Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Level Up: Monstrous Menagerie VTT Tokens (A5E)
by Dwayne S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2024 08:51:07

Awesome art - still recognizeable to veteran players but different enough that if I don't name the token I can generally use each one to reskin a known monster.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Level Up: Monstrous Menagerie VTT Tokens (A5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
War of the Burning Sky 5E #2: The Indomitable Fire Forest of Innenotdar
by Victor [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2024 11:11:45

I wish I had cut out part the first part of this adventure and just gone straight to "Act Two". Continuing a problem from the first module, there is too much of what's not needed and not enough of what is needed. Add to this, the art is sub-par.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky 5E #2: The Indomitable Fire Forest of Innenotdar
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
by Victor [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2024 11:05:14

Seems to provide too much of what's not needed and not enough of what is. For example, there a part at a magic academy that just seems unnecessary and forced. However, there is a dearth of information about the city the PCs are supposed to care about.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Level Up: Memories of Holdenshire (A5E) Foundry VTT Module
by Joey [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2024 00:51:54

I'm just rating the foundry implementation of the adventure, not the adventure itself.

There are no player versions of the maps. No tokens for the NPCs. Not even for the Pregen Characters, although those have official art. The overworld map is really low-res, leaving some names of locations hardly readable. No monsters are placed on the battlemaps, no journal notes linked on the maps for ease of use... I do not understand why one would buy this product. It barely makes the adventure prep easier. The only thing I'd say it makes easier is having 3 walled maps (although those are quite easily walled, with them not being very complicated) and statblocks for NPCs and monsters linked in the journal entries. That have to be searched for because they are not linked on those maps...

In my opinion, the Foundry Module for Memories of Holdenshire is barely more convenient than just using the free version on the official a5e.tools website.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Level Up: Memories of Holdenshire (A5E) Foundry VTT Module
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
A.C.E: The Awfully Cheerful Engine Omnibus Collector's Edition!
by Damien J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2024 18:40:52

Super simple, super fun. A fantastic system and a ton of adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A.C.E: The Awfully Cheerful Engine Omnibus Collector's Edition!
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.3
by Joshua [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2024 12:35:34

TL;DR: The complex magic system some people complain about is an alternate rule anyway, and new GMs may want to give their players pregens until they have some practice with advancing characters.

WOiN as a whole is my favorite gaming system, it always keeps me coming back.

I don't think I want to elaborate too much on the things the other reviewers have said, about how the core mechanics are wonderful and set it apart from other games in the genre, about how it's easy to build homebrew stuff that's balanced with the core game, about how characters feel much more "character" rather than "stereotype" because of the lifepath system, etc.

Instead, I think I want to dispel a misconception, and give some advice to new GMs.

First, the magic system in Chapter 5, Elements of Magic, is complicated. It's not the most complicated of magic systems, but it has a significant amount to learn.

Second, the magic system in Chapter 5 is optional. The default magic system within WOiN is incredibly simple and follows from every single other interaction that exists in the game: the player says what they want to accomplish, the GM calls for a MAG check with a difficulty, the player adds a relevant skill subject to GM approval, and if the player has an appropriate secret as an exploit, they get +1d6 to the check.

Third, if the GM likes the complex magic system but wants to introduce it slowly, there are recommended alternate rules to combine with the complex magic system. One is a suggestion for low-magic appropriate to a tolkien-esque setting which encourages characters to only use a little magic and diversify their skills. Another is called "rituals" and has the GM build all the spells for the players, and may allow the players to build their own spells between sessions, but during the game is no different from how magic works in spell-list type systems. The core book and the ezine EONS also include many already worked-out spells for this.

If the GM has access to EONS there are also two additional optional magic systems which are both simpler than the Chapter 5 rules, but which have more guidelines than the default magic system. These are called "Sorcery" and "Spell Paths". Sorcery is like the default free-form system but with specific guidelines for ranges, durations, targets, damage, etc. Spell Paths are like spell-list style games, but where "packages" of 10 spells of varying power levels are purchased together as exploits.

Next, my advice to new GMs. Don't let new players build their own characters. Either use the pregens, or have a conversation with them and let them guide you in creating the characters, but don't be afraid to override their decisions.

I don't say this to take agency away from players. They can get that back by advancing their characters how they want, and by making characters from scratch once they know how.

I say this because this game's life-path system makes it very easy for someone who doesn't know what they're doing to make a character that will fall over if a strong breeze comes their way. Making a character capable of combat is not exactly hard, but it's a lot to keep in your head if you've never played the game before.

This is actually made worse if your players have ever played other RPGs before. My experience is that people who have played other games will assume incorrectly that their defenses, health, and attacks will naturally scale with them as they level, even if they haven't read that anywhere.

I've had players go home and make a martial character and come to the table with no skill in their chosen weapon.

I also want to be clear, you build the character while they watch over your shoulder, not the other way around. If you're in a session 0 and have to juggle 4-6 people making their own characters, you will not get everything, and someone will have a moment where they dislike the game because they missed something important and when they have what would otherwise have been an important moment of spotlight it'll be ripped away from them because they're missing a skill.

This is a problem that goes away with just a little experience. Once players have played a few combats and seen what skills get used and how things work when they advance, starting from scratch won't be that hard.

In all, WOiN and OLD in particular is an excellent game that's served me well for the five or so years that I've been running it as my primary game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.3
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Level Up: Monstrous Menagerie VTT Tokens (A5E)
by Joe [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2024 09:22:47

Great Art - very useful. I will use these in home game on Roll20.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Level Up: Monstrous Menagerie VTT Tokens (A5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
[WOIN] W5: Solspace: The Spartan Gambit
by Damien J. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2023 23:32:54

Great scenario. Die Hard on a spaceship if you want the cliff notes. Definely worth it. Highly recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] W5: Solspace: The Spartan Gambit
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
[WOIN] 15 Careers for W.O.I.N.
by Damien J. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2023 23:28:51

Wonderful addition to the game. Definitely worth the price



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] 15 Careers for W.O.I.N.
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
War of the Burning Sky (DnD 3.5): The Complete Campaign
by Thomas [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2023 08:07:13

This is well worth every penny you spend. Such a varied campaign with flavour and detail oozing out of it. The 5e version (individual files per each of the 12 chapters) if just as good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky (DnD 3.5): The Complete Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Haunting of Calrow Ruins [5E]
by Zoe [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2023 21:31:54

I borrowed bits and pieces from this, and it's a pretty expansive packet so there was plenty to choose from. It's a fairly combat heavy story, with a kind of confusing history section (there's a lot of details), and wordy. On the one hand, I would have struggled to follow the story to the letter, and I think it would have gotten repetitive based on the sheer number of encounters with creatures. But I scaled it back, made in a 4 hour session for 2 players, and I liked the framework and details!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunting of Calrow Ruins [5E]
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.3
by Damien J. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2023 19:00:31

Introducted to the sytem via Dredd and worlds of 2000ad. Great for sandbox. Highly recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.3
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Level Up: Monstrous Menagerie VTT Tokens (A5E)
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2023 16:53:01

beautiful tokens amazing resource gonna save me so much time creating tokens.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Level Up: Monstrous Menagerie VTT Tokens (A5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
A.C.E. #2: Spirits of Manhattan
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2023 07:50:20

Recently, I soloed my way through A.C.E. #2 Spirits of Manhattan (47 pages). It was designed for A.C.E., but I used IGOR – Adventures in Mad Science! (15 pages, free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG). I used the Mythic Game Master Emulator as the solo engine. I created six Igors. They are clones and they all look the same. They do have different skill sets. The adventure is set in the U.S.A. 1984. The Master has given the Igors a mission: go out and capture a ghost which will be used as an energy source. They have a vehicle and ghost lasso devices which use anti-plasm.

THE FIRST CHALLENGE IS ROADWORK. IGOR DRIVER IS ABLE TO FIGURE OUT AN ALTERNATE ROUTE. NEXT, THEY ARRIVE AT ST. PETER’S CHAPEL AT COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY. THE GHOST IS CAUGHT BY AN ANTI-PLASM DEVICE, BUT IT DOES GO CRASHING INTO A STAINED GLASS WINDOW. UNIVERSITY SECURITY ARRIVE ON THE SCENE FOLLOWED BY THE DEAN. IGOR SNEAK EXPLAINS THE SITUATION SUCCESSFULLY, BUT A REPORTER FROM THE UNIVERSITY PAPER TAKES THEIR PICTURE. ON THE WAY BACK TO THE LAB, THEY HAVE TO TAKE A DETOUR. IGOR DRIVER IS NOT ABLE TO AVOID THE FRUIT CART. WHEN THEY GET BACK TO THE LAB IN THE EVENING, THEY EXPERIMENT WITH MAKING A DUPLICATE OF THE GHOST THEY CAPTURED. THEY ARE SUCCESSFUL.

IN THE MORNING, THE MASTER SHOWS THEM THE LATEST EDITION OF THE UNIVERSITY PAPER. IT PORTRAYS THE IGORS AS ”BUMBLING IDIOTS”. THE MASTER’S NEW PLAN IS FOR THE IGORS TO GO TO THE LIBRARY AND KILL A TROUBLESOME DEMON. ON THEIR WAY, IGOR DRIVER IS ABLE TO AVOID THE FLATBED TRUCK FILLED WITH CHICKENS, BUT THE VEHICLE DOES GO CRASHING THROUGH A SHEET OF GLASS CARRIED BY TWO WORKERS. THE IGORS ARRIVE AT THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY AND ARE SOON BEING HARASSED BY THE DEMONIC HELLHOUND. IGOR THE DEVICE SPECIALIST IS ABLE TO WOUND IT WITH HIS ANTI-PLASM DEVICE. IGOR THE ANIMAL TRAINER SUCCESSFULLY TRAINS IT TO BE HIS NEW PET. THEY ALL SQUEEZE BACK INTO THEIR CAR. THE HELLHOUND STICKS HIS HEAD OUT OF THE WINDOW AND BARKS AT ALL OF THE CARS. THEY HAVE A SAFE DRIVE BACK TO THE LAB.

The next day, THE MASTER SHOWS THEM THE LATEST EDITION OF THE UNIVERSITY PAPER. IT PORTAYS THE IGORS AS HEROES. THE MASTER IS PLEASED! LATER, THE MASTER RECEIVES BILLS FOR THE BROKEN STAINED GLASS WINDOW, THE FRUIT CART, AND THE SHEET OF GLASS. THE MASTER IS NOT HAPPY! GIVE THIS adventure a try!

I am not yelling. This is a font problem.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A.C.E. #2: Spirits of Manhattan
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Level Up: Monstrous Menagerie (A5E)
by Allen W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2023 08:17:32

Buy this instead of "The Monsters Know What They're Doing" and using the D&D MM! This quickly and concicesly provides several options that provide significant flavor text for clues to the monster that they are about to see (e.g. "You see large, chicken-like footprints in the mud") and how they find it (a large cockitrice it eating bugs). until MCDM's Flee Mortals! is released, this is the best DM monster reference!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Level Up: Monstrous Menagerie (A5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 809 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf