Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition €16,76
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
147 26
31 3
6 2
1 1
3 1
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Mitchell B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2020 00:21:32

I'd like to start by saying that the tiny d6 system is good and I like it a lot. Unfortunately, I have found a few things that are very disappointing.

First, the book is in black & white and I noticed the majority of images are used several times throughout it. For example, the knight image is used five times. When I do a price comparison of this book to the Player's Handbook for Dungeons & Dragons which uses full-size pages with many full-color images, this book doesn't even come close. It's actually a bit more expensive with the hardcover version being $34.99 + tax/shipping.

Second, the physical book construction is not good. The binding is glue-bound, many pages are slightly warped, and the front/back covers will not stay completely closed. I just received my book two days ago... Also, in regards to the layout and content, it only has 86 pages of substantial character/game creation content while the rest is microsettings. That's 121 pages covering 20 different microsettings. I feel the microsettings would be a neat feature if they contained more useful information instead of adventure hooks. For example, some random tables or additional traits/characters/races/monsters would be great, maybe even a sample list of spells and how a game master would implement spell use. I ultimately feel the microsettings are a collection of filler/fluff and most people probably won't even use them.

In conclusion, this book is VERY overpriced. You're paying $35 for an 8 1/2" x 5" large-print book that re-uses black & white art images. I feel the best deal would be to get the PDF; although, charging $17.99 + tax for a digital file that will just sit on your computer is also overpriced. There are many rules-light systems that are worth the price, but this just isn't one of them.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2019 22:58:15

Halfway through reading this I couldn't shake the feeling that this is MY system. I bought this with the intention of using it to initiate new players to the big D20 system I usually play, but it's just forced me to start a new group locked in on T6. HIGHLY recommended for anyone with creative friends who may not yet realize ttrpg is the greatest hobby on Earth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Joan Q. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2019 14:06:19

If you are looking for an easy game to get you and your friends playing in any fantasy setting of your choice, you don't need to look any further.

I was looking for some game I could play with my friends without having to invest a lot of time learning new and complex rules. I also wanted a game that could let me focus on good stories. And I needed a game that could sit around the same table people who never played any role-playing game before next to expert players, all of them having fun. And Tiny Dungeon does all of that!

It helped me coming back as a game master after years and years of being merely a sporadic player. And I'm having a lot of fun in this "tiny" comeback!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by anthony e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2019 09:09:22

My only gripe is that dinosaurs were used in place of creatures/races that should be common from the start. You will have to DIY to get them in to your game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2019 17:58:24

This is a recent discovery and it will definitely change my way of gaming. As I did after discovering FATE Accelerated and Gumshoe, I grasped a new perspective on fantasy (and not only that!!) RPGs. This system, while light and minimalistic in nature, it is not limiting in any possible way. The author, through a cunning and compelling writing, shows with is clearly its deep passion for playing games without the weight of actually doing it. You just sit down and go "test please" as a GM, while your players track a minimalist (and still fun to customise) character sheet, where you don't find many numbers, just ways to gain some edge over other characters or enemies in specific situations. Put this along with a smart use of the advantage / disadvantage mechanic (which is not the one we know in that other game), an unbelievable amount of traits you can mix, match and alter to your needings, optional rules expanding the core ones without adding any single bit of crunch... Put this all together and you get a modern, classical, cunning, light-weight, customisable, easy to pick up fantasy game.

The microsettings are insanely good, fun to read and I can't wait to smash them together for a world I'm building (this game put the will to create a whole setting back into my head)! Planning to do this and play a Freeport campaign using this system. I feel like it may basically fit any genre and sub-genre with almost no issues, as long as you are mentally flexible enough to accept its simplicity.

Highly recommended to new gamers and veteran as well, yuou CANNOT MISS THIS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Jon N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2019 22:17:02

a fantastic game system that knows how to keep the rules in the background out of the way of actual gameplay, i highly recomend this, and all the other tiny d6 lineup to anyone who loves tabletop gaming but dislikes endless charts, tables, and "splatbooks".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2019 11:25:17

Quick and simple system, well presented, with a great selection of little settings to showcase the possibilities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2019 13:50:18

I want to like this I really do, but there are a few things that just strike me as lazy game design. If this game was $5-10 dollars, I'd be singing it's praises, but at almost $20 it falls short of good value.

"It's a simple rule set" is no excuse for charging your players money to finish your game for you.

Yes, it's light weight, and I really appreciate the multitude of optional rules and add-ons.

But in order to do anything more than a "beer and pretzles" kind of game represents a lot work from the game master/players in inventing new rules and establishing a deep net of trust to not break the game.

Maybe I'm not the target demographic, I like some meat to my games, but I strongly feel this game is either unfinished or overpriced.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by HAMILTON R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2018 13:21:33

1/05/2018 Review of Tiny Dungeon, 2nd ed.:

Layout: The production quality of this rule book is Good. It has many pieces of art, but they are duplicated throughout the book. This gives the semblance of more artwork than is actually in the book, but it works really well with the text, so it's not necessarily a bad thing. It's just a fact you need to be aware of. Overall, the actual page layout is Excellent; easy-to-follow, easy to find rules quickly, easy to understand. No fuss - no muss - reading this will be a breeze, you can be up and running in a fraction of the time required for other comparable rulebooks.

Text: The writing is straightforward, to the point. Read the rules - understand the rules - make the characters and world - play the game / all within one day of getting a copy of the rules. There are complete, unique, well-thought-out game-worlds in this edition of the rules.

Game Play: It just can't get any easier, and yet: there is enough crunchiness in the dice mechanic to add thrills and uncertainty. Plus: I like how they finally fixed the Dwarf and Elf / Fay. Dwarves can see in the dark; elves are not in-need of such a feature. That was a welcome bonus - reality in the fantasy world. There are more surprises in the rules, but - shhhh - I won't reveal them here.

Story / Content: There are many fantasy worlds embedded at the end of the book. Take time to read them through, and then: play one! Excellent inclusion, but....

Worth the money? Despite all the good things that this rulebook delivers, at $20 a pop, I feel it is over-priced. Am I extremely upset I paid $20 for it? No, not really, but I am disappointed. It was an OK purchase, and I would have given it 5 stars but for the extreme price. That price needs to come down.

12/2018 UPDATE: If you will note, not hardly 24 hours after I posted this review -- not - hardly - a full day! -- you will notice that the next three or four reviews seem to start to do some sort of "damage-control", in my opinion. Look at my review again: I write very concisely and I would have given it a 5 stars, but pay attention to the money. There needs to be a balance for the value. The Print book seems to be a good price because you get a professionally printed product you can hold in your hands for a comparible price of other books. That is a huge bonus! and one I would have welcomed more-open-armed IF the PDF did not cost what it costs. I stand by my original review - but! - because of the addition of POD book and because my original review did what it was designed to do? I add another star today. (I hope that helps you make a thoughtful decision of how to spend hard-earned money). HR



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by scott G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2018 11:44:46

Tiny Dungeon 2E is a fantastic redux of the standard Fantasy TRPG.

It's ruleset is incredibly compressed but allows for a wide range of vibrant play. Character Sheets literally fit on a 3x5 card and play can begin within 15 minutes of sitting down (with 4 players)!

Some unique elements I really liked is the inclusion of animal based player character races. The game has the traditional Tolkien races (Human, Fey, Dwarf) but also adds (Karhu - Bear, Salimar - Salamander, Lizardfolk - Lizard). Goblin and Treefolk races add spice as well.

The microsettings in this book, over a dozen ready to run worlds, are truly a tour de force. I have seen versions of microsettings in other TRPGs but never at this number and this quality, right in the Core Rulebook!

Of all the great microsettings though Tobie Abad's "Legacy: The War of the Widows" is exceptional. It stands as a guide on how microsettings should be built - detailed, but flexible, compelling and inviting and fueled by mix of wonder and peril.

An exceptional TRPG!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Jose F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2018 10:52:21

This little book is slicker than snot. The rules are lite, using 1-3d6, allowing you to focus on story rather than math. That does not mean it is bland, there are really fun options for characters that weren't in 1e, like new races, prestige traits and disciplines. There are also great tolls for the gm. There is a bestiary section that is very nice, and some very cool settings for the gm to work with. And the art. Oh my gosh, the art is perfect. I recommend the game, but if you're like me, the art alone is worth the price of admission (I even got a copy of the cover framed I liked it so much). Clean, simple, playful, pointy and slimy - it's perfect. I have the hard copy as well, and I dig it. It's a good size, about 9"x6", great for keeping in a backpack or a purse, and is very easy to read (if you're an old grognard like me, that means a lot.) Speaking of easy to read, the pdf is formatted for easy reading on devices. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Alex D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2018 16:38:18

I bought this while it was the Deal of the Day, and I must say, it looks like a fun little robust system. Not sure when I'd get an opportunity to run it, though, and I'd definitely like to see a sheet for it on Roll20.

As someone who's fond of the OGL, I was a little disappointed by the lack of a third-party licence, at least one I could spot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2018 06:43:41

Fantastic little game for one offs or short campaigns. Character creation is fast but allows enough customisation to satisfy those looking for a little more depth, the system is incredibly simple and fast to play with and requires only a small amount of knowledge. I personally love Tiny Dungeons 2E and so did the players who ran the game with me, very excited for my kickstarter rewards to come through in full.

If you're looking for something quick to pick up and play, or even to gm as a firt dip into the world of tabletop gaming, check it out. The game even has microsettngs to help gm's into creating a setting. Highly recommended :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Thomas G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2018 11:07:01

Easy to read and easy to learn. The only downside I have is I think sub headings in the rules would make it easier to reference also a cheat sheet at the back of the book could be handy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Ruben F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 22:27:02

Great read and great game. The game is simple and easy to understand but also hasTiny complexity as well. Perfect for anyone that wants to start playing role-playing games but doesn't want to take 3 months to learn the rules beforehand. The fact that you don't have stats but instead use traits to make a character gives infant possibilities to customize a character that truly fits you. And the simple game mechanic has the players really have to role play out alot of the action which I really enjoy. All in all a good buy for players old and new



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf