Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Fey and Forest Classes (5E)
by Joseph [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2024 17:12:57

James' review has done a fine job of documenting the actual contents of this product, so I'll just add my own experiences using it.

I consider this a great addition to any campaign or setting heavily involving fey themes. The core material of 5e certainly touches on fey and forest themes, but lacks breadth and some of the core subclasses with fey connections are thematically shallow. These are very evocative. I especially like the Knight-Surgeon, which has a general Arthurian feel rather than fey/forest specifically, and the Black Woods patron for Warlocks is absolutely rife with plot hooks.

I do recommend picking this up. If you're just looking to expand your catalogue of player options, wait until a sale or bundle, but if you're specifically running a very fey themed game it's worth the price.

Now to hope there'll be a Roll20 compatible compilation of this and the other Fey offerings from Legendary Games!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fey and Forest Classes (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Second Class Guides: Monks
by Stuart [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2023 16:54:25

Despite what the description says, there are no new options for the monk. All it is is a class review like you can find for free all over the internet.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Second Class Guides: Monks
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Trail of the Apprentice Adventure Path (5E)
by Jesse S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2023 01:14:21

I got this book as a discounted bundle of holding promo. TLDR: Very creative story with amateur-hour proofreading.

First, the positive: the story is just what an early level adventure path should be! The path introduces gradually more complicated game mechanics and DM/player options, while retaining a simple plot with clear objectives. The chapters have clear arcs of action and pause, with plenty of options for improvising. The artwork and maps look professional and cool, and mostly make sense. I look forward to run this path for a group of young people in my family.

However, the editing is at the level of a first draft. IDK if they uploaded the wrong version, but it is loaded with typos and errors. Every single page number reference is incorrect. There are lots of stray words, nonsense/random commas, and run-on sentences. Without really looking or trying, I find on average 1 error or typo per page. Most of ther grammar and spelling errors are pretty minor, but SO many!

A few examples: p. 56 - "Refer to page 73 (room 2B-1) for a description of what the PCs find there." - nope, not there. p. 85 - "The rules for peace-bonding are found in the sidebar on page 6." - nope. There is a sidebar, but on a different page. p. 99 - "Grunhild's statistics can be found on page 34." - nope, I have not yet found her stat block/page.

I have not played it yet, so I don't know if there are game errors. So far I have only read Trail of the Apprentice, so I don't know if the other books are this poorly edited (hope not).

For the story, I would give it 5 stars, but they forgot to have it proofread or error checked. If I had paid full price, or bought the paper book, I would be super bummed. For the price I paid, meh whatever the story is still great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trail of the Apprentice Adventure Path (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Prestige
by B C C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2023 10:39:43

AA++!! Brilliant design work by Margherita. She consistently manages to create a whole panopoly of game mechanic options that really breathe a breath of fresh air into PF1's prestige classes. That's no easy feat. If Endzeitgeist was still posting critiques, I bet he'd love this book. The game mechanics are high concept, just the right amount of complexity, balanced for easy plug-&-play with both Paizo and 3PP products ... and fun, fun, fun! This book is going to be in heavy rotation in my group's tabletop game. I can't wait for Legendary to publish more of her work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Prestige
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Prestige
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2023 16:55:25

This book is great. It opens up with a homerun by giving us a customizeable bloodline disciple option for the dragon disciple prestige class. Not only do they do the homework on a Celestial and Elemental bloodline, but they give us guidance on how to do the rest of them. I've been wanting this since Pathfinder first came out. Major win. Honestly, I'd have paid the 9.99 for just that alone. But there's more.

We then get a shapemaster prestige class, which is cool. But then we get over 10 prestige class archetypes. That's right, kiddos. Archetypes for prestige classes. Most of these focus on making the prestige classes more valid for different base classes, but it's even better than it sounds.

Next, we get some favored class bonuses for prestige classes. The list is long and varied. Not sure how they decided on which prestige classes made the cut, but there's plenty.

Then we have mythic prestige class features. To those unfamiliar with mythic stuff outside of Paizo exclusive content, it's class features that get a power boost if you pick it with your mythic options. Simple concept, good execution. I like what I see. Again, we get a ton of them here.

Finally, we get to the feats. Sticking with the Legendary Prestige theme, they're here to make your prestige classes extra attractive. Take Eldrtich Warden. This feat allows an arcane casting elf to get some cool things going on as they progress as a Nature Warden prestige class character, such as advancing arcane casting instead of divine...WITH icing on top so it isn't just a mere substitute.

We get some feats that are specifically for characters with prestige classes. I'm not going to lie, Continued Studies made me remember what it's like to fall in love. For players who want to prestige class their characters, but REALLY like a class ability that won't get advanced...get this book.

Thought that was entirely it? Nope, we then get mythic versions of a lot of feats. Some from this book and some from other sources, but they're all especially tasty. The afore mentioned Continued Studies? Oh, baby. Chantilly Lace, that pretty face, you know what I like.

Overall, this book is worth much more than the asking price. You get a ton of content that's also new and refreshing. Rare enough for 20 odd years of 3.x/p products. There's a few times where book references weren't formatted and there's the lack of bookmarks, but that's not enough to detract from the rest of the awesome. Get this book if you still play Pathfinder. The only regret you'll have is that you didn't have it sooner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Druids
by Jeremy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2023 15:07:12

Cool ideas for turning the druid into something more customizable, based on choosing a Circle (kind of like a Domain) and a Bond (where you can get Wildshape, Animal Companion, or some other options).

Unfortunately, I keep encountering instances of bad editing: text that seems to be missing, text that was probably from an earlier draft of the ability, words that seem to have had their positions swapped in a sentence. I don't really feel like trying to finish reading until at least one update.

UPDATE: Errata has been released, though not incorporated into the document itself. With this, the product rises to passable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Druids
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Investigators
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2023 21:36:33

I'm a big fan of the legendary classes series. I'll give a quick overview of this one as somebody who hasn't played it yet, but look forward to in the future. When the investigator came out several years ago, I didn't really care for it. I know some liked it, but it wasn't really for me. In a book of hybrid classes, it felt very much like an alternate take on the alchemist, but slightly different. Which may not be a fair comparison because I was turned off enough to not play it.

Then we got this bad boy. It has the familiar talent structure. Cool. I'm a fan of those. It's a skill monkey class. Which is always a plus. It's got some intriguing class features. That's all fine and good. But what's this? Course of study?

Wait. Stop the bus.

Okay, this is where the weird and fun explodes in our collective faces like that one can of coke you forgot you dropped. But let's back up a second before we dive right in. This table here before we get into the specifics on magic... spells per day on one side, and spells known/prepared on the other. Arcanist style spellcasting? This is my favorite type of spellcasting, so here's what victory looks like. Spellcasting goes up to 5th level spells. Okay, that's weird, but I like it.

Okay, let's look at the spell list. Oh my dear sweet brother Numpsay! We get access to different spell LISTS depending on which Course of Study we pick? I can't find my socks because they got blown off. There's arcane, divine, divine (nature), extracts, and occult. That's a lot of very different kinds of invesigators that spontaneously formed in my skull and they're clawing their way out like somekind of Lovecraftian love child.

As I said, your Course of Study gives you your source of spell list, but that's not it. They give you a decent spread of abilities at different levels. There's almost 20 studies and that means you've got options. Some even let you pick any of those power sources, like the ballistics study! Gun-mage, baby.

Then you've got some new talents. Cool. Some new archetypes. That's cool, too. Non-race specific favored class bonuses...I love those. More feats. Just two, but that's plenty. Why? Because you they added two pages on addictions to flesh out one of those feats. What does an addiction mean in this context? It means you get a list of boons you get bonuses from, and possibly withdrawl drawbacks. If you've seen the deific obedience stuff, it'll look familiar.

Anways, this is a big book that is VERY dense with information. But it's worth it. You get an interesting class that takes an interesting concept and then says, "think bigger!" It does this quite successfully and I highly recommend it.

5 stars, easy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Investigators
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Druids
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2023 20:50:12

Finally got around to reading and playing around with this entry. I gotta say that I loved it. I was never a fan of the druid class. Since back in the 00's, it was known as a powerhouse, but never quite grabbed me. It could do everything. Full casting, decent buffing, and with wildshape, they could be nastier than most other frontline characters. Then you had the animal companion. Pouncing dire tigers and grapple bears, oh my. Pathfinder took a bit of a step in the right direction, but it still felt off, and honestly all druids still felt kinda samey and boring.

Then, we got this.

I was blown away. They took the boring old class and revamped it with options all over the place. Firstly, you get to pick a circle. This helps set a framework for what kind of druid you are. Healing, blasting, summoning...you get the picture. You get some granted powers and bonus spells, similar to a domain or bloodline (and oddly enough, like a halfway point between the two, mechanically). They also come with talents specific for those circles. And you get plenty of options for talents from the class itself! There's so many good ones that it's almost hard to pick all you want by the time you hit level 20.

Finally, you get bonds. Just a few options here, but they're potent. Here's where you can choose whether you want to wildshape or have an animal companion. Or two other new and interesting choices (extracts and sacred sites). Did I mention these also have talent options? More things to make your druid unique and set apart. Awesome!

There's also a few fun looking archetypes that can drastically change how the class is played. From changing your casting ability score to making you into a nice parallel to a dracon blooded sorcerer, there's enough options to keep it cool.

Like a lot of other legendary classes, they have added more favored class bonuses than the standard +1 hp/+1 skill point blah, blah blah. And they aren't race specific, so that's good. Remember how I said the talents were so great you couldn't get enough of them? Well, here's a way to get more.

Over all, I loved it. They took a class I disliked and found boring, and made me excited to try their different takes on it. Which is quite impressive. Fans of the old CoDzilla style druid might not be as happy, but you can't please everybody. As somebody who finds the perfect blance for a class in the majority of the mid BAB 6th level spellcasters, this feels RIGHT. Sure it might give up a small smidgen of power but your character gets a soul, something that makes them unique and different, to set them apart. In my 22+years of gaming, taking your character from being a one-person party to being a valuable and rememberable part of the party is worth it. Get this book. While you're at it, get the Legendary Companions, too. Sure, you don't NEED it, but c'mon, you know you'll want it immediately after.

5 stars, all the way. Nat 20 with a confirmed critical hit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Druids
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Classes: Sword and Fist
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2023 18:43:44

This work is a convienent one-stop-shop for several books combined together. Barbarian, brawler, cavalier, fighter, gunslinger, monk, samurai, and swashbuckler...they're all here. With that Legendary flourish that you have come to love. The mechanics are all very well done and there's no confusion from how the things are worded. The classes within have already been reviewed by other people elsewhere, so I'll just say that I like them and leave it at that. I prefer them over the standard classes and use them in my home games. Having them all together makes it a breeze and I'd recommend it to anybody who took the plunge into Pathfinder to begin with. The game isn't just alive, it thrives. And this ensures it'll continue to do so.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Classes: Sword and Fist
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Witches
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2023 18:27:48

This class has been redesigned very well. It uses the same awesome arcanist style spellcasting that, to me anyways, just makes much more sense from a game perspective. It has pretty cool options for familiars, which is cool. You can't have a fun witch without a fun familiar. Without getting too deep into the mechanics, they also gave depth to the patron a witch gets by making them rather similar to a sorcerer's bloodline. Some even change them to psychic spellcasters or mid level spellcasting with higher base attack bonuses. And it all works together. Very well done and worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Witches
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Legendary Companions
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2023 18:13:09

It's great. What could make it even better? The one complaint I have with a lot of the Legendary series: I'd like to see more support between the books. I have purchased a huge chunk of the series, and the classes are all well done and I prefer them to the standard Pathfinder classes. Seeing cross-product support would be great, especially here. That being said, this is still a great book and worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Companions
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Aegis of Empires Player's Guide
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2023 19:22:22

This is a setting gazeteer, not a player's guide. Or more precisely, it's a supplement to other gazeteers.

I expect a player's guide to give some guidance on how to make a character for the adventure path. This should include a spoiler-free explanation of the themes and ideas the path will involve, suggestions on useful (or not-so-useful) classes and abilities to use in the game, and enough information about the general setting and the location the adventure starts to allow a player to come up with a backstory - or at least, enough that they can pick the stuff they're interested in and ask the GM for more information. Ideally, it might also include a selection of campaign traits, or some other mechanical way to tie a character to the campaign and ensure they'll have a motive for following its rails. In short, it should be a self contained document that gets the player ready for the campaign.

This document is not that. The first part of the "guide" is a high level overview of the parts of the region which the adventure path takes place which have not been developed in previous gazeteers. By its own admission, it does not "reprint materials already produced by Frog God Games", even when those regions are actually visited by the campaign. This means that if you don't own those products, you will have significant gaps in your knowledge for certain parts of the campaign. I can't be sure which products are most important, but the Borderlands, Bard's Gate and Sword of Air (an adventure for GM eyes only!) seem to get referenced a lot. The guide assures us that the GM will be given enough information to run the adventures in the modules themselves. But that's not much help for players, and this is supposed to be the Player's Guide!

The information that we are given is also rather useless when making characters. It's all high level geopolitical information. For example, we're told that Panetoth was founded in 1573 [it's currently 3517] after a famous battle, it's governed by a line of Dukes, the current Duke's grandfather was called such-and-such, and the land has water issues, cavalry, and nomads from another location that isn't covered in the guide. That's all. What would it be like to have grown up there? How would that have shaped the views of a PC, or affected which class they chose? I have no idea. The same pattern holds with all the cities and countries we're told about. Even Eber, the city where the first adventure of the AP takes place. Other than its history, the information we get on it boils down to "It has walls." Now, I realise this AP is a bit unusual, in that its first adventure is actually for level 2 characters and it's expected that the GM will run something else first. But it's probably going to be pretty close to Eber; wouldn't it have been better to give at least a bit more information? I see from other sources that it has a famous university, for example, an ideal place for scholarly characters to come from. But there's no mention of that in the guide.

After that, we finally get some vaguely useful information: a list of about 30 languages spoken in the region (no hints about which are likely to come up in the campaign) and a long list of gods. This doesn't give any fluff details about them, but to be fair, it does give mechanical details, for Pathfinder, 5e and Pathfinder 2e. The information for PF1 is somewhat lacking, as it doesn't have any subdomains or deific obediences. But still, this gives mechanical information which you need in order to make a cleric, making it the most helpful part of the guide for players.

Finally, the third part of the guide is a timeline of the last 12,000 years, covering 14 pages. I cannot imagine that even a tenth of the information here is actually relevant to the adventure path, and nor can I imagine a player slogging through it. I certainly haven't. As far as I can see from scanning it, it's compiling all the canonical events in the entire Lost Lands. This might be interesting to deeply committed fans of the setting, but not to anyone else. It has absolutely no place in a player's guide, particularly when it takes up nearly a third of the page count.

If you're a GM who's a massive fan of the Lost Lands, and want to get all the information you can about it, then you might be interested in this. If you're a GM who is encountering the Lost Lands for the first time, or worse, a player, you should steer well clear of this "player's guide".



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Aegis of Empires Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Beasts of Legend: Beasts of the East (5E)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2023 23:21:09

A small, third-party collection of monsters for D&D 5th Edition, focusing on creatures from Asian cultures. The authors made a point of drawing on cultures outside Japan or China, including Cambodia and Vietnam, though they also didn't feel bound to be strictly accurate to the source material. This is also a conversion of material originally designed for Pathfinder, like many Legendary Games products... but other than a reference to Pathfinder's nagaji, it's not particularly noticeable. As for the monsters themselves, they're reasonably well-done, with the most interesting probably being the neak ta (spirits that bond with buildings), quyrua (turtle guardians of magical weapons), and srin-po (artistocratic undead that feed on fear). (Originally posted on Goodreads)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts of Legend: Beasts of the East (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fey and Forest Classes (5E)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2022 17:15:28

A collection of ostensibly fairy/forest-themed options for D&D 5th Edition. Like most Legendary Games material, this appears to be converted from Pathfinder, but unlike most of their works, it's generally not noticeable. The new options include:

  • College of Fey Magic: A fey-themed bard. Not too bad, but not too fancy either.
  • Jester: A jester bard. A fairly solid treatment of the concept, though it could stand to be more overtly funny. Still, this is one of the better options in the book.
  • Hunt: An odd cleric domain that seems like it's trying to emulate the ranger. Not sure what purpose it serves.
  • Circle of the Forest Kingdom: Appears to be a sort of plant druid, but that gets buried under the three sub-subclasses it provides. Would have been much better with a tighter focus.
  • Circle of Shapeless and Primal Terror: A scary druid. Not a bad concept, with some interesting abilities, though the name needs work.
  • Knight-Surgeon: A healer-fighter that basically comes off as a paladin-lite. Interesting concept, but the execution could be better, and it doesn't seem to fit in with the book's theme.
  • Woodlands Cavalier: An odd hybrid of Cavalier Fighter, Ancients Paladin, and Ranger. Too blurry a concept, and an odd fit for fighter besides.
  • Explorer: A ranger specialized for long-range exploration. It's fine, if lacking in combat options.
  • Hidden Guardian: Apparently a sort of "fight evil in secret" ranger, but the mix of features is almost random. Doesn't really work.
  • Unicorn Charger: A ranger with a bond to unicorns. One of the better options in the book, though it might have been even better as a paladin.
  • The Black Woods: A warlock patron which is basically "nature red in tooth and claw". The features don't quite live up to the concept, unfortunately, as they're too similar to those from other subclasses in the book.
  • Other new warlock options: There's a Pact of Thorns pact boon (which lets you cover yourself in thorns) and several new invocations. Three are trying a little too hard with the flavor text (and their changes to other invocations are odd), but Cloak of Coiling Thorns is neat (retreat and leave thorns behind you).
  • New feats: Fairy Blessing gives you an in with fey, which isn't bad. True Love's Kiss lets you remove curses and other debuffs on a designated "true love" - decent flavor, but probably too specialized to see much use.
  • New spells: There are a number of thematically interesting new spells in here, though a few might be over-leveled, and there's also some redundancy. Still, this is probably the most useful section in the product. Highlights include Dirge of the Victorious Knights (send a wave of ghost knights charging at at enemy), Light Prison, Out of Sight (target forgets about you when you leave their sight), Shield of Dawn (can deflect either radiant or necrotic damage), and the bizarro Subjective Reality (you turn someone else into an illusion, but only for you).

Overall this product has some decent ideas, though many seem to be lacking a certain spark. The $4.99 price tag (for the PDF version) may be a little high, too. However, if you can pick this up in a sale or bundle, there's material here that may be worth extracting (especially from the spells).

(One minor curiosity: everything but the cover of the book describes the title as "Forest Kingdom Options". Guess there was a last-minute change?) (Originally posted on Goodreads)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fey and Forest Classes (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mother of Monsters Player's Guide
by Mark A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2022 09:38:11

This book was a huge boon for my players when I ran them through Mother of Monsters. There are a ton of well designed character options, including brand new races and sub-classes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mother of Monsters Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 550 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf