Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
 
€4,24
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
28 8
9 5
4 1
0 0
0 0
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2019 12:29:52

This is simply the best adventure in the B series, and a fine example of Moldvay's adventure writing talents.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2015 20:45:34

If you have the Moldavy D&D Red Book...then you should have B4 tucked away in your collection somewhere...Moldavy wrote B4 himself for the Red Book so it's a bit of a no brainer. B4 is a sort of Tomb of Horrors for Original D&D, that is lots of traps but without the unbelievable fatality of S1 (yes we all love the Sphere of Annihilation...but this is an introductory module after all). My favorite element of B4 is that the wandering monsters are mostly made up of the wandering nutballs that inhabit the Lost City, which create a lot of opportunity for players to actually role play (i.e. ally themselves with various bands of city dwellers, etc.) and not just hack and slash their way through this dungeon.

B4 is a great module which may require more work on the DM's part than other Original D&D modules, so in a way it's an introductory module for players and a more intermediate one for DMs.

Long story short...if you love Moldavy style, then you probably own (or will own soon) B4 The Lost City.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2015 13:53:30

Great module and content however my PDF is missing the map insert from the middle of the module itself.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2013 13:18:11

I do not have much to add except to confirm what has already been said by many about this adventure - it is one of the better modules that TSR ever published. It has a sword and sorcery kind of eldritch weirdness vibe to it, a place that should not exist. It is also one of the first and best "faction" modules. It is overwhelmingly tough if the PCs think they are going to hack their way through. They must choose sides and interact with the bizarre denizens if they are going to have a shot. It reminds me a little of I1, Dwellers of the forbidden city, perhaps my favorite module all time. My biggest criticism of B4, unlike I1, is that it takes considerable suspension of disbelief to buy into this strange locale. And like many early dungeon crawls, their seems to be no reason for some of the monsters to be here waiting for the PCs to kill them and take their stuff. This is also one of those modules where the players might ask "what the heck does this thing eat?" A modern GM who is used to story driven adventures might have some creative work to do before implementing this into a campaign. Still, with this bit of prep-work The Lost City is one of TSRs best modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 16:27:20

Another great Moldvay module. This one is so strange, but so much fun. I remember playing this one in 8th grade and honestly I had a blast. It wasn't though till many years later while running it for my own kids did I see it's Pulp fiction roots. Plenty of great influences can be seen in this from Robert E. Howard to Lovecraft to Clark Ashton Smith.

To me this one was always on the edge of that B/X divide. Sure it was a B series module, but it could have easily been one of the X series. Unlike some adventures I played or ran in the 80s I went back to this one appreciated it more now then I did then.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2013 07:04:48

The Lost City, as an adventure in the Basic line, takes the GM from the hand-holding of a well scripted dungeon crawl through a sand-shrouded pyramid, to the cavern depths beneath. As the GMs confidence grows, so the trainer wheels vanish - with the lower areas of the complex provided in the vaguest of details and maps. Rounded out with the loose structure for a campaign - taking the PCs from arrival, through freeing the masses, defeating the enemy, restoring order, then returning home - you have a whole pile of potential crammed into a few dozen pages.

A great scan of the original, with those iconic blue maps. Brilliant illustrations by Jim Holloway.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stuart C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2008 17:07:10

Probably the best Basic D&D module (vying with B10 Night's Dark Terror). Simple but evocative map and can be played as a dungeon crawl/bash or can be developed with some decent subplots. What made it awesome was the expansion material at the back, which was cut out of the "In Search of Adventure" compilation. Scan seems good to me, and the imperfections are kind of retro-chique.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2007 20:11:37

One of my favorite modules. PDF is just slightly blurry but easily readable and the module is complete.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dave B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2006 00:00:00

Good adventure which also provides a setting for many further adventures.

Good quality scans.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by blake e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2005 00:00:00

Vey nice, exactly as I remembered it 20 years ago. Good sans and download.This modules proivdes hours of play, open ended adventuring.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I would buy this again, if needed from this supplier.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Cameron K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2005 00:00:00

Perhaps the greatest of the old "OD&D" modules, The Lost City is one of the better dungeon crawls created by the old TSR gang, and it creates a vague template for a much wider, much more complex adventure. Not only is The Lost City a great module for players to ascend a few levels or more while playing through a good story, it's a brilliant opportunity for an aspiring (or experienced) DM to have a blast crafting a campaign, whether for OD&D or AD&D (minimal tweaking is required for AD&D).

The scan is decent, but could be better. The source material is obviously dated and used. You could do worse; there's no bleed-through, and the pages are readable and printable. I give this five stars based on the merit of the material, not the scan. But for five bucks, you could do much worse.

<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2004 00:00:00

One of my altime faves. Can bring characters from level 1 all the way up to level 7 or so if enough work is done ahead of time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2003 00:00:00

A pretty good scan of a old module; the only really "terrible" images are the front and back of the module itself (which show the typical bends, wears and tears that are typical of this sort of thing).

You do have the usual dungeon crawl type of action (ie. strange monster placement, lots of gold and jewels, etc.), but the overall story is something a player could expand upon and work into a larger campaign or upgrade to their gaming system of choice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2003 00:00:00

A claccic, both good and bad. Veary enjoyable. I would like to see it done in third edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf