Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 08:39:02

By Page 3 I'm listening to the suggested music, by Page 5 I'm itching to run the adventure The writing is evocative and has the right amount of Gonzo for the setting for example “which has been sitting there like Chekhov’s phaser” Nick passes on lots of handy advice on how to run the adventure; “I appreciate that this may not work for every group, and urge gamemasters to use a degree of maturity and sophistiction calibrated to their own gaming group.” It is filled with wonderful artwork by Mike O’Connor.

By the PDF and hope a physical copy appears



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Six Seasons in Sartar
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 07:55:02

There's already 64 very good critics ! I just want to say, once again, that this campaign is awesome. Just because of the very nature of it ! I think this is for the players and the GM one of the best way to discover an orlanthi clan, together, and for the GM to understand what "Your Glorantha will vary" means. Really and in depth. "Old" RQ players/GM will be extremely pleased and new ones will discover Glorantha, certainly, in one of the best way you could imagine. As some kind of a special mention, I will highly recommand it as a starting campaign for new RQ players/GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Taliesin a. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 07:50:18

Wow!

That's really the thing that comes to mind - especially as this adventure goes further and further along. It actually reads much more like a novel than an adventure -but a novel in which the reader (the PCs/players) are actively involved.

I'm not sure that it's going to be the best intoduction to Glorantha (and, by extension, G:RiG), because it's packed full of lore, as well as hints and snippets to a LOT of other material out there (and, I'd suggest, GMs should be well aware of this before diving in). But if you've already done Six Seasons in Sartar, then getting into this won't be so hard. But, even if it's still a bit challenging, there's plenty of friendly people (and me) over at BRPCentral who'd be more than happy to point people in the right direction, or answer questions.

If you're moire into hack'n'slash, this isn't your book. While there's certainly a bit of that here, that's not the main purpose.

For the grognards, it's awesome! This is a real labour of a lot of long-time love of Glorantha and all that Greg was aiming at! Seriously Nick - Greg would be uber-proud/happy!

I really like some of the consequences of decisions made, and the justificastions for them (no spoilers!) - they cut to the heart of Glorantha and Orlanthi culture.. I also like some of the alternatives offered, especially at the end of the book, for those who find it too trippy.

One suggestion I may offer - a few more alternative options in various places for those not Orlanthi.

Also, I did find that towards the end (Act 7), that it was much harder to follow... what's part of the scenario? What's just fluff? What's the GM supposed to be doing with it all? It's definitely not a play by the numbers adventure at this point.... (NB: I'm a bit of a literalist and pedant...)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Cups of Clearwine
by Austin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 01:13:42

Cups of Clearwine is a delightful volume. Well-presented with Kristi Jones's lively portraits, and dozens of smaller graphic touches, this RuneQuest supplement illuminates Clearwine Fort's "middle class" with crystal clarity. It builds upon BWT's previous Clearwine volume, while still welcoming readers unfamiliar with that work.

My favorite part is probably the short adventure, in the appendix. Delightfully strange, it serves as a great way to introduce players to the community with a truly "Gloranthan" plot. I also love the sidebars describing work and daily life in Clearwine Fort. These details—including glassmaking, waste management, and even a troll-friendly snack recipe—bring the setting to life.

Cups of Clearwine is an inspiration for myself as gamemaster and writer. An absolute gem.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cups of Clearwine
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Nick U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2021 15:13:05

It's beautiful, it's brilliant... it's bloody bonkers. More than a game supplement, Black Spear is a literary event and the reinvention of a genre. Something special just happened here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The Titan Incident
by Alexander T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2021 01:17:17

I ran this scenario for my group a couple of yeara ago. They had a great time although the pregen characters led to more than a few double crosses at the climax! I've been playing a fair bit of Mothership lately, and with a bit of adaptation this could be run pretty well with that system. The author might even consider republishing it for Mothership and sell some more copies!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Titan Incident
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Alexander! I've spent the last week or so reading through Mothership myself and am eager to spend some time running it and producing content for the game. I'm not sure I'll translate this scenario over but I've got some scifi material I've been working on in bursts that I think would be ideal for Mothership.
The Folly of Ponsonby-Wild
by Raymond I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2021 17:29:09

The scenario theme is British horror set in a green and pleasant land. The principle location is a bucolic downtown Abbey style hotel facing a dark Cuthuloid menace but interlaced with shades of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and Poirot (if you are not familiar, Christie wrote Murder on the Orient Express along with many other whodunnit novels) plus a touch of Jeeves and Wooster. One minute the investigators may be eating a delicious cream tea in idyllic rural surroundings, the next they are dealing with a grisly murder. This is all rather fun and my players found it highly entertaining while their characters found it terrifying. The action and the clues are all set in one location with not very many NPCs, so it is very suitable for beginner investigators. It could also easily be adapted for pulp Cthulhu if you wanted to ham up the English period characters.

The scenario is an entertaining and well written read well worth the purchase price - even if you never run it. However after the first read through my immediate reaction was “this is fantastic and I have to run it!”.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Folly of Ponsonby-Wild
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2021 01:31:18

What a marvellous book. I have been priviledged enough to experience this mini-campaign as it was being sculpted by Nick Brooke. Sculpted from an amalgam of deep, deep Gorthantha lore and a scattering of popular sculture. But on reading the book, I am so pleased to discover Nick's customary foot-notes which are like his asides at the game table. This adventure may not be for every table - if your group resent a Moonson that looks like Elvis they may not relish Bowie as Argath, and some tables might feel railroaded once or twice - but it should be for every GM. It is an obeject lesson in making myth in Glorantha, and particulary for GMs new to the world (hello starter kit) it works as an insight into the complex history of Glorantha, the history if Runequest the game, and a primer on handling surreal heroquests in your bronze age world. If you are a new GM who wants to look like a seasoned pro, this is your vade mecum.

As a playester, I also got a preview of some of the art by Mike o'Connor. but the full PDF has much much more. Its great, in a style that fits the heroquesting vibe - very different from the "archeological illustration" of much recent RQ content, but which i feel might well suit the glaze of actual Gloranthan pots and mosaics.

A must for every GM's library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Harald S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2021 18:11:05

Hang onto your chariot! And get ready for one wild ride over the rainbow into a technicolor wonderland and the heart of darkness. This extended RuneQuest adventure puts the characters front-and-center in a far-flung heroquest engaging with movers-and-shakers at a seminal moment in the world of Glorantha. My first reactions were: "brilliantly mad", "wickedly delightful", and "gloriously illustrated" (in no particular order).

For the gamemaster, the Black Spear demonstrates how to get an epic quest underway and bring the adventurers right into the mythic events that drive the world. It maintains a well-thought-out flow yet is filled with useful advice, thoughts, and humor on how to run each session - even musical recommendations to get players into the right frame-of-mind! The wonderful illustrations with their graphic novel feel feed right into this and provide plenty of possible handouts to help players envision what they've landed in.

For the players, it's an opportunity to step out of a hard-and-fast rules mentality and into a seriously entertaining and memorable story. This is the Yellow Submarine, Neil Gaiman's Sandman, Apocalypse Now, Mad Max, and more rolled into one non-stop adventure. By the end, they'll be ready to dive head-first into the Hero Wars (or frantically trying to stop it!).

For newcomers to Glorantha, the Black Spear plunges you right into the magic of a world that have kept many engaged with it for years. For old-timers, it's a wonderful homage to favorite RuneQuest settings done over in new and intriguing ways that will get you out and boogieing big-time with the newtlings.

A wildly delightful plunge into RuneQuest and Glorantha. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2021 17:00:06

I was sadly unable to be part of any of the play testing of 'Black Spear' but nevertheless, was enjoying regular generous updates from Nick as the work progessed, contributing honestly not much beyond the occassional guffaw and "this is -expletive removed- amazing ". And it kept getting better.

So though the final finished product is, in the words of Thomas Jefferson, "too many damn pages for any man to understand" that's mainly due to they're being jam-packed to overflowing with sweet, sweet Gloranthan goodness. But for those of you mythological diabetics out there or the functionally illiterate just buy this product for the reality altering, simpy stupendous Mike O'Connor art alone. Buy it now. There you've been told.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Chris G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2021 15:51:17

I was one of the playtesters of this scenario, so had the privilege of experiencing its wonder, excitement and adventure at first hand. From my adventurer’s limited perspective, it was everything I could possibly want – high-stakes quest, travelogue, dungeon-bash, wargame and heroquest taking us from Dragon Pass to Pavis by the scenic route, encountering diverse Gloranthan cultures and playing my part in the unfolding Hero Wars. However, now I get to see the whole pack laid out, the paths not taken , the vast mythic vistas and the depth of imagination and research, I am truly awestruck. This really is the Gloranthan scenario you are looking for. We agreed to follow a relatively simple railroad in our approach to this scenario, and the others which appear in Smoking Ruins and Pegasus Plateau, because our group is limited to about a game a month and we don’t have the time to sandbox. Played this way, ‘Black Spear’ is an exciting way to bring standard Colymar tribe Sartarite adventurers like the pre-gens in the core book or the starter set, or from Six Seasons and the Company of the Dragon, out to Prax, the River of Cradles, Sun County and Pavis. But it is so much more than that. Nick presents a palimpsest of novelties overlaid across familiar locations from Runequest’s past and vibrant present. A group using a freer, sand box style, will find themselves treading in the footsteps of Borderlands, Pavis and Big Rubble of RQ2, Shadows, River of Cradles and Sun County of RQ3, not to mention the Sandheart series and the Nomad Gods Board game! All of which is held together with a heroquest around a central myth of Glorantha, rather than minor obscure cults prepared for a scenario. If you have played the standard RQG character creation and scenarios, or followed the Six Seasons route, or found your way into Glorantha via the reprinted Classics, or (dare I say it) Nick’s earlier scenario, ‘Duel at Danger Ford’, this is absolutely the next scenario you have to get! Your adventurers are in for an utter treat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Greta G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2021 11:18:14

Black Spear is a triumph. This adventure synthesizes together many of the more forbidding, obscure, or occultated aspects of Glorantha, a setting notorious for all three of those things, and does so in a way that's directly approachable, with the author explaining his reasoning as he goes, offering alternate pathways at each juncture. This takes the form of a symbolic journey through the ruins of older Gloranthan games and scenarios, right into the heart of darkness, all held together by a collage of cultural references- here a reference to first-person shooter video games and especially Half-Life, there a reference to classic folk horror, and over here is a reminder that classic cartoons have their place in Glorantha.

The overall result is something that I think could be run for a group of newbies or grizzled veterans of the Hero Wars with equal ease, something which allows players to engage in a bit of psychological role-play, and something that allows you to perform a lingual, or linguistic, or at any rate cunning act on a frog woman. (You can also have regular fights if you like, elsewhere in the adventure.) Strongly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Maps - Masks of Nyarlathotep - Prologue - Peru Pack
by Petermartin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2021 21:52:52

Excellent selection, well detailed. I have not run through them yet, but everything has a good, authentic aestheic. Really helps set the tone. For reference I am using it with Foundry VTT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Maps - Masks of Nyarlathotep - Prologue - Peru Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Bearwalkers
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2021 20:47:17

Very good stuff. This is exactly what is needed, information that can be used in a Gloranthan setting as well as for those who do not play in Glorantha.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bearwalkers
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Argan Argar Atlas
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2021 09:02:17

While the maps are comprehensive and exhaustive in this product, I deducted a star because there are no roads shown. On a scale of eight miles per hex there is no excuse for displaying major roads.

I also deducted a star because the key is only printed on the large-scale overview maps, and are unreadable; a comprehensive map is of little use without a key.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Argan Argar Atlas
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 1199 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf