Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray €4,60
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 9
1 1
2 0
0 1
0 0
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2022 16:28:35

This is a really fun starts to the trilogy, and potentially an onboarding to the Moonshaes for many players. There are plenty of chances for RP both in terms of hooks the adventure as the start and as part of exploring things in the middle. Plenty of satisfying combats as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2021 16:35:22

A great introduction to the trilogy, but definitely would stand on its own. The running battle to save Caer Moray was exciting for my players and I. The NPC friends were great and my players (ran this as a non-AL home game) really took to them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carsten G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2021 22:14:57

Very great and atmospheric adventure. The 4 hours are full of action and still gives the DM and Players good RP possibilities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by erik c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2019 00:10:15

Definitely recommend this.

So far I've done 2 BMG modules, and they're very high quality compared to other modules in this price range. Professionally presented, well organized, with nice maps, and balanced encounters. This adventure was just as solid.

My players completely destroyed the order of operations for this adventure using some creative spells and questionable interrogation tactics, but the adventure was structured such that it was easy to switch around a few encounters and still use all the material. I don't DM in Forgotten Realms, but the adventure comes with enough hooks and flexibility that it was simple to work into my game world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 14:49:59

CCC-BMG-MOON 2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray 5/5 Stars

A nicely balanced adventure! There is plenty of opportunity for both role play and combat in this nice 4 hour adventure. Pros: nicely balanced, interesting NPCs, combat challenges requiring actual thought (easy to TPK in a combat). Cons: The special circumstances items throughout the adventure may require some DM initiative to keep players interested in the game (I substituted a greataxe for a longsword). DM Fiat.

I had a very weak party and they needed help since their dice were not cooperating. However they absolutely aced the role play aspects, and had a great time with the adventure overall. This adventure could go down as horrible due to the combat challenges, but the writer did a great job in “dropping” useful items throughout, as well as including enough variety for any table. I am running the MOON series as a campaign, and it is nice to see the continuing story arc with elements from prior adventures.

Advice – do not run this adventure as a rush job. There are lots of little bits here that require attention to fully flavor your experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Elizabeth W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2019 20:56:16

Overall, I sincerely enjoyed running this module! This is by far some of best work Baldman has ever done! My players really enjoyed the later part of this module and the tie ins for the next module. It gave a nice mixture of combat and exploration for my players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Klo U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2019 12:39:20

I really enjoyed running the trilogy formed by MOON2-1, MOON2-2, and MOON2-3. Trilogies can sometimes suffer by not having each module have its own complete experience with a beginning, a middle, and an end. Not so with this trilogy. Each module could be played independant of the others and still be a great experience. But together they form a cohesive narritive that builds.

I loved the introduction of known NPCs at the start.

Defenders of Caer Moray starts out pretty combat heavy which can be challenging for low level parties. In particular, the Ambushed encounter based on the "A Debt Paid in Silver" story award doesn't include any scaling suggestions based on party strength.

The second half is a straight-forward investigation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Denise H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2019 02:47:26

Ran this whole trilogy this weekend and my players enjoyed it!

The good: I really enjoyed how the module set up character relationships to NPCs. This is a great way to adapt to Season 8 style call to action scenarios. I really liked the overall structure of the module, where combat came first and then investgation / roleplay. The players found the ending really satisfying, even though they made some mistakes! There was a really good variety of optional fights to make sure I was throwing interesting situations at my players. The players were able to manage the investigation phase and seemed to really enjoy finding clues and tracking down the suspects without getting lost in red herrings. As a DM, this was set up more like classic modules (descriptiions and text boxes) - this is my preferred style so it made it much easier for me to prep.

Improvements: I really, really wanted there to be an actual map of Caer Moray in the module.

Advice to other DMs: Have the first fight be at one of the NPC locations to really emphasize their relationships. For AL, if your players are past the initial rank of renown they can borrow items up to 100 gold which can mitigate some of the immunity issues. You can use the intial connection to NPC section to make sure everyone knows what kind of threats may be in the area.

Overall: This was the first MOON module I ran and made me really excited for the rest of them. This is a really strong first trilogy and I'm excited for the next set!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Craig C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2019 23:05:38

I was really excited to run this one and it was great. really combat heavy but everyone had a great time. I liked the "connections" and we had fun rp with them. challenging for level 1 and 2's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2019 23:33:08

--Moon 2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray puts the characters slap bang into the defense of Caer Moray a moderately sized town/village (more information on the Caer part would of been appreciated in the scenario). 'City' defense scenarios DO have their place in D&D and have had for a long time, but after the relative openess of the Moonshae Treasure Hunt, this scenario immediatly smacked of a combat fest in a relatively enclosed location with the last 1/3 being a more investigative component which ends in a resolution that dosnt feel like it resolves much.

Firstly , Id like to draw to the fact that if you are reading this you will likely be dming for AL players under season 8 rules. That means that characters will at this point in their life have very limited funds. This scenario includes a lot of creatures that take less damage from normal weaponary that is likely to be seen in Tier 1. Silvering weapons costs 100 gold pieces. It is unlikely that a character will have that money by this point. THis means that you will be having melee adventurers in combat with monsters than can fully affect them, but not be fully hurt in return. And multiple of such creatures (obv depending on the tiering). Certainly groups may be lucky and have enough spellcasters to even things up, and some may not.

Many of the encounters here are pretty brutal because of it. There is some balancing with silvered weapons being found in some encounters which can even things up. Now the monsters themselves are spot on. THe Black Blood Cultists are Jackalweres, Wererats and Werewolves. That is perfectly fine and they should all be involved in the attack.

I did like the use of 3 NPCS to give the characters ties to Caery Moray. Its a good spontaneous way to get players to improv at the spur of the moment. I was asking questions of some characters and getting wild stories. It led however to an expected outcome.

Characters decided to split up. I had some going to rescue Sandra, others going to rescue Ybie. I certainly had to pull back on some tactics, but it was still some very close encounters because of reduce resources. Im not a fan of looming over the groups and saying 'Are you sure?' .. thats just not me.

Because of the base encounters (as well as further encounters that can be generated) , this game can seem very front heavy..... that is it will likely chew up a lot of time. Combats/Encounters by their very nature are time consuming esp when resources are spread between different battles. I found this took more time than I alloted. The encounter at the Gate was interesting, the party managed to close the Gates with only one pc being found and chased into the city (as kinda a diversion) that paid off but again... it would be very easy to have a really really tough encounter here.

Due to timing, everything after this went quick. THe Investigation involves finding out that Two Guards were drugged to open the gate by a 'Cook' who in turn was murdered to keep the secret of what he had done. This in turn leads to a boat moored which is run by some pirates who arnt really involved as much as a info source to direct you only the real culprit. There can be a fight here but by this point I think my players were getting a bit spent so there was no combat and after a bribe were directed onto another secret Cultist, who didnt really explain much of what was going on. Another cultist is arrested 'off screen'

The story is concluded at that point.

THe investigation is quite linear and thankfully short. Guards leads to cook which leads to boat which leads to secret person. Linear lines of investigation are not bad, but if the party dosnt search or bribe or interact well then it can go nowhere fast (people can run away if things take too long).

However Part 1 and it's Siege really overwhelms my view of this scenario. The use of friendly pcs is good, the splitting up not so much and the brutualness of resistant creatures makes it tough. If you are coming into this from Treasure hunt, you are likely bringing in Level 1 or 2 characters to play and things could get messy.

It's honestly not what I would have had as a first up scenario after the introductory one, however it does show the party that Lycanthropes are indeed a menance and hopefully gives them some future npcs to interact with.

EDIT: Something I completely forgot. a Map of the Southern Area of the Moonshae Isles comes with this scenario. Now printing it out for me with the rest of the scenario means I get a very small font A4 sized map. Moray sadly is not the focus of the map, as it should be front and center. It's actually somewhat difficult to read the text of Caer Moray. My suggest would be the full size of Moray only on the map with none of the other landmasses present (they arnt needed here). I printed it to A3 which was much better. Print this map if you are going to print it on a larger Size of paper!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
CCC-BMG-MOON2-1 Defenders of Caer Moray
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kari M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2019 21:42:22

Just ran this for a group of 6 Level 1 characters. It was extremely challenging for them even with some adjustmets, but everyone had a blast and the adventure was well written and clear, so a joy to run. It has a really good balance of RP and combat (about 50/50). Definitely looking forward to the rest of the MOON series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf