Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Faserip
by John [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2024 20:02:53

This is the second best superheroes system in the world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Advanced FASERIP
by Amaury [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2024 10:22:46

This is a nice expansion to the first FASERIP clone. My only grip is... the font. it's much too close to comic sans (which it's supposed to) and it really complicates my reading. I wanted to get it printed but... this is just too weird and it reminds me of the STALKER rpg, which was entirely in comic sans for no discernable reason.

Do you think you could.. just change that in an alternate version of the game? Am I the only one to have a problem with it? (I may be)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced FASERIP
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Advanced FASERIP
by Dénes [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2023 09:00:23

Even though I appreciate the inclusion of a point buy charachter creation system but the layout and the art are MUCH worse than the "basic" edition.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Advanced FASERIP
by Rick [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2023 11:57:50

As a fan of BtB’s FASERIP I was pleasantly surprised to see this; I was not aware it was even in the works. The layout & presentation is once again very nicely done and exceeds what you’d expect in a free pdf (Though I went for the very reasonably priced print/pdf combo without hesitation). FASERIP is by far my favorite MSH clone, and now it’s even better. I’m looking forward to trying out the new point-based character creation rules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Lightmaster Core Rulebook
by Magnus K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2023 05:46:04

It is based on Rolemaster but is using a D20 roll high system with exploding dice. It has borrowed some stuff from D&D but levels can go as high as lvl 50. Like D&D ability scores increases, in this case every second level but not after level 20. Character don't start superweak and don't become gods like in D&D, but there is more progress than what can seen in BRP based games, a newbie mage in Lightmaster has 20 Hitpoints, and archmage 120, the Famous Hero has like 180. As in Rolemaster criticals are very important in battles.

As for accesibility it is night and day compared to Rolemaster. It has a crystal clear layout, good use of examples that are not in the way. Not much art but very printer friendly if one want to hand the rules for character creation to the players for example, not to mention that the pdf is free.

It lacks ready made adventures but looking at the section for "Extras" will give you ideas how to adapt adventures made for other systems to Lightmaster easily.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lightmaster Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dark Dungeons X
by Jonathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2023 08:55:22

All you need in a simple little book! I have nothing bad to say personally, but my group has gravitated more to Old School Essentials and Lamentations of the Flame Princess. Still a great rulebook for old school fantasy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons X
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dark Dungeons X
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2023 20:45:36

This is an excellenent rules compilation, that got me excited about rpgs again. The format and layout are conducive to learning and referencing the rules. The designer insights do a great job of explaining what was changed and why.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dark Dungeons X
by Luiz F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2023 22:04:47

My favorite OSR ruleset so far. Not only it has all you could possibly need to run a High Fantasy campaign in a single book, but it also unified everysingle check from BECMI under a simple D20 mechanic while still keeping the percentages of success/failure the same.

It was the first retro-clone I've found that actually took the time to give you advice about how Thief Abilities should be used - and the solution it proposed to the age old question "What if the Fighter wants to hide?" is more than satisfactory in my opinion.

I didn't like the idea of swapping Elf and Magic User, since demi-humans need to be versatile for "Race as Class" to work (in my opinion), but the book explains how you can easily swap them back if you want, so it's not a big deal - if anything, it served to exemplify how much the classes are re-flavorable (for example, I allow players to use it's original Clockwork class to play Artificer/Gadgeteers).

As for my practical experience, I've used it to run one-shots for high schoolers who had never played an RPG before and they had no problem understanding the rules - heck, they understood THAC0 in seconds (first ruleset I've seen that sticks to THAC0 and puts some effort in explaining it in an intuitive manner instead of giving up and providing AAC as an "optional rule").



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dark Dungeons
by Johnnie Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2022 16:44:29

Excellent OSR. If 5e is not your thing (it can be intimidating at times, you can't go wrong with this



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dark Dungeons X
by XERXES L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 08:44:57

This work is really a rare piece of art. I could just say "it's better than the original", but it would sound too fanatical. The truth is that to create Dark Dungeon (and Dark Dunegon X), it was certainly necessary for the author to acquire a great intimacy with the original work. We all know that nothing is perfect, and the same applies to the original work. There are always small spaces for improvement. The author managed, through his experience, to create a system fully compatible with the original, but filling in the gaps and trimming edges. Perhaps this would happen naturally if the original work was not discontinued. Well, thank goodness we have Dark Dungeon X!

PS.: Sorry for any error, my language is Portuguese. Ah, how I wish there was a Portuguese translation of Dark Dungeon X!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons X
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dark Dungeons X
by Edward A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2021 01:05:39

Ok so I've read a lot of core rulebooks. (a LOT). I have the Cyclopedia this book was originally written to emulate. This book is one of my favorite to read. Certainly the best book I have gotten from DTRPG. It has nice thick pages that smell of freah ink. Its an enjoyable experience. I dont agree with the whole book. I hate what he did to Elves. And Magic-Users could maybe use better weapons but certainly not armor. I don't even like his reason for doing it. Lupines are meh, but certainly not worth losing the Monk! (Mystic, Whatever OK) Ask any player you know who started with the Red Box if they want a (not)Wearwolf or a Monk. Everyone will choose Monk.
Throw all that out the window when you start reading it. This book is slick. It's better than the book it emulates. The layout makes absorbing the material easy. And it is so easy to add material.
There is no rule for 3 dimensional movement like flying or going underwater. All movement is 2 dimensional based. I just added the rules from an AD&D retro For Gold and Glory and it works fine.
The Immortals rules are cleaned up. I think I finally understand how to run that. The mechanics behind Thief skills and Cleric Turning Undead are now streamlined. I like the feeling of symmetry this promotes in the book. I even like the name. I remember those chick pamphlets from the 80's he named his book after. That was a dope move. I'm starting my first campaign next week. Running all the classic Modules fronm yhe 80's. I fixed the Magic-user, Elf and resurrected the Monk.
5 Stars



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Faserip
by Donald H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2021 21:24:15

The product is fun and well put together. The info is in an easily understood format and the artais callingcallingrtartartartrtartartart



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dark Dungeons X
by Sandra S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2020 14:30:53

The previous edition of Dark Dungeons (gold logo, no X) was my first D&D and I've since gone back and read every other edition and many of the clones, played many of them too.

On a meta level, I agree with the decision to merge in Darker Dungeons, and I appreciated the commentary so much. That made it worthwhile to read the book even if I'm not gonna use it.

It does make more sense to release a Darker Dungeons sequel than a clone of a game that is now once more readily available.

However, I disagree with every single change in the character' chapters! MU and elves swapped? Where's my Elric? Mystics are lupines now but not werewolves. (Which also exist...?)

On the domain and War Machine level is where this variant is the most worthwhile; it seems like it builds upon the Immortals Companion and simplifies it even further. The "public works" innovation from IC was a brilliant simplification, compatible with the full rules a few pages earlier when you do need the specifics. I love these chapters, they have all the deets I love from the vanilla RC War Machine and none of the cruft I didn't love. It almost makes me feel bad for buying a POD RC (which I got primarily for War Machine, and as a reference for old school that's easier to find things in, and clearer written, than the Old School Essentials clone set) since I'm more likely to use this ruleset. Or, to build on it, since it's so generously open source, which is one of the best features of this fantastic publisher's games.

Overall a fun read, clearly written, I like it. I really don't wanna play it as is because of the way the character-level game works with the sword-wielding MUs and such. It's easy to swap everything back, it's all clearly labeled (kudos for that!) but I'd rather use the RC than an un-Darkered DDX.

Summary: Get the RC for characters and get this book, or the Immortals Companion, for domain level stuff.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeons X
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dark Dungeons X
by Sami K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2020 06:47:52

I like a lot how warmachine and domain rules are simplified. I'm using them in my game which is based on original game rules othwerwise. Great layout and clarity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Faserip
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2020 23:17:36

I played the old game that inspired this one quite a lot, and own quite a bit of it still. I'm glad to see someone bring these mechanics back to life. Looking forward to trying to run a new campaign using these ruies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faserip
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 46 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf