Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Xuming Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2020 02:43:06

I've read this book and I have to say good! I'm a fan of Alien, Predator and Prometheus series. The rule in this book is really matched on Alien stories because most of rules are concentrated on expressing the sense of space biological horror such as Stress Dice mechanics and Panic Roll. And the rules to simulating the life on space is strongly reflect a truth about how weak our human are among this endless space, like critical injuries, lack of food/water and a number kinds of aliens.

But I suggest that this game could sorted out this large number of rules and enlist a reference sheet to help Players making their Characters or Ships easily. That can save more time and let Players and GMs pay more attention to write stories.

I'm looking forward to more storybooks and new sets to complete the setting of Alien/Predator/Prometheus universe, and I wish this game can publish an official rule for supporting Players to act as Alien, Engineer, even Predator! By the way, we need Chinese and Japanese edition! (^o^)\/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Ch D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2020 23:31:24

Fantastic game, really nails the horror and tension that the franchise is known for.

My only possible complaint is that the book has a ton of dead space taken up by (gorgeous) artwork which adds probably a ton of length to an already lengthy rulebook. As a symptom of this it is not printer friendly at all. I would probably ppay for an edited down version with just the game rules and more printable backgrounds.

backgrounds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Tony B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2019 16:18:47

I love the First three movies (to me its a Trilogy) and I used to enjoy Role Playing Games ... so purchasing this was a High priority for me. I read some of the reviews and decided it was a " no brainer" to add it to my Digital library. Sooo I got on one or three of those Survey, paid with Paypal and now I am re exploring the ALIEN Universe with this awesome created product. Great job in the production and Awesome reviews helped me buy this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Bryce E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 14:03:44

The layout is pretty poor and the book is literally hundreds of pages longer than it should be because of that. Info that should be on a single page is badly spread across two and not even on facing pages. Its core strength is the cinematic scenario. I would not recommend for campaign play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2019 07:36:15

I've been following the development of the Alien RPG for quite awhile, including getting the Chariot of the Gods scenario / partial ruleset several months ago as part of a pre-order. I could gush for paragraphs about how much I like this game, but or this review I'll just hit some key points:

A love of the franchise. There's a lot of attention to detail in the rulebook and entire chapters of worldbuilding information I didn't even know as a fan of the Alien movies (namely the Earth governments and some of the corporations). The canonical universe here firmly includes the events of Prometheus through Alien 3. There's also some hints and nods to Alien novels and comics I'm less familiar with. A lot of effort has been made to make a game universe that's more interesting and engaging than 'you fight a Xenomorph for the tenth session in a row.'

More than a bug hunt. There's great support for 'Cinematic' play, the kind of Alien movie everyone-dies one-shot you can have a lot of fun with, but they haven't skimped on support for long campaigns. The three frameworks for campaign play--space truckers, colonial marines, and frontier colonists--capture the general feel of various Alien movies and books and helps guide play towards their themes. There's a buttload of tables for mission generation for each framework, as well as tables for rolling up your own new star systems, planets, colonies, etc. Ironically, one of the best things about the Alien RPG is all the ways it helps you do more than just fight Xenomorphs.

Danger, horror, tension. The stress dice mechanic and Panic rolls for player characters can create singular intense moments or continued problems as everything goes to Hell in a handbasket. The game constructs sensible combat rules and then uses them to show you just how dangerous the Xenomorphs are. Cinematic agendas and playbook (class) abilities can give you an edge or help you survive--but some of them come at a cost to your fellow humans. GM guidelines offer helpful advice for running the game, creating tension, and knowing how to alternate danger with solace to create an engaging game.

Okay, so I did end up going on for paragraphs. But I could have gone on for MORE paragraphs, in my defense. The TL;DR is that if you're at all a fan of the Alien movies, this is a worthy RPG for the franchise. If you're looking for something new in the genre of a horror or sci-fi RPG, this is a worthwhile pickup.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2019 04:56:10

OK, cards on the table. I am credited in this book. BUT leaving aside any bias, I can assure people this is a great game. I have played, and run it, a lot since April of this year. It's a fast and simple to learn system, with a core machanic that is will be familiar to players of other Free League games. Within that spectrum, it tends towards the simpler end, closer to Tales from the Loop than Mutant Year Zero or Forbidden Lands.

It's a perfect introduction to the hobby for new players, and well as a satisfying game for more exoerienced ones. It has a very elegant stress mechanic that raises the stakes and really captures the feel of the films.

It is set just after Alien 3, but the lore is set out in a a way that groups and take or leave the recent prequels.

The artwork is perfect, and really shines on the screen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant: År Noll - Den Grå Döden
by Mikael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2019 08:01:36

Nostalgitripp på hög nivå, med bra blandning av gammalt och nytt! Ett trevligt äventyr där det finns alla möjligheter för spelarna att hamna i trångmål. ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant: År Noll - Den Grå Döden
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Forbidden Lands Core Game
by Orin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2019 16:22:04

Full disclousure: this game would like you to have three good sets of differently colored D6s, a handful of other dice, a deck of cards, and if possible a second deck of specially made cards to play. there's a lot of different things going on with the mechanics and i can honestly say it's easy to get overwhelmed.

If that doesn't instantly turn you off, good news! Forbidden lands is a rich, colorful dark fantasy setting where all the races have interesting things about them, conflict is both rife and as risky as it is rewarding and the stories in the world are a great background to play off. this is an RPG that seeks to bring the lessons of roleplaying today to you alongside the colorful and unsoftened trappings of the first RPGs, good for new players or old vets.

as i got it free as part of a promotion, 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Lands Core Game
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

ALIEN RPG Cinematic Starter Kit
by BEnoit G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2019 09:32:56

Wow! We played the trailer (I guess it is the Beta) this week end, and I have to say that this game is really promising. I can't wait to see the rest of the book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Cinematic Starter Kit
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Symbaroum - Game Master's Screen
by Adrian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2019 18:57:29

I always use a GM screen, mostly as a handy space for those oft-used charts and tables (when not covered in my own sticky notes). The Symbaroum Screen is an incredibly useful resource that accompanies me to every game. Aside from the excellent and considered selction of charts and tables, the artwork is evocative and helps to set the scene. A must-have for all Symbaroum gamesmasters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Symbaroum - Game Master's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Symbaroum - Advanced Player's Guide
by Erik L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2019 07:22:27

This is almost a must have if you are playing Symbaroum, I would not let the new races into my games for the players, but the Boons and Burdens is an idea I like and many of the new abilities are a good addition. There also some new Powers and Rituals that I think could fit well into many games.

I have not used the much from the Alternative Rules, a couple of the Maneuvers mostly, and that is another thing I like. You don't have to go all in on the Alternative Rules, you can pick what you and your group want and skip the rest.

If you enjoy Symbaroum but would be willing to add some more things into your game, this is probably a book for you.

I am not well versed in these modern ways where you either rate something 5-stars or 1-star, this is probably as good as you can make a supplement book and get a solid 4 from me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Symbaroum - Advanced Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

ALIEN RPG Cinematic Starter Kit
by Samuel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2019 17:25:08

This game made me feel like I was in an Alien movie. My players really liked the panic system and how it made them make horror movie choices. The player versus player system with a secret antagonist was really a great way to end the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Cinematic Starter Kit
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Forbidden Lands Quickstart
by Katy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 12:02:47

The perfect guide to get started with Forbidden Lands. A fantastic RPG, this PDF gives players nearly everything they need to know about the system. A great first look into this amazing game. After you get the quick start guide, be sure to buy the full player's guide and the game master's guide. Worth it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Lands Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Yndaros - the Darkest Star
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/07/2019 10:35:17

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2019/03/30/rezension-symbaroum-throne-of-thorns-auf-symbars-faehrte/

Abschnitt 1 – City of Contrasts Die Hauptstadt Ambrias, Yndaros, ist geprägt von Vielfalt und Gegensätzen. Am Tage bunt und voller Versprechen, in der Nacht in tiefstes Schwarz gehüllt und voller Gefahren. Die Stadt ist laut und zum Bersten gefüllt – selbst vor den Toren tummeln sich noch die Flüchtlinge aus Alberetor.

Königin Korinthia Nightbane aus dem Hause Kohinoor residiert in der Stadt, die im Herzen Yndariens liegt.

Abschnitt 2 – Game Master’s Section Inmitten des ambrischen Reiches wird es politisch: Die in diesem Abschnitt zusammengestellten Informationen für den SL setzen sich primär aus einer Zusammenfassung der jüngsten Geschichte sowie einer Vorstellung der wichtigsten Fraktionen und Machthaber zusammen. Die Frage danach, wer was zum Ziel hat, ermöglicht die authentische Modifikation der Kampagne.

Hervorzuheben sind darüber hinaus die angebotenen Regelinformationen für die zeremonielle Magie und die damit verbundenen Rituale.

Der Band enthält keine ergänzenden Regeln zur Abenteuer- bzw. Kampagnengestaltung – ganz im Gegensatz zu seinen Vorgängern. Während Yndaros: The Darkest Star vor allem auf politischer und geschichtlicher Ebene interessant ist, schwächelt das Angebot an SL-Werkzeugen im direkten Vergleich mit den anderen Bänden der Reihe.

Abschnitt 3 – The Darkest Star Die Reise hat die SC ins Zentrum von Ambria geführt. Inmitten der beeindruckenden Stadt versuchen sie nunmehr, Informationen über die Ruinen zu erhalten, die unter ihr lauern: Die Überreste einer anderen Stadt, Lindaros.

Wie auch The Witch Hammer kann dieses Kapitel losgelöst von der Throne of Thorns-Kampagne bestritten und erlebt werden.

Erscheinungsbild Mit 177 Seiten ist Yndaros: The Darkest Star in etwa so umfangreich wie Thistle Hold: Wrath of the Warden. Vor diesem Hintergrund fällt der erhöhte Preis der Hardcover-Variante negativ auf. Qualitative Unterschiede zu den beiden hier ebenfalls vorgestellten Werken gibt es nicht; das Schriftbild folgt weiterhin dem mittlerweile vertrauten Stil der Symbaroum-Regelwerke und die enthaltenen Artworks spiegeln die düstere Stimmung erfolgreich wider.

Fazit Yndaros: The Darkest Star beinhaltet essentielle Informationen, wenn es darum geht, Ambria politisch zu verstehen. Das breite Spektrum an Fakten und Hintergründen jedoch verdrängt die SL-Werkzeuge, die beispielsweise in Form von zielorientiertem Rollenspiel in Thistle Hold: Wrath of the Warden oder von zufallsbasierter Erstellung von Ruinen in Karvosti: The Witch Hammer vorhanden waren.

Da die Kampagne mit sieben Bänden bereits keine günstige Angelegenheit ist (und überdies zum Spielen noch das Grundregelwerk und eventuell der Advanced Players Guide benötigt werden), ist dieser erhöhte Preis schwerlich zu rechtfertigen. Ein Umstand, der nur bedingt durch die überaus spannende Fortführung der Kampagne entschuldigt werden kann.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Yndaros - the Darkest Star
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Karvosti - The Witch Hammer
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/07/2019 10:33:55

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2019/03/30/rezension-symbaroum-throne-of-thorns-auf-symbars-faehrte/

Abschnitt 1 – The Explorer’s Haven Barbarenhäuptling Tharaban und die Huldra Yeleta residieren auf dem Kliff Karvosti, von welchem aus weite Teile des Davokars zu überblicken sind. Auf dem Plateau leben mehrere hundert Seelen, Barbaren und Ambrier gleichermaßen, und es stellt einen Ort für Verhandlungen dar, präsentiert aber auch eine gewisse angespannte Neutralität. Expeditionen des Ordo Magicas oder der Schwarzmäntel der Kirche können diesen Ort ebenso zum Ziel haben wie Entdecker und Schatzsucher.

Karvosti – The Witch Hammer führt die Spieler in die Tiefen des Davokar und im Gegensatz zu eventuellen früheren, kürzeren Ausflügen in den finsteren Wald sehen sich die SC nunmehr mit seiner ganzen Schönheit – und seiner ganzen Abscheulichkeit – konfrontiert.

Abschnitt 2 – Game Master’s Section

Während der erste Abschnitt von Karvosti – The Witch Hammer für Spieler und SL gleichermaßen interessant (und dieser wie auch The Hunter’s Harbor als separate PDF-Datei erhältlich) ist, widmet sich der zweite Teil des Bandes erneut dem SL. Er beschreibt Hintergründe und Legenden in Bezug auf Karvosti detailliert, separiert Wahrheit von Sage und beinhaltet überdies neue Plothooks innerhalb der zuvor vorgestellten Örtlichkeit. Ebenso werden neue Mechaniken und Regelmodifikationen aufgeführt.

Besonders positiv auffallend ist der Abschnitt hinsichtlich der Erschaffung von Ruinen, die im Davokar erforscht werden können. Hier werden Tabellen angeboten, die das Erstellen einer Ruine nach dem Zufallsprinzip ermöglicht. Die beinhalteten Optionen sind abwechslungsreich gestaltet und ermöglichen es dem SL, auch kurzfristig ein zerfallenes Gefängnis, eine alte Mine oder ein längst vergessenes Grab zu erstellen.

Abschnitt 3 – The Witch Hammer The Witch Hammer wird als Stand-Alone-Abenteuer vorgestellt, ist aber ebenso der zweite Teil der Throne of Thrones-Kampagne. Der Band beinhaltet alles, was SL und Spieler benötigen, um in die Tiefen des Davokar vorzudringen.

Erscheinungsbild Karvosti – The Witch Hammer weist mit 152 Seiten weniger Seiten auf als der erste und der dritte Band der Kampagne. Hinsichtlich der Gestaltung und des Aufbaus steht der Band seinem Vor- und Nachgänger in nichts nach. Bereits beim ersten Blick in die PDF hinein ist der optische Wiedererkennungswert eines Symbaroum-Regelwerks gegeben.

Fazit

Karvosti – The Witch Hammer macht da weiter, wo Thistle Hold – Wrath of the Warden aufgehört hat, im doppelten Sinne. Der Band baut auf den Regeln und Ergänzungen auf und führt die Handlung der Throne of Thorns-Kampagne weiter. Bewährte Konzepte werden nicht nur erneut aufgegriffen, sondern verbessert angeboten, und das Buch birgt auch für erfahrene SL nur wenige überflüssige Informationen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Karvosti - The Witch Hammer
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 123 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG