Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Gold&Glory: Seven Deadly Dungeons (Savage Worlds Adventure Edition)
by Ernesto [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2024 22:20:47

An excellent take on the OSR style of play using Savage Worlds



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gold&Glory: Seven Deadly Dungeons (Savage Worlds Adventure Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Gold&Glory: Seven Deadly Dungeons (Savage Worlds Adventure Edition)
by Niels E. W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2023 05:26:35

I used this to introduce my teenage kids to Savage Worlds, to great success. Very little preparation neccessary, and yet very fun and fulfilling games. Perfect if what you're looking for are classic, old-school fighty dungeon crawls to be run on a whim. The random character generation system is also very good; we used it to make supporting NPCs. A large gridded map and eraseable markers, combined with minis and standees, was nice to have alongside it. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Gold&Glory: Seven Deadly Dungeons (Savage Worlds Adventure Edition)
by Sam V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2022 04:03:45

An excellent book that delivers exactly what it sets out to do. Letting you play Savage Worlds in a dungeon crawl with zero-prep.

Because of the casual pick-up nature of this system it's is a great way to get new people to join in on the hobby. No struggling with character creation or plots to weave in. Just you and the dungeon. And though at first I thought this would result in hardly any roleplay the random connections between PC's even serve as a fantastic way to get things started. Beyond that I tell my players that whenever I'm generating a new room they can go wild and roleplay, this makes for varied games.

The system is also very easy to run and good for a first-time DM wanting an easy game. It's also great for convincing players to try out DM'ing so you can finally be a PC again. Yes, I'm talking to you!

And for veterans, the looseness of the system makes it the perfect spot to finally try out any of those weird builds abilities or combo's you've homebrewed or found in supplements that just don't fit in the settings you were playing before.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Gold&Glory: Seven Deadly Dungeons (Savage Worlds Adventure Edition)
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2021 17:46:43

I have recently started using G&G with my players and everyone has really enjoyed it. The character generation system has been a big hit, especially for players unfamiliar with Savage Worlds. I would love to see additional "Setting" packs, with different ancestry combinations or "class" themes. And if you need enouragement to publish a big book of dungeons, I would definitely purchase something like that, all of the dungeons I've tried so far have been excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Ultima Forsan - Setting Book
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2021 00:16:20

Savage Worlds, for those who play, know the combat system is excellent, but it can be deadly. In Ultima Forsan, the deadly aspect of combat is tripled. Takiong place during the time of the Black Plague, the player charcters are able to play setting appropriate characters including my favorite, the Plague Doctor.

As far as combat goes, players need to know physical maimings like amputations, right in the middle of cambat can occur; as can almost immediate death from a single bite of an "infected", a term used to describe those who have the plague, died, come back and can pass the disease on which in turn, will very, very likely kill any character bitten.

Personally, I like this level of deadlyness, but not everyone does. The game does have three modes of deadliness which go from pretty rough to sneeze, and you die. I prefer that level. To deomstrate the lethality of this setting, in one game with five players, one died of a bite from an infected and had to be dispatched immediately upon death to avoid coming back, by I beleive, beheading. A second character was bitten on the leg and it was amputed. The party was about to be surrounded, so they abandoned him. A third sacrificed himself to save a child npc and was essentially eaten alive. Great game in my opinion.

Having played SW for over 15 plus years, THIS is my favorite setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultima Forsan - Setting Book
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Scheherazade - The One Thousand and One Nights RPG
by Florian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2020 12:19:25

This introduction was originally released on my blog diceadventurer.

I hesitated when Space Orange 42 released Sheherazade because it is a short rulebook and the price for the PDF was quite high. However, the setting and the sample characters convinced me to try it and I was not disappointed. Let me show you the selling points.

The world:

Scheherazade, namesake for this game, might be familiar to you. She is the storyteller in Arabian Nights and is the inspiration for the game. Every evening Scheherazade tells the caliph a story with a cliffhanger so she won’t be executed. The caliph, betrayed by his first wife, decided to have a new woman every day and after the night together, she will be killed. Scheherazade achieved to stay alive for 1000 nights and the caliph fell in love with her. The next day should have been their wedding but Scheherazade fell into a deep sleep. Nobody is able to wake her up and the caliph got desperate. Now the country stands still and the sovereign is not able to reign it properly. The players take the role of people who met Scheherazade and she told their stories to the caliph. Every player character had a nightmare the night Scheherazade fell into her sleep and it is up to the players to find a cure and save Scheherazade and the country.

The system:

Scheherazade uses its own system, which is called the Unique System. You start building your character by choosing or creating a concept like Old Ghoulhunter or Nimble Street urchin. This concept starts with a value of one. Then you spend so called marks to raise your attributes. The six attributes are power, precision, courage, caution, passion and reason. As you might notice those attributes form pairs and are opposites. Every full box (later boxes need two or more marks to be filled completely) raises your value by one. You can choose to spend one mark to become gifted and be able to cast magic. You also get to choose your fist two spells. Later in the game, you need to find spells in books, scrolls or learn them with the help of a teacher. Those attribute “boxes” also have different shapes. Each fully marked heart shaped box raises your Life (your HP) and fully marked stars raise your Energy (some kind of mana).

Furthermore, every character gets to start with a unique gift, which defines the character. The formula for creating those gifts is similar to stunts in Fate. You might get a bonus under certain circumstances, use other attributes for checks or you start with a relic, an ally or have a special talent (like talking to animals). I really like the examples and you can use random tables for character creation, if you want to.

You make checks with six sided dice. The GM tells the player which two attributes are used and you pick as many dice as you have in those two attributes (e.g. XXX + YYY for XYZ). If your concept fits, you can add its value to the number of dice. Every 4, 5 or 6 is a success and you have to beat the difficulty. One die should have a different colour or size. If this die shows a “6” the check still has a positive side effect, even if the check is a failure and otherwise a “1” has always some kind of negative aspect. Beside normal checks, you can also have complex tasks. These tasks have a difficulty and a complexity. The GM sets the interval for rolling (e.g. for picking a lock you could have a roll every minute or for a complex research you can roll every 5 hours). Successes reduce the complexity of the task and by reaching zero the task is completed. Generally, the GM does not roll. The players make all actions and reactions.

In a fight, the players roll for initiative and compare it to the level (the difficulty) of the enemies. The battlefield consists of zones. A successful attack results in either doing damage or hindering the enemy. Hindering the enemy lowers its level until its next turn (which is great to enable weaker player characters to do damage). Every success beyond the difficulty can be traded into one point of damage or an effect. Therefore, you need two successes to hit a level 2 bandit. With four successes, you could deal two points of damage and lower its level by 1. Defending works the same, but instead of dealing damage, you can lower the amount taken. Scheherazade is a very heroic game and by default, characters don’t die easily. There are optional rules to make it grittier and more dangerous.

Gear doesn’t have mechanical effects, they are just for the fiction. Some objects are special and have keywords (e.g. tool or two hands). Those who know PbtA-games might feel right at home, but those tags/keywords also have a mechanical effect. The examples and instructions in the book are really good how to use those keywords and with this system players are encouraged to create individualized gear.

A special resource are the Moon-Points. With these points you can reroll or create fictional elements (e.g. a cart in the street to reach the rooftops). You gain those points by being heroic, selfless or finding creative solutions to a problem. You can also tell a tale at a campfire or write a poem or story between sessions. What I really like is that these stories could be rumours or legends and the GM is encouraged to implement those elements into the world. So if a player recites a legend of a flying carpet in a hidden cave, the GM could drop hints in the game where to find it. This is a great way to get the players invested and interested in the world.

The magic system in Scheherazade is very simple and easy to use. A gifted person needs to spend Energy and most of the spells require a simple check. If you want to get more spells after character creation, you have to find them. You get marks after adventures (basically XP) but most of the time the GM should reward the players with other things, like objects, contacts and treasures. The book contains some examples for things like spells and objects, but the GM should come up with his own creations and with the given rules, it is quite easy. Enemies consist mostly of background and description. They have some keywords and which level their attacks and initiative have (some enemies are stronger so their attack lvl is higher). As with objects and spells, it’s really easy to build your own enemies.

The book:

I own the PDF and the hardcover. Both are in English and are full colour. The artwork is beautiful and the art style was the decisive factor in buying the book. The layout is good as well, very clear and good to read. Scheherazade has only 171 pages and the GM and the group has to put in some work. You don’t get much adventure hooks, but you can just take a story of Arabian Nights and you have your adventure. I think the PDF and the hardcover are quite expensive for the amount of pages you get. However, the system is amazing and I already hacked it for a session One Piece. I think the Unique System would fit perfectly for Star Wars, Pulp (like Hollow Earth Expedition, Indiana Jones, etc.) or Harry Potter.

Who might be interested in Scheherazade:

  • GMs and players who like to play ruleslite and pulpy/heroic adventures
  • People who want to focus on storytelling
  • Players who want to bring their ideas to the setting

Who might not be interested in Scheherazade:

  • GMs and players who want to have complex and extensive rules
  • People who need lots of ready to play material (items, adventures, enemies)
  • Players who want to create mechanically detailed characters


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scheherazade - The One Thousand and One Nights RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Aces High! (SWADE option)
by Laimonas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2020 17:51:57

Really good product, I can see me using this in many situations when I need scene to move fast but still have some amount of detail. Just be aware that despite the actual page count all the content could easily fill 2 - 3 pages.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aces High!  (SWADE option)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Guardians of Sol-Tau
by Laimonas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2020 16:09:20

I had run this one for a three players' group in one eight hour session, but my advice is to plan this as a two session game. A short review would be: it's a good scenario, I highly recommend it.

The (a bit) longer version: the scenario itself is very straightforward space opera, the book is pretty open about where it gets the inspiration (Star Wars and Guardians of the Galaxy), there's nothing to blow your mind with originality, and the adventure is very linear, literally discouraging the players from taking any detours off the set course of the events.

That said, every Savage Worlds GM should runt this at least once. Why? Because the way the adventure is presented and tied with the SW rules is one of the best examples of module writing. You will have an opportunity to experience dramatic almost all the subsystems and mechanics of SW: dramatic tasks, social conflict, chase, space combat. After playing this my players were really impressed by how flexible and adaptable Savage Worlds system is, even though two of them already had some experience with the system. One should basically go from dor to dor holding this book and telling: Do you have time to talk about our Lord and Saviour of the RPG: Savage Worlds?

There's also a fantastic layout of the book. It's easy to find anything you need and usually everything you need for a scene is on one page, which greatly helps when you want to keep the frantic tempo of the adventure. The only other so well written book I know is Mothership, and I believe that the creators of Guardians of Sol-Tau took some inspiration from there or some other modern OSRs.

So why four stars not five? Because I feel that for the price the book could include a few extra pages with location maps and a bit more background for the setting. You can run it as it is but then you will inevitably need to improvise or to spend some time preparing, which is fine but it makes me think that the book should be 1-2 USD cheaper.

In any case have you noticed the big number 1 on the cover of the book? I hope I will see at numbers 2 and 3 (at least) someday!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guardians of Sol-Tau
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Guardians of Sol-Tau
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2020 02:06:54

Seems to be a great intro to savage worlds and the SWADE subsystems.

You can perform a few combats, a chase, dogfight, social encounter, dangerous quick ecnounter, dramatic task, and more within 1-3 sessions.

Comes with 6 pregens, so you can hop right in after picking some characters.

The art is solid and there is enough lore here to get the short adventure done, with some neat modifications to some of the standard SWADE systems. e.g. adventure specific chase complications.

Overall, my players-all new to savage worlds-have loved their time so far and we are eager to see how their story concludes. I'm left wanting to know more about the rest of Sol-Tau, for sure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Ultima Forsan - Setting Book
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2020 12:25:53

This is a well written and unique setting. While I have not run it as is, I have mined it for material & ideas for a variety of my own games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultima Forsan - Setting Book
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Gold&Glory: Garden of Bones
by anthony h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2020 09:35:01

Now I’ll admit, at first I was a bit put off by the lack of evocative description written in the “Story So Far” section located at the front of the PDF. Anyone who reads my blog Journey Through the Darklands can tell my personal tastes lay firmly in purple prose and run on sentences (they can work damnit!). Given that, it’s important to set proper expectations. Mork Borg this is not. Meaning, while some books put more emphasis on presentation and the setting of mood, others value more brief texts that are readily usable at a glance. A great example of this design is found in the Tomb of the Serpent Kings, an excellent beginner dungeon with which shares many similarities to GOB. Anyway, the story is simple, taking only 3 sentences to tell; In a time lost to myth, a powerful Necromancer had a gift rejected by the object of his desire (left unspecified as to who). In his lonely frustration the Necromancer created a vile garden of terror. Simple no? Well, that’s the point.

Most of what lay within this brief section goes to possible hooks for the players to get involved in the GOB, and forewarnings that the Magic Items and certain hazards – when dropped into an ongoing campaign – can be turning points of lasting consequence. Leaving the love interest a blank slate allows DM’s to insert their own relevant NPC’s or historic characters to the module for easy integration.

The Rumors section is brief, being heavy on colourful description in some places, and less so in others, as much of the module is throughout. All of it reads easily at a glance and gets the gears in my head to whir their motors towards setup and payoff later on when these tables are tested in play. It’s fun stuff.

General Appearance reads mostly like flavor text found in general D&D content, with the few exceptions where gameplay mechanics are detailed. In G&G, dungeons are described as either cavernous or indoors with little alteration. In GOB however, there are typically no walls, instead having an eerie green fog block the sight of those unwilling to go through the mist’s themselves. This design choice gives a flavor felt in the actual playing of the dungeon and is ever present, which I think really sells the unique atmosphere. Another deviation from standard G&G dungeons, is that this module focuses solely on randomizing it’s dungeon in a constant rotation.

Whereas in G&G there is an option of using the generation method to prepare a dungeon’s layout and contents before a session, GOB limits and expands the randomization option during the session alone. Once the entrance to a room is no longer visible, the dungeon rearranges itself, so that wherever players may go, a new room awaits. For the most part at least, as players may by accident stumble into old rooms as decided by the draw of the dungeon deck. Leaving the garden itself is impossible by navigation alone, instead requiring extreme luck or the destruction of a certain object.

Room generation is done one by one, drawing three cards from your “dungeon deck”. The value of the first two cards tell you the length and width of the room or area respectively. Any of the three cards suite and value determine content. Hearts are read on the hazards table, and Diamonds on treasures.

We’ve got traps like suffocating fogs, bushes of spiked bone flinging bone bristle spears at a character’s single misstep, bone spiders and swarms of various vermin ready to take you life and eat your corpse. We’ve got a towering guardian beast made of shifting forms of scavenged bone, flowers capable of prolonging life or issuing death, diamonds embedded in black crystal skulls, thrones of dead carcasses, fountains of blood, and that’s not even half of it! The module is 20 pages front to back, which is double the length of the 7 dungeons found in the G&G core rulebook. That should give a good idea of just how much is packed into this thing.

Hell, as I write this the idea of using these tables to generate content in my own dungeons free of the module itself seems not only plausible, but likely. It’s a great module that practically runs itself if you are good with improving at the table, and I would recommend it at the very least to help generate ideas for whatever you’re currently working on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gold&Glory: Garden of Bones
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Guardians of Sol-Tau
by Umberto P. c. L. G. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 08:11:44

I printed the printer friendly version (tip: set two pages per sheet in print options) and read it while commuting. This is a BRILLIANT scenario: the type of never-ending action I expect from a Savage Worlds adventure, with over the top situations and a glorious finale (if everything goes well!). The art and layout are fresh, and really help set the tone, which clearly is inspired to Guardians of the Galaxy, but maybe also Saturday morning cartoons, imho. This might become my go to adventure for introducing Savage Worlds to new or younger players, too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guardians of Sol-Tau
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Guardians of Sol-Tau
by mauro l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2020 03:51:31

Andrea Mollica and Giuseppe Rotondo have done a great job, AS USUAL. This is the perfect scenario to showcase all the special subsystems available for Savage worlds GMs, and it's an awesome story in its own right! Can't wait to run it with my group AND my kids!

I also suggest to use this scenario together with the Aces High system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Guardians of Sol-Tau
by Marco B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2020 15:14:15

Just finished reading through the adventure and I can't wait to run it! The story is glorious and full of action, and the presentation makes it super easy to move from one part to the other. It's nice, for once, to have an adventure that tells you what to do if the group fails at some task!

I already had Aces High but hadn't had a chance to try it yet. Now this scenario seems the perfect fix for that too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Gold&Glory: Seven Deadly Dungeons (Savage Worlds Adventure Edition)
by greg m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2020 13:41:32

This is a super fun way to get a group together and running into a dungeon in under 30 minutes, GM included. It's also a pretty solid way to introduce new players to Savage worlds because it laser focuses you in character creation. You pull some cards and boom! You're a Oglar the half-ork rouge). Also, the ability to easily dynamically generate dungeons (7 of them are included!) I highly recommend to anyone wanting to run a fun and quick OSR style dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gold&Glory: Seven Deadly Dungeons (Savage Worlds Adventure Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 51 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf