Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
 
€14,00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
147 19
13 6
4 0
1 1
0 0
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Randall [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2024 18:08:15

Planescape 2nd Edition has Incredibly Flavorful and Thought-Out Writing ... and, has Stylized Artwork that Resonates the Happenings of the Dimension . Most Dungeons & Dragons Artwork is Kind-Of Un-Inspiring and Makes No Sense . Does Planescape 2nd Edition need to Reflect Your Viewpoints and Appear Politically-Correct ? Oh Course Not . . . That's the Point . The Books represent an Imaginary Dimension ... which Doesn't Exist in the Real World . . . yet, Is Believable as a Parallel Reality in Another Universe .

Please Remove the Disclaimer at the Bottom of the Description .

Randall has Never and Will Never Play D&D 5th Edition . . . Nor will He Ever Subcribe and Purchase .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mats H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2024 10:05:28

Quality of Print: The reprint of the Planescape Campaign Setting as a book offers outstanding print quality. Despite the original being a box set with various components, the images and text in this edition are bright and clear, ensuring that none of the vibrant artwork and detailed descriptions are lost. For those looking to recreate the box set 100%, I recommend purchasing the PDF version alongside the print to assemble the various maps and handouts, as they come in the back of the book, and I would not want to put a razor to this book to get them out.

About the Book True to the spirit of many second edition Dungeons & Dragons products, this campaign setting is densely packed with lore, the Planescape universe feels alive in this book and rather than focusing heavily on game mechanics, you get an ambience that 5e is lacking. This book is a must-have for any fan of the Planescape universe or collectors of D&D historical editions. Its detailed portrayal of the cosmos and the factions within offers endless inspiration for creating intriguing and memorable adventures. Whether used as a direct campaign setting or a supplementary guide for world-building, it stands out as a valuable resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by RYAN M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2023 12:17:22

I read a number of reviews before purchasing my hardbound set of all four books in one volume. I was concerned, based on reviews, that I may be disappointed in the clarity and quality of the text and images. No, it may not be a perfect sharp copy of the originals (which i do not have, so I cannot compare). But, it's super super useful, legible, and all artwork, though slightly low resolution, is fully "readable". What do you expect? If you want a perfect copy, drop over to ebay and bouy all four original books. Yet, if you want something of solid quality, Hard-bound, look no further. I find myself wishing I could get "On Hallowed Ground" in hardback form, as well as the others. Hardbound just feels like my original books. Maps? Maps are tough. There was NO easy way to do this. The maps are cut up in an intelligent manner. I would have like the following: For each map, have a one page representation of the map, with page boxes and page numbers around each section. this is how real World Atlas books do it, and it works quite well. Yet, you know what, I'd prefer to be able to buy the maps at a 24 inch long side version (without fold creases) to store in a poster sleeve or tube if I really wanted to use the maps all the time. THAT would be super useful. So, summarizing, the maps are fine, just a bit awkward. Aside from having a header page showing how the map is cut up, they are fine. Thanks for this volume, I truly appreciate it's value for the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rod [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2023 16:37:25

An all time classic setting....

Looking forward to seeing what was updated for 5e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brandon M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2023 17:33:33

Ordered the hardback book and couldn't be happier with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ida S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2022 17:01:16

First of all: it is still Planescape, and that is great.

The print quality is not bad at all: the colours are very uneven across pages, but that's a matter of the scan, not the printing process (as evidenced by the PDF versions), so I don't particularly mind it. I am also very happy with the cover and the spine. The unnecessary margins also bear mentioning (print on demand can handle even razor-thin margins quite well, as evidenced by the AD&D 1e DMG), but do not distract from reading overmuch.

The other aspects, however, are more flawed. Specifically, there are two issues so major as to lead one to believe that no human being was overseeing the combobulation of the book:

  1. The booklets (A Player's Guide to the Planes, A DM's Guide to the Planes, and Sigil and Beyond) are in the opposite order than listed on the back cover.
  2. Seventy-two entire pages are taken by posters split into up to sixteen pages each (I confess I have not deciphered each one individually) and thus rendered largely unusable. Not only that, but some of said posters are mixed: the fist eight pages of the Planescape Cosmological Tables are separated from the second eight by forty-six pages of others, some of which are split themselves.
    It has to be underlined again how major the second issue is: seventy-two entire pages of functionally wasted space separate the Monstrous Supplement from the reference tables. That is approximately a sixth of the entire book.

Of note is also that the PDFs are split into multiple files: the booklets are ordered almost properly (not that it matters, swapping around numerals in file names is trivial), but the posters are still in a sorry state (they also have margins, so one would need not only to collage the pages, but also crop them beforehand).

I will not ask for a refund, as the product is still usable, I am not willing to risk more unexpected charges from international shipping, and I do not wish to bother the certainly fine people at DriveThruRPG, but I would caution any prospective buyer to purchase this book knowing the risks or not at all.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by michael g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2021 12:10:40

This is such a classic campaign setting, I was happy to get it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matt H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2021 08:06:50

Bought the softcover and very pleased with it; print quality, printing and shipping were all great. Only downside is the odd order that the books have been collected in - they state themselves to read the Players' and DM's guide first but they are printed in 3rd and 2nd place respectively.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2021 06:19:53

I purchased the POD hardback copy and first impression of the book was that this is an impressive printing that has been, the cover is goregous, the spine and back look perfect and so far the quality all around seems spot on.

The text is readable with only some slight dips in readability from the scanned pages but overall good.

The content looks good fun to read, I've not played Planescape or 2e before but this is a nice way to start off. I would recommend for someone interested in the setting and the planes in general (I plan to use this for more than just 2e purposes because why not!) this is a fantastic product to have and the POD hardback is the way to go if you can get it.

However, I have one issue with the ordering of the books within the combined print and that is that the first book in my copy is 'Sigil and Beyond' which on the first page of actual text states "Before going any futher with this book, the DM should first read a Player's Guide to the planes and a DM guide to the planes. This particular text provides a campaign base etc. etc."

This to me means that the ordering of the book (as both the DM guide and Player's guide are included) is wrong and should have printed those books first within the POD. It's not a deal breaker and the rest of the quality makes up for this as the books are included but it seems like a mistep in terms of printing order.

If thre is any feedback from the publisher on why it was done this way would be good to hear.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2021 22:04:59

the phyisical printing of this box set is surprisely good!

the quality is great, the split between booklet box and the map is good, everything you need to run a Planescape campaign.

honestly this setting can be a fun, yet dark setting and really plays up the alignment of your character.

overall great print.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Donald H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2021 01:35:44

It's nice having this all together in a hard copy. The text is clear as are the illustrations. That said, the illustrations are frequently clipped so a good deal of the original image is missing. The maps are a major disappointment to me though. If they weren't going to print the maps at least they could have provided a quality image with the pdf I could take to the print shop and have it done. If I understand how the pdf is set up. what maps I could have will be a poorly layed out "quilt" instead of a map. The informatin is a great value but they really didn't do well with the accessories.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2021 14:30:08

POD review. I also bought the POD when it became available. Its of excellent quality. The printing is crisp, and easily legible, the pages are in color, and everything is there. I only wish they would add book ribbons so I can separate the different books, but thats just a wanted extra, the book is good and any DM of any Edition will find it useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Neil J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2021 16:44:14

POD Review

After wanting this for many years of being on this site the time has finally come - and I instantly bought it. Upon receiving this I was not disappointed in the slightest. The book contains everything from the box set in book form - even the DM screen and maps. The screen and maps are piecemealed out so not the most useable, but still there for quick reference. The print quality of everything is great, the pages are easy to read and clear. The information of course is revolutionary and top notch. This in my opinion is a must have for anyone who loves campaign settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike v. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2019 14:45:36

Great product and perfect starting off point for a Planescape campaign! There is a true wealth of information in these books, which are divided into 5 books (although two of the books are mostly maps and DM screens). The quality is perfect. I was able to digitally cut and paste 95% of the information here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2018 20:08:02

This campaign setting includes a wealth of knowledge and is more than enough for any DM looking to run a planescape campaign. The maps are pretty and that beauty does not detract from their readability or usefulness. The pieces of the campaign setting are broken up into several pdfs so if you want your players to be able to read the players guide they can without the need for editing out DM content.

These books, while made for second edition, can be used for any edition of DND. Some conversions will need to be made but all of the lore and guidelines to RP still stand.

This product is an invaluable resource to those seeking to run a planescape campaign or to just learn more about the planes and how they work to make your game feel more alive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf