Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt €6,48
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
100 59
14 4
5 0
1 0
0 0
The Haunt
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rory C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2023 13:31:57

I ran this adventure as a Halloween one shot complete with props, candles on table for lighting and halloween decorations around the table and a few other things.

First off this is tough like really tough, 5 level 5's might have an easier time but 4 level 4's with a few better rolls might have been able to get through it. It would have been tough but i still think that they could have done it.

The pace is great, the rooms are well done and there are enough encounters to keep you occupied without being too much. PLayers had a blast, i have a creepy doll that they enjoyed seeing. Similar to the death house i enjoy the fact that you dont need to have a lot in rooms for people to psych themselves out, and you enter and there is.....NOTHING, good storytelling can also help and setting things up.

Overall i really enjoyed this as did my players, they barely escaped with their wits and cant wait to run the next one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shona M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2023 06:15:12

So fun! Simply dripping with atmosphere, and sadly quite a bit too long for a single evening one-shot - but completely wonderful and perfect for Halloween.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Raine H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2023 12:42:39

This module is so well written! And perfectly spooky. It could easily slot into a longer campaign, though I ran it as a one-shot. I loved the setting and had so much fun setting up a soundtrack to spook my friends. Everyone loved the setting and exploring.

My group was 4 characters at level 4. It took them six hours with me doing my level best to speed up the second floor. Next time I run this, I'll definitely plan a two shot, so we'd have a solid 8 hours to really enjoy the setting. There was no chance for a long rest (or, at least, they all noped out of sleeping in the scary house).

I would also bump the level of the characters to level 5 and give them a few magic items. At level 4, with no magic weapons, the fights can be really deadly. Gargoyles are the first things you face, and they're resistant to non-magical weapons. So, a lot of resources can be blown right up front and there were at least five more encounters to face. Also, a lot of these fights are in close quarters, which freaked my caster players out. They're used to hiding in the back, relatively safe, and that suddenly wasn't an option. That might have scared them more than the haunts.

Wonderful game, overall! I would definitely recommend purchasing and playing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stephanie Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2022 17:04:12

I just ran The Haunt with my core group and they all had a blast - I did as well! It is well-written, easy to follow, creepy, and very fun. I even made a quick little Montarthas Manor map based off the great maps provided in the book! thanks for making our Halloween session so special.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Josh A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2022 12:20:35

I have run this module a few times now and it is fantastic. It's paced well and full of fun, creepy moments. While it feels like a one shot, if you have a party that feels the need to explore every nook and cranny, it can run a little longer than your average one shot. I highly recommend setting the mood with dark music and sounds. You will not be disappointed and neither will your players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gharett V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2022 12:57:47

The haunt is a masterfully-constructed dungeon, but a bland story and flavor. It is left to the DM to actually make it spooky, since the module provides pretty tepid descriptions. I have Zero complaints about the mechanical and dungeon-crawling aspects of the game, but in order to make the horror elements of it successful, I basically had to write them all myself.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Neil S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2021 12:54:22

Our group ran this the week of Halloween. It....was....Fantastic. I will say there are ways (for my style of Dming) to improve the story arch and give it...more.

However, with a little salt and pepper from yours truely, plus the addition of some sound tracks it made an experiance that had my players screaming, freaking out, and begging for more.

We purchsed the set and they want me to try addapting the story to fit in as a Christmas oneshot..

BUY THIS SET! 100% worth it.... and don't let your party play as an all Halfing party. lolz. ones and frighten make this a little harder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2021 09:24:11

A truly well-done one-shot. NOOB DM FRIENDLY.

As a newer DM, I was very nervous at first when running the game. I ran it with 4 level 5 players, it went really smoothly. My players went through most of the rooms but missed a few. There were a ton of fun fights, and a few short rests were head. I used them waking up in the basement puzzle as a punishment if the party tried to long rest but gave them the short rest. I would come up with other punishments to prevent long rests, and I feel that would break the balance of the one-shot.

I felt the rewards in the chests were somewhat meh. I ended up giving the party some common potions instead and felt there was a lack of loot and things for the party to find (at least in areas outside of the secret area which they did not find).

The boss fight was well laid out and was super duper easy for a DM to run. However, I kinda wish they had the stat blocks for the spells on the PDF or on hand, but still, a simple lookup was all that was needed. A cheat sheet would have been a bit nice. I highly recommend bookmarking or having the stat blocks of all the monsters in the one-shot on hand for easy reference.

In regards to the doll, I would run the first encounter as written, but for future encounters, I would have the lullaby music start playing before the party sees the doll to create an oh crap moment. I had the doll appear right when they got on the second floor to set the stage for the second floor. Just some thoughts for others who will run this game :)

Some of the rooms dont have a lot going on therefore I would add some spooky interactions to them just for fun (tea room having tea being poured if someone sits down etc). However, the boxed text for each room was on point and made running super easy.

Overall, after a quick readthrough of the one-shot, I was able to run it for the most part without any issue! It was a challenging, spooky, and fun adventure for my group. I HIGHLY recommend it for any DM or group for a spooky game. It took us 7 hours with them missing some content. A solid 9.5/10 would run again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2021 10:58:40

Well, it is a scenario for teams, who like battles. Boss fights are interesting and were fun. But plot is too ordinary and there is only one interesting trap. However, my players had fun while running it)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2021 23:58:01

This is a pretty solid scenario. I ran it as a Halloween one shot for my group and they quite enjoyed it. The story hooks and setting are ambigious enough that this can easily be inserted into the middle of an existing campaign or just ran as a stand-alone one shot. A mysterious, spooky house is a bit of a cliche for horror-themed DnD scenarios, but this one does the trope really well. The Haunt builds tension well and has plenty of creepy imagery, and the combat encounters are mostly pretty interesting. And while it only really has one puzzle, I think it's a pretty good one, though some groups will no doubt find it fustrating.

Still, for $7 The Haunt feels a bit too short. My players beat it in around 6 hours, but that's including a pretty lengthy intro that I wrote to draw my players into the scenario. It feels like there should be slightly more to the house: a few more rooms on each floor and a handful more story handouts to flesh out General Montharthas' backstory a little more.

But overall I reccomend The Haunt. If you're looking for a horror themed one shot that doesn't require a ton of prep time, this is a really good choice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Craig E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2021 08:22:31

A very well written and fun adventure. Lots of great story hooks and characters and a great puzzle too.

Remade it for PF2 and incorperated in into a larger campaign just to add some "spooky" and it ran excellently. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2020 10:14:20

The Haunt is a very well-written module perfect for a spooky Halloween themed one shot or more. It gives the DM a lot of room to add lore and flavor on the fly without compromising the written lore that my party discovered and pondered over for days after. I ran it with 4 level 4 PCs and replaced one high CR encounter with a simpler one as I did not give the party an opportunity to long rest.

This module is great to run as a one-shot or even incorporate into an existing campaign. Kudos!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks Mark! Appreciate the kind words, and super glad your group got a great session out of it. PB
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2020 09:57:47

This is THE tried and true go to Halloween one shot adventure! I've ran it twice now, once for my home game (candles, low lights, creepy music it was great!) and once for our podcast. Both times this adventure held up and gave myself and all of my players a fantastic night of fun!

I'm the DM for a podcast called One-shot Onslaught that plays one shot adventures and you can find the links to this module below:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kelly D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2020 15:27:04

I "converted" this adventure to the Fate Core RPG system and ran it for a teen group as part of a dark fantasy, short campaign comprised of several haunted houses linked together. The main idea was chaos entering the world in the form of several evil gemstones which needed to be found and destroyed. It was a very good, creepy adventure with a fun puzzle inserted that the teens enjoyed very much. It is better for older, not younger, teens. My only beef is that the "player map" shows the secret doors. I had to photoshop this out. All-in-all great purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sherlock D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2020 20:11:30

I love running this module. I am currently in my second run with another group, love the story, intrigue and atmosphere. I highly suggest using spooky music and creepy voice for the doll! The doll is such a fun plot device and an excellent recurring villain. (If you choose, of course!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf