Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2021 00:54:59

I immediately liked the game from what I saw in reviews, but I wanted to wait until I played at least one campaign turn to get a better grip on it.

So far, I'm really liking it.

I'm playing the battles on Tabletop Simulator so I have access to minis and terrain, and playing ther pre-battle and post-battle phases on my desk. I had mostly used TTS to play Castle Ravenloft, so my collected minis didn't quite fit the theme, but I think over time I'll build a better sci-fi collection to pull from. I'm even considering buying custom figures from Hero Forge. Entirely due to this game.

I like that on the first playthrough, I didn't have to read everything. A lot of the stuff only needs to be read if it's pertinent at the time. For example, my crew consists of three humans, a feral (felinoid) a precursor and a robot. So I could skip reading about the other aliens for now.

Combat is real simple to learn, but more thorough than it looks. Finally, a combat system that separates defense from the 'to hit' roll.

Five Parsecs really does have an X-Com or Heroclix feel to it as far as the tactics go. Another game it reminds me of is Avengers Alliance Tactics, a game I loved but flopped because it couldn't find its audience.

Something else Five Parsecs reminds me of is a little-known game that only appeared in a magazine - Star Wars: Corellian Smuggler. It was a solo game that had a Daily Activity chart and random events for traveling, arriving on a planet or just hanging around at the starport. I liked it a lot, but it faded out of view and barely made any impact. Likely due to its limited release.

The reason I bring these up is because I've been house-ruling most of these things from these different games into my rpgs, with varying results. Recently, I got Star Wars: Outer Rim and was working on adapting parts of Corellian Smuggler over to it.

Then I discovered Five Parsecs from Home. The price tag scared me off at first. I rarely buy anything on DTRPG over $10. Unless it's a physical product. But then I saw the in-depth review by TheSoloWargamingShow. Wow. After a day of pondering it, and realizing that I could've bought two $10 games on DTRPG that I'd crack open once then forget about, as opposed to a $20 game that I may really like... I finally dived in.

Five Parsecs is just elegant. It does what it sets out to do. Gameplay is really smooth. Once I finished reading the rules (ending at the weapon list), I was ready to start playing. Everything else I learned as I played the game.

One thing that should probably be mentioned sooner is to keep track of the first non-robot hero that takes out an enemy. For dealing out the XP later. Fortunately, I knew it was one of two heroes and one of them was a robot. So I figured it out after the fact.

I also don't mind that there's really no ship combat in the game. I was always more of a Wing Commander: Privateer player than an X-Wing Starfighter player, so I'll survive. I may house rule the modular combat from Corellian Smuggler over to it later.

Before I started playing, I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't a quickstart available for the game. Especially since it's $20. But once I started playing, I realized that a quickstart would be almost impossible to do without it giving away all the rules. And if you're going to play it, you really want all the charts that are in the book.

I tend to buy PDFs first, then if I really like the game, I'll buy a physical copy. However, with Five Parsecs, it shot itself in the foot by not only being $20 for the PDF, but alao being so much more expensive in print. Ordering from the Modiphius site, the physcal copy is $37. Plus shipping to the US for $32. A total of $69. After I've already spent $20 on the PDF to see if I liked it.

Make no mistake about it: I really, really do like this game. I love it, even. But spending $89 total would be a bit outrageous for me. You're still getting five stars, because it's an amazing system and I see myself playing for many years. I'll also be on the lookout for upcoming products for Five Parsecs, as well as any updated Five X from X games.

Congratulations on a job well done. And finally giving me the framework I needed for my homebrew games.

Detailed gameplay here: https://reprep.blogspot.com/2021/06/five-parsecs-from-home.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review! We actually give the PDF price as a discount on the hard copy if you decide to trade up - just contact support@modiphius.com We will have local shipping in the US from our webstore from the end of June, though copies won't be shipping there till August - hope that helps!
pixel_trans.gif
Dune: Adventures in the Imperium Wormsign Quickstart Guide
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2021 22:30:25

If you like Dune or were on the fence about playing Dune the rpg game, this product will help you decide if you should jump in.
Whats included: several types of premade pcs covering mentats, bene gesserists, ginaz swordmaster, to common types The artwork is similar to the up coming movie. Intro to the game universe the basic rules so you do not need the corebook for this adventure but it can be useful discusses how conflict works and has a conflict chart for easy reference The adventure takes place on Dune before/during the movie and is 5 scenes long. You can play this in one session if you wanted to as a stand alone adventure or as part of a campaign easily. At the end of the adventure are plot hooks for more adventures. I would suggest if you are interested in trying Dune rpg or even the 2d20 system give this adventure a try. Its pretty straight forward in design and does not need a lot of game prep to run. Also if you like to show and tell your players a quick google image search and you can find images to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dune: Adventures in the Imperium Wormsign Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2021 22:15:37

This adventure can be played in one session. Easy to use as an intro adventure but it is set in mid 1940 so depending on where your campaign is set you might need to do a little reworking. The adventure layout is similar to the other adventure for this game. The maps are helpful and well done. I like how the npc stat info is layed out and easy to use for a game master. One thing that I like that you do not much is a dedicated handout section is included for a game master to use for player handouts. Another thing I liked was the further adventure/campaign ideas given at the end of the adventure. If you know some british folklore or do a litlte research those ideas can be developed with little effort. The only negative comment I have is that the adventure seemed short compared to the last one. I felt like the adventure needed another part or needed to add more to another part.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
by William E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2021 04:36:28

Excellent little solo skirmish campaign game. The combat might be simple compared to some crunchier games but that all helps facilitate rapid engagements and pushing your personal campaign forward. The various character creation options, equipment lists, enemy types, and objectives stimulate the imagination and make each turn interesting for the sake of seeing what will happen next. Sometimes some ill-equipped gangers ambush your crew and are wiped out in two turns, other times you're up against trained mercenaries, alien horrors, or overwhelming odds that push you to your limit and make retreat seem like an attractive option - this is truly a game where you'd rather live to fight another day.

The author has already announced continuing support to bring optional crunch in for players hungry for more, but the current difficulty options as well as the dangerous and deadly Red and Black Zone missions are enough to keep anyone going with this book alone for a long time. The built-in "prestige" system and ability to bring in characters from the related Five Parsecs: Bug Hunt game to join your crew feed into the core strength of this game: it wants you to play, play, and play, and you can't help but buy in just to see what will happen next.

This is THE solo sci-fi skirmish game if you want to find that balance between creativity, speed of play, and entertainment value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2021 02:35:46

I'll admit, I was skeptical of this new edition but I was just being a hipster. Once I actually took a look through the book I was glad I got it. The finishing and editing, all the polish sets this apart from other NWG titles. I hope to see more titles get the modiphius treatment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
by Erik R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 09:51:16

This is really a stellar game. It's a neat blend of wargaming, rpgs, campaign systems and solitaire play. For the uniniated, you take a band of heroes out into the far fringes of the galaxy and play out a story. It's something like Firefly meets Trigun meets Mass Effect, and you're the poor jerks just trying to make a living out there. The game really shines in its campaign system, with tables and events that don't feel random but rather like part of an evolving plot if you let your imagination run. The combat gameplay is fine, complexity wise it's well suited to solo play. Some players might find it a bit too simple for their tastes, but it's easy enough to tweak (or even outright replace).

To be fair, I've been a fan of Five Parsecs and Nordic Weasel for a long time, so my review is not without bias. But, that said, this is definitely the best version of the game that I've laid eyes on. For players of the second edition, there are some new surprises, but overall it's the same game. But it's clear that Modiphius has really stepped up to the plate and turned what was already a great game into an excellent product. The color and layouts are neat and the art is pretty good. A much appreciated section on the "Unity" universe has been added (though it will seem quite familiar to fans of Renegade Scout), and there are plenty of extras and goodies. It's well worth the price and I really look forward to seeing what else Nordic Weasel and Modiphius can do together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2021 22:12:17

Ring Side Report-RPG Review of Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea every day!

Product- Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard System- Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Producer- Modiphius Price- $6.99 here https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/355128/Achtung-Cthulhu-2d20-Operation-Vanguard?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR- Almost perfect but not what I wanted. 97%

Basics- Time to go, soldier! You just stopped a Black Sun ritual, so now it’s off to stop more Nazi shenanigans! What could they be doing off at sea?

Mechanics or Crunch-Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 does almost all the things I want and does them right, and this adventure has that as well. Solid monsters and encounters lead you through a stealth to destruction mission with lots of fun along the way. Just well done crunch if you like the 2d20 system. 5/5

Theme or Fluff- The theme/fluff/story is where I have my one major problem. The story itself is great. Investigate Nazi base, destroy, stop bad guys-all the fun things players want to do in Pulp Weird War II. But, this was billed as the sequel to the starter adventure, and it is, but it's just a second adventure after the first. They are not connected in any real way. It doesn’t tell as much of a continuing story aside from "go destroy more weird stuff." Go destroy the weird stuff is honestly 90% of A!C 2d20, and that’s why my players and I are here. But, I wanted the escape from France of the last adventure. My players LEVELED the castle in the last one as nothing stops evil like 40 TONS of stone to the head. So my expectations were slightly let down. If you don’t have the same expectation, you will have a blast. 4.5/5

Execution- PDF? Yes. Hyperlinked? Yes, extremely well done. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. A page with pictures to cut out to give to players for handouts, hyperlinks EVERYWHERE, easy to read, nice stat blocks, and TWO VERSIONS as a less graphics intensive one makes my tablet run better all make me a happy GM. This is how I want books made. 5/5

Summary- Oh A!C 2d20… you make me so happy. It’s a well done, slick system, and this is a well done slick adventure for it. I just wish this was more "direct sequence" and less "continuing adventures", but oh well. If you don’t have my singular crazy obsession with continuity, then you will absolutely LOVE this book. From crunch, to story, to just general production, I’m glad to have this one. 97%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Star Trek Adventures: BRIEFS 002 - Disasters
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2021 16:53:02

This product is a collection of short adventure ideas that cover star trek from TOS-STNG-DS9 eras. Each adventure has a focus player class like the doctor, engineer, or captain for example. The adventures can be used in any era, though some might need a little reworking. These can easily be used in a regular sized group or in a small group which I thought was a useful as sometimes you do not always have the entire group availiable to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: BRIEFS 002 - Disasters
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2021 16:46:44

The layout and quality of the maps are very helpful. If you are not familar with this system the layout and notes are very useful in heping you understand the rule system and in running the adventure. If you are not very knowledgeable about world war 2 thats ok as the gm notes tell you exactly what you need to know historically up to that point. If you like chulhu or world war 2 adventures you find this adventure useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2021 07:55:15

This 28 page product gets you right into the mission, which is great for any short adventure. It includes some historical background that to me is a must for any real world adventure not based in the current era. The maps and player handouts are good quality images and the story allows for the players to choose their own way while not feelimg railroaded. Although it's a sequel to A Quick Trip to France, you don't need to run that adventure first (Though it's free so why not?) Finally at the end, a few ideas for what might happen once the adventure is over are suggested for those who wish to continue to plot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dune - Adventures in the Imperium – Core Rulebook Standard Edition
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2021 08:46:42

IF you love Dune and the 2D20 dice system then you are in the right place.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dune - Adventures in the Imperium – Core Rulebook Standard Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cold & Dark
by julien l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2021 19:55:33

Probably the best horror-SF TT RPG!

I Knew Cold & Dark for a long time but, actually, I am mastering some Resident Evil with a friend, then I thought about horror SF. We have plently of horror in modern age ( World of Darkness, Kult, Call of Cthlhu) and in med-fan ( Warhammer, Shadow of the demon lord, Ravenlof) but almost nothing for SF except Alien.

The thing is that the author loves horror movie, loves video games and tabletop roleplaying games. That counts.A lot.

As examples, his first inspirations are Alien, Event Horizon and Dead Space, but in these universe, you have no hope.

So he took all the univere he liked, tweaked them to let your PC to have a chance to live and have some kind of future and put them togethe. That's a feat of intelligence.

The system is simple, almost forgettable, you simply do D8 dices pool and must do 7 or 8 to do successes. In combat, the defense becomes a minus while some specific tools or situations give you bonuses.

To create your PC, you simply take an archetype while very, very clever bonus ( as example, an operative can never botch stealth or security check and have +1 Dice to these checks!). Then you have freebies like in World of Darkness.

The book is quite complete, you have almost 20 planets to visit, spaceship rules, high tech armor from Crysis ect.

The detail on the universe is great, like for many ennemies and factions. That's great.

The art is gorgeous! Some monsters or stuff are eye candy

To summary, the game does well what it proposes and that's pretty all but also, pretty great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cold & Dark
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2021 13:23:57

this is a rules lite version of the Star Trek Adventures game, i'll be honest, i was very hesistant on diving into Star Trek because of the publisher's choice of dice system: the 2d20 system.

depending on the person, you will be for it, as it's more dies to roll and the mechanics encourages team work and play. against it, as it promotes tokens as rewards and the GM can easily be a dick and lulz i win, or indifferent, and just enjoy the game for what it is.

to qoute Todd Howard, it just works.

the 2d20 system is deceptively simple, the confusing part really is damage rolls and the distance of a zone.

that said, this is a quickstart guide its quick, easy to get through, and a good way to introduce your group to a new system and a familiar setting. my complaint for this quickstart, is i wish there is options for diplomancy as i feel that what a Star Fleet officer would push for, but for what this is, it's a good introduction albeit combat heavy.

if you want a better experience, i recommend seeking out the Starter Box set, it's a much better experience and has a 3 part mini campaign that introduces EVERYTHING the game has to offer, from piloting a shuttle, ground combat, a mystery, role play options, even space combat with your own starship (a Galaxy Class Cruiser oo la la!), and your actions dictates how everything plays out.

otherwise if you like this quickstart, definitely get the book.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dune - Adventures in the Imperium – Core Rulebook Standard Edition
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2021 22:59:31

Dune Adventures in the Imperium belongs to a category of licensed RPGs who have quite a few hurdles to overcome. Let’s take a look at each of these and see how Dune did:

With licenses, fans of the fiction will pick this up and hopefully migrate to the hobby, is Dune Adventures in the Imperium a good introductory product as far as RPGs go? Yes but with a slightly steeper learning curve, and with the additional benefit of being a great resource for fans looking to get more information on the setting. Dune is written with a strong focus on keeping things accessible for those new to the hobby. While the 2d20 system is a bit on the “rules-medium” side of things, there’s a lot of support and examples to help learn the game.

RPGs of a particular license has to “Feel” like the source material, does Dune manage to convey the feel and tone of Dune through it’s mechanics or does it feel like a generic system bolted to a franchise? Dune does a great job with this. Everything from the Duties and Duty Statements, the subtle and bold Move options, character options and even the uneven power balance due to faction-aligned characters having unique powers all work to enforce the truth of the setting.

For those who aren’t all that interested in the game aspect, but like collecting Dune, does the book look like a collectable? Yes. The artwork, layout and “feel” of the book is such that not only is it a joy to use as a game, it looks like a wonderful coffee table book and something you can brag about once this Pandemic lets you have friends over.

Dune Adventures in the Imperium takes the already capable 2d20 system and modifies it to a point where it conveys the mood and feel of the setting to the point of authenticity. It manages to handle a huge amount of different factors in conflict in an elegant manner.

Character Creation and House Creation is compelling and does well in a Session Zero group activity, where each player gets to contribute and have a stake in the House they belong to. It’s a clever means of getting players to bond, and make sure that their loyalties are true.

Dune Adventures in the Imperium is a splendid RPG, with great ambitions, which it manages to pull off with grace and style. It might not be a perfect “entry level” product, but I’m extremely happy to have bought it.

Definitely a must have for any collection, whether for a lifelone Dune fan or just someone new to the setting but has a love for sprawling, epic Space Opera.

This is an excerpt from a full Let's Study Series for Dune Adventures in the Imperium, which takes a look at each of the sections of the book in detail, available on my blog on the links below: https://philgamer.wordpress.com/2021/04/09/lets-study-dune-adventures-in-the-imperium-part-1-introduction-and-the-known-universe/

https://philgamer.wordpress.com/2021/04/09/lets-study-dune-adventures-in-the-imperium-part-2a-creating-your-house/

https://philgamer.wordpress.com/2021/04/10/lets-study-dune-adventures-in-the-imperium-part-2b-character-creation/

https://philgamer.wordpress.com/2021/04/11/lets-study-dune-adventures-in-the-imperium-part-3-systems/

https://philgamer.wordpress.com/2021/04/11/lets-study-dune-adventures-in-the-imperium-part-4-conflict/

https://philgamer.wordpress.com/2021/04/12/lets-study-dune-adventures-in-the-imperium-part-5-gming-chapters-and-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dune - Adventures in the Imperium – Core Rulebook Standard Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dune - Adventures in the Imperium – Core Rulebook Standard Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2021 10:00:08

Frank Herbert's Dune universe is quite epic in terms of scope, lore and storytelling and, in all honesty, I would never have expected a publisher of roleplaying games to fashion a suitably well-made adaptation that would do justice to it's fanbase.

Modiphius certainly proved me to be in error.

The book is filled with lore pertinent to original saga with a wealth of information on the Dune universe's factions, locales, and primary characters. The artwork is absolutely exceptional too; I had previously regarded the art of FFG's Star Wars games to be the best, but this sets a new standard. Although the art seems to be drawn from the recent movie adaptation, I find it fits the setting perfectly. The layout too is exceptional, as it presents a wealth of information and art without overwhelming the reader in blocks of text.

Although most of the drama is centred on Arrakis, the expansion of detail into other planets and factions within the Imperium allows for the creation of adventures in a greatly expanded setting. In fact, I spent the last two evenings designing a planet, a House Major, and several Minor Houses within its demesne as an introductory prequel campaign prior to shifting the attention to Dune somewhere down the line. The book itself even covers plot concepts regarding local, world, and an expanded interstellar level of play with adventure designs and story hook tables for further assistance for a GM. There isn't even any feeling of restriction to uphold the narrative of the original fiction, or to adhere to a campaign of the given era; if you're more interested in running a game under Dmitri Harkonnen's rule, or Leto Atreides, or House Richese, or a custom designed House or political environ of your own creation then it's yours to do so.

As a D&D and Starfinder player I found the rule system to be somewhat daunting, however, I’ve been reading a few of the blog pages from the Modiphius website about how each arena of conflict, drive, momentum, threat, etc function, and have started to appreciate their effectiveness in a narrative-driven campaign.

The book does well to provide sample characters in terms of common NPC archetypes to the more iconic and notable characters and faction agents from the Dune universe - which is especially handy when looking at comparisons of the Bene Gesserit, Fremen, Sardaukar and others to more common figures and professions found in the Imperium. There's even a trove of information and guidance on how to further flesh out your NPCs with their own motivations and personalities, and really creating a more vibrant menagerie to populate your worlds.

The book concludes with a sample adventure to allow the reader an introduction to both the setting and rule system, and is a good way to learn the basics of the game. I'm sure that with continued support from Modiphius, this game will move from strength to strength with possible campaign adventures and further expansions.

Personally, I love the ability to create my own House within one of my most adored fictional settings and I would love to see an expansion down the line that focuses more on one's house, it's expansion (or decline), and rules to run the House perhaps similar to the Kingmaker adventure from Paizo, or Green Ronin's Chronicle system.

Although I’m already a fan of Modiphius' work and its products, this has been the first time I’ve wrote a review. I heartily recommend it to all fans of Frank Herbert's Dune, and any role-player that wants to create a genuinely dynamic and narrative driven story in one of Sci Fi's greatest epics. Great work, guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 181 to 195 (of 569 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf