Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition €20,91
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
124 8
23 3
4 0
0 0
0 0
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Yui F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2020 11:27:35

a major & necessary overhaul for the changeling line. pretty much is changeling's revised edition, with a large amount of diversity and detail added to a game that always embodied the best about the world of darkness setting. i love stuff like changeling the lost, but for me this is the true version of gothic fae roleplaying that fans have always wanted. if you're even vaguely interested in changeling the dreaming, buy this, you won't regret it. it's a shame that we won't get a huge amount of material for c20 like v20 got, because in many ways this is the most developed 20th anniversiery edition of all of them. given how this game isn't the most popular, we might not even get a changeling 5th edition at all from paradox, or at the very least not until a far-off date like 2029, so this is the best version we might have for a long while.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2020 05:00:31

A return to the most colorful World of Darkness - a Mephisto review

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition

The fifth of the original systems of the World of Darkness presented a new kind of supernatural beings with an unique background: the changelings. On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the system, an anniversary edition was also published for Changeling: The Dreaming, which with about 500 pages offers a very comprehensive introduction to the most colorful World of Darkness.

Changeling revolves around the world of changelings - fairy creatures fused with human bodies. The fairies are originally creatures of dreams and were long present in their original form in the world of mortals until several disasters closed the connection to Arcadia, the realm of the fairies. Many of the fairies, especially the noble Sidhe, fled from the suddenly hostile world back to their own realm. While the nobles succeeded in this escape in many cases, most of the commoners had to stay behind. Separated from the fairy realm, they were forced to find a new survival strategy, which consisted of binding their fragile souls to the bodies of mortals. This is how the first changelings came into being, who over the centuries reorganized their lives.

With the moon landing, however, the dreams of humans were so inspired that the gates to Arcadia opened again and the fugitives were able to return. And, of course, there were conflicts, because the commoners, who had built their own society for centuries, were not very enthusiastic about the idea of simply submitting to the returning nobles again.

But it is not only the conflicts between the commoners and the nobility that divide the world of fairy creatures but also the different courts, Seelie and Unseelie, different kinds of changeling types and even wholly different opponents make the world of changelings quite "interesting". However, the greatest threat to changelings is banality. As creatures of dreams, creativity and fantasy are an elixir of life for them and the energy they need to survive and use their special abilities. Therefore, changelings are attracted to creative individuals who can create this glamour for them. Routine, everyday life, worries and all the things that burden people's daily lives, on the other hand, are poison to fairy creatures. Banality poses a real problem for them and endangers their existence by making them lose contact with their fairy soul, and thus they can become ordinary people. On the other hand, the changelings also see the world of dreams and the so-called Chimera, which are real to them and with which they can interact. It is quite possible that a changeling has a sword fight with a monster Chimera, while passers-by would only see someone waving his arms wildly...

Changeling again has an entirely different background than the rest of the World of Darkness. Besides, the game not only uses the same rule system, but also some typical concepts. Players must first choose one of the different types of fairies, all of which have unique advantages and disadvantages, affinities, looks and opinions. Besides the fact that the anniversary edition has some additional variants that were not included in the original basic rules, the book also offers the fairy creatures of other cultures, such as the Native Americans, the fairies from Hawaii and Asia etc. If this is still not enough for you, a system is also provided to create your own fairy species from scratch.

The special abilities of the changelings are small spells (cantrips), which can either only refer to the world of dreams (and are then relatively simple) or can also affect the world of mortals. Of course, the classical approach of the Umbra for the World of Darkness can be found in the form of various dream realms. While the Autumn People, who embody banality and thus endanger the existence of the changelings by their mere presence, were already potential adversaries, C20 brings a new type of adversary into play with the Thallain. The latter as agents of the primordial evil threaten the entire world.

With its colorful and imaginative world, Changeling may seem like the friendliest game in the World of Darkness at first. Still, the conflict between fantasy and banality is ultimately the most tangible and perhaps saddest conflict players will encounter in the World of Darkness. Nevertheless, Changeling is the role-playing game in the series that offers the most overlap with classic fantasy elements. The anniversary edition not only manages to bring this world back to life, but on the one hand continues to write the history of the game and on the other hand compiles material from various sourcebooks, so that even the player is overwhelmed with the options of what he can play. The Thallain also offer a new and very dark conflict, but in my opinion, this was not necessary at all, because it adds simple black and white conflict to the game and undermines the idea of banality as a subtle threat. Changeling is an unusual game in the World of Darkness and probably only appeals to a limited group of players. For them, however, the anniversary edition, just like the other anniversary editions, is a perfect and comprehensive package to dive deep into this game world.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2018 05:20:14

Dreaming is a gorgeous and thick tome that brings the world of Fae to the classic World of Darkness setting. While I personally prefer Changeling the Lost, this is still an excellent read and adds a much more vibrant tone to the normally dour and grim universe of the World of Darkness.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Keegan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2018 14:20:33

I'll be the first to admit that I didn't like Changeling the Dreaming when I came across it the first time. I decided to be a completionist and picked up the Dreaming 2nd edition a few years ago. The game fell flat as I read it and it didn't help that my first experience with Changelings was the Lost. That said I was skeptical regarding Changeling 20th. I decided to pick it up based on the recommendations of a few people and finally cracked it open and started reading. This game is great, the setting is more coherent, the system felt like something I could really get behind, and I fell in love. I personally can't speak to if this captures the original spirit of Changeling when it first came out (apparently, I didn't get it), but if you weren't a fan of the Dreaming I highly recommend checking this game out. I felt instantly inspired for several games within the first two chapters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2017 11:29:34

CtD is a really good game. Its elements and themes are very powerful and flexible. This game can be a lot of really interesting things.

The previoius edition was a mechanically a bit awkward compared to the other 20A books that had been released. I was really hoping for an updated game that would play friendly with the current crop of 20A books like Vampire and Werewolf.

This is it. Its exactly what I needed. Nothing WoD is ever perfect, but this iteration of the game fits together very well with the other games. Its much more playable IMO. I really like the changes. Even the parts that I don't love to death are at least better than they were. Its nothing but improvements for this edition. I'm really happy with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Eric C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2017 13:59:59

This is one of the most haunting, beautiful and poingent of all the White Wolf/Onyx Path's publications and certainly one of the most beautiful RPG's ever published. This latest edition is Changeling's finest hour. I recommend this often over looked RPG to everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2017 20:00:12

Nearly Flawless

This is a review of the digital book, purchased on the day of its release.

Things to love: In order:

The opening story is simultaneously the last thing one would expect from Changeling while also very perfectly written. The book balances narrative and rules layout with more finesse than expected.

Naturally, the art is gorgeous. Some of it is recognizable from earlier books but no less effective for it.

Changeling 20th Anniversary presents a very updated Metaplot. This is very different from Vampire 20th Anniversary offering a pick-and-choose approach to world events. In this book, the meta plot feels distant enough to justify story options rather than diminish them.

Rule updates are exciting. The updated Paths to Epiphany provide a great set of options for gaining Glamour/ Unleashing presents a new way to use Glamour. Changelings feel more like their own creatures and less like creatures who must always feed. Nightmare and Bedlam systems are now intertwined. Both, put together, become a mroe focused mechanic than 2nd edition rules. Descriptions for the Scene and Time realms err on the side of verbose, yet end up much clearer than the last edition.

Three kiths and some houses from prior source books are now folded into the core Kithain: Selkies (The Toybox), Piskies (Fool’s Luck), and Clurichaun (Court of All Kings). Sidhe are divided by Arcadian and Autumn, which reflects the expanded plot. True to form with the 20th Anniversary line, the last 120 pages of the main text provide a wealth of other character types. Antagonist characters and rules are provided first, then Gallain and Inanimae. Once the rules are concluded, the book finishes with a roughly 30 page list of Kickstarter backers, a comprehensive 19 page index, then a two page character sheet.

Three separate character sheets are also included with the purchase: A static 2 page sheet is availble for printing. An interactive 2 page sheet and an interactive 4-page sheet allow you to fill in values in Acrobat Reader. Layers such as background images can be turned off in the core rulebook and the static character sheet.

Downsides: A decorative header font has difficult capital letters. The word “Grumps” looks like “Trumps” in those headers, and it’s easy to trip on “Quests” or any word beginning with the letter L. Page 150 has text stating that Selkies can turn into “a sea or sea lion.” Selkies turn into seals or sea lions.

Conclusion: As always, the 20th Anniversary books are a loving compilation of prior resources and a treat to long time players. Character options from across the previous edition are presented in one place. The incredible number of character options, updated rules and background, and even the price made this an absolute delight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2017 06:38:56

I've never played Changeling before, nor read the rules set for it (though am an avid fan of other WOD products) so when this became available to kickstart I was more than happy to do so. I recieved the backer PDF a while ago and read it, and I have to say I was not disappointed. Reading it was a bit daunting at first but I persevered and encountered so many cool new aspects of the World of Darkness, so I recommend this to any WOD fan -either as a game in its own right, or as an almost monster manual for any of the other WOD products. I wrote a fullr eview on my website, which you can read HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 18:56:08

The jumbled mess that was the first edition of Changeling: The Dreaming was one of the weakest World of Darkness games. This new edition, with it's expanded and better explained Kith, much more playable systems and internationally expanded setting, is now one of the strongest. Looks incredible too. 'Nuff said.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Joshua H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2017 06:07:50

Absolutely amazing. It's everything I hoped for and more with a 20th Anniversary Edition of Changeling. It has everything you could need to run a game of Changeling the Dreaming, and it just works.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2017 13:29:33

The Onyx Path C20 book is fairly complete, but ulitmaltely not as solid as the V20 materials. Where the V20 book was a distilled version of all of the Vampire: the Masquerade materials, C20 was simply an expanded version of the main book with some highlights from the supplimentary materials. To be fair I have not had the oppertunity to play with the mechanics, this is based on scanning through the content.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG