Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
 
€4,65
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
125 20
25 8
10 3
1 5
2 5
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Douglas [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2024 12:26:04

For the most part, this is a decent scan of the original, with a few caveats. They use the original font type and such and it doesn't always come out well for the PDF, but overall I wouldn't complain about it.

POD wasn't bad either, however note the original had a removable cover and inside that was a map printed on the inside cover. The POD just slaps this map in the print itself and the middle is lost in the binding. If you really need a POD you can, but you're better off finding a way to print the cover and main map yourself and not lose information. I'm finding this to be somewhat common in many of these early-day D&D books which is definitely a downside to an otherwise decent POD



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Minrocheem [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2024 16:31:05

The quality of the PDF is atrocious. It's a low quality scan that doesn't even have OCR text recognition to make the document searchable.

The print on demand is hideous. Most of the pages look like low quality compressed scans that are slightly blurry, but some of the pages are very crisp and clean.

The front and back cover are also soft and blurry with visible jpg compression artifacts around the text.

I honestly regret buying this one.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chase [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2024 10:12:07

Disappointing that PDF isn't searchable and the POD prints the map too close the spine, cutting off important parts in the middle.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brandon G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2023 13:46:20

Classic adventure well worth a look. Scan quality is good, if you are running digitally the PDF has a decent number of bookmarks for navigation. Not much else I can say that hasn't been said by tons of people before me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Björn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2023 18:47:06

I bought this module as print on demand, and while there was a very slight fuzziness in some pages (still no problem with readability), the overall quality exceeded my expectations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thiago L. P. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2022 13:03:48

BUYERS BEWARE: As of today (26/11/22) The quality of this PDF is atrocious. It's the worse, It's very low quality scan, without the search option and even a little zoom turns everything pixelated. You can do much better than this, don't buy this edition. Search elsewhere.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by joshy k. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2022 14:38:46

High quality print! I have not ever ran this adventure before & I am excited to do so soon (:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Estel-Lia T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2022 16:58:26

This is a great introductory module to Basic D&D and B/X in general. I would have loved to give the POD version a higher score, but sadly, the map for the Caves of Chaos appears to be printed all the way down to the spine, and given the binding of the book, a part of the map impossible to read unless you almost break the book by opening way too wide. Another issue I encountered is with the reference sheet just before page 15; both sides of the reference seem to have the printing cut off at the bottom. Thus on the first reference sheet page, the word "Shield" in the armor section is cut off and the information below "Shield", as well as the section underneath "Wooden Pole" on the right column are missing from the POD. Similarly, on the other page of the reference sheet, the last few lines of the wandering monsters (rolls of 18 to 20) are cut off and missing. Surprisingly, this is not an issue in the PDF.

Due to those choices regarding the map for the Caves of Chaos, and the printing errors for the reference sheet, I can't rate this higher than 3/5. The module is still useable, but for your own sake do not buy the POD alone, and get the PDF alongside it to print the complete reference sheet and a useable map for the Caves.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2021 19:11:00

i am SO glad that there is a POD, sure you can get the Goodman Games version, but something about having just the thin module is just cool.

anyways, IMO, one of the best modules to run, it's a sandbox, enough content to get the ball rolling and enough things for you to add to the world and setting.

i ran this module using Pathfinder 1e and it works out really well, and while my players died due to being overran by lizardmen, they wanted to play it again.

the POD is great quality too, so i reccomend you all to get this and B1 as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Iain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2021 12:17:23

Just received my POD. Beautifully put together, with the main map in the original blue shade put in a double-page spread at the back of the book instead of the inside covers, which is much preferred, thank you! Very pleased with the quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2021 15:38:12

I could not copy and paste the information I would like to have needed in prepping a campaign. I payed for the module but didn't have access to the toolbars to work through the campaign very well. I expected a better deal than just reading the material that I all ready had in the hardback Into the Borderlands B1 and B2.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Gerald U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2020 13:45:15

A great introductory module to get players into the game. It also provides a convenient base for further adventuring. This module is intended for Original Dungeons & Dragons (OD&D/BECMI) but with miniscule modifications - or even no modifications at all - can be used for AD&D 1st or 2nd Edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2019 08:34:54

Like this ancient module. Sandbox. Easy to to run, even without preparing much. It's not beautiful, it's not weird, not heavy metal, it does not re-invent the wheel, does not offer great prose, and is not a great work of art. It just works.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2018 15:56:29

Decent scan but the wilderness map and castle map are still missing. A main draw to this module is the "small" area to sandbox in without much in the way of prep. Sure you can find a generic city and wilderness on the internet, but this module for years came with those maps and are detailed in the book. Why leave them out? AS for people buyingn POD? You should take your money to ebay if you want an iconic complete module, at least that seems to be the message WOTC is implying with this version of the module.

My POD book arrived. 6.5 out of 10 on print quality. Text has a wierd blur to it and the blue graphics are very light and hard to read. The good news is the hard copy has the wilderness and keep maps and all the tables to run the adventure unlike the pdf download which is still missing these bits.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2017 09:04:16

I've been running this in 5e and converting it on the fly. It's a great sandbox for both players and DM to get introduced not just to D&D, but to the whole idea of a "scenario" rather than a "story." There is no overarching plot to Keep on the Borderlands, just caves full of monsters and descriptions of how they relate to each other.

The reason I didn't give the module five stars is that the importance of not simply having all the monsters attack the first person to set foot in their lairs isn't really brought out. A novice DM may just run this as a slaughterhouse, which will make it a boring drudge right away. When running this module, it is essential to treat it as a living world and have the mosters behave in plausible, meaningful ways, rather than have them just sitting around, waiting to get into a fight.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 41 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf