Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition €18,68
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
155 20
33 0
6 1
3 1
1 0
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Philip [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2023 17:22:47

One of my all-time favourite games to run. The freeform magic system is sublime, the setting is a lot of fun and you can tell some really out there stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Trevor W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2022 14:11:56

Love the premise of the world, the game system, and the writing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Leonardo G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2021 20:14:09

Mage the Awekening is incredible! I had never seen mechanics so complete and intelligent. The game is definetly more complex than the average, and I can say with property that I'd avoid running it for newcomers unless they have an open mind and patience, because it can scare some. The layout is good, but not the best. I felt a few times that they could have been clearer or put things together in order to make it easier to find; nonetheless, it's quite easy to Ctrl+F and find whatever you want. MtAw has much of what I love about V5 but makes it esoteric and mysterious and involves you in its theme. Top notch magical gameplay!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2020 23:25:51

i bought the PDF and Hardcover, i will be primarily reviewing the hardcover.

Mage is one of those games, that i can get out of hand in a great way, and epic at most. other is utter failure and disaster due to rules of the game.

personally, the artwork leaves something to be desire, there are some really good ones, and some meh artwork. but that's mostly subjective. the game itself is really fun, discovery of magic in the city we're in, preventing the mages to perform act of hubris and create paradoxes. it is really a great time!

i feel like a broken record, but again, the placement of the information is confusing! rotes, and other information is either lost, easily missed, or not labelled properly, at times it gets annoying at worse it is frustrating! again, if you have the pdf CTRL+F is your best friend.

overall, this is a super fun game! this is the final of the big three and i love all three!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2020 18:25:50

As with the previous 2nd editions of Chronicles of Darkness games, this is a highly polished effort with improved art direction, excellent rules for magic and by it being a self contained game. Its also notable shifted away from the Atlantis backstory emphasis of the previous edition, which is a welcome change.

Notably, this Mage game is only half the size of it's intimidatingly huge cousin, Mage: The Ascension, and will be certainly easier to play for newcomers. It manages this by missing out on much of the more gonzo, philosophical and real world culture referencing material of the former - and may feel a bit bland by comparison for the original game's fans. As a toolkit for running modern magical stories, like those you might find in a Vertigo comic, its a highly polished product, but it's still an obvioulsy fictional world with comic book tropes rather than an exploration of real occult concepts in many respects.

Regardless, it's a great addition to the Chronicles of Darkness line or just as a stand-alone urban fantasy game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 14:33:35

Please see my review on discussions tab: April 3, 2020.

Please see my review on discussions tab: April 3, 2020.

Please see my review on discussions tab: April 3, 2020.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Feunteun P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2019 18:36:33

As a big fan of Onyx Path's games, and White Wolf before that, I must say that it is a fine second edition for Mage The Awakening, with smoother system and a nicely redone Background.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Michelle D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2018 23:00:49

While the art falls a bit flat compared to the first edition, lierally everything else is s VAST improvement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Sandra H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2017 17:11:12

This book is my first gaming book purchase. I absolutely love the artwork and the story-telling. The mechanics are easy to understand and follow for new and experienced gamers alike. I love the way the world is explained.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2016 07:31:55

The quality of the layout (I have the pdf, so I can't comment on the physical product) and the cogency of the updated rules themselves is very high. This is a great product, and a fantastic game. It suffers from the same crippling problem as most other White Wolf/Onyx Path products, though: it is unnecessarily vulgar.

I get it that this is the World of Darkness, and that things aren't sunshine and rainbows. This is gritty, beotches! But to make the game book try to reflect that by peppering in f-bombs and stories of homosexual relationships just ends up being suicidal to the commercial viablility of products like this, and (most tragically) keeps it from being readily passed on to new generations.

I just took my two oldest daughters (12 and 10) to see Dr. Strange. They loved it! They also love roleplaying games like Pathfinder. I would love to get them into a game like Mage, but I sure as (insert unnecessary cussword here) can't hand them the book! If I want them to play, I will have to just try to explain all the rules. That severely limits this game's (and all of the others') relevancy to future generations. No wonder Pathfinder is eating your lunch.

As edgy and dark as you think you want to be, there's really nothing in the contents of the backstory to the World of Darkness or in the flavor and rules of any of the Paths or Orders that would be considered inherently 'adult'. You can do necromancy in Skyrim, Scooby Doo has similar levels of violence and fear. The only things keeping this book out of a larger number of hands are a liberal use of profane words and a subtle homosexual undertone in the narrative that runs throughout the book before each chapter.

If some group wants to tell a depraved story about a necrophiliac Moros that kills and putrefies his victims just so he can copulate with their juicy rotten corpses, then they can do that whether or not the core rulebook has f-words all through it. Their stories are not silenced by a more broadly palatable book. There's just no reason to have profane language, deviant sexual behavior, and cartoon nudity in books like these (Mage may not have any cartoon nudity, but plenty other White Wolf books do).

You may think me prudish and ignorant or some such, but that's just not the case. From a business standpoint, you are hobbling your ability to reach a broader audience, and that just doesn't make good business sense. And from the perspective of an uber RPG fan, this kind of thing may mean that we won't have new versions of these awesome games in the future, and I hate that eventuality. I lament what's happened to the White Wolf brand already - the extreme marginalization of the greatest tabletop RPGs in the world. What if the only thing holding it all back are a few f-words and pencil-sketched tits?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Domain C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2016 20:41:28

I have just received my own physical of Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition and I must say this book feels like a masterpiece. The layout of the Table of Contents is a beautiful addition that allows anyone to easily source what they are looking for without hunting through the glossary, the colour even in the Standard edition pops out and demands to be looked at. The hard cover itself is appealing to the eye and my copy seems to have arrived in perfect condition

Honestly if anyone had enjoyed playing Mage the Awakening 1e they will certainly LOVE picking up a copy of Mage the Awakening 2e and will never put it down thereafter



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Greg D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2016 23:55:05

Instant classic. This is Mage as it always should have been. It all makes perfect sense and is clean and concise in its rules and explanations but provides large doses of the Onyx Path/White Wolf narrative drive and story hooks we've come to expect. The magic system is intuitive and easy to work out. Paradox has been greatly simplified. There's not a wasted word and the art is gorgeous. What are you waiting for? Buy it already.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Andrea T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2016 11:15:08

(At first, sorry for my bad english) Best! I like all Chronicles of Darkness 2nd Edition stuff and I was waiting this Mage 2nd edition with impatience. I was scared, full of aspectative. Nothing.To.Be.Scared!!!! Buy this at full hands, it's great, simply rebuild the concept of a Mage rendering exactly it would be. The System rapresent exactly the spirit of play a Mage and Description and Storytelling Advice gives all you need to prepare a good Chronicle for Mages. Super, nothing to say more, buy it and have fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jessica O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2016 12:29:45

In brief: it's brilliant. A great many problems from 1st Edition have been neatly and cleanly taken care of -- not with piecemeal patchwork, but by rewriting the whole of the game so that those problems simply no longer exist. Further, it's written with a mind towards LARP right out of the gate, with mechanics that not only don't require an overhaul to work outside of a tabletop game but actually provide encouragement for that level of dramatic expression. I couldn't be happier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Miguel R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2016 18:35:22

Personalmente no me ha convencido en general el sistema de Chronicles of Darkness en el ámbito de los "beats", aunque si en el área de "conditions". Desde siempre, mi línea preferida de WoD ha sido Mage, siendo un jugador asiduo por muchos años del MtA 1st Edition. No obstante, debo reconocer que ha sido un esfuerzo muy bueno para simplificar muchos de los elementos que hacían confuso el sistema de magia anterior, en especial en cuanto al manejo del "paradox" que terminaba siendo un dolor de cabeza en algunas ocasiones. Maravillosa la idea de los "attainments" sinceramente.

Espero con ansia la versión PoD para adicionarlo a mi colección y, espero pronto poder llevar a cabo una crónica para ver qué tal funciona.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf