Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2023 12:46:40

The Great: A very original, complete and evocative micro-setting. Massive amounts of inspiration, connections, original ideas. The way factions are organized and have their relationships mapped is an immense breathe of fresh air compared to most supplements.

The Good: System neutral, but gamed out in a very usable way with art and maps that are good enough.

The Bad: The twee tone and hipster politics inserted into a fantasy setting are a bit much for me, but it's a minor set of changes to fit it with my own settings.

I consider it a classic, despite any imperfections from my intended use case.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Woodfall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Haunted Hamlet - and other hexes
by Jared S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2022 11:01:58

This zine offers 4 different hexes (adventure/encounter locations) with enough detail to make them ready to drop into your RPG session while still being GM user friendly. Loaded with useful tables and interesting NPCs. The art is distinctive and cool. There's a great deal of value for your money in this little zine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunted Hamlet - and other hexes
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by Nikla P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2021 07:43:59

Good little book that can provide for a full mini-campaign, or an arc in your campaign. The region is made with sandbox play in mind, so you can just throw your players in and let them choose what interest them. Every little story, faction and conflict is interesting and can provide several sessions. You can easily expand on it to link it with your universe. It is sometimes goofy, sometimes a bit dark, so it would work well (in my opinion) in a serious but light-hearted game (like most d&d), or at contrary in a surrealist game like troika. Some layout problems for me : the factions are represented by various symbols, but the only reference linking the faction's names and the corresponding symbols is at the beginning of the book, so you need to flip a lot of pages



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Woodfall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Haunted Hamlet - and other hexes
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2021 21:14:07

Wow! So beautiful, so imaginative, and so very well written. My personal favorite part is the Heart String Knight, you just have to read about it. This is absolutely worth the buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunted Hamlet - and other hexes
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2021 12:28:53

Great concept and great execution.

I'm too lazy to write the kind of review that this deserves. Suffice to say that if you have any liking, or even just tolerance, for the oddball, buy this book and revel in a panoply of excellent playable concepts set in a very charming milieu. Don't be put off by the dreary vibe of the setting. It has that dreariness, but that is shot through with upbeat tone and hooks.

Wonderful stuff if you only ever read it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Woodfall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Willow
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2021 21:03:09

After Woodfall, this was an auto-buy. I love short settings (I love to build huge campaigns along with my players using small environments) with hidden depth. Willow provides a "mood" (which is not easy task!) at first: you can find NPCs, tables, references, some rules-light inputs and lots of ideas to make this shine throughout your shots or long adventures. Support these guys and buy this lovely edited PDF.

SMALL addition, take this as a costructive criticism: I would edit these books with bigger edges and fonts since they might be a bit painful on smaller tablets and that's a shame, since they are the perfect fit for your "portable/virtual" campaigns. :) 5 stars anyway and keep on rocking.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Willow
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2020 09:24:44

This is how a setting should be written. This is an insanely well done sourcebook. Planning to use it as a sandbox in various games: I see this (no matter how weird it feels) easily usable even for more narrative games, since I really feel the dark-ish mood and storytelling potential of personal struggle, intrigue and the like. Just one note: I would have reminded factions with some wording rather than images only in the (still awesome) factions relationships sheet. Btw, this doesn't change anything: this is nuts and highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Woodfall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Willow
by Jelle S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 07:21:51

For me, being a fairly inexperienced DM who's still trying to find his pacing this little booklet was great; This micro-setting has all the details worked out for you to use or ignore if the narrative demands it. It's written clearly and in a logical format, visualising enough to get a good feeling with Willow and it's inhabitants making it very easy to get a few sessions out of it with great ease. Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Willow
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by Gus L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2020 08:04:27

Woodfall is a jaunty upbeat sandbox of a setting (or mini setting) with campaign structure/story opportunities built around faction tensions and a grim swampy aesthetic. It's well written in a surprisingly cheerful way, full of useful colorful asides and details (crafting, interesting NPCs, magic items) as well as numerous lair and small dungeon locations that serve as faction headquarters. A sort of playful high fantasy setting, with touches of gonzo and fairytale, as well as a optimistic view of anarchist politics and spontaneous community, Woodfall may not be to every players' taste, but it is undeniably a well crafted and usable mini-setting which even someone looking for a different aesthetic would be well served to use as a model for building compelling faction intrigue based sandboxes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Woodfall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Willow
by Scott P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2020 08:22:54

One of the best purchases I've made from this site all year. A staggering work of imagination. Brief, evocative descriptions provide just enough info to charge your creative mind at the table and allow you to riff on the encounter, location or NPC. Everything feeds nicely into other locations, providing hooks between the sites but never railroading PCs toward any one direction or goal. I read this and immediately wanted to run it. Dropping it into my ongoing 5e Saltmarsh campaign right now.

Good layout, easy to read maps, wide variety of encounters. A welcome breath of fresh air among the usual overwritten, overly long, overly mechanical fare you typically see on this site. Bravo, and well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Willow
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by Theodore A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 11:25:11

This setting is beautiful. While it is small there is plenty of small hooks that allow for plenty of adventures that can span years of gaming. I have only begun to scratch the surface but look forward to integrating this setting into my current campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Woodfall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by Josh D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2019 00:46:01

I purchased Woodfall hardcover & PDF. Having read the book and now prepping it for a campaign (in 5e), I am extremely excited to run this module. Instead of a long prose, i'll just bullet point it:

  • the factions in the swamp are great, with goals and interactions, as well as plans if the players do not stop with that faction. As the GM you can then use what you want, discard what you do not like - but the hard creative work has been done for you
  • rumour table. A solid rumour table is great to help you seed the area, and the rumour table for Woodfall helps you seed the tone of the area itself - that is, your players are going to know this place is a little different just from the (sometimes conflicting) rumours concerning the town.
  • with the thieves guild and fence, this is a place where you players can legitimately spend their money. The problem with backwater starting areas is that there will never be a magical sword for sale.
  • the political stuff is a great background for GM - the players might pick up on it, but probably not. Knowing that a group are anachists means you can give NPCs their own goals (and then be consistent later without needing to take notes).
  • The layout is good, there is very little wasted space!
  • the module is just funny. There's so much to like in here.

I think there are some criticisms:

  • While there are text descriptions for all creatures, some of the creatures in the beastiary have no art! As I understand it, some are based on irish / UK myths and folk tales, which does not help the GM if you're from another part of the world.
  • the faction interaction table is unlabed, hopefully we can get a PDF of that labelled from the creator.

Overall though, these are minor blemishes on a genuinely fantastic setting. Do you have a forest that could have a swamp in the side of it, full of anti-establishment witches, undead and creatures? I highly recommend you slot Woodfall in there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by Jorge J. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2019 19:15:41

I purchased Woodfall yesterday and read half of it last night. I can say that it's a great setting and tool, but I don't think it's really appropriate for Lamentations of the Flame Princess, as some reviewers have stated, but it will be great for a more or less conventional, yet darker, setting.

As some have said, yes, this book is overtly political, so it's not for everyone's tastes. And it endorses (at least that's my perception) Socialism, which is perfect to me. But even anti-Socialists will benefit from it because it would be easy to run the game as satire and portraying the good guys as evil commies (as in Paranoia). Actually, the book allows you to join the authority and murder every single communist out there.

Basically, it's a hexcrawl with a swamp, a forest and factions operating on the area. It's funny and a little creepy. There is a necromancy commune and punk goblins and a troll gardener. If your game is dead serious, it might be too disruptive (that's why I won't bring it to my LotFP campaign), but if you like funny things and weird humour, it might be a good addition to your not so serious game (that's why I will drop it into my Labyrinth Lord game).

I don't give 5 stars because, personally, I don't find the artwok that great. I mean, some pieces are amazing, but others a little more than sketches and I don't like sketches, but you might.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by zunzun z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2019 17:21:56

Very good and entertaining. It's been a long time since I've read a module from cover to cover in one go. It has hooked me. Looking forward to taking it to the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Woodfall
by Xavier B. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2019 15:44:20

Cool magic system, cool charts for quick NPC relations creations, cool table of factions and really great to see a sum up of the changes over time: Things are evolving in the swamp!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
Powered by OneBookShelf