Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
196 23
43 4
20 2
2 0
2 0
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Eon F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2013 21:19:42

FAE is a game that stands on its own- it's not just "The Intro to Fate." It's an interesting take on the Fate system, for sure. As others have written, instead of Skills you use something called Approaches- the system isn't interested in simulationism whatsoever. It's all about fast action and playing to your character's strengths. Fate has always been good at emulating genre, but FAE is particularly focused on the broader details of the setting and less so on choosing skills and stunts and whatnot.

It's especially good for one-shots, but be aware that the rules are different enough from Fate Core that they really are different games. If you want more rules crunch, I suggest going straight for Fate Core (personally, I also think Fate Core will give a stronger full-length campaign). Fate Accelerated stands on its own as a fast, rules-light game that gets to the action fast without soaking up prep time. If that's what you're looking for, FAE is perfect.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Dean K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2013 10:59:11

I have been playing the Fate Core System for over a year and have had a very enjoyable time. Either playing or running my own games it is a system that allows for excellent roleplaying opportunities. Some people may not like the lack of a rigid structure of skills and equipment but I find it allows for greater flexibility to do whatever you and the players want. When I saw the Accelerated Edition I had to pick it up. I haven't had a chance to use it yet but, if it follows after the Core, it should be a great experience.

-Dean



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2013 18:32:23

Fate Accelerated Edition is a rules light game that allows you, the GM, to run the game you really wanted to run. I've run several games using FAE everyone of them is been a great game. It's is a game to create a character in. It's an easy set of rules that let you run your game the way you want to. And, it's an easy set of rules for creating an adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Will S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 18:29:54

Fate Accelerated is a fun and simple system for pick up games with little to no prep, depending on your flexibility running a game with no holds barred and only a vague idea of the goals. That being said, it's very fun. Come up with a genre or plot and have your PC's build simple characters that are versatile as only FATE allows without complex rules that bog down the story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Timothy a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 17:54:28

Evil Hat is such a great company, I have been running a Dresden RPG for the past 3 months and have loved it. When they released Fate 4.0, I had to scoop it up. I work a job that is an overnight job and we have alot of down time, so I have been running the FATE Accelerated game on our downtime and we LOVE it!

The game is so quick and easy to set up. You can literally run ANY kind of game using this system. We've done games ranging from a Super Hobo RPG(don't ask) campaign to a watered down Dragon Ball-esque campaign using this little baby. Thanks to it, I bought the Fate CORE book and am super excited to expand on my current games using that book. The book is also well written and is great for new players who have never touched a FATE game as well as for people who have never Roleplayed in General. My wife even has played in a couple of games using this system, and she has never TOUCHED a RPG book in her life. I can't recommend this enough, and with the Pay What you Want Model, what have you got to lose? Try it Out today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by James M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 17:06:36

I participated in the Kickstarter for this after reading favorable reviews of the fate system online, and I was not disappointed. Fate is quickly becoming one of my group's favorite systems. I'm running the more complex Fate Core, but I absolutely love the design of the Accelerated Edition as well. It takes an already fast, easy to play system and streamlines it to where you can take it, give a brief scan, and start playing with almost no prep, and have a fun adventure or even a whole campaign by the end of your session. I definitely recommend it if you're looking for a fast, fun, system that caters to fun storytelling and ease of use, or even if you want a simple to understand universal system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Thomas A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 14:12:12

This has pretty much become my new go-to game for getting new people into the hobby, or running a quick pickup group or one-shot adventure. Can handle pretty much any genre, quick character generation, and extremely flexible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Frank L. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 11:37:56

I stumbled across this gem after hearing about it online somewhere. I thought, "It's basically free, what do I have to loose?" I LOVE this game. I have been looking for a way to get my group to introduce more story into their game and this is it. I not only love the game for its storytelling ability, but also because it is so flexible to customize. I have spent 30 years house ruling my other games, and now here is a game that makes house rules part of the core! you can't go wrong with this game system. I have been converting old game adventures to play through Fate core and creating new settings and genres.

One of the strengths of FAE over Fate core is that it moves quickly. It is the perfect game for a ones hot or pick-up. Think of it like playing through an episode of your favorite Television show. In fact after reading through the rules the first game I thought to play was an episode of "Psych" and my non-gaming wife and daughter were all in.

This is an excellent game at an excellent price.

Thanks Evil Hat for publishing this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Konstantinos P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 11:35:32

This is Fate as a plug n play rule system. The Fate Core mechanics have been elegantly reduced to the minimum so that you can just grab a couple of friends explain them the rules in 10 minutes or so and dive into worlds of adventure with no prep work whatsoever



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Nathan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 10:42:15

I'm a huge fan of FATE and always thought it was a great RPG but maybe a little difficult to introduce beginners to. FAE has solved this problem!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Samuel G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2013 20:38:33

Usually if you want deep play with important decisions, you want lots of things to choose from: skills, equipment, powers that do or don’t complement each other. Rules-lite games tend not to get bogged down in that stuff.

In Fate Accelerated, everything you do is Careful, Clever, Flashy, Forceful, Quick, or Sneaky. Those six statistics are each rated from Mediocre (+0) to Great (+3). Whenever you use one, you just roll four fudge/FATE dice (the ones with the + and - symbols) and add or subtract your dice result to your rating.

Depth is added with stunts and aspects. Stunts are bonuses when you do specific things, or some way you can alter the plot once per session. Aspects are short descriptions pertaining to your character that can help or hinder you.

Instead of choosing from a long list, you just make up what you want to be like and be able to do. If you want a mechanical difference between an armbar and a punch, you create that difference with a stunt or aspect.

Different types of actions (attack, defend, overcome obstacle, and create advantage) lend to further important decisions. Those first three are in almost every game, but using an action to create some advantage to be used later can add a lot of strategy.

Levels of success (failure, tie, success, and success with style) and consequences (mild, moderate, or sever) give variety to dice and conflict results.

So what we have here is a rules-lite game, that gives you important mechanical decisions. But you make them up yourself.

This is double edged. I love it, because I can do what I want and I’m never going to have to search through a book for the rules on it. Others might prefer games with lists of fun options to choose from, and figuring out which go best together.

The game has a section on how to GM that gives great advice and probably does cover all you need, but the new GM may be uneasy with just five pages on building campaigns, running the game, and making bad guys.

It’s important to note that the game does not have a default setting. The GM and players are encouraged to discuss what kind of game, heroes, and villains they want and go from there.

This Game is Great for: •Fans of Fudge or FATE •People who love being creative together •People who want simple mechanics that still let them do what they want

Not so good for: •Players who need more guidance and don’t feel they can make things up •GMs who want a tool kit of pre-made monsters, equipment, and scenarios •People who want more realism and detail than dramatic flair

Verdict: I love it. Physical copy for $5 and Pay-What-You-Want for the PDF? And you get a fully functional, elegant, fun game. This is ridiculous. Get it already.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by andrew b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2013 19:39:01

I really like this new Fate Accelerated system. It came out of the blue. I knew about the Fate Core system, but this was a wonderful surprise for me. I was especially intrigued when I found out the new Dresden Universe supplements will be in Fate Accelerated.

Now I bet the first thing you are thinking is the first thing I thought. Which was this, "Accelerated Edition? Sounds like they just strip down their Core stuff and resell it to us again." This is a very streamlined edition, and in a way this is true. It is a lot more than this. It is a readjustment of scale and detail. Ill explain.

Have you ever seen a really cool cartoon? What if you just have an odd itch to play something really off the wall like scenes from one of those Heavy Metal magazines? Now most of the time, every RPG has to cover everything. Lists upon lists of stuff which you might need one day. Always organized in progress levels or 'aquirement ease gradiants' or whatever. This chucks all of that. All those boring lists of skills which you have to have at least one dot in just to be well rounded... unnecessary. Whatever they cover, no matter what... it isnt enough. And if its enough at one time... it will be just in the way most of the rest of the time. What if you could just blur through all of that the way a good episode of old television would... just wink at you with a 'trust me' attitude and before you know it you have arrived at the next plot point where you needed to go anyway before the next commercial break.

For this smooth and universal ease of use, I present to you Fate Accelerated. It uses Aspects as its main engine. Instead of using lot so different mechanics spelling out all kinds of ways of doing things, they just use one thing... Aspects. Aspects are short descriptions of your character or a place or a thing or whatever. Throw them a Fate point... a kind of gaming currency like 'Will power' for OWoD or Karma in FASERIP or Shadowrun. So without getting into detail... I would just be shortchanging the authors who really cover this in very few pages.. I will sum up everything like this. Short descriptions do all the work.. magic... my awesome gun... my knack or reading minds... a girl at every port... whatever. Just roll and see where it goes. The system uses four tracks of die rolls to resolve any situation... and looking it over I cant imagine another action a PC would take without falling into one of those tracks. Oh, and no skills... the best part. Why have to redraw what every character can do every time. If it makes sense he can do it... fine. Why spend points for someone to say they can 'drive a car'? They use approaches which further define the character and yet give them strong points... and at least one weak point all revolving around a simple word like 'Guardian' or 'Thief'.

This might sound jumbled, but think about how freeing it can be. What if without preparation you had to run a 'Flash Gordon' style game. Do you want a system that burries tables and descriptions on over three hundred pages of e-book which measures everything in mind numbing detail? Or do you want something that only acts as a loose framework for you to use for your story and your imagination and just let the details handle themselves along the way? The first is the main Fate system... specificly I was mentioning the Starblazers book. The second is Fate Accelerated Edition.

I dont think it will be for everybody. Some people feel such vagueness is degredation of detail and focus. I personally like to fill in the cracks with story flow and feel this is the more important part of the game. I cant give it a five because, well, it didnt make me breakfast. I cant just give those about, but I thought it was an impressive and flexible product. That they let you chose your price is a wonderful good faith gesture on the part of the company. I didnt pay as much as it was worth to me, I have to confess after reading it.

PS An interesting thought. Not every part of every game is equally interesting. What if you could use something like Fate Accelerated to handle whatever you wanted to 'smooth over' and used more crunchy parts of Fate Core or another Fate product like Dresden or Spirit of the Century or Diaspora or whatever other product you lay hands on but think is just too complex. I always hated the Skill pyramid so that would go in all of my games. What if you used martial arts or even car chase mechanics out of Core to spice up a fast and furious Accelerated Edition Tarantino 70s era revenge RPG on the fly? Now I think you see what Fate Accelerated has to offer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by warren f. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2013 21:24:27

I'm new to the FATE/Fudge world. This is important because, using this type of system is a definite shift in my understanding of using RPG systems. This appears good, and solid enough to tell the stories, but I still feel out of my element. That's not a negative to the system, or the production values, but it is a reality. I've never ran a game like this, nor have I played one. The nearest I have come is Marvel's SAGA system put out by TSR in the late 90s (or so). This is a good deal different than even that storytelling system.

With that said, I like what I've read and have already joined the FATE yahoogroup in an attempt to begin understanding the system better.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2013 18:16:59

I was a backer on the KS for this game, so obviously I like FATE. But what matters is, I'm slowly coming to prefer FAE to regular FATE. All of the possibilities with much less mechanics, what's not to like?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 16 to 29 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf