Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition €18,61
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
64 11
7 1
4 0
0 0
0 0
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by wade [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2023 01:00:18

I have to begin with the negative, only because the product promised "less magic". I do want some magic spells and blessings, but I thought they promised that on the cover where it actually says, "less magic, more grit". But wow! It's so far high magic that it is one of the highest magic system in any other system! Every time a spell or prayer is cast there must be a 1d20 roll and if the result is a 1 there then must be a roll on the "Dark & Dangerous Magic" chart. A few of results: "You grow a beard of tentacles which cannot control and will shrivel up and drop off after 1d3 days"., "Your skin oozes a foul-smelling mucus", "Your surface flesh begins to rot and fades away after 1d6 MONTHS". Less magic??? A roll every time a spell is cast?? The reminder of the product has about 80% amazing stuff. One of the best layouts of interiors compared to other games. Tons of art and charts which can be used. 284 pages. Very well written. Here they do provide a somewhat gritty atmosphere with combat and injuries & healing. Once I rip the "Dark & Dangerous Magic" chart out of the book the magic becomes somewhat I'd been looking for. Chapters: Creating a Character, Attributes, Races, Classes, Unique Features, Skills, Party Bonds, Equipment, How to Use Skills, Combat, Injuries & Healing, Magic, Advancement, GM TOOLS, Exploration, Hirelings, Madness, Mass Battle, Monsters, Morale/NPC Reactions, Rival Adventurers, Tavern Brawls, Traps, Treasure, and various stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by Philip V. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2023 20:35:25

If Pathfinder was too magical, gamey, or rigid.

If OSE was too simplified and featureless.

If WFRP was too crunchy and anti-combat.

If DCC, 5 Torches Deep, Shadowdark, and Morkborg felt as though they were missing complexity beyond the dungeon delve or character progression.

If Forbidden Lands or Savage Worlds was too different and you missed the d20 feeling.

And if you liked 5e but wished it was grounded, gritty, versatile, and didn't render DMing an experience of suffering.

Then this is it. Because I played all the above in search of a system that supported character customisability, narrative combat support, emergent gameplay, hexcrawls, dungeon crawls, gritty combat, domain play, and out of the box capability for both historical and high fantasy settings.

LFG fulfilled all of these without driving me nuts like Mythras or depressed by GURPs infinite splatbooks.

Easy to pick up for new players, fast character creation, and a concise framework that supports adaptibility. LFG treads the line of OSR so it's great for solo-play, system conversion, homebrew, and setting neutral gameplay.

It secures a blend for GMs like myself who desire a lower magical setting with OSR philosophy but without sacrificing modern conveniences and retaining [GMs choice!] 5e style feats or subclasses. All the while preventing 5e and Pathfinder video game syndrome below:

Level 1 Fighter - 'As I attack with my maul I swing it into the orc's leg to trip him!'

DM - 'You hit! But you're not a level 3 Battlemaster with the Trip Manoeuvre! So he takes 5 damage and nothing else happens!'

Thanks to the developer's community support, the condensed free Basic guide, the Deluxe manual, and the Companion or Trade Winds supplements. LFG makes for a great newbie casual delve or your next hardcore granular campaign spanning into domain-play that's as light as a fully-fledged OSR or crunchier than 5e.

And even if you're not interested in playing or GMing LFG, this book is chockful of useful tables and mechanics to rip for other systems!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by Scott B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2022 08:32:46

I picked this up on recommendation from a friend of mine. I really like what's going on here. I'm a die hard 3rd edition grognard and ideas put forward here could really spice up the game play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by JARED C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2022 11:36:45

Hail and well met!

Low Fantasy Gaming is just what the RPG doctor ordered. The character classes and background were enough to sell me on this game. The system itself helped draw me in. I think this game would be great to introduce intermediate to advance players.

I highly recommend this beautiful game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by Jay H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2022 06:49:45

Amazing rules to represent a low magic dark fantasy setting and brilliant fun! Would highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2021 08:14:27

Angel's Citadel just reviewed Low Fantasy Gaming - Deluxe Edition by Steven Grodzicki of Pickpocket Press. You can read about it here:

https://angelscitadel.com/2021/01/08/review-low-fantasy-gaming-deluxe-edition/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by mark h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2020 11:29:42

I strongly recomend this game. The designers have added a number of unique features that make this more than a retro clone. My favorite is the D20 re-roll pool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by John C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2020 21:54:06

Best D&D varient out their in my opinion. The low magic, gritty combat system is just what I was looking for. The minor and major exploits simplifies complicated special circumstance rules and with sacrificing any of the options. the party rescue mechanic should incorparted in all games. Chase mechanic, mass combat, all excellent rules... Spells with flavour and mystery cant praise it enough...

Beutiful well made book (I got the print and PDF)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2020 22:09:36

Great game all around. A great combo of 5E and "Old school" . Very nice art in both black & white and color art editions- I know- I have both. Some really fun and interesting things in Low Fantasy Gaming. THE ARTIFICER- The Artificer is a lot of fun with his weird, wacky deadly inventions- think the Warhammer Engineer kind of. Black powder weapons, breathing masks, corroding spray....more. THE CULTIST- The Cultist is the LFG Cleric- he gets abilities based on the God he worships- as it should be. A priestess of the Argona the Starmaiden is different than Graxus the Iron God. Also gives icons/symbols of the diety, tenets, benefits, etc. Asking for your Diety's blessings (spells ) too often could cause you some uncomfortable effects with Divine Rebuke, like aging, pain, or a mark of shame until you atone. MAGIC-USERS- Arcane magic also has a chance to go wrong or be miscast with The Dark and Dangerous Magic chart. Spells are renamed- Magic Missile is the Lash of Unerring Pain. Sleep is Insidious Slumber. Web is Strands of Ensnarement. It really gets your imagination going. ROGUE(Thief)- gets to choose from some low down dirty tricks like hidden blade, choking dust, or unseen whip, as well as his usual backstab and sneaky skills. The Barbarian, Bard, Fighter, Monk and Ranger are also there with some twists. Thats just a small part of LFG. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by Jacob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2019 02:10:27

beautiful art, great system! the deluxe has EVERYTHING you need to hit the ground running! fantastic



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by Carter R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2019 19:01:58

A beautiful system to explore the gritty realism of a dark fantasy setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Pickpocket Press
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2019 18:44:33

LFG is incredible- if you're looking for DnD with a little more stakes and grit, this is definitely for you. Like Game of Thrones injected into DnD, things like magic and crazy mythical beasts are still present, lower in numbers, and WAY more dangerous. Each encounter will keep you on the edge of you seat, as danger is bumped up due to the revamped combat system. The setting also allows for a much grittier world grounded in a little more reality than what most fantasy RPGs might be accustomed to. Death is a very present and active threat, and there are many monsters, creatures, and foes that you'll learn to run from rather than fight. (Don't worry, you can always come back later!) Level scaling is done so that you still grow and feel powerful; the only difference is that it feels much more earned, and you never quite feel invincible. There's also plenty of wiggle room for rules and character builds, so the possibilities are endless!

Our party loves LFG and probably wont be switching back to anything else any time soon. If you're looking to spice up your campaign, make every encounter a little more dangerous, and make the stakes even higher, this is definitely the way to go.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf