Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
by nathan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2024 15:25:38

The amount of customisation with Chrome options is super cool. As ever, the GM tools are brilliant.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cities Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Wolves of God: Adventures in Dark Ages England
by Benjamin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2024 07:10:41

This book is genuinely such a good read! It’s also fun at the table, but this is certainly among my top 5 favorite RPG books to read for enjoyment. It’s written from the perspective of a monk in the setting teaching writing down how to play role playing games in the world in which he lives. It represents the setting well, and the mechanics support it excellently. Give it a go if you’re a history-buff, into the Beowulf era, or if you just want to read something cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wolves of God: Adventures in Dark Ages England
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Godbound Art Pack
by Faith [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2024 06:41:19

This is amazingly high quality art to allow people to use for free - a huge thank you for helping people out with getting started!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Scarlet Heroes
by Jesse [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2024 17:05:22

Excellent, simple mechanics. Good solo play adaptations. Useful as a reference for other games.

Hardback binding split the first time I opened it. It's unfortunate, but PoD is a gamble and not really worth the money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Sine Nomine Guide to Kickstarter Management
by Stijn [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2024 03:25:52

The hobby would be in a better place if more designers read this guide, Way too much bs going on across OSR kickstarters still. At least we got a handful of people like Kevin who are amazing about running their campaigns and never disappoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sine Nomine Guide to Kickstarter Management
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Diocesi of Montfroid
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2024 16:19:24

The Diocesi of Montfroid provides a nice starter setting divided roughly into thirds: 1. Gazetteer, 2. GM Tools, and 3. a 4-level dungeon. Some thought has been put into the plight of the new GM with a modest amount of explicit advice on consuming and using the material, and in general I find there is a nearly perfect balance between providing enough to work with while avoiding becoming cumbersome with too many details and particularities to track or remember. It's a solidly worked out foundation which any GM can pick up, run, and elaborate through play over time, and it provides an excellent example of what someone could do with the tools provided by WWN and the Atlas of Latter Earth. Well done! I look forward to using this with my group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Diocesi of Montfroid
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Worlds Without Number Art Pack
by Richard D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2024 13:05:31

Insane quality, differing styles, and free to use as long as you credit the artists? The fact that this does not have hundreds of 5-star reviews is a crime.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Without Number Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Silent Legions
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2024 18:18:04

I have yet to try the actual game rules, but I would recommend this book to anybody running any kind of investigation style game in any system at all. The back half of the book is filled with an excellent set of system-agnostic tables which can be used to quickly generate a setting and investigative mysteries within that setting. I went from having no idea what the mystery would be three hours before the first session to having a fully fleshed out mystery by the time we started thanks to this book.

It's not just the idea of using tables to generate investigative scenarios, but also the fact that the tables and structure are unusually well thought out and evocative, and fit together in clever, helpful ways. An excellent resource for any GM interested in the genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silent Legions
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Worlds Without Number System Reference Document
by Ev [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2024 14:21:32

Once again, Kevin Crawford not only releases an astonishing free edition of his works, but now includes a CC0 SRD where anyone can take this work and use it in their projects. He gives and gives, all while providing amazing books. I am proud to have every properly printed book of his on my shelf AND some of the POD ones!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Without Number System Reference Document
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by J C S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2024 12:05:58

I ran a whole campaign of this, and I love it. Everything about this system is great. A stripped-down straightforward d20/2d6 system that will be familiar enough to folks coming from other games, but still entirely its own. Has enough variety to sustain a number of different character concepts, even though it only has 4 core classes. For anyone wanting more complexity, psionics act like spellcasting in other games, giving the min-maxers a giant rabbit hole of possibilities to go down.

My only quibbles ever were wanting more, just a little more actual-game crunch. I wanted something simpler than Starfinder and the like, but crunchier than the simpler one-shot or story games like Mothership. Something that really sustains campaign-level play, similar to D&D, with characters continuing to grow in power and influence. With characters who can reasonably survive a whole campaign.

(There's genre limits to this, of course, since sci-fi heroes are always intrinsically going to be more power-level-capped than fantasy heroes who essentially become demigods at higher levels. Unless you're explicitly playing science fantasy, having some limits to player power DO make it feel more sci-fi.)

The GM tools are amazing, and it has a whole big crunchy solo game for DMs to play to track faction progress in your background setting. Tools for generating interesting planets, stations, whole galaxies. I can't praise them enough. Really, he set the standard for amazing GM tools, and I know plenty of people just use the GM section from this book for their sci-fi games, without ever trying the system itself. If you're running sci-fi, I think it's worth picking up for that alone.

This was also Crawford's first Without Number game, and both later ones (Worlds without Number [fantasy] and Cities without Number [cyberpunk]) took everything great from this game and expanded on it. Especially CWN feels like it reaches the "crunch" ideal I was hoping for the whole time in my SWN campaign--crunchier than story games like the Sprawl but not as complicated or unplayable as something like Shadowrun. So anything lacking here, which is not much, is improved later in further iterations on the system. And yet all three remain fully compatible, where you can literally play a WWN fantasy character in a SWN sci-fi game, if your setting allows for some fantasy elements.

SWN also makes up for it's low crunch by being imminently moddable. I ran a Mothership module in it and just tacked the Stress and Panic system right on top of the standard SWN system, and it worked like a charm. If there's something you want to change or update, it's easy. If you don't like the starship combat rules, you could easily change them out for ones from a system you like better. So the simplicity is also a powerful feature, not just a bug / deficiency.

Overall it's great, and a fantastic starting point for anyone wanting to get a sci-fi campaign going. I recommend it heartily.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Sine Nomine Guide to Kickstarter Management
by AJ [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2024 23:00:41

Pragmatic, brief, and holistic, this guide grants actionable advice and realistic measures to figure out not just how to set up and execute a Kickstarter campaign, but also when (i.e. what conditions are required for success).

As a fan of Mr. Crawford's work, this wonderfully condensed guide was an engaging glimpse behind to curtain to see the many considerations that have contributed to his record of success.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sine Nomine Guide to Kickstarter Management
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
by J C [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2024 11:59:56

A great addition to the Without Number game line. It is compatible with Worlds without Number and Stars without Number but it is very much it's own game.

The switch from classes to edges is very true to the genre, since cyberpunk criminals have always needed to be poly-skilled for any game to be fun and feel right.

There's flavor / culture bits in here I never expected to love as much as I do. Crawford knows how to dig into a genre to find the mindsets that would actually emerge and be prevalent in such a world. Corporate genders?!? It's amazing.

It's a simple OSR-derived system that almost anybody can pick up. It's also got enough crunch for crunch-lovers to dig deep into for a good while, and it's open and easily moddable such that more crunch can be added as desired.

Currently running a Shadowrun campaign in this. So glad there's a system that I can use for it now, since Shadowrun's own system has always been so unworkable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cities Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by William [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2024 13:27:07

I was looking for a universal RPG that I could use to play solo with Mythic 2e in multiple genres. There are certain tropes I want in my setting like Aliens, Terminators, Scanners, Escape From New York, and Mad Max. I was able to fit all those genres into one setting with SWN with very little effort. The included "Tech Level" system allows you to easily identify the equipment recommended for a TL3 world (21st century Earth).

The enemy templates are very well done, and normally just use them out of the box, but they are easy to modify. I wanted to create my own setting, rather than start with a heavily established one. This is the perfect RPG for that. Character creation is easy, and allows you to create the kind of character you want.

There were a few areas I was a little disappointed with, like the sparse guidance for monetary rewards. A good explanation was given for why this section isn't fleshed out more, but it feels like a lazy cop-out. I was able to create my own abstract wealth system based on the information that is provided, so I won't knock off a star for that. Rather than saying it's impossible to implement consistent economics because of the diversity of tech levels and worlds, I would have preferred that the designer START with economics, and design the lore around that. It's like they built the walls of a building first then added the foundation later.

I wanted to do Mad Max style vehicular combat, and it took me a while to get my head around how it was supposed to work. I was able to put it all together, and the system works well. Overall, I think the comment that says the rules are poorly organized has some merit, but it's not worthy of a star in my opinion. I would have liked to see them put all the rules for money in one place rather than spread over 3 sections, but I just made screen shots of the tables, printed them to a PDF, and added it to my PDF rulebook for easy reference.

I think Stars Without Number is almost a bad description for these rules. It is actually a very capable universal rule set, and I would have preferred to see the designer approach it that way. The true utility of this system isn't apparent at first, because it's unnecessarily themed as science fiction. This is my favorite multi-genre system. I'm aware there are other books like Worlds and Cities Without Number, but all the tools I needed to play cross-genre are right here. Maybe this book should have been called Worlds Without Number, and then have a Fantasy, Sci-Fi, and Cyberpunk add-on like SWADE did. I guess it doesn't really matter, because it's perfectly useable as a universal system as-is.

For combat I'm just using Maptool, and the basic AI from the book DM Yourself. I'm modifying the AI for specific situations, but SWN does play well with miniatures. I wanted DEADLY combat. If my character dies, I just start a new one. I don't like invincible heroes like you often get with SWADE. I wanted a distinct horror element brewed right into the game system, and it's easy to do wtih SWN. There is plenty of incentive to avoid combat and fear Aliens, Terminators, wasteland bandits, and rogue psychics.

SWN works very well for a TL3 multi-genre sandbox, especially with Distant Lights. It was almost custom made for Mythic.

Aside from the few quibbles I was able to overcome fairly easily, this rule set feels like it was designed for me. I just wanted something easy to play that would accommodate my specific genre preferences, and I was able to get there with SWN.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number: Free Version
by Marc [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2024 15:21:39

Fanstastic free product with a wealth of tables and systems that can be considered system agnostic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cities Without Number: Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cities Without Number
by Samuel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2024 18:55:30

This only system I'll run Shadowrun in. Simple, flexible, and familiar to my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cities Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 430 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf