Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
P.A.R.A.
by Paul [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2023 12:23:25

Based on my rating system I should only give them a 1 but they made enough of an effort to merit a 2. In my ratings I give 2 stars for system, 1 for artwork and format, 1 for look and editing, 1 for background and support material and 1 for other (i.e. sample adventure or hooks provided. 1 point = 1 star (with up to 6 points available, most RPGs should be awarded 4 or 5 stars. P.A.R.A. gets a point for background and maybe a point for effort elsewhere.

The problem is the system should be fairly straightforward (highest 2 dice from a pool + skill) but 26 Letters adds on additional and unnecessary complex subsystems with out detailing the basics (e.g. what does a rating of d8 mean for strength).

The artwork and format of the pdf is amateurish and not meriting a 8.99 price tag. I have many quick starters which have provided much more of a system engine, sample scenario and iconic artwork for free.

I admit I played the game without the cards (an additional purchase) but I am unconvinced they would have resolved the issues I have with the game (e.g. no sample PCs, cluttered rules).

I can only use this book for the background and use another similar system to run it (e.g. Superspeed, Savage Worlds)



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
P.A.R.A.
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
SCP Prop Cards
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2023 19:16:16

Would have been much better with some rules or explenations about using the cards. Also a box to hold the cards would be nice, a box and I can give this product a positive rating and recommend it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
SCP Prop Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
CreepyPasta the Role-Playing Game
by Benny A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 19:11:10

The description for this system was right, this book is cursed. I picked up this book because I was curious as a big fan of creepypasta what sorts of ttrpgs were available, and i've got very mixed feelings. For starters, the advice given for running horror sessions and the tools provided for customization of your own horror villain are excellent and extremely flavorful, useful even if you aren't intending to try and run this system. There is also a very interesting system for a character's shift from naivety into madness which I think is a great way to handle reaction to horrors and I will definitely be stealing it and tacking it on to other systems when I run, so all respect goes to the author for that.

Unfortunately, there are some decent reasons why you indeed shouldn't run this as the book presents. First and foremost is the unique dice-buy system advertised in the description. I like novel ways to resolve dice tests, but this is unfortunately a case where I understand why I haven't seen a system like this used anywhere else. I won't describe the system in detail, but suffice to say that it makes doing simple tests vastly more complex than it should be, and really slows things down. To make sure I wasn't crazy, I recorded how long it took me to resolve a simple test using the methods from various popular systems. The D&D 5e method of roll 1d20 add modifiers took me an average of 3-4 seconds from picking up the dice, rolling and totalling, and then comparing to a difficulty class (although a few seconds would be added in-game for communication). Using the Vaesen method of a pool of d6, it took me about 5-6 seconds, and the same goes for the Call of Cthulhu d100 method. This system's test rolling method took me around 20 seconds, and I didn't even get the most arduous roll possible. This time is only likely to increase by significant multipliers for players new to the system or who are not good at mental math (which to be fair, is most people). Additionally, this roll method is used for almost everything, and contributes to major slowdown in play and at times a loss of tension due to players needing to bust out the calculators and remember what dice explode into what other dice and which dice go with what stat, etc. It's not the end of the world, but it is kinda just a worse method than any other horror system you're likely to pick up.

That all being said, this book contains some excellent tools and advice for horror DMing of a level of quality that I haven't seen even in some of the big-name horror systems I mentioned in the previous section, and so if you're a DM looking to run some modern horror in the creepypasta style and car spare the small price, it's a very worthwhile read to serve as food for thought.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CreepyPasta the Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
A very accurate review! Thanks Benny. Although I put a lot of work into this book (it was my first one) I think a 3/5 rating is quite fair. It's a smaller rpg, and the dice system is quite a leap from what most people are used to, but I still stand by it. I've been developing the buy-die system for decades and am about to release another game that features it. If you like the horror advice provided in Creepypasta, check out my free pdf "How to GM (SCP) Horror" as well. Thanks for leaving a review! :D
pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by Stephan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2022 04:47:45

If you’re looking for a more role-play focused tabletop RPG book that is not Cthulhu but still focused on interesting and unique horror elements, this is it. I’ve played a one-shot with it and it was genuinely a good time. It did help that the GM already had a bunch of prior knowledge about the SCP universe in general, and I do think you need to be somewhat interested in the universe to get into it, but the book covers a lot of it so it’s a great base to get started. I really like the addition of exploding dice where you get to roll a bonus dice whenever you roll a maximum number on an attribute check die. Another cool addition is the drama cards. With drama cards any player can interrupt the GM and interject something else that suddenly happens. This can create things like distractions but also change npc behavior towards you, or just a little joke card you can toss in. It really helps create a more interactive experience with the GM. Of course the GM has to be open to such changes in his story, but they are an addition and don’t have to be used. The only issues with it are that some systems are a little unnecessary complicated, but I know that the creator of this TTRPG is working very hard to fix any struggling systems into a more streamlined format so I do think that deserves a big plus.

Overall: Good base book to start your SCP tabletop adventures. A must have if you’re a big fan of the SCP universe and want to host your own TTRPG’s.

If you want to know more about the rules I’d really recommend checking out these videos: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afW716MaFC0 https://youtu.be/flQRKpJMgfw



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Reality Bending and YOU! (SCP Tabletop RPG expansion)
by Milan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2022 01:11:44

I posted this review in the discussions already, but I'll post it here too for good measure:

I am personally a huge fan of expanding source mechanics for ttrpg systems I enjoy, especially when they build on what was already great or when they introduce a flexible new system that could be slapped on the core rulebook in a whim's notice. And that's exactly what's on the table!

As the SCP universe is rich with all kinds of crazy anomalies that can warp space and time, it only makes sense that perhaps some humans can learn this as well, perhaps from a genetic level, or perhaps they gained the power from an accidental anomalous effect. Either way, this system introduces a new proficiency called 'Reality Bending' which players can learn and grow. The higher the proficiency gets, the more you can do with it.

This is definitely a system that will usually only start to shine later on in a game, but it also allows players to think up ANY kind of weird anomalous effect they want to conjure up. You want to turn SCP-173 into a balloon version of itself? You got it! You want to summon Ronald McDonald and The Burger King mascot and force them to fight to the death? Not a problem! This system accounts mechanically for about 90% of the crazy stuff players can come up with.

This might sound extremely overpowered on paper, but do keep in mind this only REALLY come into play later on in a game. And even then, pulling off insane stuff is really time/resource-costly.

Anyway, I can definitely say that, out of all ttrpg's I've played (Star Wars RPG, Call of Cthulhu, Vampire the Masquerade, D&D), this 'magic' system really stands at the top of how fun it is to imagine your own spells and give them a mechanical form in this game!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Reality Bending and YOU! (SCP Tabletop RPG expansion)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by Joey L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2022 20:54:43

this is a very fun, Unique, and refreshing game game system compared to the over done d20 system. The system of spending of EXP into your skills and dice to roll lets you progress your character every session in an a very fun way. it gives alot of options! I think its very important for the DM to try to get familar with the system going into a campaign because it is very unique. very cool character sheet designs i love the visuals for dice blocks that you shade in as you buy them. i could go on and on this game is absolutely amazing. i highly reccomend this game to anyone who is a SCP fan! P.S. Exploding dice kick ass



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2021 11:15:02

An incredibly lazy adaptation of a fan-favorite collaborative wiki. The dice system is a slog (decimals added to rolls? Really?), the selection of SCPs included is bizarre. Feels like a scam. The author also directly copy-pasted chunks of the site with seemingly no regard for what they were taking. You're better off burning your money.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by Dd [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2021 03:55:55

The game is very good lorewise, and the equipment and info is good. Everything else is horrible. The system is clunky, complex, slow to make replacement chsracters and the characters die very easily. One of my pmayers lost his mtf soldier in two attacks from a very weak enemy, and he was the tank of the group. So, dont buy this, in my opinion, a hack of world of darkness ys better, and is what we are gonna use



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by Milan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2021 03:21:35

An excellent entry in the already existing line-up of TTRPG's. Over the past 5 years, I have invested a lot of time in many different TTRPG's, such as Star Wars RPG from FFG but also Call of Cthulhu 7th edition from Chaosium. This TTRPG, however, brings several super unique (and fun) elements to the genre, such as the drama card system, where even players can influence the story by throwing some nice curveballs at the GM, and the mutilation mechanic, which implements a smooth way to introduce various damage types and permanent wounds characters can endure.

Overall, I would say the general rule system of this TTRPG flows pretty well, from the RP to the combat. When I first bought this book about 1 - 2 months ago, there were still some minor parts that really needed some rewording for clarification. I was happy to witness first-hand how quickly and passionately the creator responded to this, immediately going about to review and fix some of the issues.

With a fairly oversaturated market when it comes to TTRPG's, I'm happy to see that some writers still have the balls to try some new stuff to enhance the 30 - 40 year old formula and I think the SCP Tabletop RPG does a lot of things right in this regard.

For a more indepth view of the physical book itself, check out my review on youtube! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afW716MaFC0

Have a nice day and Secure. Contain. And Protect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2021 08:41:21

Ring Side Report-RPG Review of SCP The Tabletop RPG

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea every day!

Product- SCP The Tabletop RPG System- SCP The Tabletop RPG Producer- 26 Letters Publishing Price- $19.99 here https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/334521/SCP-The-Tabletop-RPG?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR-Secure this book! 96%

Basics- Secure, Contain, Protect! SCP is probably the internet’s best and worst kept secret. The SCP is the largest collaborative storytelling project in the world, outside of the Lovecraft Mythos, and all of the Lovecraft Mythos fits into the SCP! The SCP is a clandestine organization that is lawful neutral at best, doing horrible things in the name of saving as many as they can. Players take the roles of SCP personnel, attempting to deal with the things that bump in the night and hopefully kill as few as they can along the way. Let’s look at the pieces.

Breakdown-

Base mechanics- Character generation is point buy, but you buy dice. When you do anything you roll up to four dice. From those four dice you take the maximum of two of them and add any skill ranks you have in the action. If you hit the difficulty, you succeed!

Dice-This game uses everything from D8s to d20s. When you buy dice, for every three D8s you buy, you can then buy 1d10. This gives you an extra bonus. For every two d10s you buy, you can buy a d12 and get an additional bonus. You can build an absolute unit for strength but if you can’t do intelligence actions, you will have some major problems! Remember your team when you build characters.

Exploding dice-If you roll the maximum result you get an extra dice that you roll and use. You can get some truly powerful rolls when your D12 explodes into a d20!

The rest-The rest of the system breaks down like most other similar systems with lots of skills. The skills are the bread and butter of this game as you focus your abilities to do awesome stuff.

Now the breakdown!

Mechanics or Crunch-This game feels like a fun remix of Savage Worlds. The idea of different sized dice and the mix of multiple dice means you get more average results. I love random dice, but sometimes you just get hosed by probability. When you throw four d12 at a problem, the law of averages doesn’t bite you as hard as it can, most of the time. It’s simple and easy to play. This system’s only problem is there are a ton of skills. The good of a ton of skills is you can truly build that character you have in mind. The bad of a ton of skills is your awesome mountain man can be lost in the big city as overspecialization is fun but if you are not keyed into the adventure, it can lead you to be sidelined. That's the only real issue I have with the crunch here, so this is a solid system!. 4.5/5

Theme or Fluff- SCP, are you the good guys or the bad guys? YES! The fluff here backs up the nature that the SCP are here to help, but maybe not here to help you in particular! If you want to play a morally grey character, then this gives you the solid background to do it well. 5/5

Execution- PDF? Yes. Hyperlinked? Yes. I like the layout, the text, and the makeup of the whole book. There are pregens and an adventure to get you playing right away. I really love how the character creation is set up with step by step instruction, even pointing to the areas on the character sheet. My one minor problem is some of the set up. The book divides itself based on the class of personnel. Which isn’t bad, but it means you have to go to multiple places to see all the toys and equipment. It's not a major issue, but a small annoyance. Otherwise, this is a solid book that shows how I want things done. 4.9/5

Summary- Let’s not be a bad guy, let’s not be a good guy, let’s be the one keeping everyone safe. The SCP is a fun playground where horrible things are done to prevent something even worse. That’s a fun setup and combined with solid mechanics and an amazing book this is well worth your money. If you like Savage Worlds and want the best collaborative horror you can find on the internet in your game, this is a solid addition to game night. 96%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/27/2021 03:00:39

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2021/09/27/ersteindruck-scp-the-tabletop-rpg-secure-contain-protect/

Im Geheimen agiert die SCP Foundation, um die Welt vor oftmals gefährlichen Anomalien zu retten – den SCPs. Sie werden gesichert, verwahrt und geschützt. Die Erforschung, nicht ihre Zerstörung ist das Ziel. Als Mitarbeiter:in gehörst du zu dieser weltweit agierenden Organisation. Wie wirst du deinen Teil zum Schutz der Welt beitragen?

SCP – The Tabletop RPG, herausgegeben von 26 Letter Publishing, ist ein Rollenspiel von Fans für Fans des SCP-Universums. Initiative und Hauptarbeit lagen hierbei bei Jason Keech. Von Januar bis Februar 2021 wurde das Projekt erfolgreich auf Kickstarter finanziert, seit Mitte des Jahres ist das Rollenspielsystem erhältlich.

Zum SCP-Hintergrund: In der realen Welt ist die SCP Foundation ein webbasiertes Projekt für kollaboratives Schreiben. Autor:innen verfassen hierzu Artikel über von ihnen erdachte Anomalien, sogenannte SCPs, in einer pseudo-wissenschaftlichen Schreibweise. Dabei werden die Anomalien und ihre Eindämmungsmaßnahmen beschrieben, wobei oft besondere Vorfälle, Anmerkungen und Versuche dokumentiert werden. Um die Texte noch authentischer zu machen, werden Textstellen, die offensichtlich kritische Informationen enthalten, geschwärzt.

Dies spielt sich in einem fiktiven Universum ab, in welchem die SCP Foundation die SCPs sicherstellt und erforscht. Im vorliegenden SCP – The Tabletop RPG schlüpft man in die Rollen von Mitarbeiter:innen dieser Organisation.

Die Spielwelt Die SCP Foundation ist eine weltweit agierende Geheimorganisation in einem fiktiven Universum, die damit beauftragt wurde, entdeckte Anomalien zu sichern, zu verwahren, zu schützen und zu erforschen, um sie vollständig zu verstehen. Diese Anomalien können dabei jede erdenkliche Form annehmen: von Objekten über Lebewesen bis hin zu Orten. Die Foundation verfügt über nahezu unbegrenzte Mittel, um ihre Aufgaben zu erfüllen. Denn manche Anomalien – oder SCPs – sind so gefährlich, dass sie das Ende der Welt auslösen können. Die Menschheit darf deshalb nie etwas über diese SCPs erfahren, da ansonsten eine Massenpanik als sicher gilt.

Secure.

Entdeckte Anomalien müssen gesichert werden.

Contain.

Gesicherte Anomalien müssen entsprechend verwahrt werden.

Protect.

Verwahrte Anomalien müssen geschützt werden. Noch wichtiger ist jedoch, dass die Welt vor ihnen geschützt wird.

Unzählige Mitarbeiter:innen sorgen für einen möglichst reibungslosen Ablauf, doch die Arbeit mit unbekannten und gefährlichen SCPs lässt sich nie genau vorhersehen. Die Aufgaben und Zugänge des Personals sind klar geregelt. Zum einen durch die „Personnel Classification“, die von Class A bis Class E reicht. Beispielsweise sind Personen der Klassifikation A von größter Wichtigkeit für die Foundation und dürfen deshalb mit SCPs nicht in Kontakt kommen. Personal der Klassifikation D hingegen ist entbehrlich und wird insbesondere für Versuche mit gefährlichen SCPs verwendet. Meist handelt es sich bei Klasse-D-Personal um Menschen mit langen Gefängnisstrafen oder gar zum Tode Verurteilte.

Das „Security Clearance Level“ des Personals reicht von Level 0 bis 5 und beschreibt den Zugang zu Informationen, den eine Person hat. Doch selbst hierbei werden oft nur so viele Informationen preisgegeben, wie es nötig ist. Dies betrifft zum Beispiel Daten zu SCPs, um mit ihnen arbeiten zu können.

Die Spieler:innen verkörpern solches Personal der Foundation. Sei es im Bereich Sicherheit, Wissenschaft, Technik oder etwas anderes. Die Foundation hat viele Mitarbeiter:innen und dementsprechend vielfältig ist die Auswahl. In den meisten Szenarien wird für die Charaktere der Spieler:innen eine Class C und Level-2-Freigabe (die jedoch erhöht werden kann, wenn man sich entsprechend den Standards der Foundation verhält) empfohlen. Dies bedeutet, dass sie direkten Zugang und Informationen zu SCPs haben, die nicht als gefährlich oder feindselig eingestuft wurden. Es ist jedoch auch möglich, ein Szenario etwa als Klasse-D-Personal zu beginnen.

Die SCPs selbst werden in verschiedene Kategorien eingeteilt. Die erste Einteilung etwa ist die sogenannte „Containment Class“ und erfolgt anhand der Schwierigkeit, eine Anomalie erfolgreich und dauerhaft zu verwahren und der Menge an Ressourcen, die dafür benötigt werden. Hierzu gibt es, in aufsteigender Reihenfolge, die Kategorien „Safe“, „Euclid“ und „Keter“.

Um eine Vorstellung von der Vielgestaltigkeit der SCPs zu bekommen, hier drei Beispiele:

SCP 173: Eines der bekanntesten SCPs. Es ist eine annähernd humanoide Statue aus Beton, die ein extrem feindseliges Verhalten an den Tag legt. Solange es beobachtet wird ist es reglos. Sobald der Blickkontakt unterbrochen wird, sei es nur durch Blinzeln, kann es sich unnatürlich schnell bewegen und wird Personen in der Nähe durch Genickbruch töten.

SCP 682: Auch bekannt unter dem Namen „Hard-to-Destroy Reptile“. Dieses SCP ist ein intelligentes, der menschlichen Sprache mächtiges, reptilienartiges und sehr tödliches Lebewesen, das einen unbändigen Hass auf jegliches Leben verspürt. Unzählige Versuche haben ergeben, dass es zwar verletzt, aber nicht getötet werden kann. Vielmehr passt es sich an, wodurch es immer schwieriger wird, ihm zu schaden.

SCP 3008: Bei dieser Anomalie handelt es sich um eine IKEA-Filiale, die im Inneren unendlich ist. Da Personen, die das Gebäude betreten, zunächst nichts von dieser Unendlichkeit bemerken, ist es ihnen so gut wie unmöglich, es wieder zu verlassen. So haben sich ganze Gemeinschaften von gefangenen Menschen gebildet, die sich nachts gegen das dann feindlich werdende, deformierte Personal wehren müssen.

Das Regelwerk bietet die Beschreibung einer Anlage der Foundation, mit Lageplänen und NSC, die dort arbeiten, lässt der Spielleitung und den Spieler:innen ansonsten große Freiheiten in der Ausgestaltung weiterer Anlagen. Generell wird vor allem beschrieben, wie die Foundation organisiert ist. Welches Personal, Szenario oder an welchem Ort man spielt ist dabei relativ offengehalten. Es gibt zwar Empfehlungen, was etwa das Sicherheitslevel der Charaktere zu Beginn angeht, diese gelten jedoch eher als Richtlinien.

Die Regeln Die am häufigsten verwendeten Würfel in diesem System sind der W8, W10 und W12. Um eine Probe zu machen, greift man auf einen variierenden Pool dieser drei Würfelarten zu. Wie sich dieser Pool zusammensetzt, hängt davon ab, wie viele der Würfel bei der Charaktererstellung für eines der insgesamt acht Attribute gekauft wurden. Es dürfen maximal vier Würfel verwendet werden, die beiden höchsten Ergebnisse werden addiert und mit dem Wert einer passenden Fertigkeit verrechnet. Das finale Ergebnis muss eine von der Spielleitung festgelegte Schwierigkeit – im Normalfall zwischen 11 und 14 – erreichen oder übersteigen.

Mit etwas Glück können bessere Ergebnisse erzielt werden, als es eigentlich möglich wäre – durch die Mechanik der „Exploding Dice“: Jede maximal gewürfelte Augenzahl erlaubt das Werfen des nächstgrößeren Würfels. Zeigt also beispielsweise ein W8 eine Acht, dann darf zusätzlich ein W10 gewürfelt werden. Zeigt dieser wiederum eine Zehn, dann dürfen 2W12 zusätzlich gewürfelt werden. Auf diese Weise wird die Chance vergrößert, ein hohes Ergebnis zu erzielen.

Neben den Kapiteln ist das Regelwerk in fünf Abschnitte eingeteilt, die den Security-Leveln 0 bis 5 entsprechen. Die Kapitel im Abschnitt zu Level 0 können von allen gelesen werden. Mit jedem höheren Level sollte der Zugang immer weiter begrenzt werden. Empfohlen wird, den Spieler:innen zunächst vorrangig Zugang zu den Abschnitten zu gewähren, die dem Security Clearance Level ihrer Charaktere entsprechen. Der Abschnitt zu Level 5 ist hingegen der Spielleitung vorbehalten und enthält unter anderem Tipps, Ideen für Szenarien und eine Anleitung, um weitere SCPs mit dem Regelsystem zu entwerfen.

Insgesamt gibt es viele hilfreiche und interessante Informationen zur Foundation, somit jedoch auch eine Menge Text, der erst einmal gelesen werden will. Die nicht minder umfangreichen Regeln können im Spiel viel hin- und herblättern verursachen und an dieser Stelle nicht alle aufgelistet werden. Als Beispiel sei der Kampf genannt, der zwar recht realistisch ist, dadurch aber sehr viele Sonderregeln beinhaltet. So gibt es bei Feuerwaffen den „HIP Stance“, „READY Stance“ und „AIM Stance“, um eine Waffe abzufeuern. Je nach Haltung, aus der gefeuert wird, bekommt man einen Bonus oder Malus auf den Angriffswurf. Hat die Waffe einen Rückstoß oder bewegt man sich während des Zielens, wird die Haltung auf ein niedrigeres Level reduziert und man muss entweder die schlechteren Modifikatoren in Kauf nehmen oder Zeit aufwenden, um erneut zu zielen.

Um diese Fülle an Regeln besser kontrollieren zu können, finden sich am Ende des Buches zwei Seiten, auf denen die wichtigsten Regeln zusammengefasst werden. Zusätzlich helfen der vorhandene Index, sowie im Text verteilte QR-Codes, die auf nützliche Seiten verweisen.

Charaktererschaffung Jeder Charakter verfügt über acht Attribute, wie Stärke, Gesundheit oder Intelligenz. Diese besitzen jedoch keinen festen Wert, sondern eine Anzahl an W8, W10 und W12, die bei der Erstellung gekauft werden. Die Fertigkeiten, wie Klettern, Überleben oder Wissenschaft, sind in drei Kategorien eingeteilt, die Punkte zum Verteilen zur Verfügung stellen. Anschließend wird für jede Fertigkeit, die erhöht wurde, ein W10 gewürfelt und das Ergebnis als Dezimalzahl angerechnet.

Daraufhin werden verschiedene passive Werte, wie Lebenspunkte oder Bewegungsgeschwindigkeit, ausgerechnet. Eigenschaften, wie etwa das Aussehen oder die Denkweise des Charakters, beeinflussen verschiedene der vorangegangenen Werte. Zuletzt wird der Charakter zum einen in die Foundation eingeführt, wobei seine Ausrüstung und Security Level festgelegt werden, zum anderen wird sein Hintergrund ausgestaltet. Insgesamt beinhaltet die Charaktererschaffung vor allem das Zuweisen von Werten und das Eintragen der verschiedenen Modifikatoren, sodass sie nicht allzu viel Zeit in Anspruch nehmen sollte.

Der Charakterbogen wirkt auf den ersten Blick unübersichtlich, wird jedoch durch die einzelnen Schritte während der Erschaffung verständlich gemacht.

Am Ende jeder Sitzung erhält man Erfahrungspunkte, und kann Fertigkeiten erhöhen – teilweise sogar schon während des Spielens. Die Menge an Erfahrungspunkten richtet sich nach der Länge des gespielten Szenarios. Wenige pro Sitzung bei einer langen Kampagne und viele bei einem One-Shot. Es existieren weder Klassen noch Stufen und momentan ist es nur möglich, einen Menschen zu spielen und nicht etwa ein SCP.

Erscheinungsbild Das Cover zeigt vier Personen, die vor dem Eingang zu Anlage 093, die im Buch beschrieben wird, stehen. Es handelt sich dabei um Mitarbeiter:innen der Foundation. Die Atmosphäre wirkt düster und angespannt, was durch die Größe des Raumes, in dem sich die Personen befinden, noch verstärkt wird.

Die im Buch verwendete Schrift ist angenehm, wobei manche kleineren Abschnitte wie mit einer Schreibmaschine geschrieben wirken, was schwieriger zu lesen ist. Der Text wird immer wieder von Tabellen, Unterüberschriften, Kästchen und stimmungsvollen Bildern unterbrochen. Teilweise wirkt er jedoch überladen. Ein Index, sowie die Aufteilung in Security Level vereinfachen die Navigation. Die Tatsache, dass das PDF die Möglichkeit bietet, jede Seitenzahl, die im Text erwähnt wird, anzuklicken, um zu ihr zu gelangen, ist ebenfalls sehr praktisch.

Fazit SCP – The Tabletop RPG behandelt ein eher ungewöhnliches, aber interessantes Thema. Durch das kollaborative Schreiben des Projektes der SCP Foundation sind sehr viele Informationen zu Hintergründen und den verschiedensten SCPs vorhanden, die alle für das eigene Rollenspiel verwendet werden können. Wenn man das nicht möchte, kann man sich die Foundation nach den eigenen Vorstellungen erstellen.

Insgesamt ist es ein solides, aber regellastiges System, das manchmal etwas zu viel will und deshalb unnötig kompliziert wirkt. Ob dieser Eindruck bleibt oder ob er sich legt, wird der Spieltest zeigen.

Was hilft, sind in jedem Fall der Index und kleine Boxen, die wie interne Memos mit Kommentaren von Mitarbeiter:innen gestaltet sind. Auch QR-Codes, die auf hilfreiche Seiten verweisen, und ein ganzes Kapitel, das beispielhaft eine Sitzung zeigt, in der die wichtigsten Regeln behandelt werden, sind hier positiv zu nennen. Dennoch bleibt die Frage, ob das System sich für Neulinge eignet. Die Lektüre des Regelwerkes vermittelt zumindest den Eindruck, dass erfahrene Rollenspieler:innen besser in diesem System aufgehoben sind.

Für Rollenspieler:innen, die Fans des SCP-Universums sind, lohnt sich dieses Regelwerk. Und wer sich noch nicht mit der Thematik beschäftigt hat, aber Mystery, Horror und Übernatürlichem nicht abgeneigt ist, sollte dem auf jeden Fall eine Chance geben. Währenddessen arbeitet die Foundation im Geheimen weiter und sorgt so für die Sicherheit der Welt. Dabei kann sie eines immer gebrauchen: neue Mitarbeiter:innen.

Dieser Ersteindruck basiert auf dem Lesen des Regelwerkes als PDF. Ein Spieltest wird folgen.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
(mit Google Translate) Sehr gut gemachte Rezension! Dankeschön! Ich arbeite mit einem Übersetzer zusammen und wir planen, das Buch in Zukunft auf Deutsch zu veröffentlichen. Wir haben auch einen deutschen Kanal auf unserem Discord. https://discord.gg/9KjeBsn6Sg
pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by Django A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2021 14:40:23

This is a great RPG. The community's always helpful, the book itself is very well written with intuitive rules, and it's a fun system overall. Check out the discord if you can, one of the best servers I am in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by Scott A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2021 16:14:01

I have never been so excited to get a TTRPG, and I could not be happier with what I got! The few errors the book has are editted through the PDF fairly often, so its good to see that the community wants to make it as good as possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by Malvin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2021 16:08:28

Finally, as a self proclaimed slow reader, I got all the time I needed to read through the rulebook and tho I haven't got the chance to try it out in practice yet the system with all it's mechanics feels very well crafted and I am really excited to try it out! The rules are explained very understandable and even if there should be any questions the creator always helps with questions and requests on Discord. Speaking of Discord the community is helpful and active, too and it's really easy to get into the community due to their welcoming kindness. I witnessed positivity, humor, homebrewing and a lot of more fun things there, so give it a try and join the discord server. You can even find sample chapters about how the dice system or the character creation works, for example, so if you still don't know if the game is something for you maybe that little sneak peek can help you! I highly recommend this game and hope it continues getting the love it really deserves!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
SCP The Tabletop RPG (first edition)
by kent s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2021 15:10:47

SCP the tabletop rpg is a fantastic game. Its extremely beginner friendly, right off the bat it tells you what SCP is and basics about ttrpgs in general such as what a GM is. Its a great game for beginners to the genre. It has some really cool and unique gameplay mechanics, such as the clearance level system that turns the entire book into a game mechanic, and the dice system is interesting and fun. Its also very balanced in complexity, not too rules heavy and not too simple. Its in a sweet spot of difficulty that makes it simple for new players and GMs to get into it. I recommend the book to any kind of ttrpg player, especially if your a fan of the SCP universe



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf