Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020
by Hunter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2016 12:13:19

Ths book, a collection of CP2020 weapons, is a very useful tool for "Referees" (or GMs) and players alike. The weapons are detailed in CP2020 fashion, statted out and referenced from supplements, sourcebooks, and other materials.

I bought this book because the CP2020 rulebook lacked a lot of the weapons. It had starter weapons, which was good. What I really needed was a plethora of weapons from which I could choose. This book has at least 250 weapons plus one new one, a sinister rifle that anyone wants to try out. ;) It also has an ammunition section for players to purchase their ammunition. You cannot go to the Combat Zone without ammunition, chombatta!

Perfect as a supplementary book to assist Referees and players with PC/NPC creation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Hunter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2016 12:01:30

The book comes in the flavor of the 1993 edition with corrections and clarifications as version 2.0. While the book does have some minor errors such as spelling, misplaced numbers or words, the book is a solid rulebook to obtain in softcover. the softcover is pretty strong, durable, and will keep you occupied in the late nights rolling 9 1d10s to figure out your "random" character, pick out your stats by picking specific character points, and/or do the "Fast N' Dirty Expendables" for NPCs, whether they're important or not; perfect for creating your own posergang, boostergang, or chromegang, etc.

I thought the book would be great for roleplaying the Cyberpunk universe and it does. While I am not knowledgeable about the Fright Night Fire Fight system, I am aware that the game does have its own flaws, which comes up with quick remedies you could find by googling. This does not scare me 100%.

What I do like about the rulebook is the fast and hard rules that it comes up with for character creation. The customization of your character, due to the randomness of the core stats, the lifepath, and finding a number of pickup skills (using INT & REF), is not found in any other roleplaying rulebook as far as I know. This would be the most unique rulebook I could find on the 'Net. I'd be glad if a chombatta would prove me wrong but ... not yet. :D

When creating NPCs on the fly, the pages of Night City Encounters could inspire you. There's loads of encounters with people that each player could face when randomizing the encounter by die. This could give you loads of work as most encounters have varying degrees of difficulty, the numbers of people, and affiliatons. Be prepared as a GM to do a lot of NPC creation if you wish to use the Encounter system to keep your PC going. Make sure they're afraid to die, but willing to shed blood in order to survive. After all, Night City isn't too forgiving.

Then there comes a story called "Never Fade Away" in the theme of the Cyberpunk 'verse, which you could theoretically roleplay as Johnny Silverhand and battle the NPCs using the FNFF system to get familiar with the game. It also comes with "advertisements" or "classifieds" asking about jobs, which leads the player(s) on a job, willing to do the dirty work. These are quick-to-play scenarios and may not last you an entire night.

I am very ecstatic about this book and am glad of my purchase. I do not regret buying this rulebook 100% and will continue to support R. Talsorian Games, Inc. by buying up every single PDF and print-on-demand Softcover copy to have on my shelves (as I do collect and keep roleplaying rulebooks, supplements, or sourcebooks for posterity or to play).

For an added bonus on getting the latest weapons, get the Blackhand Street Weapons 2020 1st Ed. book. While it is 48 pages, it has chronicled a lot of the weapons in different categories from the rulebook, the supplements, and the sourcebooks. ;) Great if you don't have them all but could find them in one book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by greg m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2015 12:48:37

This is the first rpg I am aware of to try to capture the "High-tech, Low-life" feel of the literary and film cyberpunk genre, and it wildly succeeded. Of course, the game shows it's age now-a-days, what with some of the setting stuff. Who still uses fax machines? And a lot of the super fancy high tech in the game just looks dated. Wires and cables are everywhere in the game. Computer memory is made out to be a precious commodity. I feel I would be remiss if I didn't mention that kind of thing is all setting flavor and if you want to give the setting a more 2015 flavor of what the future would look like, it's not that difficult to reskin. The other approach would be to run it as a gonzo alternate future that went sideways during the 1990's. Mechanically, this is a great game. All you need to play is a single d10 and 2d6. Maybe a couple more for some of the really big guns, but I don't think that any of those were in the corebook. There are 9 stats you rolled a d10 each for, and a couple derived stats that used simple math to determine. Figure out your role... You can be a Solo, which is a classic cyber soldier, or a cop, corporate suit, a fixer (think fence,) nomad (Mad Max extras,) reporter, techie, doctor, netrunner (computer hacker) or a rock star! Slap on some shiny chrome parts to your character, get a couple bfg's, and your good to go. A couple things to be warned about, the netrunning rules take up a good third of the book, so a lot of referee's tended to ban that role or run one as a side npc so as not to use up huge segments of time the other players could be using. The combat system is this game has a bit of a learning curve, as does any mechanic for any game, but once you get used to it, combat can be resolved quickly, easily, and LETHALLY. Guns kill characters in this game. If they don't kill you outright, chances are the ambulance won't show up in time. The rule system for this game is really well balanced, and once you get the hang of it, is really intuitive. Some parts of this review may sound blase, but I am trying to give an honest review of all parts of the game; so you get the good with the not-so-good. It really is an excellent game and worthy of a 5 star rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Castle Falkenstein
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2014 02:40:20

Castle Falkenstein was far ahead of its time when it was released in the 90's and I can't say I would have stumbled on anything remotely like it. Sure, there are dozens of steampunk roleplaying games with orcs and elves but none have the same dedication to atmosphere and making it all work as whole. System and design choces make sense in what the game tries to establish, it's not D&D with guns. Propably the first and still the best best game in steampunk fantasy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Falkenstein
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Castle Falkenstein
by Myr G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2014 19:46:43

The pdf content is ok but the pdf format is really too big and can't load on tablets ( such as kindle) And becaus eof the DRM restriction I couldn't split it into multiple pdf files.

unusable so ... :(



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mekton Zeta Tactical Display
by Cody P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2013 13:29:00

First off you get charts and tables for running the game. It's god send to have this product if you want large scale mecha combat or easier mecha construction. Now possible with Mekton The Movie booklet. The targeting computer system that got left out of print version of Mekton Z Plus also makes it to this book. I had the Tactical Display already but it is nice to have the full core rules in PDF for when I am on the go or traveling. There are a few other goodies like short One-shot-Variable-Adventures (OVA) set after Rimfire on Algol and extra combat options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta Tactical Display
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020
by Jordi F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2013 02:28:14

Good stuff. If you like weapons, of course.

Here you'll find most (if not all) weapons/ammunition from Cyberpunk 2020. Not only the stats, but the description and use as found in every manual ... and in which Book you will find the weapon. It even comes with a compilation of images for said weapons, but not all of them has a corresponding image.

Nothing more nothing less. So if you like weapons, this book is pretty handy.

Also it's well scanned :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Chromebook 1/2
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2013 13:01:34

Cyberpunk is all about style and chrome (lots of chrome) so what better for a passing 'punk than a bewildering array of items to shop for?

Everything the well-supplied cyberpunk might need is here: electronics, vehicles, cyberware, weapons, fashion, housing... even 'executive services' whatever they are. It reads (deliberately) like any catalogue you have read, full of advertising speak and illustrations that present the item in the best possible like. As a result most of the book can be used as an in-character resource whenever the characters have some spare eurobucks and time to go shopping.

I quite fancy the Net-Runner Cybermodem Utility Suit (although it's likely my students would laugh at me!), but like so many of the items here it does remind you that the game was written a while ago (the two books combined in this product came out in 1991 and 1992 respectively) and are the 1990s view of what technology would be in the future. We're a bit closer to 2020 now, and I'm sure there will be stuff around then that cannot be imagined now, never mind 20-odd years ago... take for example the 'Mead Electronic Notebook' described as a souped-up lapcomp with 6MB RAM and a 30MB hard drive... my pen drive is far bigger than that!

Never mind, it is a classic of its time, and Cyberpunk is still a fun game to play especially if you are old enough to have played it in the 1990s as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chromebook 1/2
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Chromebook 1/2
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2013 20:22:36

Chrome Compilation of Chrome Books 1 and 2, originally published in 1991 and 1992 respectively, wear their era of origin heavily. Chrome Book 1 is especially heavy with nostalgia and unintentional irony with faxes, wired modems and 80s fashion figuring heavily, the weapons and vehicles being a mix of (then) cutting edge modern and attempts at extrapolation. However, some of the cyberware (including the decentralized heart, one of my favorites) and chipware are still solid conceptually and the services section is full of interesting ideas. Chrome Book 2 is better at not being locked into its era of being made, well except for the computers. There are useful things to adapt for any cyberpunk setting including full conversion cyborgs, exotic body-shaping and crazy weapons. Most of the contents of these books are just good fodder for products and things for a near future setting, the rules are a bit more iffy.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chromebook 3/4
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2013 20:20:50

Chrome Compilation (2) of Chrome Books 3 and 4, first published in 1994 and 1996 respectively are more successful in being still felling like things from the potential futures also, no weapons in these books just gear and reference. Book 3 succeeds in being more forward looking even the computers are not so wince inducing, but the sections on full conversion ‘borgs and powered armor both require other books for full rules (Chrome Book 2 and Maximum Metal respectively). But the general tech items, cyberware, cyberpets (enhanced animals), robots and WADs (Working Assistant Droids built off the powered armor rules), are all very evocative and useful. Book 4 is good on cyberware but really shines on biotech, the vehicles are interesting though more illustrations would have been welcome. The fashion section is a little dated but still so much fun to read and has some useful note on clothes and the character. These are the best of the Chrome Book line, benefitting for the experience acquired on the first two and full of valuable inspiration for any cyberpunk styled game.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chromebook 3/4
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fuzion Core Rules
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2013 12:25:18

This is a book of potential that was never realized. It suffers in structure and ease of use, but the concept is sound and the game is playable. I used it many years ago, it worked but was rather dry. It really should have contained more genre specific rules and options. This product could really have been so much more.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fuzion Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Marisa C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2013 04:21:45

I had bought the book for the game a while ago, and decided I wanted a PDF version to print out sheets with ease. It looks like this book is a mishmash of two different versions--page 99 of my book has modifiers, and other tables in relation to Friday Night Fire Fight, while this PDF has a redundant shotgun/grenade section (that, mind you, are in page order still). Pages are poorly scanned: in quality and lack of care (can the pages be straight... please? Am I too OCD to request this?).

Please fix this PDF, and it will be a better purchase.

As for the system, it's simple and easy to get into. Everything from character generation to the thrilling combat... it's great to pick up and go. I recommend picking up the other books just to add to the flavor of your Cyberpunk game. The layout of the book (and other books) are VERY cool, and REALLY convey the feeling of what being Cyberpunk is all about.

System-wise, HIGHLY recommended. For this PDF, hold out if you can till they fix the issue with the pages. You will be missing relevant information that the physical copy has. If you can, find the book on Amazon.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mekton Zeta Plus
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2013 11:53:11

An excellent companion to the Mekton Zeta core rules. This book lets you take your Mekton game to the next level with more construction options and other game rules.

Something I appreciate about these rules is that they're not hard to gradually move into your game play as you get more comfortable with the system. I recommend starting with just the Zeta rules first, then add in parts from Zeta Plus.

Best of all, the scan is beautiful. This is a high quality pdf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta Plus
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mekton Zeta
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2013 09:35:36

This is a fantastic game system that can handle just about any type of mecha game you want to run. From giant lumbering Battletech-style mecha, to nimble transforming Robotech, to beam saber wielding Gundam, and so much more. It can be a crunchy system, but it's not hard to tailor it to your tastes. Take out or add to get as fiddly as you want to be. Hands down, my favorite mecha system.

The only reason I don't give this product five stars is that the scan for the .pdf is okay. The cover is beautiful, but the interiors are a little fuzzy and there are some lines from the scanner, and in some places shadows from the printing on the next page. There is nothing terrible about it, but I've come to have higher expectations for the quality of the images. Plus the artwork is beautiful and the scan quality takes away from that.

This is especially surprising because the companion book, Mekton Zeta+, is a beautiful file! Sharp, clear, and just what you want in a .pdf product.

But, if mecha games are your thing, this is the product for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Finnen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 18:06:53

This a beautiful game system, the more I look into it the more it appeals to me. Character creation and the example archetypes are packed with flavor that bring the game alive. Can't wait to read more and eventually play it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 271 to 285 (of 343 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 19  20  21  22  23  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf