Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Doors to Heaven
by Ramon [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2024 08:21:52

This is a short and sweet adventure that can work either as a one-shot or as the starting point of a longer campaign. It does everything it needs to do: a short intro to all the different aspects of the rules, the setting, and a very moody adventure that gives you a great idea of what the game is about, while short enough to be played in about 4 hours. Definitely worthy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Doors to Heaven
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fear of Being Alone - Solo Roleplaying Fear Itself 2nd Ed.
by Gabriel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2024 23:41:04

I feel like the rules are poorly explained and I had trouble using them. There are also lots of spelling mistakes that can make some of the information harder to parse. There are some good tools in there, but I was disappointed overall.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fear of Being Alone - Solo Roleplaying Fear Itself 2nd Ed.
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fifth Imperative
by Gary [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2024 14:49:58

Very good book enjoyed it. Noir. I like the main character and the monster was cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Imperative
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
13th Age Core Book
by YH [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2024 09:37:30

13th Age is a game I've really enjoyed running, though I haven't had the chance to try it as a player. It does a great job at combining narrative and gamist elements without bogging down into bloat. Some of the concepts seem a bit heavy-handed at first, but when you get past the moderate learning curve, they become very easily internalised. I've read comments online that there aren't many viable character builds. Personally I haven't run into that problem yet, so we'll see. In any case, if you're looking for a game with excellent combat and a powerful narrative system, 13th Age is worth taking a look at.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
13th Age Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Dracula Vector
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2023 17:41:54

Thoroughly enjoyable story to read and run. Exactly what I was looking for as an introductory adventure. Well set out, good ideas of skills to use. Nice story you can edit to fit your own needs. Generally great all around. I wish Pelgrane would release more like this, like an Arkham detective tales they did for trail of Cthulhu. But for this system. Please do more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dracula Vector
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Swords of the Serpentine
by Ceazar C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2023 23:23:00

I'd only ever played a single one shot of a GUMSHOE game prior to picking this up (Night's Black Agents), and found the system to not be to my liking, but oh man has Swords of the Serpentine turned me around. This is one of few systems that I actually think I'm more excited to run rather than play, cause of how much excellent guidance is packed into this book. The adversary creation system is robust enough to handle a ton of ideas, and the implimentation of traditional and social combat is really exciting for fast but meaningful conflict. As someone who runs a lot of one-on-one and two player parties, I love the attention payed to scaling character power levels, and the freeform magic. Eversink as a seting is wonderfully fleshed and feels fresh as someone who has been playing RPGs for over a decade at this point.

I can also see the base of this system being easily hacked to run more traditional D&D fantasy, but if you're a sword and sorcery fan, this is perfect as is. I'd love to see this system get all the love in the world, expansions, more adventures, further setting books!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords of the Serpentine
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
13 True Ways
by Christian J. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2023 21:54:35

The indispensable companion volume to the 13th Age rpg. If you play 13th Age you want this book. The "no one true. way philosophy really shines here but it is pure gold. that can only make your game better



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
13 True Ways
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Swords of the Serpentine
by william g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2022 19:28:40

What a great application of the GUMSHOE system. As a GM who is frustrated with many games at this time, this game provides a great new way to play fantasy games. The setting, the artwork and the maps are all top notch. Most rpgs deal with social combat and reputations poorly, but this game with the GUMSHOE system, allows for games of investigation, intrigue... Truley Amazing. To anyone who has not read the new rules, soo many things can be done with manuvers, I was worried about how it would deal with combat. I am happy to say, the combat is great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords of the Serpentine
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Lilith
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/29/2022 11:59:01

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2022/08/100-days-of-halloween-lilith.html

Continuing my mini-dive into Lilith in various games.

Lilith

This book is by RPG luminary Ken Hite. It is only nine pages but it presents some background on who Lilith is including her "Herstory" (look if you don't know who Lilith is and why "herstory" is FAR more appropriate than "history" then I can't help you.)

We get an overview of her time in Babylon. A bit on the Burney Relief (the cover takes its cue for that) and how they are working under the assumption that it is Lilith or Lilîtu. (Personally, I like the idea that it is Ereshkigal.)

After this there are sections on what Lilith is doing in various Pelgrane Press games like Trail of Cthulhu, Night's Black Agents, Esoterrorists, Mutant City Blues, and the Dying Earth RPG.

Wonderful concept.

The zip file comes with PDF, MOBI, and EPUB versions of the book for ease of reading.

There are very few historical characters you could do a product like this with, so I really admire this choice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lilith
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Night's Black Agents
by Gabriel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 22:50:40

I ran a whole campaign in Night's Black Agents and my players and I had a lot of fun. It's extremely well designed for genre emulation combining investigation, horror, and action. You really do feel like you're in Ronin and then you learn the bad guys aren't working for the IRA but Count Dracula (or mutant zombies or the nosferatu or some kind of Lovecraftian god). One thing I especially loved is that there's not just one type of vampire but a generation system that lets you build different types of vampires. Very different types of vampires that go well beyond the goth aristocrat from some minor province of the Hapsburg empire. Among other things, this avoids the problem of the players having read the bestiary and memorizing all the stat blocks. Go ahead and read the GM section, you'll enjoy it but you'll still be surprised by the vampires in my game. I have a few reservations, all related to Gumshoe rewarding system mastery: 1) If you're not used to Gumshoe, a few of the mechanics can be a bit confusing. For example, in theory the distinction is just investigative (I get clues) vs general (I engage in combat or other action) abilities, but some of the general abilities have complicated rules about how fast you get points back and this gives the resource management aspect of the game an aspect of system mastery. For instance, the noob might choose to put points in network and thereby make their character more flexible, since you can use network to recruit lackeys who can do anything ... except network points don't refresh. The rules make sense once you understand them, but there's a learning curve to it.
2) Character generation is a classless system based on point buys and this can make character gen a bit hard. (There are archetypes, but you still have to spend your remaining points). Pelgrane's character generation website The Black Book helps with the mechanical aspects of character generation but you still have to make choices and there are better and worse ways to do it. 3) You can spend points on a roll, the outcome of which is that you lose more points of the same type. This means that instead of thinking about how scared your character is that he just saw someone rip someone's throat out and drink their blood you're thinking about probability theory of spending points vs taking a straight roll. (FWIW, the expected value is worse if you spend points on the roll so don't do it unless you're in danger of going insane). I suggest a house rule that you can't spend points on stability rolls.

These reservations notwithstanding, I still think it's a great game. I enjoyed the campaign I ran and would gladly run it again for new players or play in someone else's campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night's Black Agents
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Trail of Cthulhu: The Dying of St Margaret's
by Sara D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 10:06:36

This game was everything for my table! Atmospheric and spooky, with a lot of amazing historical work thrown in to boot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trail of Cthulhu: The Dying of St Margaret's
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
#Feminism - A Nano Game Anthology
by Jasen J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2022 11:33:36

In terms of value for money, #Feminism is excellent. You're getting thirty-four (34), one-shot LARPS or "nano games" in one convenient package. Along with various gaming groups, I've played eight of them to thoughtful results. Apart from straight play, however, there's a wealth of character perspective on offer for any of your tabletop RPGs. You can use #Feminism just as readily as a supplement to enrich your other games. Either way, there's a lot game in #Feminism.

(I finally bought a .pdf on DriveThruRPG because my shelf copy has grown a bit careworn!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#Feminism - A Nano Game Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Esoterrorists 2nd Edition
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2022 12:48:48

The PDF works fine for me--the problem experieced by the other user isn't universal/a glitch on a specific system.

This game is an underappreciated gem--get it! Can be played in connection with Fear Itself, also very worthwhile. Concept, content, mechanics, support, all great.

The review that prompted me to buy the game can be read here: https://www.rpg.net/reviews/archive/16/16027.phtml



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Esoterrorists 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fear Itself 2nd Edition
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2021 21:50:47

The perfect vehicle for tales of contemporary horror.

In this game you play as ordinary people, which to me is the key for a solid horror experience. It anchors the game in a baseline of reality, which makes the horror elements really stand out.

The game itself is simple and fast at the table, which is imperative for horror games - the system gets out of the way. Initially I was nonplussed about the "investigative spends" mechanic, however at the table it works just fine.

What I really like about this edition of the game is there is a TON of advice for designing and running "mysteries". For example, it has guidance on how to handle "red herrings" in a way that should satisfy a player, rather than frustrating them for shutting down the red herring.

Given the shift to virtual gaming these days, it's worth noting that Foundry VTT has a nice module for gumshoe games (https://foundryvtt.com/packages/investigator), which includes a Fear Itself setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fear Itself 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Seven Wonders
by Barbara T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2021 03:00:12

Played 'Before the Storm' online with some friends and had a great time. The card mechanic was a little strange at first, but we figured it out. I'm looking forward to trying out some of the other games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seven Wonders
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 340 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf