Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator €5,54
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
155 20
29 6
12 6
0 2
2 1
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Anthony [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2023 00:04:33

I was super skeptical. I've tried a few yes/no oracle type books and programs and they were all too hard or too soft. This one is just right! Once you start using it, it doesn't replace your imagination but it controls and feeds it at the same time. Amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Dorr D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2022 19:23:32

Great resource, but too complex to enjoy an easy solo session.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Bart B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2022 16:39:33

What a great resource. It has brought my solo rpg'ing to life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Dave S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2022 15:42:17

The rating is both for content and the POD product:

The content is concise and generic - which is exactly what I was looking for. Surprisingly, I found that even though I used many of these basic, common-sense soloing procedures before purchasing the book, the formalized sheets and processes were a helpful jumping-off point for me to create more specific tables for my various game systems.

The POD copy was my second physical purchase from DriveThruRPG. It was a soft copy, and is comparable to what I would puchase from my local game store. I also, previously purchased the Ironsworn harback POD. I believe they were both processed by the same company? Both products were professionally done, and took only a few weeks to arrive on my doorstep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by oliver o. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2022 13:53:26

Super simple to use and helpful to make an adventure on the spot. The Fate Chart is extremely useful and the heart of this booklet. Only the tables for the Event Meaning are a bit "mythic" (which might as well be intended). I prsonally would like them to be a bit different, so I jut modifyed it myself. Great product, 100% recommendation



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Shawn M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2021 23:16:14

The Mythic Gamemaster Emulator is a unique product: a tool that enables cooperative GM-less roleplaying experiences, a system for playing an roleplaying game by yourself, and it even works as a low-prep method of GMing a traditional game.

The revised artwork in the late 2021 update is a most welcome change. Easily the most negative thing I've read in reviews of this product has been about the previous editions crude and off-putting artwork and now that's gone - replaced with gorgeous imagery.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by James B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2021 06:58:11

This is a unique solo RPG set of mechanics applicable to any genre. Where I found it a bit hard to comprehend personally I see it as a big step forward in solo roleplaying or even group play as it takes out the need for a GM, handling the grunt work itself. You still need to be creative to make it fun, but that is not a big deal. Basically a vastly expanded set of rules similar to a "Choose Your Own Adventure" from those classic books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Georgios A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2021 02:54:25

I got this because I really enjoy playing RPGs solo, and I wasn't dissapointed.

I enjoyed the oracle, with integrated random events, though for me what really stood out was not the oracle, but the Scenes mechanic. This is what sits at the heart of Mythic and gets an adventure going. I revolved my game around this, and then let Mythic take over.

A neat book, dense with information. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Craig T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2021 20:25:03

Ok so I am long time GM for a number of different systems, dating back to AD&D. It took a little while for me to pick up Mythinc and give it a red hot go with solo play. Currently running a game of The One Ring for myself with 2 main charatcers and Mythic really has given me plenty of twists to existing story lines from some of pre-written adventures I had purchased. It's taken a little while to get going but with a quiet room and my dice, I can tell a story and have a bit of fun with my RPGs sitting on my shelf! Thank you for putting this quality product together!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Gerald U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2021 09:10:53

This is a great concept for running an RPG adventure solo. Depending on the effort you want to put into it, this can run anything from a mini-delve to a major on-going campaign. You can run it all with the help of this book.

However for it to work properly it requires a good amount of effort, ingenuity and recording. The book points you in the right direction but you have to interpret the details yourself.

A very ingenuous system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Klaas v. d. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2021 08:34:18

What an amazing tool for both solo play and to help a GM run a low-prep / prep-less game. It seems to interact well with the RPGs I have tried so far, and the explanations are very clear. The only reason it's not a 5/5 for me is the rather cringy art throughout. Doesn't bother me too much, but the book would have been better without it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by J.P. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2021 07:54:48

Our group has now used this to run a post-apocalyptic game for four sessions and it has been very entertaining so far. I've found that using this system activates all the players nicely, where in traditional games some players fall easily into idle mode (especially true with online gaming).

I would give the product 4 - or maybe even 5 - stars if it didn't have the awful underweight-big-breasted-no-underwear-wearing-women "art" in it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Nathaniel T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2021 08:31:30

TL;DR Classic solo rules feel dated today yet still might be of value if you’re looking for a generic GM emulator.

Mythic Game Master Emulator (MGME) was my first purchase from drivethrurpg.com and its age does show. At the time, solo rules for decision making were a new concept to me. The general idea was to make a wish for the fiction, roll percentile dice to see if it comes to pass, then adapt when it doesn’t. That central idea remains sound. The desire for a solid solo game that isn’t choose-your-own-adventure still resonates with me. While I do have nostalgia for CYOA games, it was eye opening to see a different style. However, the implementation in MGME feels lacking today. Is it still worth a read? Maybe. With so many more solo options on the market, you might be able to find something more tailored to what you want in a system. Especially from the mid-quarantine boom that found so many players trying to get a TTRPG fix without their usual face-to-face game groups. Myself, I’ve preferred the Ironsworn solo TTRPG experience… but note that it’s a game that was released more than ten years after MGME.
As a generic GM emulator, MGME might still find a valuable place in your collection. But it could also use an update, drawing upon the past decade of solo gaming innovation. Aside: Throughout the book, the author appeals to “logic.” For me, these calls fall short. Trying to cover inductive and deductive thought to explain how the system works? Not very clean and ultimately not of much use. And for what it’s worth, Sherlock Holmes actually used abductive reasoning, regardless of what Doyle called it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2021 20:22:35

Interesting system, with absolutely abysmal art that makes it an embarrassment to bring to a group of players.

Would pay double / give 4 stars for a version with no pictures at all..



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill Games
by William B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2020 01:43:12

I've been trying to fit this into a game for years, but never quite got around to it. I think I like the IDEA of the Mythic GME, but when it comes to making literary decisions in my game worlds, I simply want to control all of that myself. One thing I did really like is the "chaos meter", which I'm using a highly stripped down version of in my current game. It's a nice way to escalate events in a game along a reasonable curve.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf