Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mutant Crawl Classics RPG
by Graham H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2024 23:41:08

This game is incredible. But there are some misconceptions a person could get from looking at the back of the MCC book or looking at the internet-- I want to clear those up. I am not affiliated with the publisher but I do have some lv. 6 guys running around Terra A.D.

1) Is it a mash-up? No, this is no mash-up.

The “magic” that is referenced on the back of the book is that of “post-Singularity” Arthur C. Clarke technology. How the lo-tek denizens of the world perceive the artifacts of the Ancients. This definition is what allows the game to have its unique contours. But the technology is so mind-blowing that it gives the best items in our favorite fantasy game a run for their money.

If Rifts and similar games are sitting across the “Science Fantasy” axis, this is squarely in “Science Fiction.”

Designer Jim Wampler is the Shakespeare of technobabble. One of the twists MCC adds is the ability to truly be a wizard… but without using “mystical/supernatural” abilities. Instead it’s all “quantum shunts” and transmat beams. It’s all about the lingo, and it works!

2) This IS the spiritual successor to Metamorphosis Alpha and Gamma World.

And there is nothing like the MA/GW cosmos. In 1976, did James Ward accidentally discover another dimension, mapping a perfect 1:1 correspondence to D&D, but where there is “no magic?” Maybe-- and it’s magical.

I hope he made it over there. You know, the final destination of the Warden.

That cosmos is the product of a singular vision, plus a few decades of spirited but faithful iteration.

I love Palladium but the edges of that megaverse can blur and lose resolution. This is the opposite. This is not a bad port of Mad Max or Robocop either, or a gritty table-top version of Fallout. GW/MCC is its own place, with a brilliantly colorful aesthetic.

It’s totally optimized for futuristic dungeon-crawling. Usually a single world comprises the campaign setting, and there are limited transportation options. This is a “less-is-more thing.” Generally speaking, players can’t fly to a random city or planet and make you freestyle a whole culture.

MCC expands the range of possible settings that fit this cosmos: The Neolithic hothouse jungle with a shattered moon. This time, consider the “Post-Apocalyptic” / “Science Fiction” axis. With its stop sign shields and semi-recognizable locales, Gamma World falls along the “post-apocalyptic” side. MCC’s offering is again closer to “science fiction”-- an unexplored planet. Is it a billion years in the future? A billion years in the past? A counter-Earth? A lost colony in the Horsehead Nebula? (Psst-- you can still have a stop sign shield.)

3) The DCC rules are the perfect foundation for this world.

Despite the “retro” branding, the DCC rule set is nothing if not a cutting-edge, state of the art modern game. Only “old school” in the phantasmal sense that it makes old timers feel like they did in the good old days. Wildly unpredictable, its pioneering use of tables means that there are a dozen-or-so tiered effects for nearly every ability. And in MCC, practically everyone is the equivalent of a spellcaster, recklessly burning luck and attributes at the first crack of a twig. The game shatters that dichotomy which, back in the 3e era, had the tasteless name of “crunch vs. fluff.” How? Well see, those effect tables literally define what the world is-- and what it can be turned into.

MCC is complete (one caveat below). I never crack open my DCC hardback over the course of an MCC phase. That is tabu! Some folk on the boards perceive a gap here and there and propose to fill them with DCC rules. You are free to do that, but it’s not necessary. And if you want my opinion, as often as not it is ill-advised. Example: humans can burn luck to avoid taint? Not in my holo-grid. All humans in MCC regen luck; such a trifling sacrifice does not impress the orbital electro-Gods. But hey, speaking of humans, from a rules standpoint PSH are awesome for the first time in…

The powers that your cast of heroes can get their claws on are really next-level. If you never found the Sky Chariot during your GW days, now is your chance to get into orbit. The rainbow-hued cover of the base MCC book perfectly captures the tone of infinite possibility and lightning-shot positive energy. This is cave-punk. The diametric opposite of grimdark cyberpunk. You are going to re-populate Terra A.D.! Unless some random mid-adventure mutation causes you to laugh so hard you can’t breathe.

4) The support for this game continues to be AMAZING--

--destroying a couple out-of-date prognostications still etched into dusty corners of the web. There is already more content for MCC then there ever was for any three or four editions of Gamma World. Goodman, plus a contingent of third-party publishers possessed of mind-melting creativity, are cranking out enough adventures that my kids will be able to play this with their kids someday (D&D will be on its 12th edition). And I never get bored during a read-through of a module with the MCC logo on it. That’s a deep bench of writing talent.

Okay so what is missing? In my opinion the only thing “missing” in the core MCC book is a useable map-- no offense to the Kovacs beauty on the inside cover.

And what is missing from the product line? Well, DCC now has Lankhmar and Dying Earth, but before that it struck me as a little skimpy on setting. MCC remains lean on setting. That is okay, as each of the modules builds out another unforgettable destination. I will take epic adventures over sourcebooks almost any day-- but why not have both? Our fearless third-party champions are starting to fill gaps here also. I would love to see a full-blown hardback or better yet, boxed set. But hey! The kickstarter could come any day. Maybe YOU will make it happen!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Crawl Classics RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mutant Crawl Classics RPG
by Erich [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2024 15:56:24

I love the setting of this game and it seems like it will be fun to play. As mentioned several times in the discussions, however, the shaman class is incomplete to the point of being unplayable without 3rd party supplements or heavy house ruling. I bought the pdf while on sale, and have no regrets, but I would be fairly annoyed if I had paid full price.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback and we're glad you are enjoying the setting. The Shaman class can be a point of contention if it's viewed as being a replicant of the Wizard class in DCC. Check out this episode of RAW: Rules As Written where they discussed the Shaman class and if something might be missing - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QIJzX8vhVQc&list=PLjotbAxDry2JeD5K_QGcF73wSM8sFy6af&index=29&t=2141s I'm pretty sure the following episode also has an answer directly from the creator Jim Wampler and his thoughts on the question - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjJxksenQHE&list=PLjotbAxDry2JeD5K_QGcF73wSM8sFy6af&index=30 Gain 1 point of Luck in any GG staff run game for leaving a review! (can only be redeemed once!) ~Matt Robertson Goodman Games
pixel_trans.gif
DCC RPG Free RPG Day 2012
by Brian [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2024 19:27:28

While these are solid adventures, both The Undulating Corruption and The Jeweler That Dealt in Stardust (the one my group enjoyed) has been reprinted in the DCC #89 Chaos Rising collection of older adventures. I'd recommend buying that!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DCC RPG Free RPG Day 2012
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
by Brian E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2024 13:06:39

The Mysterious Tower is a solid and entertaining module that is easy to insert into a hexcrawl or other campaign.

The overland and caves could be more interesting. There are a couple clever things in caves but much of the caves is a little too vanilla for many groups. I recommend replacing monsters with more unusual ones. The adventure shines once the players reach the constructed passages and the tower itself. The traps and tricks are intricate and allow the players to think their way through them.

My group enjoyed it and found the premise of the tower funny once it was revealed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #3: The Mysterious Tower
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Crawl Classics Horror #5: Creep, Skrag, Creep!
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2023 12:09:19

Really fun module. Stephen Newton is one of the master's of DCC Horror. If you liked this one, I also suggested you check out They Served Brandolyn Red.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics Horror #5: Creep, Skrag, Creep!
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
How to Write Adventure Modules That Don't Suck
by Kevin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2023 21:00:28

Here's the thing about books like this the idea that something sucks is 100% subjective.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Write Adventure Modules That Don't Suck
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Very true and you can never please everyone! Thanks for the review! ~Matt Robertson Goodman Games
pixel_trans.gif
Mutant Crawl Classics RPG
by Wesley A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2023 11:55:26

For whatever reason, all the things that DON'T land with me in DCC click in MCC. This is a great gonzo fun with an included adventure which had me laughing myself silly from nostalgia vibes. It's well worth the pick up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Crawl Classics RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Check out the RAW: Rules As Written videos on the Goodman Games YouTube channel Wesley. We've most recently been talking about the nuances of MCC and I've personally discovered so much more under the surface than I realized was there. Thanks for the review. ~Matt Robertson Goodman Games
pixel_trans.gif
Fifth Edition Fantasy #26: Ambush at Dragon's Cove
by Bálint G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2023 09:05:10

Simple adventure, but the theme and the NPCs are memorable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #26: Ambush at Dragon's Cove
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2023 15:53:57

My biggest problems intersect:

  1. linear adventure with no player choice and a complete assumption of what the party will do, and
  2. the party is assumed to ally with somebody whose actions are deeply unsympathetic, if not outright evil.

There's quantum treasure, if not a quantum ogre, there's poorly-written read-aloud text, there seems to be a general lack of thought about how to make the adventure legible at the table.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
We appreciate the feedback Tom. Thank you for the review. ~Matt Robertson Goodman Games
pixel_trans.gif
Crypt of the Devil Lich (DCC)
by Kaan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2023 13:45:23

Awesome. There is information on how to play the game in tournament format and how to play it in campaign format (if you have really brave players). Many Handouts to print out and give your players.

I wouldn't say it's better or worse than Tomb of Horrors. Some of the traps seem very tough, but I haven't played it yet so I don't have any real experience with it. One must keep in mind that it is mainly aimed at experienced players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crypt of the Devil Lich (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
We love a good handout!
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Crawl Classics Lankhmar Boxed Set
by Jerry N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2023 19:15:36

This is a top-notch product. Really captures the spirit, the feel of Leiber's work. As someone who was disappointed with AD&D's attempt to bring Lankhmar to the gaming table back in the day (Jannell Jaquays' fantastic work in Deities & Demigds excepted), I can't tell you how wonderful this is to read and play. This is not a cash-in. It's a love letter. Been running this for a year and a half now. Will be running it for some time to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics Lankhmar Boxed Set
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
We're glad you can see how much we love the setting, it was a labor of love. Thank you for the review!
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG (DCC RPG)
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2023 23:39:47

A great gonzo and deadly system that does a great job of taking B/X and heavily expanding on it from the get go. The dice chain system is simple, but is not entirely my cup of tea (hence why only 4 stars) but the rest is incredibly well done!

Also, very easy to find a group for, which is an added bonus, as Goodman Games gives a lot of support to clubs and game stores.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG (DCC RPG)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the positive feedback, you can also check out the Goodman Games Discord server and the DungeonCrawlers fan server if you are looking for games.
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Crawl Classics #101: The Veiled Vaults of the Onyx Queen
by Yannick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2023 18:47:37

A really well written module for level 0 characters filled with riddles, new tables, awesome maps and great drawings. That's pure awesoness!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #101: The Veiled Vaults of the Onyx Queen
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
I'll be sure to pass on your praises to Marzio, thank you for the review! ~Matt Robertson Goodman Games
pixel_trans.gif
Crypt of the Devil Lich (DCC)
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2023 20:55:55

IMO, not worth the money. There is no amount of player skill that will get a group through this. Unless you want a module that cannot be completed successfully without a lot of luck or GM fiat. The final nail in the coffin is the many missing items that are referenced within the adventure but not found in the item appendex. The 5e vesion does not have this problem, which while I rate this middling adventure as something to avoid.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Crypt of the Devil Lich (DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
We appreciate the feedback Nicholas. If you found some items that are missing, you can report them using the Stomp the Typo tool - https://goodman-games.com/blog/2020/05/03/stomp-the-typo-our-typo-submission-tool/. I got a chance to play some of the levels when Bob Brinkman was testing them and they were indeed very tough. It was a thrilling challenge to try to beat them! ~Matt Robertson Goodman Games
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Crawl Classics 2013 Holiday Module: The Old God's Return
by Bob G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2023 12:26:21

This is the first DCC module I ever ran, and like so many firsts, it will always be fondly remembered. It's excellent and could easily be run anytime of the year, but running it around the holidays makes it special.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics 2013 Holiday Module: The Old God's Return
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 628 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf