Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure €0,00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
105 5
36 5
17 0
6 0
0 0
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matt T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2023 16:45:58

A nice little adventure, suitable for a one shot and fully stated out. Good art to accompany it. The usual problems of adventure league type stuff apply: very linear and simple with little scope for player agency. Some mechaics for the amount of travelling involved, through an exotic location, would have really spiced things up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2020 07:54:35

Really helpful in sparking my own ideas for stories in the Ixalan setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Akav A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 13:38:09

This adventure was full of fun ideas and interesting encounters. However, it was tricky to figure out how exactly the adventure intends you to track the time and distance of the party's journey. A chart or summary of travel times and locations would have been helpful. Also, the final fight turned out to be too difficult for a party of four 4th level characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by joshua C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2020 10:47:16

This has been an extremely fun ride to read through and really encouraged me to explore Ixalan with my own ideas!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jen V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2019 06:05:27

This was fun adventure to play including using the Magic cards as items. The pregenerated characters really help bring the flavor out as they have levels of drama built into them (really, try to play with a full crew if you can, the second time I played was better because of it). The richness of the Ixalan setting provided an excellent backdrop.

Caveat: I know the authors.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 20:06:06

The adventure starts with a prison escape (not a very challenging one, to be honest) and then turns to something of a race to reach a temple containing a powerful artifact before their erstwhile captors do.

My friends had mixed feelings about the pregenerated 4th-level characters, but they trusted me and dove in. As it turned out, they had a lot of fun exploring some archetypes they don't typically play, like Wild Magic Sorcerers and Circle of the Land Druids! Since the adventure came out before the actual "Plane Shift Ixalan" setting document did, this let players have characters that matched the story and unique constraints of Ixalan when they couldn't create them yet. This makes the adventure work well for a convention setup, where players can just grab a character sheet, sit down, and start playing. It also meant that the needed story elements were already there: every character had already agreed to work together and had particular motivations for doing so.

However, in a convention setup, I don't think random encounters make a lot of sense. For sure, have some less-important encounters that you can forego if time gets tight, but pick them in advance

The adventure itself leans really hard on its roots in MtG. Locations and loot are named after specific cards from the Ixalan block, for example, and treasure tokens work something like inspiration for handing out magic items. (That mechanic doesn't matter that much in a one-shot and probably works better in a shared campaign setting.) Several of the monsters illustrate the time-honored DM technique of relabeling an existing monster with a new name and art but the same stat block.

Balance was tight. With four of these characters, two fights each nearly did them in. Partway through the fights, I decided to reduce the total HP of some monsters, though still within the stated ranges. It would have been pretty easy for the main boss at the end to TPK them, I think, particularly since a few times I forgot to apply damage resistances.

If I run this again, I will probably drop the treasure token mechanic entirely, and roll (or choose) the extra encounters in advance. And in a pre-planned session, I'd also encourage players to create their own 4th-level characters in conjunction with the setting document and a bit of guidance about creating the initial bonds between them. You could then leap from there to an actual campaign in Ixalan based on whatever agreements they made, with lots of exciting hooks and opposition ready to go!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kari M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2018 23:40:02

Was a fun one-shot but all of the encounters other than the main end fight were very easy. Overall was a fun trip through Ixalan, can't wait for the planeshift. It took us about 4 hours of total play time to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2017 18:13:07

This adventure is good for what it wants to do, which is provide a quick experience for people familiar with Magic the Gathering, to play one-shot of D&D in a setting they are familiar with. It's straight foward, has a couple of choices to make, has pre-made characters, etc. It's not a great adventure for people wanting something to dig into with Ixalan, but I don't think that was ever the point of this. This score is for what it is, a learn to play scenario for MtG players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trevelyan A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2017 13:24:01

It's good, but the one thing that bugs me is that they don't include a chapter for character creation, meaning you have to guess what they do to make custom characters, but I guess that this isn't the actual Planeshift, given it wasn't on Daily MTG



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jackson H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2017 09:35:25

Pretty short but amazingly high quality compared to ther free products, like the Planeshifts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf