Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mutant Chronicles: The Purging of the Crucible
by Christopher P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2021 10:47:42

This is a mixed bag. When it's good, it's very good. It's deliciously atmospheric, with a nice mixture of suspenseful horror and thrilling combat scenes. It feels like it fell down somewhere in the editing process.

Two NPCs who each get extensive vignettes describing their pasts, but one of them is a mindless horror by the time the PCs encounter her, and the other we don't meet until the very end of the adventure. In the first case, it definitely feels like wasted space, and in the second, that background text is on the other side of the book from the characters' statistics.

There's proofreading errors -- references to a missing Appendix 2 (there are no Appendices at all) that looks to have been helpful to tie new PCs into the scenario rather than using the four pregenerated PCs. The background information tells us that the player characters have been experimented on and modified with cybernetics -- but there's no actual discussion of what that might be, or if the PCs can find out what's been done to them. Even the pregenerated PCs don't seem to have any such modifications described in their sheet. Perhaps this was described in Appendix 2.

At one critical point, an NPC is in danger of falling to the influence of the Dark Symmetry. It's suggested that one of the pregenerated PCs can intervene using his Brotherhood Arts -- but that PC does not have the power (Exorcise Dark Influence) described in the text!

I want to love this. There's some excellent work in here, but the flaws in the text are disappointing enough that I can't give it more than 3 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Chronicles: The Purging of the Crucible
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan: Shining Kingdoms - Sons of Vidarna (PDF)
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2021 08:10:39

A good one shot adventure that fits in well with the themes of the world of Conan. The PCs will find themselves mixed up in a feud between two warring houses and end up facing off against a subhuman monstrosity. The art is great as always though the adventure seems a bit short. Still, players have a way of stretching out adventures in surprising ways. All in all this adventure is a good one for your Conan game as well as any low magic fantasy RPG.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Shining Kingdoms - Sons of Vidarna (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Constellation of Alarion & Other Stories
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2021 13:57:08

Science fiction, fantasy and both - a Mephisto review

The Constellation of Alarion

The Constellation of Alarion is a short story collection by John Houlihan, known in the roleplaying scene for his publication for the roleplaying game Achtung! Cthulhu. In The Constellation of Alarion he presents ten short stories, usually set against a science fiction background and sometimes with a dash of fantasy. One story, for example, is about competition and confrontation with a robot assistant. Then a mismatched brother and sister must prepare for a gladiatorial battle in a chariot to secure supplies for their town. Sometimes it's about the consequences when lies become impossible, and sometimes about the devious machinations of a supposed war hero in a futuristic retirement home. The stories are varied, original, and well told. Especially Most Exalted from the villain's point of view has an exciting and black-humored approach. But the eponymous story, very reminiscent of classic roleplaying scenarios, in which a diverse group of characters seeks treasure in a trap-filled labyrinth, also provides excellent reading entertainment.

The Constellation of Alarion provides a diverse and entertaining collection of short stories that has to offer a good range of original ideas in the science fiction genre - and the fact that some of the stories are somewhat reminiscent of roleplaying game settings is a bonus, in my view.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Constellation of Alarion & Other Stories
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Star Trek Adventures IDW Year Five Tie-In PDF
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2021 04:37:23

I've been keeping up with the IDW Year Five comic series and this is suppliment is a great asset to include the classic Star Trek characters and organizations in your game. I especially enjoyed the indepth look into the Tholians as well as the information about Gary Seven, Harry Mudd and some of their associates. All in all it's definitely worth the price as source material alone for any Star Trek enthusiast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures IDW Year Five Tie-In PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu: Three Kings - Trail of Cthulhu
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2021 23:54:28

It's a really good war time ToC adventure. Which is to say that it isn't really an investigation so much as a commando raid in the style of so many great WWII movies. There are plenty of great NPCs to interact with and some truly hideous stuff for the climax.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu: Three Kings - Trail of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
by Ben N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2021 18:06:34

I like conan but the 2d20 wasn't for my group. That said if 2d20 is your thing or you want to look at the latest Conan game it great that the line is supported not only with this but also other Free rpg day options from modiphius. I will say its very well built with good art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan Character Sheets
by Ben N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2021 17:38:53

Free is good, and it works and looks great but its very busy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Conan Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Quickstart
by Madison T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2021 12:18:54

I really enjoyed this adventure. It included enough action and drama to satisfy my craving for gritty war stories while still being lighthearted enough to keep all of us at the table engaged. It was a fun adventure that lasted our group 6h divided into two game nights. I don't think that I really grasped the system after just one adventure, but this is an excellent introductory adventure that will leave you wanting more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by Joseph D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2021 03:48:09

I'm a longtime Fallout fan, and a longtime rpg fan, and while I was nervous and skeptical of this release at first, I can say I am VERY pleased with it.

-Layout: Better than most more contemporary rpgs, the layout is fairly clean. Most information you need is in appropriate places, and not scattered ALL over the place. (Side note, many of my favorite rpgs have horrible layouts, and I still love them, but when one DOES have a good layout, it's just that much better.)

-System: The 2d20 system is pretty easy to grasp; small dice pools of d20's (2-5 dice) with a roll low target (equal to or under stat+skill for a success), more successes, the better you do, extra action points, etc. I am not a huge fan of the 'need' for the unique dice for the combat dice, but unlike Fantasy Flight/Edge's Genesys (again, love the hell out of Genesys,) managing without the special dice is MUCH easier, since it's just d6's with special faces.

-Setting: Already a well established setting, the book/game does a pretty good job of explaining the world of Fallout, the major players pre-war, and giving a brief explanation of the anticipated setting of the book (The Commonwealth) while still mentioning expanded portions of the known world (NCR, Appalachia, New Vegas,) but also doesn't give away tooooo much. It threads existing lore into a new medium pretty fantastically, gives me solid hope for the future of the rpg releases.

-Art/Design: Here's where I was blown away. The art is top notch, and the design behind the layout felt VERY Fallout. Gorgeous and easy to read, a truly well put-together piece.

-Overall: If you love a good blend of crunch and fluff, an easy to learn system with lots of options, or just Fallout in general, it's a fantastic book/game to pick up! I really hope for books that give material from other games, I'd really like That Gun, from Fallout 2/New Vegas, or the Scorched from 76 introduced. Maybe even working with Bethesda to come up with a new region for the rpg to cover. I know I've been brainstorming my local area for a Fallout game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five Parsecs From Home - Expansion 1 - Trailblazers Toolkit
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2021 22:52:48

I am revising my review on this title. Initially I didn't like it because it didn't have some of the things I wanted most:

Psionics Non-tactical combat rules *More story tracks

I still don't think I'll ever use the multiplayer rules, but I have played several games with Escalating Battles, Progressive Difficulty (method 2 - includes elite enemies and difficulty toggles), and Deployment variables.

I am currently combining these rules with some of optional rules in the base set:

  • Combat events
  • Story Track
  • Red and Black missions

So my campaign goal is to try and finish the story track with these rules, and complete a black mission by turn 25. If I can do that, I will declare "I have beat the game."



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Expansion 1 - Trailblazers Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan: Waves Stained Crimson Campaign
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:51:51

This campaign is 108 pages covering several adventures. The campaign covers several cities and explores new islands. Each island has a map and information for you to use . Information about Pirates and some pirate groups is included. Author gives advice on how to motivate a group to play each adventure. includes a variety of encounter types from combat/stealth/investigate/dipolmacyexplore/and leadership. Has information on several ships and ideas for further adventures. Depending on how well the group does, by the end of the campaign they can be pretty wealthy so a gm should carefully read through the adventures and decide how to handle that issue. The basic idea is to save themsleves, get revenge, save the world, save the girl. It is a well written campaign that could be finished n about 5 to 6 game sessions depending on the size of your group. At 15 bucks it is worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Waves Stained Crimson Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Seventh-Inning Slaughter!
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:40:11

This product is 28 pages long and is set in Illinois, USA July 4, 1943. The adventure can be placed at another time but is intended to be in the USA. Can be used for a new or existing group and played in one game session. Includes a map of the stadium. Also has some handouts for players. One nice thing in this adventure is some historical info on baseball during the war with womens baseball leagues. The adventure events are done by each inn of the game.
A new pc group might have trouble with this adventure since it happens not in a war zone. It is a nice change of pace adventure, being out of a war zone and back on the homefront. Due to the page count I think this should have been a five dollar adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Seventh-Inning Slaughter!
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Raiders of the Serpent Sea: Player's Guide - FREE
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:29:57

This product is 51 pages and covers what would need to play in this gameworld. It is a game with heavy nordic influences but still original.
Areas covered are: pc creation-species-class archtypes ships-weapons-armor-drinks Rules for glory mechanic history of world and key groups and factions includes 2 page world map and several location maps. The artwork helps to give you a feel for the world. With the information included you can easliy play a campaign without needing anything but the guide. You can also used this as an add on to your existing 5e gameworld as a far off land or demi realm.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Raiders of the Serpent Sea: Player's Guide - FREE
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan: Shining Kingdoms - The Dwellers Below (PDF)
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:20:14

This product is 43 pages long. The adventure will take one or two game sessions to complete. Adventure takes place in Tizrah in Shem. Adventure includes iinformation on Tizrah nd some npcs. Author does give advice if you want to place the adventure elsewhere. The adventure includes a siege, dungeon exploration. encounters include non combat/combat/stealth/magic. Includes ideas for running adventures after this one and ideas on how to use Tizrah. A classic stop the cult from bringing in a crazy god to rule the world adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Shining Kingdoms - The Dwellers Below (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Conan: Shining Kingdoms - Sons of Vidarna (PDF)
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:13:07

This product is 17 pages. This adventure can be played in one night with a two to six size group. It inludes amap and information on thecity of Zamora and the Maul. Includes information on House Sattari. The adventure is pretty straight forward in design. Has a nice mix of combat/stealth and some non combat encounters. Adventure starts with group working for house Sattari, otherwise the gm will need to do some work to start the adventure. Author provides advice on how to handle the several different ways the adventure could end with ideas on how to go from there. A nice adveture that can be ran in a single night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Shining Kingdoms - Sons of Vidarna (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 136 to 150 (of 565 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf