Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The One Ring: Loremaster's Screen and Lake-town Guide
by Dylan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2020 22:43:44

The guide to Laketown is really fun to read. I love the new options and the extra lore about this place which was rather important in the Hobbit story.

The Loremaster screen is also extremely useful. I just printed it out to keep in a display folder, so there is still a bit of flipping back and forth, but I find some of these rules hard to remember so it's great.

I did get this pretty cheap as part of a deal, so I'm not entirely it's worth paying full price for this digital-only version, but the Laketown guide is still extremely valuable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring: Loremaster's Screen and Lake-town Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The One Ring™ Roleplaying Game
by Dylan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2020 22:39:13

This game is pretty fun. I believe it does well to capture the feel of the LotR universe, though some of the supernatural elements in some of the adventures (e.g. monstrous plant thing) don't seem to quite fit. As a GM running this for two players, I've enjoyed reading the background information included and the adventure seeds.

I do think that some parts of the game require a little bit too much dice rolling, though. I think the combat system is elegant, but in the base game your available actions are little lacking. Travelling seems cool, but as the GM I found it a little tedious. I built a flowchart to help and it has 15 elements to it. Cool, but a little too much. Also, the rules for extended encounters are a little funny and I found it very difficult to do anything except what was made explicit in the adventure text.

It's sad that the new edition has been halted, but there is a still a lot of content for this game. If the players and GM love LotR, I think you'll enjoy this, but if not, give it a pass.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™ Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Adventures in Middle-earth: The Road Goes Ever On
by Andrew L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2020 12:11:26

The Road Goes Ever On is a great product for a Loremaster who wants his campaign to range over a large area of Middle-earth. It does differ in several ways from the previous Journeys & Maps for The One Ring. For one thing, the new booklet lacks a section on boats and ships (with expanded rules for river and sea Journeys); perhaps these rules for Adventures in Middle-earth were intended to be included in a future Gondor Region Guide. The previous sections on "Boats and Ships" and "Regional Hazard Episodes" have been replaced with "Events Expanded" (suggestions for expanding on Journey Events), "Encounters on the Road" (rules for NPC encounters), "Dangers Along the Way" (pre-generated enemy troops), "Battle Maps" (a pair of maps for camps along the road), "Avoiding Battle" (an optional system for awarding Experience for avoiding battle) and "Sights None Yet Have Seen" (options for awarding Experience on Journeys).

I was happy to discover that the PDFs for the included maps had been updated from the ones for J&M. Specifically, I see that the Mines of the Dwarves in the southern Blue Mountains are present on the PDFs, where they are missing from the ones for the older set. These maps seem to be otherwise identical to those in the TOR product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth: The Road Goes Ever On
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The One Ring™ Roleplaying Game
by Konrad . [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2019 10:15:27

The One Ring is a gem. I love it to bits. It's the best, most faithful adaptation of the source material I've ever seen in a game. The authors managed to capture the spirit of the Professor's works, translate them to custom mechanics (!), then present it in a truly immersive way. It's a Middle-Earth game I've always wanted: Beautiful on the surface, yet hiding a bleak post-apocalyptic world right beneath the surface. It's a story of a world that falls to Darkness and the heroes figthing an uneven battle to preserve it, presented with underlying melancholy instead of crude, in-your-face grim-dark imagery.

Also, I struggle to call it an RPG game.

It's slick, easy and extremely fun, yet very faithful to the Middle-Earth. The rules concentrate on things integral to Tolkien's books, treating everything that does not come with the territory as redundant. Perhaps unsurprisingly, it makes The One Ring something of a tunnel vision game. It replicates the experience of a Hobbit-like adventure to a Z, and bars any other kind of gameplay. As a result, it feels more like a paragraph board game, only with a gamemaster in place of a paragraph book. Don't get me wrong, it's terrific. However, if you come to the game with classic RPG expectations, you may find yourself disappointed. There's not much of RPG freedom to be had here.

The game follows a pretty strict narrative structure. Each adventure is a self-contained story, with clear-set objectives. There is an exposition, a mandatory (!) travel phase interrupted with combat and encouter (NPC) phases, a resolution and Fellowship phase where the characters return home. As a rule, the characters may undertake one adventure per year - the Fellowship phase describes everything the characters do in the following months. Each phase is scripted and carried out according to the same exact rules. Dice rolls, random events and refer-the-table resolutions are rife, and executed with polished brilliance.

As an example, the travel phase takes place on a literal board: The players move on a map, which the GM resolves with a hexagonic, colour-coded version they can't see. During combat, there's a surprise / initiative phase, then all enemies are placed so that each PC is fighting at least one of them - there's no tactical movement. The players have to assume one of four stances (which determines both their attack and defence values), then either attack or take a single action ascribed to their stance. Tactical options boil down to the prescribed game mechanics. The Fellowship phase allows the characters to spend experience and recover from some of the ailing effects; there is no character advancement or reducing Corruption during the adventure.

Speaking of Corruption: The One Ring embraces Tolkien's views of sin and human nature in all their puritan, black-and-white, zero-one glory. The game contains a Corruption mechanics similar to Ravenloft's Powers Checks. The characters' trangressions decay their integrity, ultimately making them fall to shadow. I adore the concept, but the standards are set impossibly high. Any voluntary misdeed results in an automatic Corruption gain: For example, lying or deceiving gives automatic 2 points. That's true to the source material but, in my opinion, it undermines the role-playing aspect of the game. It throws moral ambiguity and character development right out of the window, punishing the players for playing anything but the carbon copies of Tolkien's goody-two-shoes. Characterisation is often quoted as the biggest flaw of the Professor's books, and for a good reason.

As you can see, the game really captures the spirit of a Hobbit narrative. As you can also see, it doesn't allow you to do any other kind of narrative in Middle-Earth. It's polished, full of heart and absolutely marvellous at what it does. Do come prepared, however. It's not quite an RPG game in the sense you might be used to. It doesn't make it any less of a terrific game, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™ Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
by Frederick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2019 20:52:57

Going back to the roots! I kinda liked the card system of the 3rd edition, but 2nd ed gave more flexibility. With 4th ed, it just brings back a better system and makes the careers more open to either the chage between or specializing in what the Chaos Gods gave you. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Slaughter in Spittlefeld
by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2019 23:37:30

This review contains minor spoilers, though no specifics, for elements of this adventure.

An excellent one shot adventure or one-off segment of a sandbox game, or any urban crawl with a focus on Ubersreik. There are elements I have minor issues with -- namely, the lack of a player map -- but a little bit of photoshop, a blunt MS Paint retexturing, or a copy of the GM map without the Key alleviates this easily enough, and this is still my favorite of the Ubersreik Adventures despite that failure.

The NPCs are an absolute joy to play with well enough defined backgrounds and motivations to inspire a good night of game with threads that might bleed out into a larger game if you'd want without much GM input. The lack of combat, save for the final confrontation, also helps inspire the closed room mystery element and remind players that the Old World shouldn't all be bloodshed and violence on a PC level. The confrontation is malleable enough due to the Warhammer world's inclusion of mutants and wild methods of mutation that you could, as I did, turn her into something more harmless and blind in her hunger rather than the actual villain at hand if your players truly despise combat as a whole.

This is a must-have adventure for any GM running WFRP 4th Edition!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Slaughter in Spittlefeld
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Adventures in Middle-earth - Erebor Adventures
by Daniel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2019 00:19:23

From Fandomentals reviewer Molly: As supplements go, this is a very good one. There is, admittedly, nothing especially, well, special about it, but a good amount of effort was clearly applied into making a region not much thought about outside of the hardcore fans into something interesting, alive, and worth exploring. The effort that went into connecting all six adventures, and into the illustrations, are especially noteworthy, and deserving of praise. If you’re interested in Lord of the Rings, but don’t feel like going to anywhere from the trilogy in your game, this is well worth a look and the time you’ll spend with it.

Full review here: https://www.thefandomentals.com/go-beyond-the-hobbit-with-cubicle-7s-erebor-adventures/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth - Erebor Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Slaughter in Spittlefeld
by Thomas F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2019 19:21:21

I actually ran this module today. Was looking for a story to try out WFRP 4e with some new players and set them in Spittlefeld after i saw this yesterday. We did really enjoy it. It can be completed over the course of one session and as a one shot you can serve the players the "you were just looking for cheap lodging and ended here"-plothook. The NPCs were a joy to play and very entertaining while the setting itself is bleak and threatening, which really evokes this particular Warhammer vibe. Can recommend this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Slaughter in Spittlefeld
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
by Andrew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2019 07:31:11

Excellent remake.

Having played the original many years ago and planning to run TEW with a set of friends next year (and maybe for a few to come), I was really looking forward to what had been promised with this. It didn't let me down.

The scenario(s) are largely unchanged from the original in terms of plot, characters and themes. However, the Mistaken Identity and Shadows over Bogenhafen are now much better connected to create what is effectively a seamless link between the two. In addition to this, the Grognard boxes offer all kinds of alternative ways for handling plot points for veteran players, although there is no reason to try these with any group if you prefer over the vanilla content. Doing this will place a little more work on the GM as they're only slightly fleshed out hooks, but the book would be about 300 pages if they were all complete threads.

The background section on Bogenhafen is useful and large parts can be ported to any other medium to large town in the Empire. The new rules are useful but nothing particularly ground-breaking or not easily house-ruled by a GM, but still nice to have officially.

One or two very minor gripes. The pregen characters will be in the Companion, so I'm not sure yet how the default playthrough will work - I'm currently assuming they'll be at least similar to those in the original though. Also, I think the synopsis could do with a better overview of the plot for the whole of the TEW campaign. We know the latter stages are being reworked (SRiK is dropped in favour of a new instalment) and Empire in Flames is getting some amount of rework. Obviously, anyone completely new to TEW will have no grounding at all. Yet we have a number of sections which refer to the wider plot but will be explained later.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set Character Pack
by Orin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2019 16:13:10

A collection of moderately develop characters for WFRP. these are the cast used in the game's art, so they're good for brutally murdering in fron of the players to send the message you aren't going to let them off the hook too much longer.

some of the stats don't properly add up (the halfling's wounds the most notable offense here) so i don't think you can use them as PCs without issue. 5 stars anyways for being free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set Character Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
by Corey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 14:42:37

An absolutely stellar remake of the original adventure. The absolutely massive number of adventure hooks (and options for changing it up for those that have played the adventure before) easily puts this as one of the best RPG supplements released this year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 12:45:37

I played the original 1E The Enemy Within campaign many years ago, and I have a full set of the 1E campaign. This update for WFRP 4e by Graeme Davis, one of the original authors of the TEW campaign, is a superb update to the original. But beyond the adventure itself, this product has great replayability value with its supplemental guide to the market town of Bogenhafen, with the Cubicle 7 WFRP trademark multiple plot hooks for every single location, enough to keep coming back to the well again and again. Also, the artwork is fantastic. I expected a lot from this and it delivered.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Heart of Glass
by Rally I. t. V. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2019 13:40:40

(Slightly modifed from a comment I've made on a different site).

I really liked Mad Men and have been lukewarm on the rest of the adventures in this line. Mostly as by and large the documents themselves don't lend themselves well to table use (more designed to be read than run).

This is the first one where the adventure itself disappointed me however. So many times does the text basically say "your players have to do this thing. If they don't, please force them".

I'm all for some gentle prodding and good players understand that there is a certain unspoken contract not to go too off the rails, but this adventure is a little extreme in that for me. I can always make up some alternate routes and outcomes but I guess I'd like to text to work a little more with me on that.

I will also say the later bit of the adventure seems lacking. Without spoilers, Part 3 onwards feels like a totally different adventure even though it's really where the players solve the mystery. The area, the motivations of those involved, and the ending are all a bit underdeveloped to my eyes.

Some good ideas and I'm always happy to learn more about Ubersreik but on a this is one release I'm not at all impressed with.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Heart of Glass
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Bait and Witch
by Connor M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2019 22:24:39

Great short story, also serving as useful resource for thinking about how to run the Watch in Ubersreik, re-using the alley map and so on. I appreciate an adventure which is also a resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Bait and Witch
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2019 11:05:47

Beautiful wrapping and renewal of an old system. Lots of stuff avalible already. both on DriveThruRPG and on Cubicle 7's pages. I have bought everything and are currently kindly nudging my son towards trying the Warhammer FRP 4th edition out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 679 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG