This is a beatifully and well written supplement to Vampire the Masquerade's 5th edition by night series. Ive been comparing this to Chicago by Night 1e and Im telling you that the writers went in a direction that brings the setting to our modern nights; a new prince, a new primogen, old threats and new obstacles (Lasombra) make it a perfect combination for storytellers wanting a vast city as their stage. The Loresheets are uniquely 'Chicagoan' and full spreads on all the Kindred SPC's you could need. What I particularly love is that the book is written with the idea that your coterie will make an impact on this city and that is how a 'by Night' book should be writter; that and the fact that its obvious that the writers actually have been to Chicago or live there. Bravo!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2020 23:24:35

This city book is fantastic, I want more cities please!!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2020 09:15:05

Okay, so I am not a V5 guy. But, Vampire is my thing, the folks at Onyx Path are great, and I have been telling stories about splashing Chicago in blood since the 1990s. So, I needed to at least read this book.

Wow, it really is great. Perhaps I will mine the book for ideas in my games (quite likely, should I have the time), or perhaps I will use it as inspiration for other games. One way or another, there is no way to avoid incorporating some aspect of the book into future games. I was impressed by the mixture of information regarding Chicago the City vs. Chicago the home of lots of Vampires. I thought the storyseeds throughout the book and at the end were just fantastic...there is enough material to keep newbie vampires and their Storyteller busy for years.

Most impressive to me, and the part that I will get the most use out of: the characters. Fantastic on every level! Useful, interesting, they contribute to the setting, the provide even more story ideas, and even the portrait art is amazing.

Based on how good this book is....it is possible that the Blood Gods book just might rope me into playing V5. You hear that, Paradox? Onyx Path is where the soul of this game still lives.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2020 20:04:27

Continuing a tradition of Chicogo By Night campaigns from the 1st edition in the early 1990s, this is a model for how to organise a city campaign as well as being a great sandbox for the Chicago setting. The addition of the Lasombra is welcome, although I'd prefer to see this in a more core rules book, but each Clan gets a good write up. You could literally use just this, along with the core rules, to be able to run campaigns for years - and the various NPCs write ups are full and varied, along with a selection of Loresheets which are becoming an increasingly useable game aid at the table. The art/layout is excellent too and it's both easy on the eye and easy to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf