Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition €16,58
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
147 26
31 3
6 2
1 1
3 1
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Viper [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2024 08:05:24

Yes it's simple. But it's so simple it isn't sustainable for a long term campaign. Advanced Tiny Dungeon is a better product for that. Also, as one other commenter already mentioned, this book is overpriced, in any format, when you consider it's in black and white and reuses much of the art multiple times. I also stumbled on the Spanish version here on drivethrurpg.com and found it beautifully detailed in color art (and additional races). I can't fathom why the English version doesn't contain all the same color art. (This also applies to Tiny Frontiers in Spanish.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Alain [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2024 21:20:16

Since I'm designing my own system (yet another one, but years in the making), I've read a lot of systems, yet this one is so straight forward and well written - its concept is plain fun but the maths are a bit odd.

Chance of success without Focus

Disadvantage: 33% (-23%) Normal: 56% Advantage: 70% (+14%) Chance of success with Focus Disadvantage: 50% (-25%) Normal: 75% Advantage: 87.5% (+12.5%) So, I use a single d12 instead where you must get at least 7 (+2 if Disadvantage, -2 if Advantage, -1 if Focused) to succeed. Disadvantage without focus 9+: 33% Normal without focus 7+: 50% Advantage without focus 5+: 67% Disadvantage with focus 8+: 5/12 = 42% Normal with focus 6+: 7/12 = 58% Advantage with focus 4+: 9/12 = 75% And complication is on the one on a separate d6 throw along the d12. Or, using a single d12 where you must get at least 6,7,8 for weak, average, strong then adjusted by +2 on Disadvantage, -2 on Advantage and -1 when Focused. And contextual complications / eases are on the one on a separate d6 thrown along the d12; when one occurs, throw again: odd means complication (eg. you broke your elbow or your bow) and even means ease (you get an extra action or you found a cool item). Or, using a single d12 where you must get at least 8,7,6 for each attribute that is respectively one of weak, average (default), strong then adjusted by +2 on Disadvantage, -2 on Advantage and -1 when Focused. And contextual complications / eases are on the one on a separate d6 thrown along the d12; when one occurs, throw again: odd means complication (eg. you broke your elbow or your bow) and even means ease (you get an extra action or you found a cool item). The Six Attributes: Agility, Dexterity, Constitution, Strength, Perception, Social, Intellect, Wit (spirit, wisdom) Example Abilities: See in the dark, Animal (a clone of your consciousness takes control of an animal (one at a time); you possess it until you decide to stop or until it dies)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by James [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2024 15:47:30

Tiny Dungeon is great! Super easy to jump into a game, and probably my favorite system to easily customize a character just the way I like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2023 11:29:34

Great game! Easy to learn with enough options and content to get pretty far before you need to reach into the Advanced options etc. As an added bonus, the game is fully compatible with other games in the TinyD6 line. Seriously, buy this game if you know anyone that wants to play something like D&D but is intimidated by all the rules, this is your game! Only one thing I would really add (that isn't included in any of the TinyD6 lines are PC relationship building rules and tying that into a game play feedback. (XP or the like for that, something like Apocalypse World or Dungeon World)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2022 10:18:00

My shelves are filled to the brim with RPGs from every corner of the planet. Our main go to's are DnD 5E, Cortex Prime, Prowlers and Paragons. I am a big fan of cinematic systems (Cortex being the top of that category with PbtA coming in second.) Someone recommended TD6, got Tiny Dugneon 2E and fell in love with it. It is not perfect, but it's easy to kit bash and there's plenty of source materials to use for it that you can make it perfect for you. My players are bigger on the role play than the tactical and crunch of combat. Usually an encounter will go like: "You run into three Orcs, they are all brandishing weapons". Player = "I ask them how their family is." Typically combat slows them down on their enjoyment factor. Tiny Dungeon takes the ton of crunch and throws it in the bin, focuses on character creation and the enjoyment of story telling. It's also very enjoyable for a DM. Character Creation: It's a breeze, your players can make the character they want to play in minutes. Kudos for figuring this out. Removing stats and replacing them with traits is genius, you still feel like a hero and you can impact the world even without a STR of 22.
Combat System: Expect your combat to go much faster, it is streamlined to almost near perfection.
Art: The art is really good. I only wish there was a full color version.
Setting: The majority of the book is filled with settings, take you want, leave what you don't like.

Where it falls short: Magic and spells. Wish there was an example spell list for the spell touched and the Spell readers. But it's easy enough to create a spell that turns a door into smoke or what ever you can think of.

If you are on the fence, get off it and just buy it. A huge regret is I didn't get the hardcover version, the soft cover's pages aren't the greatest quality, but the content within makes up for that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2022 11:13:01

For years I played games with multi-hundred page rules and multiple books. Enjoyed many of the systems, but never cared for how unrelentingly LARGE they were. Came across the TinyD6 system as a suggestion on Kickstarter and thought, "Sure. I'll give it a try."

A few years later and I now own every TinyD6 game and have not gone back to (or frankly even missed) those larger games. I love the simplicity of TinyD6 and how it allows you to get the rules out of the way and get down to the enjoyable storytelling part of the game.

Cannot recommend this system enough, either for newcomers or veteran RPG players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2022 11:09:09

I love not being bogged down by rules. This game is so easy and fun to play. You can have a party up and running within minutes and having your players go on adventures



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2022 17:35:19

For those who don't want to drown in rules, this is excellent. I particularly like the trait and prestige trait system. For those who think it lacks character progression, just add the Micronomicon by John D Payne and problem solved. Very good for new GM's and players or those who are familiar with running osr games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by JARED C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2022 11:34:46

I think this might possibly be one of the best designed RPGS I have had the chance to read. The system is easy to learn which is helpful in keeping the interest of persons new to role playing. The character creation is simple, but diverse. It also is more open so that player characters may be more personalized therefor more realistic.

I am very excited to play this RPG. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2021 13:12:24

My 9-year-old wanted to try tabletop RPGs, so I picked up this one to have a game with as little as possible in between the player and the fun. It’s pretty great.

There’s enough crunch for rolling dice to be satisfying, but they more serve the game rather than drive it. It’s a breeze to modify on the fly (my kid made an anthropomorphic animal, so poof we’re playing in that kind of setting now rather than a traditional fantasy setting). Prepping adventures is very quick, as statting enemies is just “pick their hit points and a couple abilities that make sense.” Combats move quickly, and can be easily scaled for an appropriate challenge.

We’re playing a weekly game with my wife, child, and mother-in-law. My wife doesn’t like learning lots of rules, my kid doesn’t like doing arithmetic, and my MIL has some neurological difficulties due to a series of concussions. I’d recommend Tiny Dungeon for any of those cases.

TL;DR: Enough rules to be satisfying, but light enough that they get out of the way of story and role-playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Davide C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 15:49:46

All through my first reading I was wondering how well the game would behave when put to the test, and I've been pleasantly surprised. Tiny Dungeon flows seamlessly at the table, without feeling too limited or repetitive in spite of its minimalistic mechanics.

A joy to play with kids as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Tim H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2020 14:27:27

I've spent the last several years looking for a game system that had the rules simplicity of some of the OSR D&D retroclones without all the baggage which is attached to that label. Tiny Dungeons, I've found, is the exact game I was looking for. The simplicity of the game makes it a breeze to run yet the narrative nature of the game doesn't limit your player's concepts or role-playing at all. It's a wonderful game that I wholeheartedly recommend; I'm "all in" for Tiny D6.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Brad L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2020 09:52:07

In this fast paced world where there seems to be less and less time to gather around the table for some good ole role playing, Tiny Dungeon 2e is a blessing. It's Tiny D6 minimalist rule set is perfect for beginners interested in trying an RPG as well as veteran gamers who do not want to be bogged down by rules and stats. My game group loves that Tiny Dungeon 2e helps streamline gameplay so that we may focus more on collaborative storytelling, however, we still have the opportunity for some epic encounters that come down to a roll of the dice. For gamers on the go, Tiny Dungeon 2e also works great for online games and for play-by-post games. For this old gamer, Gallant Knight Games has made the perfect product to fit my current lifestyle. And if I'm not in a fantasy mood, GKG offers a whole line of Tiny D6 games to fit whatever genre my game group wants to play. I look forward to future installments to the GKG Tiny D6 system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Clayton V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2020 17:40:02

Starting with the good: -This is a great looking book. The cover and inside art is creative and fun. Overall, a very inviting presentation. -The rules are LIGHT. Character creation is FAST. This system will best benefit players who are new to role playing and younger, first-time game masters.

The bad: -The “Microsettings” section is half the book and as a whole, isn’t all that useful. At best, I would call this collection “setting ideas.” While these scenarios could be considered inspiration, most are too short and have no useful structure for a new GM to follow. Also, I’d love to see some of them include a map. -I was excited to see all the dinosaurs in the monster section until I realized all of them are very similar mechanically. -The “Running Adventures” section for game masters just isn’t helpful. It’s 4 pages of very general advice. I want some actionable points, things a young GM can take and directly implement at their table. Example of play is absent and could prove very helpful. -There is no list of items or equipment. The book states that these are provided by the GM but I feel like this is a lost opportunity to introduce cool magical items.

Conclusion: While anyone can pick up and play this system easily, I think it would be best for young adults (8-10) who are interested in GMing for the first time. With that in mind, the GM section and Microsettings section should provide more focused, comprehensible advice for what a GM does on and off the table. There’s no talk of homebrewing rules, traits, or spells, no advice for creating magical items or weapons. I think these are important subjects for a rules-light system that is bound to attract first-time rpg players.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Curtis L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2020 12:31:47

TinyD6 has quickly become our "go to" for gaming, and Tiny Dungeons is somewhat of the backbone for this.

The TinyD6 engine, in and of itself, is very rules light - if you want a crunchy system, this may not be the one for you - but it has a number of options that allow the crunchiness to be ramped up a bit without losing the simplicity. In fact, the simplicity of the engine means rules can be tweaked and house rules employed without any real danger of "breaking" the system. This, and the pervasiveness of Tiny settings makes it easy to grab a favorite thing from someplace else and port it into Tiny Dungeons. It's also easy to use with other settings from other systems (such as "the world's most popular role playing game", which we've done).

Tiny Dungeons recreates classic fantasy roleplaying without a lot of mechanical things to get bogged down with (although, as stated earlier, if you want more crunch and grit, some options are there to make it so). The focus is largely on story telling, but unlike many other "story telling" games, there aren't a lot of rules and mechanics on HOW to tell the story - just enough is there to give your imagination a springboard to adventure.

The front end of the book breaks down the game mechanics, and then jumps into character creation. The PDF is bookmarked well, so even if you need to jump around to some of the optional rules, it's easy enough to go there and back again. TinyD6 isn't a level or class-based system, and character creation is open-ended (meaning, if you can imagine it, you can likely build it). There are a number of Heritages available (some of the usual, like Humans and Dwarves, and others that are more unique to the Tiny multiverse), each one generally having something to make it unique while leaving room for customization.

The middle section gives you the optional rules, like expanding magic, or using sailing ships for example.

The back end of the book is dedicated to a variety of settings (or what they refer to as "microsettings" since they're generally the bare bones of a setting for GMs to build on). If you have your own setting you want to run, you may think this is a waste of space, but it's a great showcase of settings by some long-standing writers in the RPG industry, displaying the versatility of Tiny Dungeons for world building. None of the setting examples and possibilities are entirely "generic" which means they're a great way to fire up the imagination if nothing else, and some offer a few extra options for the rules.

In short, I highly recommend Tiny Dungeons to anyone wanting to get back to casual, fun gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf