Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Frontiers: Revised
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 15:28:06

Tiny Frontiers: Revised was unlocked as a stretch goal as part of the Tiny Dungeon 2nd Edition Kickstarter. As a backer of the original Tiny Frontiers, I admit my skepticism of a revision on a game that is good already. However, there were quite a few awesome new things built into the later TinyD6 games, and I didn’t mind getting those built in by default. When I heard there would be a new set of micro settings, I was sold 100%.

You can read my full review here: https://liamwrites.com/2018/07/19/rpg-review-tiny-frontiers-revised/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2018 23:17:04

I just posted this on my blog (where you can comment or read it with a few added notes). https://liamwrites.com/2018/01/07/rpg-review-tiny-dungeon-2nd-edition/

Today I’m reviewing the Kickstarter edition PDF of Tiny Dungeon 2nd Edition by Alan Bahr.

It’s a minimalist fantasy RPG based on the original Tiny Dungeon by Smoking Salamander Games turned up to ELEVEN. I picked up the original to play with my kids a long while back.

1.) Size and Production Quality 

The Tiny Dungeon 2e book is the largest “tiny” book to date at 194 pages. It maintains the art style from the original game (the same artist in fact), and the new layout is impressive, bringing the game up to standard with the newer Tiny D6 games.

The original Tiny Dungeon is also a great game and only 24 pages total! Hard to believe. I’ll get into the differences below, but the original book is still on sale on DTRPG for $2.99. Second edition is $19.99 ($17.99 as of publishing this article). If you’d like the Player’s Guide only (the first half of the book without the micro settings) it will only run you $9.99.

9/10

2.) Art

The cover art is amazing! The interior art is black and white in the style of the original Tiny Dungeon, and there’s plenty of it spread throughout the book. Some reuse where it made sense, and I’m totally good with that. The critter section is fleshed out and has great art for tons of beasties your party could fight (including the dinosaurs). If I have a critique here, it's only that I'd like more of that beautiful cover art. I'd pay for it.

7/10

3.) Content and Rules

Tiny D6 games are my favorite for minimalist rules games. Any 5 or 6 rolled on1-3d6 (depending on advantage or disadvantage) is a success. So simple. So powerful. This version has the most optional character creation rules of any Tiny D6 game and even has progression options built into the game. I’ll be getting these to the table soon with my daughters Zeep and Zook (not their real names) who started playing Tiny Dungeon when the younger one was only 7. I can’t express how happy it makes me that Tiny Dungeon is growing up with them.

10/10

4.) Game Master Section

As previously mentioned, there is an expanded bestiary in TD2e. 26 pages to be exact.  In addition, there are sections with advice on running games, and the extensive optional rules. I won’t spoil them all, but there is some really fun stuff in here including optional combat rules and old-school adventure generation tables.

9/10

5.) Pre-made Adventure

Not the traditional pre-made adventure, but as has become the tradition with Tiny D6, MICRO SETTINGS. I’ve been waiting for micro settings for the fantasy realm since Tiny Frontiers was initially announced on Kickstarter.  If you aren’t familiar yet, these are a delightful take on creating a ready-to-go world you can grok after a few pages and create interesting and unique new adventures for. They also happen to be written by a super talented group of authors, games designers, and other highly creative people. As a GM, I prefer these to a full adventure since I almost always modify adventures to suit my tastes anyway.

10/10

Total Score: 45/50

A great score in the upper echelons of my scoring criteria.

I’d Kickstart this game again. Twice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.2
Publisher: Chaosium
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 16:20:20

What game has a chance against KAP? Not many. I wrote a full in-depth review here: https://liamwrites.com/2017/10/19/rpg-review-king-arthur-pendragon-v5-2/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.2
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2017 09:28:05

Great minimalist ruleset game. I wrote a full review here: https://liamwrites.com/2017/07/21/rpg-review-tiny-frontiers-mecha-monsters/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tiny Frontiers Character Sheet
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2016 00:08:38

Nice to have a sheet for a ship. Good to have color and B/W options. Very easy and minimalist, just the way it should be. Also, FREE is good :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 5 (of 5 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf