Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Art of Conan Sourcebook
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2020 06:18:11

Pretty happy with this. Obviously there is the amazing art, but i really like how its arranged by story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Art of Conan Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
DUST Adventures Corebook
by Tom R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2020 04:40:00

This is a brilliant system with TONS of flexibility and scope to create immersive adventures in the DUST universe.

Everything from the combat to the character creation to the progression system is just so smooth. I played this with a group of primary school aged pupils, (with characters that I pre-generated) and it was much easier to access than D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DUST Adventures Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Star Trek Adventures: Klingon Core Rulebook
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2020 07:39:13

As a huge fan of Klingons, I really enjoyed this sourcebook. It's set in the pre-alternate timeline universe, which I prefer. Even though I really like Discovery, their Klingons haven't grown on me yet.

Included in this book are rules for creating, arming and playing a Klingon as well as an introductory adventure and several ideas on other adventure and campaign possibilities. Also included are stats for many of the Klingons introduced in the various Star Trek TV shows and movies, again only pre-alternate timeline. I do wish that listed with these NPCs were the episodes or movies they appeared in for easy reference, especially for those readers less familiar with the shows.

My favorite part of this rulebook were the descriptions of the other races and political bodies from the Klingon perspective. Anyone who wants to play a Klingon should definitely read through these to get into the Klingon mindset and I certainly consider it mandatory reading for any GM who is going to use a Klingon NPC.

Overall, this is a great book when it comes to capturing the feel and character of the Klingon people.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Klingon Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Star Trek Adventures: Klingon Core Rulebook
by Paul H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2020 01:46:29

I got this book the day it came out and read it all, but not had a chance to play though the adventure that came with it. So please keep in mind this is a first look at it.

There is nothing more Star Trek that a good Klingon. This version of Star Trek Adventures (STA) lets you go embrace the Klingon Empire! It’s basically the same rule set as STA with some slight changes to fit the new focus on Klingons. There is a massive improvement across all the rules in that they now come with flow charts (I guess you would call’em) and better descriptions to clarify how they are meant to work. Personally, I felt that was a problem with the original STA book, so I hope this improvement carries onto that book in the next version.

The biggest rule changes I can see is that there is an alternative reputation system to match the focus, with a small PDF on how to use the rules for the cowards in Starfleet. I haven't had a chance to try it out yet, but it is indeed interesting Personally, I do like tables for backstory (such as rolling for career events) and you get some to design your House. Determining Age (e.g. old and proud, or new and brash), Legacy (what you are good at e.g. engineering, leadership), temperament (Hot/tempered, stoic etc). They provide some values, talent ideas, etc. Considering how much family and honor is to the narrative of the Klingon its an important and interesting addition. The fact that the houses are not static and can also advance overtime give it a nice Game of Thrones-esque vibe if you want to get all the NPCs from the same house and try glorify your house.

Most of the differences in this book from the previous books is the change in narrative means we get a more detailed view of the galaxy from the Klingon perspective. Also as a YMMV bit, I do prefer that most of the info is provided as actual text and not in game narratives/documents. I personally like this balance more than the other core book, but I know at least one of players will not. Production values 5/5 as always for the star trek RPG again coming with no background and colored/textured background

Overall 4/5. Not because the new rules are better but they are refocused where needed and clearer, but then with rules its YMMV, what stops it being a bit better in my PoV is that much like with the FFG Star Wars games, I am unconvinced it need a whole new rule book rather than a splat book. But still an interesting book if you like the Empire(!) and want a more focused experience rather than being a Klingon in a Starfleet game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Art of Conan Sourcebook
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2020 05:58:56

I'm a huge art book fan, having numerous books on my shelves from various Kickstarters and fantasy artists and as art books go this is definitely a high quality work. Though there's no art included that hasn't already been depicted in the previous Conan sourcebooks from Modiphius, most people won't have all their books so it's nice to have access to all the beautiful images for both use in evoking tone in gameplay and also just to enjoy. I do wish that there was an index of all the artists for the individual images rather than just listing all the artists en masse except for the cover artists. But maybe that's just the art fan in me that likes to track down works from artists I enjoy. After seeing how lovely the art is displayed in this book I'm certainly going to try to track it down in hard copy to own as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Art of Conan Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Art of Conan Sourcebook
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2020 17:19:38

The Art of Conan Sourcebook is about 120 pages of artwork covering the entire Conan line as of now. I like how at the front of the book is a world map of Conan, so its an easy reference source for your group to use. The artwork is great. If you have any of the books then you already have some of this artwork. To the best of my knowledge the artwork is only from the rpg books and nothing new is added. The book covers the various artists who created the artwork. If you enjoyed the art from the books ad want to see just the art then this book is for you. If you are a gm who likes to show the world and not have to flip through several books, then this book will be helpful as those pictures are all one book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
by Wishie P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2020 03:26:56

I'm currently running this campaign and its wonderful. There's lots of room to adapt and change as you see fit. My only problem is the lack of index at the back to make it easy to find specific things when using a physical copy otherwise its great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan: Kull of Atlantis
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2020 06:37:22

If you're at all a fan of role playing in a mysterious savage land of fading kingdoms, this is the book for you. I've seen the Kull movie for all you Kevin Sorbo fans out there, but never read any of the novels. This sourcebook makes me want to track some down so I can. It has a great amount of detail of life in the age of Kull as well as the nations and personages you can find there. There's also a good write up of Kull and his allies and even a suggestion that playing them as PCs would make an interesting game, which I agree with having done that with characters like Mordenkainen and Bigby in Greyhawk. Finally a lot of work has gone into enhancing the themes of doomed kingdoms in a age of mystery with an alternate Doom Mechanic although there are suggestions on how to make your game less oppressive if you want to. Add to this a short adventure and the inclusion of Thulsa Doom and what else could you ask for?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Kull of Atlantis
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan: Kull of Atlantis
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2020 10:35:36

Its amazing how much was included in this 120 page book. Included is a map for the Thurian age. A background for the various peoples of the age. A history of the age and brief description of the major and minor kingdoms. I found the inforamtion useful for plot ideas to use in an age of Conan campaign. The included adventure has ideas that you could use for your own campaign to have some intersting encounters in an age of Conan era. I liked that Thulsa Doom was included as he is one of the most iconic charcters that a lot of fans know of. The book gives you plenty of ideas and information on how to run a campaign in this time. Overall this book has alot to offer, whether you want to play in another era, or add depth and history to your existing campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Conan The King
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2020 05:29:15

Conan the King is another great sourcebook in the Conan line, full of the usual beautiful high quality artwork. It details the lands of Aquilonia and beyond that Conan ruled during his years as king as well as the NPCs that can be met there. More rules about magic use are included along with more monsters to fight all drawn from the writings of Robert E. Howard.

What really stood out to me was the indepth rules concerning ruling a kingdom and the trials and tribulations involved in doing so. These sections could be used for any fantasy setting, not just Conan's, and make the book worthwile by themselves. For those using the Conan setting, there are also good ideas on how to run a game with Conan as king, while still allowing the PCs to remain at the forefront of the action. This book will let you enjoy a game of both war and palace intrigue for many campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan The King
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan The King
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2020 14:11:55

Conan the King follows the same format of earlier Conan books. This book coevers Conan at the time of his being King. The main topics the book covers are how to play a noble, adventures as a noble, Aquilonia region, how to create and maintain an empire, and a wealth system. Information on nobles covers how to play different types of nobles and how to use them in game. Also covered is how run adventures in a court setting and compares nobles in a pulp setting vs. a historical setting. This book also includes examples of different types of nobles and npc examples to use with or against your party.

A major part of the book covers the Aquilonia kingdom. Included are maps of the area and some adventure hooks. Information on Aquilonia before and after Conan is king is included. A wealth system for being a noble is included for those wanting to be a noble or start building your own kingdom. An easy to use system for building your own system is also included. This book nicely covers on how to play a not so combat focus pc and opens up non combat social encounters.

If you enjoyed the other class books for Conan you will enjoy him has King.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Conan The Exiles Sourcebook
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2020 14:45:39

"Conan the Exiles Sourcebook" is a 120 pages long supplement for the Modiphius D20 Conan RpG. Inspired by the on-line game, this book gives rules to roleplay it on tabletop, and stunning art from the net adorns many pages of it. As always, interesting character archetypes are given. There is a section about the Exiled Lands, but it is quite vague, so much that we'll surely prefer to have a look at the Conan Exiles wikia for more information. I don't understand why they didn't take back the rules from "Ancient Ruins and Cursed Cities". In fact, the real interest of the book lies in its many rules taylored to roleplay survival. They explain how players can create basic facilities with their bare hands and step-by-step improve them up to cities ! For this, hexcrawl rules are given, with "resources" generation for each kind of biome, and an interesting encounter table. The survival game can be played at different scales, at the individual one, with "ingredients", or at a group level, with "material". The only regret I have here is that no measure unit is indicated for how wide those hexes are. Apart from this, there are detailed rules for (bad) weather, settlement management and war. If you want to create a harsh setting with no stable power (no money, no national "pride") but day-to-day survival, then this book is for you !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan The Exiles Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan the Adventurer
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2020 06:57:13

The first thing that struck me about this sourcebook was the wonderful art. Modiphius' art is usually of high quality but this time it seemed especially enticing. This book details character creation for the Southern Kingdoms, followed by in depth descriptions of the Kingdoms, large scale events that could be used for campaigns, and finally the large range of magic, gods and monsters that could be encountered. When I read and review a book, I try not to get caught up on, for instance, a reference being listed as page XX instead of a proper page number. Instead I look at style of writing and the images in the book to see if they give me inspiration to run fun and rivetting adventures. This book definitely did that, doing a great job of capturing the feel of the multitude of cultures in the Southern Kingdoms while consciously avoiding as best it can the unfortunate racist undertones (And sometimes not so -under-tones) of Robert E. Howard's stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan the Adventurer
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan the Adventurer
by RODRIGO R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 11:40:02

This is an ok book, but it could have been a great source book. Maybe is too soon to write a review, and I think the publisher can edit a few typos. That's not the reason I granted the book the 3 / 5 ("average") rating.

The 3 / 5 rating isn't related to the art: the art follow Modiphius standards (it's great!). My verdict was settled due to inconsistencies and the want of a more elegant style (the way the information is presented):

  1. I failed to find in the book a description of the Stygian people (their phenotype), and if I’m not wrong the core book lacks it. I know there are the descendants of the “giant kings”, and they are tall and have lighter skin. But how about the majority of the population?

The other nations receive a better treatment. For example (p. 36): "The Darfari are a deeply dark-skinned, tall, and lithely muscled people with equally dark hair, often molded into symbolic shapes with twigs and dried mud, sometimes over a wooden base. The Darfari love to dance and chant, having ritual dances and chants for almost any activity."

  1. p. 65 mentions the Ammut demon and references p. 84. However, p. 84 says nothing on Ammut.

  2. The books fails to mention serpent men. The map (p. 30) shows a “lost colony of serpent men”, but says nothing about the place. Considering the book covers Stygia I can say it is a disappointment.

  3. Another place displayed in the map isn’t described at all: the monolith of Carcosa.

  4. Some locations mentioned in the text aren’t displayed in the map: the ford of Bubastes; the Bakhr river; the Purple Lotus Swamp.

  5. Minor inconsistencies. Compare the following two passages (both from page 65): “Whether this is a holdover from an earlier tribal version of the cult, or some mystical truism, it remains that the dead are important in Stygia. Petitioners often go to the tombs of their ancestors to ask for favors. For example, if a couple is childless, they may place letters at the tombs of their relatives asking them to speak to the gods in their favor for a child” x “Stygians place their dead in a Hall of the Dead, a broad dim-lit hall of colossal proportions in which rises tier upon tier of carven painted sarcophagi. Each stands in a niche in the black stone, and the tiers mount up and up to be lost in the gloom above. A Hall of the Dead is the silent grave of thousands of these mummies. Few see these halls save the silent priests of Set.” The first passage states the living relatives visit their dead often. The second passage state the dead are stored within Halls of the Dead, and that these buildings aren’t usually visited.

  6. Style issues (for example, p. 37). The section deals with conflict resolution withing Darfari society, but is interruped by a passage on foreign commerce:

"The method of handling intertribal conflict is much more complex but follows a pattern — and it is within this pattern that third parties enter Darfari affairs. If a villager commits some offense against a member of another clan or village, the wronged Darfari travels to a third-party village (or group) and demands to see their chief. When in the presence of the clan chief, the wronged Darfari explains that they were wronged, naming the village and the person who wronged him, informing the chief that the burden is now on them to correct the wrong. The third party Darfari and the wronged Darfari travel to the village of the offender, find the offender, and the third party Darfari demands payment for the offense. All parties then gather in front of a palaver house (the central hut where the headmen meet) and wait for the village to gather. When all have gathered, the parties tell their side of the story and talk it out in front of the village. If the village deems the offender guilty, the offender must either come to an agreement on how much will be paid to the party he offended and the third party, or risk sending the village into a pattern of raids and counter-raids between the three villages, which could escalate into a never-ending blood feud. The Darfari culture involves a third party to increase the cost of immoral behavior as a deterrent toward such acts. While largely hunter-gatherers, the Darfari do engage in some trade and this process may also be a way to involve adventurers in their affairs. The primary trading goods of the Darfari are cloth, salt, millet, and tobacco. When other methods of conflict resolution fail, raids between the clans and villages occurs. Raids typically happen at night and involve three raiding parties. One party, the ambushing party, hides along a trail leading from the raided village in the tall grasses, the swamps, or even the forest edges, and waits. A second party is the main war party, waiting on another trail. The third party consists of two men who walk into the village, knock on the door, and claim to be hungry travelers."

The few sentences on foreign commerce are sandwiched between the treatment of conflict resolution. That's bad style.

I still can recommend buying the sourcebook, but I hope next releases will not have the same issues.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Conan the Adventurer
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 10:09:38

this book focuses on the Southern lands of the world of Conan. Included in this book is tips for creating a charcter from this part of the world, various religions, and factions fromthe south. Several maps of key cities with information about them is also included. As in other Conan books new creatures and npc write ups are included. At the end of the book are ideas to help you run adventures set in teh Southlands of the world of Conan.
If you wanted to know more about the southlands and Conan adventures there then this is a book for you. In a 127 pages the book does a good job detailing that area and giving you help on creating a charcter from there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 211 to 225 (of 547 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf