Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Moving Star
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2021 11:47:31

(Excerpted from a larger review on my blog):

The Moving Star is presented as a “slow burn Call of Cthulhu scenario set in a Cyberpunk future.” That it is. In spite of the being only 43 pages long (including front & back cover), I imagine this scenario would take multiple sessions to play through. The introduction says it can be played in 12 to 18 hours. I guess that sounds about right. It’s certainly an interesting scenario as written, but I think if I were to run it, I’d make some changes. Of course I would. I can’t leave anything alone.

Set in the far future, the Earth is ravaged and those with money are leaving to set up new lives on a new Earth called Spero. The trip will be made in a massive ship and will take several months. Unbeknownst to the crew of the ship, they’re carrying something Mythos-related. The investigators are hired to find a missing person, but will stumble into multiple dangers and strange situations. From religious zealots, to corporate intrigue, to an inhuman threat, they’ve got their work cut out for them. There’s a lot of room for investigation and for roleplaying in this one. And considering its Science Fiction/Cyberpunk trappings, there’s a sort of Agatha Christie vibe to the proceedings.

...

Overall, this has a lot of potential. If your group is very into roleplaying and investigation, as opposed to brawls and gunfights, this should go over well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Moving Star
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

MANOS: The Fingers of Fate
by Morgan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2021 10:15:00

OMG, this thing is 76 pages! I play tested this and this was a blast. The pre-gen PCs are very amusing. I got to play Melvin, the Unpleasant Youth, and after he went unconscious, Hugh, his uncle. The module is chockfull of info and pictures, with lots of helpful information for running it. I had no idea what "Manos: The Hands of Fate" was, but I still enjoyed this scenario, playing a bunch of Yahoos running into the supernatural. Highly recommended. And if you're a fan of the Manos movie, dare I say, "Hear the Will of Manos," get this and run it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MANOS: The Fingers of Fate
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The Prisoner's Dilemma
by Morgan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2021 11:10:41

I played in this and it was a lot of fun. The premise is PCs go to a prison and what's a prison without a prison escape? Explore the creepy prison as you try to figure a way out. Things get worse and worse, but you have to continue exploring or else you don't escape and things don't turn out well for long term residents. The descriptive text is well written. There are helpful hints as to how to run it. Character portraits and art are consistent and have their own style. Module is a well executed survival horror scenario. The only thing is I would add some creepy prison guards and / or nurses and doctor. Some of the areas are eerily empty and adding a prison guard or nurse would pump up the tension.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Prisoner's Dilemma
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2021 09:03:15

Bonkers in all the best ways. Psychedelic illustrations, weird-ass dreams, references to Bowie, The Smiths and Aristophanes. Black Spear gives some really great Glorantha, but with a touch of the silliness I loved so much in earlier edtions. A must-buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Tales of the White Beast
by Mr N. !. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2021 06:27:04

I have a confession to make. The 90's were my jam! That was the decade I discovered pretty much everything (music, booze, drugs, girls, Häagen-Dazs). However, it also feels like the decade Cthulhu forgot. I have seen a plethera of scenarios set in the 70's, 80's and modern era but 90's specific? not so much. As such Tales of the White Beast instantly scratched my 90's itch. If you are looking for a teen led adventure with plenty of grit then this is a great scenario to try, think The Faculty, I know What you did Last Summer, Buffy the Vampire Slayer etc etc. The scenario unfolds at a nice steady pace which helps ramp up the tension. Can the White Beast be stopped? You'll never know unless you try this killer scenario available to rent from your local Blockbuster video store! (failing that also available form DrivethruRPG!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the White Beast
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Creator Reply:
Wow!!! This is just about the best review one could get! Giving the Keeper and players great atmosphere and framework to create their own experience is why I love to write these things! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it and I hope you and your players enjoy playing it! Thank you for taking the time to review my work, friend!
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Andre J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2021 12:17:26

Jodorowsky's Glorantha?

Greg Staffords world of Glorantha always was different than any other fantasy gaming worlds. Glorantha game masters were always encouraged to make Glorantha their own; using what they liked, ignoring what they didn´t liked, and adding their own details to change Glorantha to the needs of their stryle of gamemastering (resulting in minor or major tweaking of the gaming world).

Your Glorantha Will Vary! Indeed, Nick Brookes take does vary… but does it REALLY vary that much from established canon? This series of adventures follows a theme, using bits of established gloranthan lore, twists them in a certain way, sometimes making feel like a parody of the way some scholars view gloranthas deep knowlege… but the interpretation of these bits of lore are not wrong et all! All the pieces, no matter how misinterpreted they might seem at first glance, COULD be the truth!

Great art, in a unique style, that breaks down the basic informations of the descriptions in the text to THE picture of it, and presents very real gloranthan images to the reader at the same time. The references to rock song lyrics are consistent with the overall representation, as are a lot of the puns. Some people will love this, some will see it as „too much“.

Will i use Black Spear? When i will run this series of adventures for my players i would tone Black Spear down and give it a more serious approach, but I loved to READ Black Spear like it was presented.

For the conclusion of my review i was searching for an analogy and found it: I like to play my campaign in a tone like Lynch´s Dune. Black Spear is presented more in line with Jodorowsky's Dune. It is so right, and it is so wrong at the same time, you will love it! Well played Nick, well played.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Corallo's Artpack #3
by Austin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2021 05:01:34

Dario's art packs are brilliant, evocative, and affordable. As a fellow creator for the Jonstown Compendium, they make my job loads easier. I especially appreciate Dario's contributions because it can be difficult to find suitably Bronze Age stock artwork elsewhere when creating supplements in Glorantha. My folder of Corallo's artpacks is the first place I look when considering how to illustrate my own products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Corallo's Artpack #3
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Carnival of Madness: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
by Joshua C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2021 12:54:51

It's not often that one sees a CoC scenario outside of the Classic or Modern eras. Carnival of Madness taking place in 1970 was an exceptional treat to play through. It was an incredibly detailed scenario that expertly describes every inch of The Carnival Pandemonium, from each carnie to the smells of Food Row.

While the scenario is going to start and end in the same place every time, the real meat is the sheer amount of games, rides, and attractions the players can interact with in whatever order they choose, as they are slowly driven mad. Most play resembles more of a tournament style CoC game, as the onus is on the Keeper to generate the creeping tension their own way, using the tools provided.

Overall, an excellent game with a good amount of replayability.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carnival of Madness: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The Room with No Doors
by Sergio N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2021 07:12:54

Buy this for Halloween! I had the good fortune of playtesting this adventure. Me and my friends had a great time! I have played a few Call of Cthulhu scenarios, but am no expert Keeper. The author has a very direct way of writing, so that everything is easy to find and every encounter is ready to be played. M.T. Black has developed a very easy way to present adventures and writers should imitate his method. It's an easier introductory adventure than The Haunting, if you ask me. One of my players asked when we were going to do a playtest again. Excellent adventure, with excellent background, albeit not rooted in the Mythos directly (of which usually the players learn very little, at least in my experience). The Keepers can play with it as much as they want. Looking forward for more of this author's adventures for Call of Cthulhu.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Room with No Doors
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Dead Light and Other Dark Tales
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2021 01:08:22

Dead Light contains two very interesting scenarios for CoC. They could both be run as standalone one shots, but are really intended to be inserted into an existing campaign at a moment when your players are driving through the deep, dark woods around Arkham.

Dead Light is one of the most lethal CoC scenarios that I’ve read, and I’ve read a lot of them. It’s kind of ironic that this is meant to be inserted into an existing campaign because if you run it as intended it’ll probably kill at least half of your players. Dead Light is essentially one of those scenarios that traps the investigators in a desperate situation, facing down a horrific foe with no means of escape. But it also does a really fantastic job of building suspense and atmosphere before the monster first appears. I think many groups might have a hard time figuring out how to actually defeat the monster in this scenario, and as the Keeper you may have to show a bit of mercy on them unless you want a TPK.

Saturnine Chalice is also really interesting; it’s a scenario that is based almost entirely around social interaction and puzzle solving, with little to no combat. Usually puzzle-based scenarios like this end up being a bit dull, but the writers found some really clever ways of keeping this one feeling tense and horrific. This scenario takes place in a large manor house in the middle of the woods and your players are going to have a lot of fun figuring out what is really going on with the strange people that live there. Well-designed puzzles and plenty of insanity-inducing sights and revelations make this a really memorable scenario, though it’s obviously not for every group.

There’s also some included “scenario prompts”. These are ok, ranging from somewhat clever to very predictable, but they’re not really the reason why you’re buying the book. $8 feels maybe a bit steep for two short scenarios, but they’re both really written and memorable so I think this book is definitely worth the purchase if you have a CoC group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Light and Other Dark Tales
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
by Madison T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2021 12:14:51

I got the idé to run the adventure from the YouTuber Seth Skorkowsky, who said it was a good introduction to Call of Cthulhu. It did not disappoint - my group and I had a great time playing it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone running Call of Cthulhu for the first time, since it is easy to run and was a hit in my game group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

[French] Hesta - Le sarcophage Saint-Claire
by Olivier B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2021 03:00:10

Scénario peu original, pas très fourni, écrit avec la mode de l'inclusif. Je ne le jouerai très probablement pas ; je passe mon chemin.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
[French] Hesta - Le sarcophage Saint-Claire
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Creator Reply:
Merci d'avoir acheté ce scénario, je suis désolée qu'il ne soit pas à votre goût et j'espère sincèrement que cette critique n'est mas seulement dû à la présence de l'écriture inclusive. Bonnes fêtes d'Halloween à vous !
Stone and Bone
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2021 11:17:03

Great scenario. Nice to see an adventure based in Prax. It really succeeds in creating a distinctive atmosphere for this region of Glorantha. For example through little touches like the sand-mushrooms. The main NPC is a shaman of one of the clans of the Bison Tribe and I do like the way the whole premise of the scenario fleshes out the shaman’s central role in Praxian clan life. There was good advice for GMs on how to scale the adventure and there is a useful appendix of runespells for the cult of Bagog.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stone and Bone
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2021 02:20:12

My personal interest in the Jonstown Compendium is to peruse the many different ways in which people construct scenarios. As odd as it sounds, I like to see what is lurking in other people’s heads and how this is interpreted into their adventures. The variation in approach between authors is always a curiosity to me and to my mind there is no right or wrong way.

The Black Spear is both audacious and brave, being very different to the other scenarios published under the aegis of the Jonstown Compendium. It takes a wild ride through Glorantha, throws up many curve-balls and surprises, imparting much interesting ‘Gloranthan Lore’ along the way. And what I truly love about it is that it is unlike anything I would create and as such I have learnt from it. Perhaps the next time I put pen to paper I will be a bit more daring.

The Black Spear takes the gamemaster and players alike back to some familiar haunts but replays them in a completely different fashion. Without giving too much away, a great example of this is a visit to a cave complex. This might have some players ‘tooling up’ for a hunt and kill mission, but Black Spear takes a very different turn and comes up with something truly inspirational, fun and Gloranthan. Love it.

What’s more, the book is beautiful to behold. Wonderfully written, colourful, bold and clear, it is full of useful boxed text and packed with superb art from Mike O’Connor.

It’s a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Paul A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2021 01:11:22

Magnificent!

From the vibrant artwork to the suggested soundtracks for key scenes, and the notes at the end on the author's inspirations from film and literature for key NPCs, the attention to detail and sheer joy evident on every page of this saga makes it a delight to read. And there is so much wonderful Glorantha material here, that even if (like me) you prefer the Questworlds system to Runequest, or don't plan to run the saga in its entirety, you will be coming back to it again and again. Glorious!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 1199 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf