Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Nemetondevos: Revised
by Matt H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2022 23:56:28

Scion is a game about history whether we play it up or not in our game and Nemetondevos: Revised gives us that context we desperately needed for "the newly revived Gaulish Pantheon" Onyx Path introduced the Mysteries of the World supplement.

While some may find it frustrating the author leaves things open ended or simply states there is no solid account for some of these real world gods, this reader found the facts that ARE known about the Gaulish Pantheon fascinating and the reframing of the narrative to old gods trying to relearn themselves liberating from a Storyteller and player perspective, though I may be biased as David Taylors strict insistance of historicity even when it clashes with "canon" is one of the reasons I keep buying his supliments, from Lebor Óe In Dea to Mysteries of the Otherworld, both which I recomend along with this.

While the relics are suggestions and not strictly written out mechanically, the author introduces a new version of the Pantheon Specific Purview Nemeton that gives a player more than just "ability to throw fireballs remotley around your temple in southern France" and mechanics to play a druid that is more historically accurate than the tree hugging nature priest in Mysteries of the World.

Also, it's free. Why are you still reading this? Get it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nemetondevos: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Scion: Relics and Guides
by Matt H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2022 23:37:18

6 Relics and 5 guides, the mechanics themselves are fine but there simply isn't enough here to be worth 7 dollars. The dot values of the guides are also inflated by one, as the guide stunt should comes free with every guide even 1 dot ones. The layout is also sloppy with a guide placed in the relic section and one of the Relics missing a header format, along with the table of contents really has no reason to exist in the pdf, giving no useful information whatso ever.

Useful for people starving for new relics and guides albeit with a very steep price tag.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Relics and Guides
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Vengeance of the Shunned - Campaign
by Hank B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2022 19:20:35

So I will start by stating that I have been running my group through this module for around 6 months or so. I am not the biggest fan of 5e as a system but enjoyed the D20 Hollowfaust book and have used that book several times in the past in other systems. I was drawn to this module by way of Jeremy Hochalter doing youtube videos of the scarred lands with Sarah Stewart titled the lore you know. I picked this module because from what I gathered it would be a nice starter to introduce the campaign setting to the group and myself. That and the fact that the first portion of the adventure was available through AstralVTT and since this was my first foray into the online gming scene I took up Astral and this module.

With that out of the way I believe this module to be the worst module I have ever had the displeasure of running. I have been begrudgingly continuing to run it and finish what I started and honestly should have called it quits a few months ago. I did not read the module all the way through front to back before running which I should have. Had I done so I likely would not have ran it. The first 3 chapters are quite nice. I enjoy the 2nd chapter and the 3rd quite a lot and read up to this point and had it prepped before getting to the table. After these chapters it takes an abrupt turn for the worst.

The book itself has a massive page count of 292 including the appendix with creature stats. This alone is egregious just due to the fact that as far as real substance goes it is highly lacking. I like sandbox adventures generally and it is a straight railroad no way to get past that. Yes 4 chapters in you can start adding some player agency but it is a facade. For simplicities sake I will use an adventure like the original B2. That module is what? 20 pages maybe? I have been running that for the same length of time and it is much more fullfilling. I have no problems coming up with my own extra stuff to fluff modules up.

I state this seemingly random information because this product is being marketed as a whole package. Super module lvls 1-15(20) kind of a deal. With a page count of 292 why is every little detail after the 3rd chapter requiring more work to prep and put together than me writing the entire adventure myself? It is not a bad campaign idea but the simple fact is that they had a different author write each chapter of this module. What this means is there is zero consistency. Nothing flows, half of it doesn't even make any sense to me as a gm much less my players. What ends up happening is there is no climactic adventure. It is a slow boring slog of an adventure that just leaves you waiting for the finale because everything in between is meh.

I would like to commend Travis Legge, Catherine Evans, and Dan Layman-Kennedy. The first 3 chapters are good. It immediately falls off after these. The adventure after is by Bill Bodden. This is not the worst adventure by far but it is bad. The city of Shelzar needs a massive amount of gm work to be implimented because you get no information on the city. They will go to some ruins out in the middle of the desert. There they will meet 4 Assathi and slaves guarding it. There are 2 lower levels of this ruin and you will not encounter a single other Assathi throughout. Nearly every room is empty which there are many. The entire ruins are barren besides ants and an otyugh. There is however a piece of the mcguffin in this place. Why? Why are there not an absurd amount of titan worshippers here guarding a piece of their titan. It makes no sense for only 4 of them to be here and they aren't even near the artifact anyways. Afterwards they will see undead moving through the desert and this will be nothing other than foreshadowing.

The player characters have been tasked with stopping a sorceress from ressurecting a titan and getting to the pieces she needs before she gets there. There is no clear path between where to go and what to get. Nor is there a clear this is what she needs kind of thing. There are a ton of side quests to get the items but in no way does the module suggest how to do any of it. It says a golden apple that grows in the Ganjus forest. Guess what area is not in this module? The ganjus forest. That quest actually links miles upon miles away from the ganjus with nothing at all to signal your party that way. This module gives random places in the world with no reason for the adventurers to go there without being told hey go here for the next quest. Yes I can indeed do all of this myself but it defeats the purpose of buying the module in the first place. Even if you go through all of that work it doesn't even matter anyways. The level suggestions given for each of the different parts line up in such a jumbled mess that you end up going through higher lvl areas to get to low lvl areas. That's only if your players somehow know exactly where to go with no information given. There are parts that my players have caught like doing a ritual in the equivalent of antartica with noone around and as soon as this ritual is done the module says this random guy from half way across the world just so happens to pop out of the forest nearby shouting hey 3 days over that way is another artifact. How was that guy suppose to know the party was there? They have had no contact with this guy before. no where in the module would it give an idea that the faction he is from would even know what the characters were doing at the time. This is a constant reoccuring theme. Just finished that chapter? The next chapter will read as you come into this town blah blah blah. Why would they have made a beeline to a town 400 miles away after the last adventure for no reason at all?

Practically none of the adventuring locales are fleshed out in the slightest. The players go here and here are 4 sentences about this massive area. Go buy the individual book about this place to get any other information. This is the case with every single place your players will go. Nothing is fleshed out in the slightest. There aren't even maps for half the places if not more. Which brings me to the absolute worst part of this module I have gotten to so far. The temple of Madriel adventure by Elise Cretel. The maps, the keys, the confusing jumble of descriptions. I don't know what kind of communication issue they had with this chapter but the map that is provided is numbered. The descriptions of what is in the temple are not numbered. This means that the numbers are meaningless. The map is so poorly done that I have read through this part of the module twice and I am still confused about what is where and what is going on. It mentions sealed slabs of stones but no where is there an indicator to what room this is referencing. It just shows doors on the map so it could be any door you want. It mentions a crypt but nowhere on this map is there anything that looks like a crypt. There is so much of a disconnect with this area, the map, and what is going on.

Directly after this adventure it is stated that "The Fall of Durgan’s Rest is intended to take place after the events of The Temple of Madriel in the Vengeance of the Shunned campaign but can be played independently."

These two modules are placed 100s and 100s of miles away with nothing connecting them. The next chapter simply states as the party arrives.....

The entire module without the appendix is 197 pages. In these pages you have about a 50 page adventure. The art work is repurposed and not original, Most of the pages themselves are a single paragraph with the unoriginal art taking up the rest of the page. They have some of the creatures in the back some in the front. They have items ect all throughout the book.

If this review seems like a jumbled mess and hard to read then just you wait until you open the pages of the Vengeance of the Shunned. This module feels like nothing more than a marketing tool for you to purchase the other books of Scarn. I actually have several of them but it is still such a lackluster module that the only parts my players truly grabbed on and sunk their teeth in were the stuff I completely made up from scratch and had nothing to do with the module. They even took a several week detour while the fate of the world was at stake because it was so boring.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vengeance of the Shunned - Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

M20 Posters [BUNDLE]
by Yves C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2022 12:36:41

It is really sad that they are in such a small format.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
M20 Posters [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Trinity Continuum: Meridian
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2022 12:53:58

A trip through the wastelands - a Mephisto review

Meridian

For the novella Meridian, set in the universe of Trinity Continuum: Æon, the story is based on a thrilling background of the setting: La Blessure - the devastated remains of France, which became the graveyard for millions after the crash of the space station Esperanza due to an attack of the aberrants. A unit of soldiers and scientists from the paranoid United Republic is sent into this wasteland to accomplish a secret mission objective known only to the unit's leader. To spice up this situation, the protagonist, Sophie, is not only a powerful vitakinetic, but also an undercover agent spying on the mission. She, therefore, cannot use her abilities openly at first.

As to be expected, the mission goes wrong: the team's jet is destroyed by aberrants, and the team has to fight its way through the wasteland on foot – always on the lookout for mutants, aberrants, and flux zones. However, when Sophie's cover is blown, forcing her to fend for herself, the story quickly picks up speed and shows that vitakinetics are not just harmless healers.

Meridian tells a typical but thrillingly written story in which the protagonist must contend with mutants, aberrants, and denizens of the wasteland in a race against the military team to avert a great danger. Even though there is not much in-depth story told here, the novella, staged like an action movie, is exciting, features a fascinating protagonist, and can serve well as inspiration for role-playing. Personally, I really enjoyed this trip to La Blessure.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Meridian
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Scion: Tales of Heroes - A Scion Anthology
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2022 13:34:49
Heroes with all their might - and doubts - a Mephisto review

Scion: Tales of Heroes

The daughters and sons of the gods walk our world, perform heroic deeds and stand against the titans - this is the core theme of the role-playing game Scion. Appropriately titled Tales of Heroes, 15 short stories in this anthology provide insights into the game world and its characters - in this case, still at the more moderate hero level that the game has to offer. For example, a son of Loki seeks an ally to foil a plan involving dangerous flowers from the Aztec underworld. Then again, the rivalry between two young scions on social media escalates from a catfight to a full-fledged confrontation. In another story, two scions must rise above themselves to stop a tangible titanic threat. Many of the stories occur in our world, but some turn to mythological realms - sometimes the Asian underworld, sometimes the world of the Orisha and Loa, sometimes even Hades. The heroes all have unique abilities and often heroic ambitions, but they are also often plagued by doubts, human weaknesses, or problems, making them more tangible. The spectrum of stories is broad, ranging from the relatively 'simple hero must face and defeat monsters' to somewhat ironic reflections at a convention to the doubts and sacrifices of the heroes that emphasize the inner plot. When an annoyed pregnant woman turns out to be a scion of Set, that inner stress even breaks its way out at times...

My favorite story was The Bacchae, in which a female scion of Dionysus wanders the nightlife of London with her entourage of maenads. The party atmosphere is soon overshadowed by much darker things...

For Scion, Tales of Heroes provides a range of well-written stories that give insight into the game world and can also be used for ideas for characters or scenes in the game. Of course, without knowing the role-playing game, the world presented here may lack some context, but even then, Tales of Heroes can entertain, so this anthology is clearly recommended, in my view.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Tales of Heroes - A Scion Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
by Zachary A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2022 07:33:07

This book is amazing. One of my favorite fluff pieces ever produced for Vampire. Easily used as a prop at the table or in a LARP, the interior is mostly presented as a written diary with Out-Of-Character break downs at the end of each chapter providing story hooks related to the preceeding content. I cant recommend this book enough. Buy a physical copy. Spend the extra on the delux version. You wont regret it.

My only complaint is that some of the "hand written" typefaces are a little hard to read. But it's not enough to lower my rating or recommendation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Squeaks in the Deep
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2022 23:41:31

Okay, some I am definitely a dog person more than anything else, but Squeaks in the Deep may be my favorite in the Pugmire line of games. Adding the Underdark to the setting really adds a new feeling to the game and the way Psionics work is just plain fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Squeaks in the Deep
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Scion: Tales of Heroes - A Scion Anthology
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2022 23:18:14

Scion: Tales of Heroes - A Scion Anthology is a collection of stories set in the World of Scion 2nd Edition. The tales vary from those about to experience their Visitation, Scions learning about themselves, and those doing the most — and in some cases the least — to live up to what they understand their Birthright to be. Each one gives a bit of insight into the World and how the children of the Gods interact with it. They're all good, but there were a couple that really stood out to me.

presented in the order of appearance

Ellis MacArthur Gets in a Fistfight with Gilgamesh by Rai W. Cole is well, the title really explains what happens. The aurthor does an excellent job of portaying life as the child of the Gods in the social media age.

Unconventional by Erykah Fassestt tells a relateable tale of someone attending their first convention, but in the World the biggest fandom conventions are for Scions.

Serpents and Blood by Elizabeth Chaipraditkul had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish.

Extra shout outs Steffie da Vaan for writing Cerberus in a way that is both terrifying and makes me want to give him pets. Peter Woodworth for pointing out the weirdness of Western Massachusettes. As someone who grew up in the 413 area code I appreciate it.

If you're a Scion fan I highly recommend this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Tales of Heroes - A Scion Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

They Came From Camp Murder Lake!
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2022 21:19:47

This supplement really gets the slasher movie genre right. The Archetypes are spot on and the Director chapter does a great job of setting the stage for a 1980's style game. The Antagonist section has a wide variety of villians to bring in. For those familiar with the They Came From... series the new quips, stunts, and cinematics are a lot of fun to play with.

Who should by this: — fans of They Came From... looking for new stories, fans of 80s slasher films.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Camp Murder Lake!
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

M20 The Operative's Dossier
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2022 20:23:21

A nice dive into some example symposiums, how the Technocracy attempts to work with TAMURD and NAMURD for the greater good, procedures and devices, and story hooks. A great resource for anyone running a Technocracy game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M20 The Operative's Dossier
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

M20 The Operative's Dossier
by Santiago V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2022 15:40:15

un dossier digno de verse: clave para adeptos virtuales y tecnocratas WoD vive a manos de Onyspath



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Dawn
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2022 11:44:45
Few risks, few fun - a Mephisto review

Dawn

The ISRA sends Jay and her team to Far Nyumba to help a research settlement with its irrigation system. The disappearance of the Upeo wa Macho isolated the colony for a long time, and it had to fend for itself until new Leviathan jump-ships provided a way to reach it. As an added motivation for the team, the brother of one of Jay's team members lives on the moon, so a long-awaited reunion is imminent. However, shortly before the psions' arrival, an extraterrestrial artifact crashes near the landing zone - and soon aliens show up, claiming the artifact for themselves, ready to take possession of it - even by force. So Jay's team has their hands full, trying to solve the situation and protect the settlement.

At just under 80 pages, Dawn is a novella in the Trinity Continuum: Æon universe. The initial situation is promising - the journey to the distant colony that has long been isolated, some sort of key leaked to the team's clairsentient leader, and a threat from an alien force. However, the story remains shallow, and the characters pale. The powers of the psions play a rather subordinate role, and the background remains vague. Also, the way in which the predominantly female team solves the mission non-violently and always with harmony in mind by stumbling onto the solution seems too contrived. Unfortunately, my hopes for an exciting insight into the world of Trinity Continuum: Æon were not fulfilled here.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Dawn
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

M20 The Rich Bastard’s Guide to Magick
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2022 11:37:10
If magick alone is not enough - a Mephisto review

The Rich Bastard's Guide to Magick

Mage - The Ascension focuses on high goals, personal enlightenment, and the definition of reality. On the other hand, money seems so banal - yet it would be so easy for an experienced magician to build up riches with the diverse spheres. The Rich Bastard's Guide to Magick is therefore dedicated to the topic of wealth and money in all its facets.

First, the volume looks at the relationship of traditions, conventions, and other groups to the subject of wealth and what they can and want to achieve with it. Then it goes directly to the topic of characters. Here, the focus lies on background resources beyond the usual 5-point limit, describing not only the mechanics of the game but providing a strong focus on what that means for the character's background. With appropriate new archetypes, advantages, and disadvantages, these backgrounds can also be modeled in terms of rules. A selection of rotes for the various spheres provides additional material for players. The focus here is not always on gaining wealth, but many of these spells fit the lifestyle of the rich. Corresponding paradigms and practices complement this chapter.

That wealth is the key to entering exclusive circles is the theme of the following chapter. Various organizations, from a wellness clinic to a sector in the digital web to a club of adrenaline junkies, provide different examples. What money can buy directly - whether the perfect home, excellent vehicles, or outright magic items of all kinds - is the next topic that the book addresses. These magical treasures are not necessarily powerful items but are always exclusive and sometimes quite decadent, like a billion-dollar work of art. If that is not enough, there are ideas for a private town or a chantry.

The book concludes with tips and tricks for playing with the rich and famous. This chapter is about how super-rich characters can change the game for the whole group, and how the game master can deal with players trying to solve every problem simply with money. A few adventure hooks from the world of the rich conclude the book.

The Rich Bastard's Guide to Magick is a special book. Hardly any gaming group will really need it, but it certainly provides interesting approaches and ideas - also in the form of concrete game material. The rotes, wonders, and organizations alone do not justify the book alone, but if you are thinking about a chronicle set in the world of the rich and famous and thus have considerably more room for over-the-top and fancy toys, this is the book for you. If this direction appeals to you, you will get plenty of ideas, tips, and hooks here. However, those who focus their Mage game on the street level or enlightenment will not miss this book. In short, if you want to play your Mage game in the world of rich bastards, you'll get your money's worth - everyone else does not need this book.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
M20 The Rich Bastard’s Guide to Magick
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The Huntsmen Chronicle Anthology
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2022 12:20:07

Dark fairy tales - a Mephisto review

The Huntsmen Chronicle

The world of Changeling is a nightmarish world - that's the central motif of The Huntsmen Chronicle, the anthology for Changeling - The Lost. In one story, a couple of kids get involved with an older bully and then with a dangerous fairy creature. Then families are threatened by strange beings - or the protagonists try to win back their families. Finally, desperation drives some to madness and others toward suicide. The setting is sometimes our modern world, sometimes a detective noir story, and sometimes the world of French nobility before the Revolution. But one threat lurks behind all these stories: the huntsmen.

In 11 stories, the The Huntsmen Chronicle for Changeling - The Lost introduces various aspects of the game world. A central theme is the typical conflict when the changelings find their way back from the fairy world and discover how a so-called fetch has taken their place as a replacement. The resulting problems, in particular, are told very captivating from the different perspectives - and thus are anything but one-sided. The stories are dark, eerie to nightmarish, and sometimes cruel - but above all, very well-written. From my point of view, The Huntsmen Chronicle not only shows very impressively that the changelings of The Lost provide a much darker - and very fascinating - atmosphere compared to The Dreaming.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Huntsmen Chronicle Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 1510 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf