Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
 
€14,11
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
101 12
20 2
4 1
2 0
1 0
Scarlet Heroes
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jesse [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2024 17:05:22

Excellent, simple mechanics. Good solo play adaptations. Useful as a reference for other games.

Hardback binding split the first time I opened it. It's unfortunate, but PoD is a gamble and not really worth the money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by David E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2023 02:30:00

Despite how concise & short Scarlet Heroes is compared to other retroclones, I have been using it at almost every one of my gaming sessions for several years now and I have yet to exhaust using it. It has become one of my most heavily used & favourite products from this store.

It has many possible uses & it tends to excel in everything it does.

But above all else, it has become an indispensable tool in most of my solo & GM-less gaming.

This is because:

1) Instead of just faithfully cloning B/X at-length as most retroclones do, Scarlet Heroes tweaks B/X's traditional rule mechanics & other content into something which is still B/X-compatible, but it is much more tight & concise for optimal use in solo & GM-less gaming. Plus it integrates adjustments into that for playing with just a single player-character or two. No further adjustments are needed to play a single player-character with it. (This would also make it a good choice for one-on-one gaming.)

2) It also includes many random tables throughout it, which essentially cover almost everything that I might ever need in any of my solo & GM-less gaming. Among other things, this includes an excellent oracle, as well as many tables for NPC traits & behavior, urban/wilderness/dungeon encounters, adventure seeds, plot twists, & much more.

3) It also comes with its own self-contained setting, bestiary, & spells. Plus it is a wonderfully exotic setting to play in... Even just some of its fantastically Junji Ito-esque monsters alone would make it worth recommending here.

In other words, Scarlet Heroes has everything that I need for OSR-styled solo gaming in a single book.

My only caveat here is that if you are looking for a standard B/X setting with classic B/X monsters & spells in it, you won't find much of that in Scarlet Heroes. You would have to find that stuff elsewhere if you want to include it. Then use it alongside Scarlet Heroes while you are playing.

That being said, Scarlet Heroes works extremely well in-combination with other B/X-compatible games & supplements.

E.g. I often use it to augment some other B/X-compatible solo-gaming products, such as Ruins of the Undercity & Mad Monks of Kwantoom.

Plus I use its random tables a lot with some non-compatible games, such as Four Against Darkness & Ironsworn.

The bottom line: Scarlet Heroes is my main go-to resource for most of my solo gaming now. No matter what game I am playing, I seldom play without it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Travis V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2022 12:05:41

This is am amazing system. I saw several youtube vidoes about the OSR solo filter and that was what intrested me. i thought i could use it to run modules for myself first before a group to get a sense of the story ect but to my suprise i had a blast. its downright addictive. i grew up reading Conan and Remo Williams books and this system makes your PC that type of epic protaganist. Your PC is strong but not invincible. It also goes well with almost every solo book out there like the SA Toolbox and Mythic. Well worth the POD price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Joshua V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2021 12:20:02

Great system! Running a solo hexcrawl with it and it works fantastically.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by HL W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2021 04:25:00

I'm late to this party, but wanted to contribute to what I think is an excellent OSR role playing game, and setting.

I picked this up as an aid to Solo roleplaying before GMing my own group, and the final 16 pages are invaluable to that end. The penultimate 21 pages of adventure design are also packed with goodness. It crawled a little for me in the middle, reading the spells (more on that later), but other than that it's a very enjoyable read.

You can read the description for an idea of the setting, but I sell it as Conan the Barbarian + Big Trouble in Little China + Pirates of Dark Waters (the 90s cartoon). Crawford writes with wit and elegance, and explains the rules easily. His setting is such an interesting one (of course there's another source book), that in another time, another world, could have grown to rival the Forgotten Realm or Dark Sun.

So why 3/5? Two reasons but the first of them a bit silly.

I don't like the Spell Names. I said it would be silly.

But just as some people don't like Tunnels & Trolls spells because they sound too 'meta' or glib (e.g 'Knock, knock', 'Take That, You Fiend!'), I really don't like the verbose spell names here. I feel many of them are named so grandious, play would stop to explain what they do, and whilst that could be true of any spell the first time it's called upon, you could probably figure out what 'Magic Missile' does. What on earth does 'Assuming the Flesh of Mist', or 'Crimson Rain of Deliquescence' mean? I don't even know what a deliquescence is, let alone how it affects a crimson rain. EDIT: I broke down and looked it up. I still wouldn't be able to guess what this spell does other than getting people wet on a sunny day.

So, again, it's a silly point, but searching for a new spell to gain takes longer than it needs to ('I want to cause damage to somebody within 30 feet, which one is that?'), and I feel players will eventually shorten or given them nick names.

The second reason, and my biggest gripe, is for the description and pictorial depiction of child corruption and mutilation (I may have buried the lead on this one). One is a child after being consumed by the Red Tide (a corrupting fog that may act as an antagonist or natural barrier), another is a demon pieced together with body parts of aborted or miscarried foetuses.

In a book filled with glorious illustrations, not every monster is depcited, and I think it's in poor taste that these two were chosen. If these 'monsters' had to be in the game, I think the text would have sufficed. Crawford is a very good writer, and his words can be creepy enough.

Now I thought I was a fan of cosmic and body horror, loving films like Society, The Thing, Videodrome, but I guess involving kids is where I draw the line. And I know "It's all just make believe, you were more than happy to hack through 100's of soldiers", but it's not the same, and if either of these were revealed during a game, I would be slapping that X in the middle of the table hard. Yes, it's fantasy, but it's meant to be enjoyable, not some grim slice of the realism of evil and fantasy pestilence might cause, and takes an otherwise mature game in a more twisted direction.

I ordered this in soft cover in the UK, and is one of the few physical books I've ordered from DriveThru POD that arrived in peftect condition with no printing QA issues or mis-aligned covers. The paper is good, thick, and smooth, the text clear, and lineart detailed.

So do check out this wonderful book, It's a good price if you're going to use all of it, but quite pricey if you're only interested in adapting Solo play for another game. There is a Black Streams: Solo Heroes supplement available, and is free, but at half the length of the Solo play chapter in this book, you're only getting 'How to play a duet or solo with existing OSR modules', not crafting the interesting adventures this book offers. Mythic GM Emulator or DM Yourself may be more up your street, but I think the author's written a very clever Duet and Solo system here.

If depictions of child mutilation and silly spell names don't bother you, consider this a 5* review.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2020 14:47:05

Content quality is super good. It's a very nice sandbox system for playing with 0 to 2 players (aside the GM).

Yes I said "very nice", not "perfect", because content isn't rich-enough for that for the price (project was kickstarted 18k$), and the "solo playing" rules are not enough elaborated (for that, buying the "Mythic Game Master Emulator" is recommanded ; it's how start the Solo Heroes section).

In a nutshell, Scarlet Heroes is a good mix of different Sin Nomine Publishing : so simplify, it's a typical D&D B/X system in the Red Tide setting with some Godbound rules (the good ones, like Fray Die) to make the characters super powerful ; and an extended "Black Streams : Solo Heroes" content, to play with just 1 or 2 PC, or even without GM.

So if you are just discovering this publisher and his sandbox philosophy, it's a very good entry point. If you already know the others books, Scarlet Heroes will probably appears very classic or even useless.

The writing is very pleasant and easy, always go straight to the point, concise. You should try "Scarlet Heroes : Quickstart" to make you a good idea ; this books add some advises and generators and rules to play solo, but it's more about "explaining more" than adding new features.

About the printing : I guess it went though Drivethru Print-On-Demand (it's not clearly written in the book), and the quality is quite bad : paper of bad quality and almost transparent, hard cover not properly fitting (edge is too thin, giving the book a curled appearance), and I have a feeling the content is not up-to-date with the last PDF version (ISBN is different). At my knowledge, author didn't published a changelog to know what are the differences since. So sadly, buying only the PDF and printing it on xpress.lulu will give you a better and cheaper result, but unfortunately, less money to the writer.... Or, at least, buy the softcover instead of hardcover.

The book take place in the "Red Tide" setting. It's nicely introduced in this book, but if you want to properly use that setting, I will recommend buying the "Red Tide Campaign" book from same author, if you want to create long campaign with a heavy focus on the universe. "Red Tide" is originally aimed for Labyrinth Lord, but you can easily use it for Scarlet Heroes. Else you can transpose Scarlet Heroes in your own setting.

My only disapointment is the same as for Red Tide : humans are divided in disctinct "civilisations", inspired by : chinese, japanese, nordic... They have there own cultures, so it's kinda sad that it was not taken in account for classes & magics ; would have be interesting to have exclusive classes like "wuxia/wandering knight" for the chineses, samurai & ninja for Japaneses, berserkers/barbarians for nordic... Would have been interesting Clercs and Wizards having different spells depending the cultural God or philosophy, spells based on Tao, Yin-Yang and the 5 elements (wood & metal instead of Air) for ones, and shintoism and anismist for one other, Norse mythology etc...

Instead of that we have very generic D&D magic with some extra spells, and only 4 classes (Warrior Thied Cleric Magic-user). "The Sandbox" magazine (free) introduce 2 others, "The Last Prince" and "Blademaster" giving you tips about how to create your own.

The Scarlet system seems, at first sight, very similar to Labyrinth Lord and B/X, but is, in fact, very different, allowing more powerful PC (you need do compensate their low number !) to single-handle almost all situations, like in Godbound. Still, uou can easily adapt any D&D B/X books to Scarlet Heroes system (it's explained how to), allowing you to play with a reduced amount of players. Switching from any OSR system to Scarlet Heroes and vice-versa (depending the number of players you have) should also be easy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
My thanks for your kind words about the content. Just to be clear, the contents are the same between PDF and paper book; ISBNs always have to be different between ebook and print versions because they're meant to denote single, specific, precise editions. A book with print, epub, mobi, and PDF versions will have four different ISBNs.
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2020 22:58:59

Amazing product, absolutely love the great ideas the author puts forth. You can run solo games or with a full group. The default setting is interesting (think Jade Empire meets Old School D&D), however it's not required and you're free to use your own setting or one already published. Have to say this game definitely rates as one of my favorites amongst the old school RPG systems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Wes S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2017 12:42:11

This is a really good solo/single player system. It is well thought out, with consideration given to all the aspects of one player combating a large number of foes. The weakest part of the game is the attempt at a setting (the World of the Red Tide) which is kind of a strange hybrid of Asian/Nordic/something else cultures that probably doesnt resonante with a western audience. This, of course, nuances the monsters and magic that is in the system to something that again, just doesnt resonate with me.

But...you can toss all that out and readjust the monsters from your D&D, Pathfinder, C&C or whatever and work your home brew campaign, so it is all good. Full disclosure, I play Castles and Crusades (mostly solo) and I haven't found any particular issue with adjusting to this type of a combat system. The instructions for doing so are quite clear and if you don't wish to spring for this module, you can go cheaper and buy the author's conversion set Solo Heroes, which covers the same ground for any generic D&D style system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2014 18:15:27

I am enjoying reading this game very much! excellent product indeed. Im very glad to see there is also a section on playing GM less, as i have no current group. I am happy with my purchase, thanks for a great game! There is also a community on Google + For Stars Without Number that has a section covering Scarlet Heroes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/06/2014 02:35:19

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2014/08/06/osr-spotlight-scarlet-heroes/

Lust mal wieder ein altes D&D-Modul zu spielen? Nur ein oder zwei Spieler zu Verfügung? Scarlet Heroes macht es ohne Umstände möglich, denn es nutzt klassische D&D-Werte mit neuen, simplen Regeln. Zusätzlich bietet es individualisierbare Charaktere, eine asiatisch angehauchte Settingwelt, einen Sandbox-Generator und ein Solo-Spielsystem.

OSR-Spotlight: Scarlet Heroes

Scarlet Heroes – da habe ich doch glatt den Kickstarter verpasst. Wahrscheinlich war es die wenig inspirierende Cover-Zeichnung, die mich davon abgehalten hat, die damaligen Posts über dieses Spiel zu lesen. Dabei hat es Scarlet Heroes durchaus in sich! In einem Band von 133 Seiten beinhaltet es ein Regelsystem für das Spiel mit nur einem oder zwei Spielern plus SL, ein Soloabenteuersystem, und eine Settingwelt mit asiatischem Flair. Die Spielwelt

Die Settingwelt zu Scarlet Heroes gab es bereits zuvor: Sine Nomine Publishing hatte Red Tide ursprünglich als Spielhilfe für Labyrinth Lord zur Generierung einer Sandbox veröffentlicht. Die Überlebenden einer planetaren Katastrophe haben sich auf die Sunset Isles gerettet. Mysteriöse rote Wolken haben alles außer diesem abgelegenen Archipel eingehüllt, und die Red Tide hat sonst alles verschlungen, was sich ihr in den Weg gestellt hat. Mysteriös ist sie, diese Bedrohung, und die Sunset Isles mögen nicht auf Dauer ein sicherer Rückzugspunkt bleiben.

Auf den Inseln hat sich die Gesellschaft halbwegs wieder so zusammengefügt, wie sie vorher war. Ein stark chinesisch angehauchtes Kaiserreich hat seine Kultur retten können, doch auf den Inseln lebte schon jemand: die Shou. Die Shou scheinen unberechenbare Wilde zu sein und werden tatsächlich auch mit den klassischen Goblins, Hobgoblins, Orks und Schraten gleichgesetzt – wobei das ein wenig irreführend ist. Die Shou sind alle Abkömmlinge einer Rasse, und wenn sie nicht gerade mit Narben, Tätowierungen, Piercings und anderem wildem Schmuck bedeckt sind, gehen sie als gutaussehende Menschen durch. Es wird im Buch sogar explizit darauf hingewiesen, dass höhere Emotionen und Kalkül den Shou durchaus nicht fremd sind, ihre Kultur sie aber letztlich unterdrückt. Definitiv mehr, als man gemeinhin unter den Sammelbegriffen Orks und Goblins erwartet!

Die Shou hätten dann beinahe auch nach ein paar Generationen in einem großen Krieg diesen Rest der Zivilisation überrannt. Teile des Wissens des alten Reiches gingen verloren, es gibt Ruinen, Siedlungen, die zerstört wurden, und auch ältere Geheimnisse, die gar nicht auf die Siedler zurückgehen. Wer sind die Shou wirklich? Was ist die Red Tide? Schon damit kann man eine Kampagne gut gestalten.

Darüber hinaus gibt es eine Vielfalt menschlicher Kulturen, dazu noch Elfen, Halblinge und Zwerge. Auch Shou-Blut kann man in sich tragen, was aufgrund der Vorgeschichte natürlich zu problematischen Verwicklungen führen kann. Jenseits des Mandarinats von Xian gibt es noch weitere Herrschaftsgebiete: Das Shogunat des Nordens hat einen teuflischen Pakt geschlossen, um zu überleben. In der Magokratie von Tien Lung herrschen erwartungsgemäß die Zauberer, die einen Hang zu Sklavenhandel und Menschenopfern haben. Die Monotheisten des Hohnbergpakts bilden hervorragende Söldner aus. Piraten finden ihren Haupthafen in Nordheim. Die Zwerge siedeln schon lange in der Tiefe von Altgrimmr, sind aber selbst nur Erben ihrer Hallen. Welches Zwergenvolk auch immer dort vor ihnen siedelte, ist unbekannt, aber die Zitadelle war noch erstaunlich gut in Schuss, als man sie vorfand. Und gespenstisch leer … In der Westmark wird versucht, von den Shou verwüstetes Land wieder zu besiedeln. Und hunderte umgebende Inseln jenseits der großen Hauptinsel könnten alles Mögliche beherbergen.

Die Spielwelt jedenfalls erscheint interessant, vielfältig, aber eben nicht beliebig. Durch die Hintergrundgeschichte sind die Kulturen und Orte auch auf einer relativ kleinen Fläche verdichtet. Wer neugierig auf mehr ist, kann das mit 171 Seiten noch umfangreichere Red Tide durchschmökern. Die Regeln

In vielerlei Hinsicht ist Scarlet Heroes eine clevere D&D-Variante, ich konzentriere mich daher im Weiteren auf wesentliche Unterschiede zu bekannten d20-Systemen.

Anstatt eines Skill-Systems gibt es in Scarlet Heroes frei formulierbare Traits, das können also sowohl Fertigkeiten als auch Eigenschaften sein. Diese haben einen Wert von 1 bis 3 (Ausnahme: Diebesfertigkeiten) und können bei Nicht-Kampf-Würfen eingebracht werden. Daneben gibt es auch die klassischen sechs Attribute Stärke, Geschicklichkeit, Konstitution, Weisheit, Charisma und Intelligenz mit den üblichen Werten von 3 bis 18 und den klassischen Modifikatoren von -3 bis +3.

Hierbei gibt es im Spiel zwei ähnliche Würfe: den Check und den Saving Throw. Beide werden mit 2W8 ausgeführt – 2 ist ein automatischer Fehlschlag, 16 immer ein Erfolg. Checks sind typische Fertigkeitswürfe wie eine Wand erklimmen oder einen NSC überzeugen. Dabei wird das höchste relevante Trait und der höchste relevante Attribut-Modifikator hinzuaddiert. Die zu schlagende Schwierigkeit bewegt sich zwischen 9 (Pille-Palle) und 17 (Heroisch). Dem Tod ein Schnippchen schlagen

Saving Throws werden dann gefordert, wenn man einer Gefahr für Leib und Leben ausweichen muss: Per Reflex einer Falle entgehen oder eine Vergiftung überstehen. Hierbei gilt: 2W8 + Gesamtstufe des Charakters + Attribut-Modifikator + passendes Trait muss größer oder gleich der Schwierigkeit sein. Die Schwierigkeit ist zumeist durch 9 + Stufe des Verursachers bestimmt – also wer von einer Spinne mit 5 Trefferwürfeln gebissen wird, muss mindestens eine 14 erwürfeln. Durch diese beiden Formeln erspart sich das System eine Tabelle für Saving Throws und es lassen sich durch Traits besondere Abwehrkräfte ins Spiel einbringen (z.B. ein Trait „Zwergische Gift-Resistenz 2“ wäre denkbar).

Hat man einen Saving Throw wirklich mal mit potenziell tödlichen Folgen vermasselt, oder ergibt sich eine Situation, in der ein Held gegen widrigste Umstände ankämpfen muss, darf ein Defying-Death-Wurf ausgeführt werden. Es wird Stufe W4 als Schaden geworfen. Ist die Schadenssumme niedriger als die Anzahl der Gesamttrefferpunkte, büßt man so viele Trefferpunkte ein – man überlebt aber. Defying Death wird mit jedem Versuch bis Ende des Abenteuers schwieriger – beim zweiten Versuch sind es bereits Stufe W6 Schadenspunkte. Austeilen und einstecken

Scarlet Heroes wurde als System entworfen, um mit einem SL und ein bis zwei Spielern gespielt zu werden. Gleichzeitig verwendet es dieselben Werte – Trefferpunkte, Trefferwürfel, Schadenswürfel, Rüstungsklasse, Attribut-Modifikator usw. – wie klassisches D&D und Retro-Klone. Wie geht das zusammen?

Scarlet Heroes behilft sich hierbei mit einer kleinen Tabelle und Asymmetrie. Das Ergebnis jedes Schadenswürfels wird wie folgt modifiziert: Bei 1 – kein Schaden, 2-5 – 1 Punkt Schaden, 6-9 – 2 Punkte Schaden und alles darüber – 4 Punkte Schaden. Das heißt, mit einer Waffe mit einem W10- Schadenswürfel kann ich maximal 4 Punkte Schaden verursachen. Ein eventueller Attributs-Modifikator darf nur auf einen der zur Verfügung stehenden Würfel addiert werden.

Hinzu kommt, dass Helden einen zusätzlichen, automatischen Schaden pro Runde werfen dürfen – Kämpfer mit W8, Diebe und Kleriker mit W6, und Magier mit W4. Diesen Schaden teilen sie jede Runde aus, auch wenn ihr Trefferwurf danebengeht. Alle außer Magiern müssen sich hierbei auf Feinde gleicher oder niedrigerer Stufe beschränken. Dieser Fray Die stellt die vielen kleineren Attacken, Hiebe und magischen Blasts dar, die dramatisch kämpfende Helden nebenbei austeilen.

Die wahre Ungleichgewichtung ist aber wie folgt: Monster erzielen ihren Schaden in Trefferpunkten, Helden ihren in Trefferwürfeln. Das heißt., ein Krieger mit 8 Trefferpunkten kann genauso viel Schaden einstecken wie ein 8 Trefferwürfel großes Riesenmonster. Weiterhin dürfen die Helden in einer Runde ihren Schaden auf so viele Monster verteilen, wie es der Trefferwurf zulässt:

[box]Ein Krieger der Stufe 1 attackiert drei Goblins (je 1 Trefferwürfel) und einen Oger (4 Trefferwürfel). Sein Angriffswurf in der ersten Runde reicht, um die Goblins – nicht aber den Oger – zu treffen. Er wirft 2W8 Schaden (Schwert und Fray Die) und erzielt eine (modifizierte) 6 und eine 3. Das sind, laut Tabelle, 2 und 1 Punkte Schaden – genug, um alle drei Goblins in einer Runde niederzusäbeln.

In der zweiten Runde attackiert er erfolgreich den Oger. Schaden ist nur 1W8 – der Fray Die kommt nicht zum Einsatz, weil der Oger mit 4 Trefferwürfeln eine höhere Stufe als der Krieger hat. Er erzielt eine (modifizierte) 7 und erzielt somit 2 Trefferwürfel Schaden gegen den Oger.[/box]

Durch diese ungleiche Skalierung haben zwei Stufe-1-Helden die gleiche Schlagkraft wie eine ganze Party. Durch Heilregeln wird sichergestellt, dass auch ohne Kleriker in der Gruppe gespielt werden kann. Und durch Defying Death dürfen übrigens auch Hindernisse angegangen werden, die sonst einer bestimmten Klasse vorbehalten sind.

Besonders elegant ist auch das Vertreiben von Untoten gelöst. Der Kleriker erhält einfach Stufe * W8 Fray Dice. Das heißt, er kann unmittelbar Schaden austeilen, aber nur gegen Untote gleicher oder niedrigerer Stufe. Sicherlich weniger umständlich als die Tabellen und Einschränkungen anderer Spiele! Besser „formuliert“ Ein kleines Detail sticht für mich besonders heraus, auch wenn es zunächst nicht auffällt: die Trefferformel. Scarlet Heroes arbeitet wie D&D vor der dritten Edition mit einer Rüstungsklasse, die umso besser ist, je niedriger der Wert ist. Das ist der Kompabilität mit klassischen Abenteuern geschuldet, aber auch Module für Labyrinth Lord, OSRIC oder Swords & Wizardry lassen sich so sofort einsetzen.

Vor allem ist die Formel trotzdem bestechend einfach: Wurfergebnis (W20) + Boni + Rüstungsklasse des Gegners muss 20 oder mehr ergeben, und man trifft. Das wertet sich genauso schnell aus wie die „neue“ aufsteigende Rüstungsklasse.

Zum Vergleich:

Bei Basic / Expert D&D würfelt man, addiert eventuelle Boni auf den Wurf, geht in der Tabelle für alle Klassen in die richtige Zeile für die Klasse und die Stufe, und man weiß, welche Rüstungsklasse man getroffen hat. Diese muss gleich oder niedriger der des Ziels sein.

Auch OSRIC, Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (AS&SH) und das ursprüngliche Advanced Dungeons & Dragons arbeiten mit Tabellen – hier heißen sie Matrizen. Hierbei trifft man, wenn man gleich oder höher als der angegebene Wert würfelt.

Bei Advanced Dungeons & Dragons 2nd Edition (AD&D2E) gibt es den ETW0/THAC0 (Erforderlicher Trefferwurf Rüstungsklasse 0/To-Hit-Armor-Class-0). Dies ist ein Standardwert jeder Klasse, der mit steigender Stufe sinkt, modifiziert um den eigenen Bonus. Im Kampf wird dann die Rüstungsklasse des Gegners abgezogen, und das Ergebnis ist der Wert, dem man mindestens auf dem W20 erzielen muss, damit man trifft.

[box]Scarlet Heroes: Der Gegner hat eine Rüstungsklasse von 7. Die bereits vorher eingetragenen Angriffs-Boni sind der Einfachheit halber 1. W20 + 7 + 1 muss größer oder gleich 20 sein, und man trifft.

AS&SH: Der Gegner hat eine Rüstungsklasse von 7. Die Fighting Ability ist 1. Damit kommt die zweite Zeile der Tabelle (FA=1) zum Einsatz. Für Rüstungsklasse 7 ist der Zielwert 12. Weitere Boni (Stärke, magische Waffe) rechnet man auf den Wurf selbst drauf – also muss W20 + Boni größer oder gleich 12 sein.

AD&D2E: Der Gegner hat eine Rüstungsklasse von 7. Der ETW0 ist 20. Es gibt einen Bonus von +1. Der erforderliche Wurf ist 20 – 7 – 1 = 12 oder höher.[/box]

Von den Zahlenwerten her sind alle drei Varianten identisch. Bei der Ausführung sind sie aber sehr unterschiedlich. Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass den meisten Menschen Subtraktionen schwerer fallen als Additionen, allerspätestens bei negativen Werten:

[box]Scarlet Heroes: RK ist -2. Bonus ist +3. W20 - 2 + 3 bzw. W20 + 1 muss größer/gleich 20 sein.

AD&D2E: RK ist -2. ETW0 ist 20, Bonus ist +3. 20 - (-2) - 3 = 19. 19 oder höher trifft.[/box]

Ich glaube, dass den Allermeisten die Variante von Scarlet Heroes am schnellsten von der Hand gehen dürfte! Charaktererschaffung Die Attribute werden durch Würfeln mit 4W6 ermittelt – die höchsten drei Würfel addiert ergeben den Wert. Hat man kein Attribut höher als 16, darf man eines durch 16 ersetzen. Es ergeben sich so im Schnitt Charaktere mit positiven Modifikatoren und mind. +2 im Hauptattribut.

Traits sind teilweise durch die Rasse vorgegeben, 3 Punkte darf man aber immer selbst verteilen, wobei kein Trait höher als 3 sein darf. Diebe erhalten 3 freie Punkte in ihrem Beruf (ob Mörderischer Assassine 3 oder Fassadenkletternder Einbrecher 3 darf man selbst bestimmen) und 1 zusätzlichen Punkt pro Stufe. Sie durchbrechen also ab Stufe 2 die 3-Punkte-Grenze in ihrem Haupt-Trait. Wer will, kann die für Elfen vorgegebenen Elfensinne 1 auch bis auf 3 steigern. Genauso hilfreich kann aber auch eine Zwergenhafte Robustheit 3 sein – insbesondere bei Rettungswürfen auf Gift.

Diese Freiheit hat ihren Preis: Kampfwerte und Traits sind strikt getrennt. Und die Charaktererschaffung am Tisch dauert dementsprechend länger.

Trefferpunkte sind für jede Klasse fix vorgegeben, und steigen pro Stufe um einen festen Wert an. So auch die Trefferboni. Noch flugs Ausrüstung gekauft, die Rüstungsklasse berechnet, die Sprüche ausgesucht und fertig ist der Charakter. Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht

Das System leitet sich schnell und einfach. Die wichtigsten Regeln wurden auf einer Seite zusammengefasst, langes Blättern ist da unnötig. Nach der Charaktererschaffung kann man das Regelbuch erstmal zur Seite legen und nur mit dieser Seite spielen.

Zusätzlich enthält das Spiel aber außerdem noch umfangreiche Tabellen zum Generieren von Abenteuern und Schätzen, sowohl für Solo- als auch Gruppenabenteuer. Diese können als Inspiration dienen, aber auch zur Ausgestaltung einer Sandbox. Für noch umfangreicheres Material sei nochmal auf das ausgezeichnete Red Tide verwiesen.

Was hinter den Shou und der Red Tide steckt, wird auch verraten. Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht Mit dem gleichen Satz Regeln geht es von der 1. zur 10. Stufe. Man kommt schnell rein, und auch hier reichen der Spielbogen, eine Kopie der beherrschten Zauber und die Regelzusammenfassung völlig. Wie der Autor so mehr als die Schnellstartregeln in nennenswerter Zahl loswerden will, bleibt abzuwarten. Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis Geballter Inhalt! Ein asiatisch angehauchtes Setting, ein Sandbox-Generator, ein Soloplay-System, eine Monster- und Zaubersammlung gibt es hier zusätzlich zum hervorragenden System selbst. Für 14,99 USD? Das ist es zweifellos wert! Spielbericht

Ich habe mit jeweils zwei Gruppen mit je zwei Spielern einen Abend Scarlet Heroes gespielt, beide Male mit Charaktererschaffung. Gruppe 1 spielte mit mir Tomb of the Iron God für Swords & Wizardry. Sie räumten ungefähr die Hälfte von Ebene 1 leer, bevor uns die Zeit ausging. Gruppe 2 spielte Temple of Elemental Evil. Am ersten Spielabend zogen sich die Charaktererschaffung und die Erkundung des Dorfes Hommlet solange hin, dass noch kein Dungeon Crawl zustande kam.

Mit der Solo-Engine habe ich mit einem Stufe-1-Dieb jeweils einen Dungeon und ein Stadtabenteuer generiert und durchgespielt. Im Dungeon starb der Dieb im vierten von elf Räumen an maximalem Blutverlust durch Feindeinwirkung. Im Stadtabenteuer hat er erfolgreich eine Serie von Anschlägen vereitelt. Das Stadtabenteuer wirkte hierbei sehr überzeugend als Mischung von Ermittlungs-, Konflikt- und Action-Szenen. Hätte ich bei den Kämpfen nicht immer wieder dieselben Gegner generiert, hätte es mir noch besser gefallen. Als Story kam hierbei heraus, dass eine Verschwörung, die einen Militäroffiziellen beinhaltete, versuchte, einen Freund zu töten. Ich konnte ihn aber mit Hilfe meiner Untergrundkontakte verstecken und kompromittierendes Material dem Handelsminister zuspielen, was meine Widersacher Kopf und Kragen kostete.

Die Solo-Engine ist ganz nett, aber viel zu viel Geblättere für meinen Geschmack. Erscheinungsbild Illustrationen sind in schwarz-weiß gehalten und gut gelungen. (Außerdem darf man sie frei weiterverwenden!) Formatierung und auch informative Blöcke sind gut und übersichtlich, aber einige Seiten sind dann doch reine Textwüsten. Die Schrift ist für meinen Geschmack zu klein geraten, mit zu viel Text pro Seite. Wer sich daran stört, der holt sich die .mobi- oder .epub-Varianten und liest sie mit einem eBook-Reader. Beide sind im Preis inbegriffen.

Bonus/Downloadcontent Sine Nomine Publishing hat für Red Tide bereits vor Scarlet Heroes Abenteuer veröffentlicht. Außerdem wurde das gesamte Artwork des Buches zur freien Verwendung bereitgestellt. Beides findet man auf DriveThruRPG. Fazit

Wenn es überhaupt ein Manko an Scarlet Heroes für mich geben kann, dann ist es die Tatsache, dass setting-bedingt alle Zauber umbenannt wurden. Das nervt für nicht im Red-Tide-Universum angesiedelte Abenteuer sehr. Man kann aber jederzeit die Zaubersammlung einer anderen D&D-Variante verwenden – einfach die Schadenswürfel nach Tabelle verwenden, und es funktioniert.

Und genau das tut Scarlet Heroes – es funktioniert einfach! Bestehende Stat-Blöcke, sogar bestehende Charaktere, können einfach aus anderen Systemen übernommen werden. Das System ist einfach einzuprägen und mit wenig Aufwand zu leiten. Wenn also mal nur ein oder zwei Spieler zum Gruppenabend auftauchen: Scarlet Heroes auspacken und loslegen. Hat man mal mehr Spieler? Einfach die Schadenstabelle weglassen und die tatsächlichen Würfelwerte verwenden.

Das Trait-System macht ein aufwändigeres Skill-System überflüssig, und ist so einfach und flexibel wie bei Barbarians of Lemuria. Die Setting-Welt überzeugt, wirkt originell und vielseitig. Definitiv eine Abwechslung zu anderen Fantasy-Rollenspielen. Abenteuer- und Sandbox-Generatoren gibt es oben drauf.

Scarlet Heroes hat mich einfach vollends überzeugt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/07/2014 02:07:27

Kevin Crawford has yet to come out with a product that disappoints me.

Scarlet Heroes is an easy-to-learn old-school game with an elegant set of mechanics that are both easy to implement and a joy to run. With an intriguing setting which mashes up different cultures and races against a mysterious threat, there's plenty of adventuring to do, even with just one or two players! Definitely a strong contender for a weekly game, and works wonderfully for times when you don't have a full party to work with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jerry W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2014 14:39:27

Excellent, easy to read, easy to understand, planning on using it soon. Just wish I had made time to read it sooner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Tero L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2014 15:10:11

This is the first OSR rules set that I cannot find anything that I don't like. Perfect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by forest r. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2014 11:35:11

Once again Kevin Crawford delivers the goods. I cannot say enough good things about this game. I will be running a friend through the classic module in search of the unknown. I have long wanted a solo system. The fray die makes combat flow smoothly while leaving larger hit die stuff for a classic old school battle. Adding this to any fantasy setting is quick and does not require a whole lot of time. Also I like the default setting of Red Tide. Can hardly wait for my hard cover of this. So thank you Kevin for quality products in this industry.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by sebastian c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2014 11:42:30

its an excellent product, i would use with my setting rsther thr red tide, still i love it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf