Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: The Conspiracy
by Steven [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2024 15:59:07

This captures the popularity of conspiracy theories in media during the 1990's. It took heavy inspiration X-Files and turned it into something very unique and fun. You're not just dealing with cultists and monsters; you're dealing with unwitting pawns and innocent civilians as you investigate and hopefully, terminate the real threats. That is what truly keeps me coming back for more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Conspiracy
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
by Jacques [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2024 03:56:00

There have been a number of introductory scenarios for jumpstarting a Delta Green campaign. Adam Scott Glancy’s Puppet Shows and Shadow Plays is the OG. And while it's not without issues, it’s still among the best.

For a start it gets 10/10 for tone and genre. More than any Delta Green scenario I’ve played, Puppet Shows really scratches the detective procedural itch. Most Delta Green scenarios have a murder mystery or disappearing person(s) premise, but this premise tends to blur quickly into other genres (body horror, bug hunt, surreal horror). Puppet Shows hews more consistently to the tropes. Players get to fully immerse themselves in the roles of True Detectives, pursuing answers to murders both gory and intriguing. It’s rare for our table to spend a full thirty minutes puzzling over evidence without anyone getting bored, GM included.

Equally outstanding is the setting of Arizona. Its contemporary Western feel is super evocative and a nice break from the alternating white small-town backwaters or big city locales that situate most other DG scenarios. If approached with sensitivity, the reservation-federal politics add a welcome wrinkle of complexity. We foregrounded this by having one of our team play a member of the tribal police assisting the feds.

The downsides pertain to the railroaded way in which much of the scenario is written. First published in the 90s, Puppet Shows bears the linear markings of too much of that era’s adventure design. Now, there’s nothing wrong with a degree of predetermination. After all, this is a murder mystery: there is only one possible murderer and the players WILL find that person provided they don’t utterly fail at being detectives.

But a mystery scenario should offer a range of avenues to arrive there. Clues need to be sufficient and ideally discoverable in a few different ways and places. Puppet Shows falls short here. There is one key clue that players are unlikely to unearth without heavy GM prompting (so much so that the scenario suggests local law enforcement can just find it if the players don’t). And there’s one essential location which has insufficiently compelling leads pointing players there; leads so absent that a dream sequence of all things is suggested as a means of telling the players they should go there. I highly encourage GMs to concoct a few additional leads and clues that give the players greater agency.

These design choices may derive from the fact that Puppet Shows was originally angled at first-time players. Apparently such players needed hand-holding while they got comfortable with the system and setting. This might have made sense in the 90s, when Puppet Shows was the only introduction to Delta Green. But in 2024, this scenario is the go-to introduction for playing Delta Green in the 90s. That difference makes all the difference. And whether they’re experienced or novice, players don’t need to be railroaded. They certainly don’t need NPCs or GM-initiated dream sequences doing their detective work for them.

And yet…Puppet Shows gets so much right on the macro scale. The premise, the villain, the escalating mystery, the showdown, the hints of mysterious benefactors and governmental antagonists - these are a compact yet flexible kit of parts with which to get players hooked on a Delta Green campaign.

The proof is in the playing. There are objectively better written and designed Delta Green scenarios. But few have been as enjoyable for myself and my players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Operation FULMINATE for Foundry VTT
by Adam [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2024 19:16:55

Great scenario. This module worked well in Foundry and my players enjoyed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Operation FULMINATE for Foundry VTT
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The 'King in Yellow' Tarot Deck
by Michael [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2024 16:16:14

Loved it. Wonderful art and a perfect pairing to the campaign. I would have liked descriptions of the card meanings, but that is easily looked up online.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The 'King in Yellow' Tarot Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
by Eric [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2024 19:34:27

This scenario is perfect for what its meant to do - introduce new agents into Delta Green. The vibes are perfectly creepy, and it leaves plenty of space for a Handler to lean into the aspects of the game (roleplay, investigation, combat, the supernatural) that they and their players find most appealing.

I just recently launched a new Delta Green actual play campaign, and I knew from the very start that I wanted to use PS&SPs as the intro scenario. It did not disappoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The 'King in Yellow' Tarot Deck
by David [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2024 08:58:47

This is a beautiful deck of card. The art is top notch and pdf well laid out.

But

If you want you use it as a tarot deck there is no explanation as to what each card represents. Its like buying a a sports car and when it shows up, there is no engine. Sure it looks great, but you cant used them for anything other then a prop, unless you are going to adlib what ever card represents.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The 'King in Yellow' Tarot Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
by Adam [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2024 15:15:16

I really like the books and the pdfs. I've bought all the Operation & evidence pdfs and a few hardcovers (A Night at the Opera & Iconoclasts). The artwork is great, the system is similar to CoC 7e. It's cerebral and unnatural. Some constructive criticism I have to mention some odd sentence/paragraph structure that really should have been handled by an editor. Here's an example, Agent's Handbook page 27 Optional Bonus Skill Point Packages: MILITARY OFFICER: Bureaucracy, Firearms, History, Military Science (choose one), Navigate, Persuade, Unarmed Combat; choose one: Artillery, Heavy Machinery, Heavy Weapons, HUMINT, Pilot (choose one), or SIGINT. After reading it a few times, it makes sense. When your trying to do a zero session with new players it's a headache. Game is great. Just my nitpicking.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
by Sean [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2024 13:56:39

Pros: Puppet Shows and Shadow Plays absolutely has some merits. The PDF and art are of high quality and make, as is typical for Arc Dream's products. It's reasonably priced, and you can rest assured that, as a Handler, you're getting your money's worth even if you never run it

just being able to have the statblocks, and see how the encounter is structured, is immensely helpful.

In addition, having another "intro" Operation is always welcome to help break up the stranglehold of Last Things Last as an intro (nothing wrong with LTL, just nice to have options). If you're into the MAJESTIC-DG conflict, Shadow Plays sets that up quite nicely (which, in turn, lets you flow pretty decently into Convergence, the other '90's published operation, which also features MAJESTIC). The antagonist is suitably well-thought out and interesting, and very in flavor of the '90's X-File, Men-In-Black theme that Conspiracy-era DG ops love to XXX into.

Cons: Uniquely (in my experience) among DG Operations, Shadow Plays pulls its punches rather significantly. Information is given to the players even if they decide not to pursue it. Several fights are, while admittedly cinematic, also slightly "scripted" through the use of bullet-sponge NPCs, which makes it somewhat dissonant among operations and may provide the players with a false sense of the game. This also can make the operation feel a bit "scripted" at times. There is a large-scale manhunt midway through the module which has very limited support or mechanical advice on how to run, but which is fairly vital to the op as a whole. Some more support on how to run that, or some sort of minigame, would have been lovely. Others have also stated the heavy Native American religious presence in Shadow Plays - as I'm not Apache, I don't know as to the accuracy of this portrayal (though I trust Arc Dream far more than others to handle this respectfully), but that could possibly prove a source of discomfort for Handlers. Or not! Finally, and not necessarily a Con, but Shadow Plays is the second main operation, and the third (?) op in general, published in the 1990's "Conspiracy" era of Delta Green (after it's sister Op "Convergence" and the MAJESTIC-centered "Jack Frost"). While this setting is quite juicy, it also means that Handlers may have difficulty integrating the op with more "modern" operations that deal with the Outlaws and the Program (the common fix is to just replace the Program with MAJESTIC, which is what I did, but that is an additional constraint on Handlers). Overall: Puppet Shows and Shadow Plays is somewhat flawed in its execution, but it is clearly made with heart and effort, and is of high quality and reasonable price, like all Arc Dream products. Running PSSP may require some Handler tinkering for the Op, and larger Handler structuring to integrate it into a wider campaign, but, ultimately, your players will likely relish the mouthfeel and setting of the op, and come away wanting more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Convergence
by Ramon [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2024 08:27:09

Few adventures manage to tell you what the game is about as Convergence does for Delta Green. Strongly based on an X-files mood but with an horrific twist, it pits the players against some of the most important antagonists of the 90s period of the Conspiracy, without letting them more than a glimpse.

The only counterpoint I would find would be that, for an intro, or maybe a first adventure, is quite lethal. There's an scene in which, basically, killing PCs or not is just a matter of referee's fiat. But apart from that, an excellent product, classic adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Convergence
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Briefing Documents
by Nicolas [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2024 17:45:49

I had the older version on a different account that I lost access to and there are missing pages like the character creation etc which made the old one invaluable to have at the table for a player to whip up a new Agent



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Briefing Documents
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: God's Teeth
by Michael [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2024 18:33:42

My spoiler-free review of this campaign is that I liked it, but it's nowhere near as good as the masterpiece that is Impossible Landscapes. It features copious amounts of both child abuse and animal abuse, to the point that even I as an experienced CoC and DG GM would be hesitant to run it for any table, even a group of my friends. And it doesn't really feel like a Lovecraftian horror campaign, more like a gritty detective drama with some supernatural elements.

Potential spoilers from here on:

God's Teeth begins with the Agents being contacted by a rogue DG operative for an unsanctioned operation. They are to travel to a remote orphanage/farm and kill the 4 adults there, all of whom are abusing the children. This sets into motion a series of events which leads to the Agents returning to cover their tracks 15 years later and to deal with the fallout of what happened at that orphanage.

It turns out that the orphanage was a cover for a cult of Shub-Niggurath which was led by a powerful witch seeking the recipe for immortality. This recipe just so happened to involve the heinous abuse of both children and animals.

15 years after the Agents kill the witch and her lackeys, two shocking murders occur just days apart. The murder victims can both be traced back to the orphanage, and it isn't long until the Agents discover that the culprits are a group of children who survived that horrible place. It turns out that the Agents themselves, the group of survivors, and any number of other people and animals are just pawns in a game of chess being played by an ancient, hungry god. They are the God's Teeth.

To address the elephant in the room, yeah, this campaign delves into some really heavy stuff. Honestly the animal abuse depicted in this scenario bothered me far more than the child stuff, especially because it frequently involved domestic animals like dogs and cats. I've run many, many horror RPGs for many different groups and I consider myself to be pretty good at knowing when to delve into disturbing content and when to ease off, but I don't think I could ever run God's Teeth for any group. It's just hard for me imagine any group of people having fun playing this particular scenario at a table, no matter how much they like Delta Green or how unbothered they think they would be by animal/child abuse.

I’m not a prude; I love all sorts of dark and disturbing stuff and gore and taboo subjects. But in my opinion, the content depicted in this scenario crosses a line where it just becomes impossible to have any sort of fun playing pretend characters in a fake world, even if that world is supposed to be full of macabre, morbid secrets. And that's a shame because I really like a lot of the stuff in this book.

But there is a lot of other plot stuff in God's Teeth that I'm not a huge fan of. I thought that the Shub-Niggurath cult was way more interesting than Bast and her hunger, but unfortunately that cult is kind of just an inciting force for the campaign and nothing more.

All of the plot points, characters, locations, and themes depicted in this book just don't really come together in a satisfying way. It felt like the author had a lot of really cool ideas and really tried his hardest to make them all work together, but he couldn't quite do it.

Honestly, I think he would have done much better to just leave out the child abuse stuff and all of the weird predeterminism stuff and to write a campaign that is just a group of Agents working in the service of Bast - either knowingly or unknowingly - to take down a Shub-Niggurath cult.

The whole section that starts off the second chapter in 2016, wherein the Agents travel back to Maryland to assist in uncovering a mass grave at the orphanage, just seems unnecessary and out of place. Your Agents are supposed to get really into the idea of crafting an official narrative around the crimes and deciding which agency to blame for the whole mess, but I'm just not sure that any group is going to get too invested in this part. It kind of just feels like a waste of 5-6 game sessions to me.

Fortunately a lot of the other sections are a lot stronger and more compelling, but like I said before, God's Teeth just doesn't have that Lovecraft feel for me.

The book itself is well-written, though, and I like the little "synchronicity" moments, even if they feel like they're trying to imitate the feel of the surreal moments from Impossible Landscapes.

Maybe your particular group will absolutely love this scenario, but for me, it's hard to imagine sitting at a table with 3-5 people on a Saturday night and actually having fun with many of the parts of this campaign, no matter who those 3-5 people are and how skillfully I present the content as a Handler.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: God's Teeth
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
by Daniele [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2024 04:16:51

I stumbled upon Delta Green while getting over 2 weeks of heavy flu. In just 4 months became my favorite TTRPG. Being a GM has never been so easy if you follow the easy rules and tips to setup a Sandbox Campaign. The published campaigns/operations are some of the best researched and written material I ever read in my 200+ TTRPG books collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Better Angels: The Good, the Bad, and the Hunky
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2024 18:11:44

Pretty straight forward ruling and intertwining between rules and lore, only issue is that it's subject to making cringey podcasts where people can overlook the sole issue where the players must make a choice between listening to their demon and resisting their demon. My take though. Overall pretty based game and concept where people are forced to do evil to keep the powers of evil out of the hands of eveen worse people



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Better Angels: The Good, the Bad, and the Hunky
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
by Edward [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2024 12:39:40

This is my favourite TTRPG!

It is the first system where I feel confident running my own adventures/operations and not depending on pre-written ones (though there are some great pre-written ones).

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
by Harald [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2024 21:05:52

This is an adventure with a nostalgic touch for me: I got my a-levels in the 90s, and remember some of the topics touched in the game: the Apache Business Consortium (that built the Casino and really got the people some money) had not been founded, cell-phones where new and female action stars were rare. This is also a classic scenario in the sense that (one of) the antagonists is THE very most met antagonist in all Lovecraftian gaming ever. Mr. N. is not the main problem, though: he is a horror element that is both helpful and horrible. In my opinion the best way to use him. The real opponent is a terror in it's own rights -really NOT nice- but not invincible. The scenario is well made, some details are hints to fill with tv-show lore (this was the high time of FBI medial presence) and all in all I like this quite well. For anyone willing to play traditional horror -with a smart twist- in a "classic" setting: recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Puppet Shows & Shadow Plays
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 381 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf