Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Engine: The AGE Roleplaying Game Magazine #1
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/09/2024 15:59:33

I love fanzines, magazines, and any serialized content I can get for the games I love. So as soon as I saw "Engine: The AGE Roleplaying Game Magazine #1" was out, I grabbed it right away! I love the AGE system and wish I did more with it. This inaugural issue features content from Joseph Carriker, Stephen Michael DiPesa, Steve Kenson, Jon Leitheusser, Ian Lemke, and Malcolm Sheppard—a who's who of AGE development. And at $6 for 34 pages it is also not a bad deal. Looking forward to see a lot more of these!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Engine: The AGE Roleplaying Game Magazine #1
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five and Infinity: Chapter 0 - The Adventure Generator (FREE!)
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2024 16:35:38

This is just plain genius. It's pretty crazy to realize just how much of this stuff - be it plots, backgrounds, twists and complications, et.al. - can fit into a handful of Randoms Tables! Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five and Infinity: Chapter 0 - The Adventure Generator (FREE!)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mutants & Masterminds Deluxe Hero's Handbook
by James [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2024 11:00:14

Good: Highly flexible power creation system without excessive complexity. Many good archetype examples. Polished core system, well-tuned to the genre. Power level system mechanically supports game balance. Resistance-based damage system fits the genre better than HP.

Bad: Book would benefit from more and better combat examples. Villain stat blocks are poorly layed out, making them difficult to read.

Overall: Not perfect, but very very good. A clear leader for mid-weight superhero systems (lighter than Champions, crunchier than Masks).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Deluxe Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk Slice: Near Futures & Hackable Selves for Modern AGE
by Thierry Date Added: 02/27/2024 04:36:20

I would like to give you a good mark but my shioment is locked in an UPS warehouse not far from me in FRANCE for now 13 days and it is impossible to contacte them. I have tried to create an account on their site, it didn't work even if they said that I already exist. And it is impossible to contact them by phone, you always have an answering machine. So I guess I throw more than 40€ thru the windows, great. By the way UPS say that they need some information from you to pass the customs, strange since it is in their warehouse in FRANCE.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Slice: Near Futures & Hackable Selves for Modern AGE
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Sewer Master - A Solo Adventure
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2023 09:07:21

Short solo, 53 entries (not including the author's afterword). Can be resolved very quickly.

The author asked for feedback.

Good points: (i) links seem accurate; (ii) variations in play are possible, giving replay value; (iii) decent attempt to build atmosphere, foreshadowing the climactic encounter; (iv) sensible decision to start small.

Possible improvements: (i) some lengthy entries, at times overwritten; (ii) a number of paragraphs have neither choices nor significant elements like combat; (iii) little opportunity for exploration; (iv) the detail of what mysterious liquid the vial in 012 contains is not resolved. Failure results could be significantly shortened e.g. 002 Eaten.

As a first effort, worth four stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sewer Master - A Solo Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.
pixel_trans.gif
Mutants & Masterminds Atlas of Earth-Prime
by Jamie T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2023 23:52:02

This Atlas is possibly the best Superhero Genre supplement book I have seen in quite awhile. For years most superhero games like to do cities and smaller regions for background. ATLAS OF EARTH-PRIME brings back the world concept and does so in spades. They dispensed with including info on characters that have already appeared. In it's place is more of a background of how that area is changed due to a super presence and the other heroes in the area. It doesn't bog itself down with numbers and stats instead offering background on people places and things. Some characters do have stats, however here it is the heroes that fill in the gapes. I mean even Gotham is Batman's, but he isn't always around. Filling in this space is where this book shines for me. Now don't get me wrong there are plenty of heroes added, a prison and various other things stated out. But it feels like everything included is important. This gives their world a lot more heft. You walk away with more a of firm view of what the world is about. Most people interested in Mutants & Masterminds will probably have been influenced by the Marvel and DC comics history and lines. This definitely places in one supplement a world much like those worlds, but very unique way.
Even if Mutants & Masterminds isn't your bag this makes a great reference on how to add to your own supers game. There is plenty of ideas to strip mine here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Atlas of Earth-Prime
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rainbringers and Stormsingers
by Reyn [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2023 19:18:00

A clever little set of simple encounters to get you started in an AGE game with plenty of freedom to add you own stories and ideas! What a lovely format!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rainbringers and Stormsingers
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy AGE 2e Core Rulebook
by ypikaye [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2023 07:53:40

This new edition improves many little things, BUT the main problem is still there: battles are too long due to the inflation of opponents' and characters' hit points. Modern Age had a viable solution, as did Fantasy Age Companion. But nothing is implemented in V2. Yet, there are plenty of solutions to this issue and to the randomness of stunts. This V2 should have considered the numerous feedbacks on this problem since V1. I don't know if there will be a new Compagnion V2, but as it stands, without homebrew, the battles remain too long and not nervous enough. A disappointment in this respect, whereas the other improvements are excellent. Try again.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE 2e Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy AGE Bestiary VTT Token Pack
by Reyn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2023 19:22:05

Love these tokens! I also love that a few of the token have variants!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Bestiary VTT Token Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Book of Fiends: A Malefic Bestiary for 5E
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2023 02:51:46

From the statblocks, the art, the writing, this book is fantastic. The lore is written clearly and in nonspecific style and the stories for these monsters are easily slotted into any real world mythology but, as we're dealing with the hells, it's decidely semitic in theme. It's a joy to read it and the pdf bookmarks are handy for navigation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Fiends: A Malefic Bestiary for 5E
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy AGE 2e Core Rulebook
by Andrew N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2023 14:13:03

Such a great and underrated System! You really can play in every setting you want. It supports heroic, dangerous and horror playstyles.

So many Backgrounds, Ancestries, Specialisationcs and Talents that help you to flesh out one of the 4 classes you begin with!

The Stunt-Point System is a great ressource to spice up your game. You don´t need to plan everything. Let the dice tell the Story/Scene for you. For me, as a GM, it helps a lot to keep the Game Session alive. Enemies are sometimes really tough, but its a great chance for those Stunts to shine!

For me, Fantasy Age beats Dungeons & Dragons, Pathfinder and Savage Worlds by far! Green Ronin gave us a brilliant game! I hope that more people would play it. Fantasy Age is brilliant!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE 2e Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tavastia
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2023 01:20:34

Very interesting addition to the lore with a sort viking aesthetic. I would say a must have if you want to be inspired for these sort of elements in your campaign. Only thing that brings down the rating is the lack of visual media like illustrations or images. Would really be enhanced with more visual media to inspire the reader a bit more!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tavastia
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy AGE 2e Core Rulebook
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2023 05:17:04

I want to love this book.

It blends a lot of Fantasy Age 1st Edition and Companion rules together, coming in at twice the page count of 1st Edition. Adding a fourth character class (socially skilled Envoy), 3 player ancestries and brings in things that were common house rules (a Specailsiation at 1st level) and a range of optional rules. Class specific stunts lend depth to class choice, whilst still allowing enough cross over for flexibility.

The mechanics remain simple and elegant. Character creation adds to 1st Edition having a random element from Ancestry features - two random options can now be switched for one fixed if a specific character concept is in mind. Adding a Secrets Talent tree for each ancestry allows characters who want to lean onto the classic/sterotype is a great idea. Which is topped by having a whole set of Specailisation for exotic ancestries (divine/fey/demonic) as a bolt on, that could even be discovered later in play. Personal challenge mechanics to allow depth of roleplaying to have xp rewards are interesting, but will need

One especailly nice touch is Defeat Conditions, taking the next logical step on standard conditions brought in here, where 0 Health puts target out of fight. So PCs don't have to leave a trail of corpses across town, and a party wipe can become a "captured for later" situation without obvious fudging. Which is good for forging lasting nemesis relations, as well as being forgiving on new players.

... but there are a few issues.

Art work, whilst generally good, ranges from brilliantly evocative to cartoonishly bad. Layout can be challenging, particularly in the Adversaries chapter (which is substantially larger than 1st Edition).

The biggest let down was the campaign setting chapter. After Highfalls Swale in 1st Edition (a self contained mountain region for apprentice characters, that could be plug and play into any game world) I had very high hopes for the nautical themed Breakwater Bay in here, especially with the book's hints about it being part of a larger setting of Stranger Shores which sounds intriguing. Its okay but very bland with little of way of conflict (the book is so inclusive it includes pronouns for NPCs, which as a GM I'd rather select myself, if not plot critical) set up for potential GMs to use as a springboard. The geography and cartography of Kassa Island is painfully bad (like, multiple branching out flows from every lake to the sea, bad).

The inculded adventure (always welcome) is solid if linear, and possibly a little quick to reveal a major challenge to a Stranger Shores background.

In all; a good game, and ideal for beginner players, inexperienced GMs would have a hard time expanding from what is in the book to an ongoing campaign.

My advice to Green Ronin would be: re-release Highfalls Swale, including a couple more adventures in addition to Choosing Night, as a stand alone product. Then tie it in (property inheritence trope?) to Breakwater Bay for travel and exploration; after hiring any high school geography teacher for a day's consultancy to correct the basics and split Kassa into a three island archepeligo with at least two potential home sites. Seed with a half dozen adventure sites or fractions. And you have a solid campaign foundation.

And if smugglers are going to be a be a thing ... you need what? between where? and why? answered even if only vaguely.

Best of luck, this game deserves a good run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE 2e Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy AGE 2e Core Rulebook
by Reyn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2023 12:13:45

So excited to see this finally come around! It combines some of the best parts of the sisterhood of AGE RPGs into an outstanding version of an already excellent game. My three-year compaign will surely turn into several more years, and my adventures on the ACA will benefit greatly from the new stuff included!

Highlights for me: -the new Envoy class! -Relationships! -Peril and Daring! -Class Stunts! -Revamped Basic Stunts! -More Spells! -More Specializations! -An exciting setting Stranger Shores and Breakwater Bay!

Thanks for all the hard work Ronins!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sword Chronicle - Feudal Fantasy Roleplaying
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2023 13:57:30

Disclaimer: I have not played the Song of Ice and Fire RPG this was ported from, only played with what is in this book.

If this were a freshman term paper I would call it a 70% C-.

First the good: Very interesting take on tying players into a larger purpose. Overall a good mechanical system. Good ideas on incorporating sorcery, and thematically good choices for a ~high middle ages+fantasy world. The house management and warfare rules are good, without soul-crushing amounts of fiddly detail.

Now the bad: Felt exactly like someone copy pasted bits and pieces from somewhere else to make this. Lots of tables that would be much more useful together are separated. For example, personal weapons costs/weight listed on page 113, all mechanical information on pages 136-137. Some tables don't match between different sections. Defense holdings have different stats in chapter 5 vs. chapter 10. There are items missing descriptions or stats (Sand Steed), and descriptions missing items (Telescope). This badly needed one more diligent editing pass. Also the "pretty" font in some headings is nearly illegible.

There are also many areas where more detail and thoughtfulness would have helped enormously. For instance, the troops one's house can raise have different options of abilities to improve, with no real explanation for why or how they are useful. It's great that my on-foot peasant levy can improve their animal handling ability, but to what end? Also, hilariously, rules as written cavalry units are tied for slowest on the battlefield, with most infantry moving double their speed.

The final verdict: I got excited by this, I played with it for a game, and then I realized that if I wanted it to actually work I would have to edit and rework about 40% of the book. There are a lot of good ideas here, but I am really glad that I got this in a bundle, I would have been disappointed at paying full price for it. The shortcomings would have been much less frustrating if it didn't have so much potential. There are plenty of simply mediocre RPGs, but one that could have been great and missed sticks out much more.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sword Chronicle - Feudal Fantasy Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 666 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf