Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice 2e: Cyberpunk Deck
by Andreas [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2024 07:46:11

This is another great addition to the GMA decks and perfect for my RED campaign. Even though I already hugely appreciated these decks, I think the adjustments in the 2nd edition make the improv experience even more streamlined and self-contained. Personally I find the process of drawing these well designed cards much less "intrusive" to the creative process and roleplaying than rolling on numerous tables.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice 2e: Cyberpunk Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Aaron [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2024 14:16:38

While the concept behind this is good, it does not work well for replacing dice rolls though if using percentile dice. The deck has a system for representing d100 rolls, but statistically is flawed, as the 5 for the single digit and the 50 for the tens digit both only occur 11 times instead of 12 like they should, while the 6 for the single digit and the 60 for the tens digit both appear 13 times.

Not sure if there is a flaw in the deck that I received, or if all of the decks have this flaw (suspect it is all of them and that maybe they were hoping no one would notice. So be warned that if you plan to use them for d100 alternative, that statistically it will not give evenly distributed random results. I did not investigate the other die types, as I generally only use d%.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hello! Your comment is well-timed, because I just today received in the mail the first test-print of the new version of the Base Deck, wherein those two typos are fixed, along with a few others! I only discovered the errors thanks to another user taking a close look at the cards and reaching out to me during the Cyberpunk deck development (I'm a one-person company, and most of my time is devoted to my day job as a teacher), and now I am moving along to updating the others to 'second edition' and fixing these issues. As I finalize a list of such errata, it will also be included in the files for the original, so users like yourself know what potential errors exist. If you discover any more, please feel free to email them to me at LarcenousDesigns@gmail.com so I can change them! Also, because the d100 is causing you problems and you are very observant about such things, if you would like to see the new deck's current draft state when I share the preview with my backers in a week or so, I would be happy to send you a free PDF/discounted PoD link for it, in exchange for hearing any feedback you have on the new features and the hopefully-fixed issues with the dice! Best, ~Nathan Rockwood
pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2024 10:57:14

So excited to receive my deck of cards the other day! They are awesome. However, my deck came printed on both sides. I'm cool with it because I basically got a deck for free, but I did want to let you know. Thanks again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words; I hope the cards serve you well! The double-sided printing is intentional; it is a 120-card-face-deck in 60 cards, so every face is unique :-) I made them this way because 60 cards is much easier to shuffle and draw from than a 120-card stack, especially if you sleeve them and they get slippery. And while there's no wrong way to draw and shuffle, I do it this way myself: To draw, I like to cut the deck and reveal the top or bottom card as I go, picking at random. To shuffle, I cut the deck and flip half of it over before shuffling, so even if I always use the 'top' or 'bottom' card, I still keep every face in play over time. If you have any questions about all that, feel free to email me at LarcenousDesigns@gmail.com! I love chatting about them.
pixel_trans.gif
The Portal Tarot: The Master
by Ronald [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2024 11:37:30

Great product! I bought the Apprentice Deck because I am new to Tarot, but I also bought this because of the excellent artwork on the cards. I'm a solo rpg player so that's what I'm using the cards for, in conjunction with the Gamemaster's Apprentice deck of course. Great design and nice looking cards!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Portal Tarot: The Master
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Portal Tarot: The Apprentice
by Ronald [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2024 21:01:49

I purchased these cards because I wanted to learn tarot. The Portal Tarot makes learning how to read the cards easy. This was a great first deck for me. The production and quality of this product is wonderful. I also ordered The Master Deck because I love the art and design. The Portal Tarot along with the Gamemaster's Apprentice deck makes a fantastic oracle for solo roleplaying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Portal Tarot: The Apprentice
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice 2e: Cyberpunk Deck
by Ronald G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2023 15:20:51

I just received my cyberpunk gma cards in the mail today. They look fantastic! I also ordered with this Lester Smith's Bookmark NoHP Cyberpunk sourcebook card and core rules. I want to play a solo cyberpunk game. This will be a nice little complete game that fits in my pocket!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice 2e: Cyberpunk Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice 2e: Cyberpunk Deck
by David E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2023 03:21:32

I prefer this deck's new 2e format. It doesn't change much, & its new tweaks seem few & small at first... But over the course of a game, it makes the deck more quick to digest & more efficient to use than previous GMA decks. It is a real improvement.

The Cyberpunk-themed content in this deck is also quite evocative & useful. There is no throw-away content here. E.g. in just a few draws, it has already juiced up my Starforged campaign with some fresh ideas & immersive details. Such good content in a deck can go a long way in a GM-less or solo-game.

My only caveat is that this deck's neon style against a dark background is so high-contrast, colourful, & visually busy to look at, that it can be painfully difficult & impractical to use for anybody who has a migraine condition or similar condition. That is an obstacle for me.

But I still admire this deck's style: It definitely suits its Cyberpunk theme. And if you purchase the deck in PDF, it also includes a low-ink version that is just in plain black-&-white against a pale background. That version is relatively simple & low-key to look at. So I'm having no difficulty using that lighter PnP version as my deck.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Deck of Tales
by Stefan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2023 07:32:46

I really like the Deck of Tales for what it is. My favorite parts of it are the binary oracle and the green two-symbol NPC generator. I haven't really used the symbols in the pink circle or the difficulty generator.

As for the main functionality (the three inspirational pictures), it's really useful and more portable than Rory's Story Cubes which I was using previously. Compared to Story Cubes, though, I feel the images are a bit harder to interpret. The fact that there are three on one card makes it more difficult for me to decide which to pick, as well. These are minor qualms, though.

The reasons I substracted one star:

  1. it doesn't have die roll results the way GMA does. If it did, it would be a better, more useful tool.
  2. the files provided in the PDF were difficult for my printing shop to work with. What printing shops prefer is large sheets (e.g., A3 size) with contiguous monochromatic space between cards so they can be machine cut. As a result, I ended up writing an Apple Shortcut to pick a card on my phone, instead, and have been using it that way.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Deck of Tales
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Andrew E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2023 10:52:30

This series of decks is, by far, the most used and most useful accessory I use in my games. When I run a game I lay out 4 or 5 so i can reference them discreetly (for example, when i need an NPC name or a location description). When I play solo games this is a fantastic all-in-one tool. I definitely recommend getting all of the themed decks, but starting with this basic set will give you a lot of mileage.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Stacey R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2023 08:24:26

I love this deck and it is very useful, especially as a solo tabletop player. However, I mainly use it for the dice rolls on the cards and for ease of use it would have been better to have used d4, d6 etc instead of pictures of the dice. If you are not familiar with the shapes of polyhedral dice it can be difficult to find which ones you want. I find it best to count in a clockwise directiin from the d4 dice.

These cards are great for playing on the go as they have most things you will need for GM inspiration while playing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
by Dr. L. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2023 11:47:10

i play ironsworn starforged and the GMA deck is a valuable addition to my solo experience, especially when travelling. On one card I get many inspirations (smell, hear, oracles, locations, etc.) that help me to flesh out my solo game. In addition to the cards, there is an adventure guide. The guide helps me to tell my solo star wars story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Davis S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2022 19:57:55

I use this deck each time I play! Always handy for generating an NPC, or deciding some flavor! Excited to use the other decks as well when I play campaigns in those settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Lesley N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2022 18:21:39

As I said, I'd review when they arrived, they arrived :)

First off, the deck box is a nice sturdy item. Second, the size is pocket friendly.

And 3rd THIRD!! this product is very well made. Because both sides are employed, there is no dead weight surfaces. Smooth slick surface means shuffling is very nice. This could be one of the best DM treats I have given to myself. I might get the base deck, but I think this deck can handle any of my needs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice 2e: Cyberpunk Deck
by Justin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2022 16:18:27

Regular user of GMA cards when I GM and more recently for solo play. I’ve found all the ones I have to be every oracle I need in an easy to use package. But as well as being useful for games like Shadowrun, Cyberpunk, Cy_Borg, etc this deck is an evolution on the form. My favourite changes are:

  • addition of “Yes, but” and “No, but” as “?”;
  • direction marker moved to the centre of the roll dial;
  • improved event sparks and organisations; and
  • easy readability. Highly recommended.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice 2e: Cyberpunk Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Daniel D. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2022 10:00:23

If the author reads this: please correct filenames to fit the actual ID number of the card. This issue affects ALL decks of "The Game Master's Apprentice".

I don't know why anyone else hasn't stumbled across this, but the filenames include the number of the card. And those filenames do NOT match the actual number ID printed on the card. That just means confusion when I use them in Fantasy Grounds. Now I roll for a random card, the number was 14 out of 120 possible cards. So I pick up the card with filename GMA Base VTT_Part14.jpg, but if you look at the card, the ID printed in the bottom right hand corner is 110/120. That is definately wrong. To remedy this, I now need to open all image files, look at their printed number on the lower right hand corner and change the corresponding filename. First off, we will see, if any cards are missing and therefore used double. And second of all, I have purchased ALL decks of The Game Master's Apprentice.

The reason for naming the filenames wrongly is quite simple: all cards should use 3 digits for their numbers. E.g.: GMA Base VTT_Part001.jpg instead of GMA Base VTT_Part1.jpg This causes the explorer to sort them wrongly, hence the mess at naming them correctly. Additionally, some operating systems or programs behave weirdly when using blanks/spaces in filenames. Therefore I would try to avoid using blanks/spaces within them and instead use CamelCase, hyphons or underscores. A good example for a filename would be: GMA_Base_VTT_Card001.jpg GMA_Base_VTT_Card089.jpg

You get the picture.

Other than that: GREAT resource! Cudos!

Other findings

  • I fixed the filenames for the Base deck. All cards are there. Don't know, if I will invest the time for the other decks. I also bought the printed cards. You won't notice the problem there ;-P
  • Age of Sail - All ID numbers seem to be cropped. Example: the ID 103 is not clear if it is 103 or 102. The last digit probably uses a wrong font size. It seemed to be ok for some id number, but not for all. E.g. 101 and 102 are correct font size, whereas 103-109 seem too big.

Filename | Actual Printed ID

  • 1 | 1
  • 2 | 10
  • 3 | 100
  • 4 | 101
  • 5 | 102
  • 6 | 103
  • 7 | 104
  • 8 | 105
  • 9 | 106
  • 10 | 107
  • 11 | 108
  • 12 | 109
  • 13 | 11
  • 14 | 110
  • 15 | 111
  • 16 | 112
  • 17 | 113
  • 18 | 114
  • 19 | 115
  • 20 | 116
  • 21 | 117
  • 22 | 118
  • 23 | 119
  • 24 | 12
  • 25 | 120
  • 26 | 13
  • 27 | 14
  • 28 | 15
  • 29 | 16
  • 30 | 17
  • 31 | 18
  • 32 | 19
  • 33 | 2
  • 34 | 20
  • 35 | 21
  • 36 | 22
  • 37 | 23
  • 38 | 24
  • 39 | 25
  • 40 | 26
  • 41 | 27
  • 42 | 28
  • 43 | 29
  • 44 | 3
  • 45 | 30
  • 46 | 31
  • 47 | 32
  • 48 | 33
  • 49 | 34
  • 50 | 35
  • 51 | 36
  • 52 | 37
  • 53 | 38
  • 54 | 39
  • 55 | 4
  • 56 | 40
  • 57 | 41
  • 58 | 42
  • 59 | 43
  • 60 | 44
  • 61 | 45
  • 62 | 46
  • 63 | 47
  • 64 | 48
  • 65 | 49
  • 66 | 5
  • 67 | 50
  • 68 | 51
  • 69 | 52
  • 70 | 53
  • 71 | 54
  • 72 | 55
  • 73 | 56
  • 74 | 57
  • 75 | 58
  • 76 | 59
  • 77 | 6
  • 78 | 60
  • 79 | 61
  • 80 | 62
  • 81 | 63
  • 82 | 64
  • 83 | 65
  • 84 | 66
  • 85 | 67
  • 86 | 68
  • 87 | 69
  • 88 | 7
  • 89 | 70
  • 90 | 71
  • 91 | 72
  • 92 | 73
  • 93 | 74
  • 94 | 75
  • 95 | 76
  • 96 | 77
  • 97 | 78
  • 98 | 79
  • 99 | 8
  • 100 | 80
  • 101 | 81
  • 102 | 82
  • 103 | 83
  • 104 | 84
  • 105 | 85
  • 106 | 86
  • 107 | 87
  • 108 | 88
  • 109 | 89
  • 110 | 9
  • 111 | 90
  • 112 | 91
  • 113 | 92
  • 114 | 93
  • 115 | 94
  • 116 | 95
  • 117 | 96
  • 118 | 97
  • 119 | 98
  • 120 | 99


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hello! I did see this earlier, but I was stuck in a teacher-training seminar all day, so I'm sorry I couldn't get back to you earlier. The numbering errors you point out are an artifact of how we made the first decks. I'm just a one-person shop working with a single graphic artist contractor, and I couldn't actually afford an Adobe subscription when we were building the first decks; as a result, I used a hacky solution that would take my spreadsheets of text, build a single card, and output it as a PDF document, and repeat that 120 times before then taking all 120 PDFs and merging them--and it sorted them in the order you find here, going 1, 10, 100, 101, etc. The actual print decks reflect that, with the combinations of front and back seeming fairly random if you don't know the grimy origin story. And when a user eventually asked for VTT files, I just printed the PDF out as image files, which Adobe automatically named in the order they existed as pages. I've been so accustomed to the embedded weirdness that in never occurred to me as an issue, though I can certainly see why it would be confusing, and I apologize for that. However, I actually have some good news for you--now that I can afford Adobe, we have solved the problem; I've literally got a deck of beta Cyberpunk themed cards sitting here that are numbered in order from 1-120, and which should be simple to output properly ordered VTT images from! And since I'm on summer break (except for the whole training, curriculum prep, and parenting side of things... pandemic adulting is THE WORST), I will be finally booting up that Kickstarter soon. Part of what we're going to do is (hopefully, depending on funding) update all the old decks to fix errors like this, as well as to add new content. And the older PDFs will be updated to the new versions, so since you already own them, you'll get those as soon as they're finished, whether you support the Kickstarter or not! In the meantime, if there's anything in particular you need help with, please feel free to reach out to me at LarcenousDesigns@gmail.com. Thanks, ~Nathan Rockwood
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 83 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf